DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2025 and 12/05/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 144 – component section is labeled 10 when it should be 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 14, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2/22 – “plasticized paper” should be corrected to “a plasticized paper” to differentiate it from the “a paper”
Claim 14 – “a plurality of sections” should be corrected to “a plurality of sections”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-14 and 18-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “power the information carrying card” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what information carrying card is being referred to since said cards were only recited in the preamble and if preamble is not given weight that the term “the information carrying card” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Assuming the preamble is given weight it is still unclear as to which card is being referred to since the preamble recited a plurality of cards. Based on the specifications it would seem that power is delivered to one information carrying card of the plurality on which the core sheet is used to make said card. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the limitation to mean “power at least one information card of the plurality of information carrying cards”
Claims 2-14 and 18-25 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “equal to or close to 13.56 MHz” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what would count as “close to 13.56Mhz”, would a frequency within 1%, 3%, or 5% count? For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 9 to mean “equal to 13.56 MHz”.
Claim 20- Claim 20 recites the limitation “information carrying card comprising one section of the core layer of claim 11” which renders the claim indefinite. The “one section” in the limitation lacks sufficient antecedent basis since claim 11 never recites a core layer with sections but rather only one with a core sheet. It is claim 14 that recites a plurality of sections and as such if claim 20 should depend form 14 and be corrected to recite the structure of claim 14. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 20 to mean “information carrying card comprising one section of the plurality of sections of the core layer of claim 14”.
Claims 21-25 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox (US 20130260065 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 101257640 B1) and Finn et al. (US 20180341847 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 as best understood, Cox discloses a core sheet configured to be used for making a plurality of information carrying cards (Core layer 80 comprise an inlay 8 serving as a core sheet which can be used to make information carrying cards as seen in figure 14-16 and 33 of Cox), comprising
a substrate film (Support film 12 may be made from a polyester material like PET which is a thermoplastic polyamide and thus serves as a substrate film; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox); and
an antenna structure disposed on or embedded within the substrate film; the antenna structure made of a conductive material (Electronic components like 10 may be disposed on the substrate film 12 and one of these components can be an antenna which inherently includes conductive material; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Cox fails to disclose the antenna structure comprising a wire made of a conductive material and comprising a first antenna portion including a plurality of loops and configured to communicate with a first RF frequency; and a second antenna portion including a waveform structure in at least one of the plurality of loops, the waveform structure configured to communicate with a second RF frequency and utilize eddy current from an external device to power the information carrying card, wherein the second RF frequency is higher than the first RF frequency.
However, Kim et al. does disclose the antenna structure comprising a first antenna portion including a plurality of loops and configured to communicate with a first RF frequency; and a second antenna portion including a waveform structure in at least one of the plurality of loops, the waveform structure configured to communicate with a second RF frequency, wherein the second RF frequency is higher than the first RF frequency (Laminate core layer 40 for an information carrying card comprises an antenna structure comprising a first antenna portion 114 as a plurality of loops that operates in a first frequency band of 13.56mhz and a second antenna portion 124 which has a waveform shape and can be configured to have its ends connected directly to portion 144 such that it would be included in at least one of the loops, as seen with one end connected in figure 4, wherein the second antenna portion 124 operates in a second frequency band of 900mhz which is higher than the first band; Paragraph 41-59 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
Finn et al. further disclose the antenna structure comprising a wire made of a conductive material and the waveform structure configured to utilize eddy current from an external device to power the information carrying card (Smart card 100 comprises an card body 301 on which a coupling frame antenna 302 is disposed that comprises a first loop portion around the periphery of the card, now labeled C1, and a second waveform portion, now labeled C2, around a module opening 204 wherein the antenna structure, including its waveform portion, would concentrate eddy currents around he module opening to improve inductive coupling and power delivery to the transponder chip TCM of the information carrying card to power the card and said antenna 302 may be a copper metal wire embedded in the card body; Paragraph 40-43, 69, and 143-158 as well as figure 1-3 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox to have the antenna structure comprising a first antenna portion including a plurality of loops and configured to communicate with a first RF frequency; and a second antenna portion including a waveform structure in at least one of the plurality of loops, the waveform structure configured to communicate with a second RF frequency, wherein the second RF frequency is higher than the first RF frequency as taught by Kim et al. to enable a magnetic field induction method and a frequency method as well as allow the antenna to operate in two bands for wider range and without interference (Paragraph 47-51 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have the antenna structure comprising a wire made of a conductive material and the waveform structure configured to utilize eddy current from an external device to power the information carrying card as taught by Finn et al. to improve inductive coupling and provide power to the device (Paragraph 69 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Cox further discloses wherein the substrate film comprises a polymer, a paper, plasticized paper, a composite, or any combination thereof (Support film 12 may be made from a polyester material like PET which is a thermoplastic polyamide and thus serves as a substrate film; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 3, Cox further discloses wherein the substrate film is a first thermoplastic layer made of a thermoplastic polymer (Support film 12 may be made from a polyester material like PET which is a thermoplastic polyamide and thus serves as a substrate film; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 4, Cox further discloses comprising at least one integrated circuit disposed on or embedded on the substrate film, and electrically connected with the antenna structure (One of the components 10 can be an integrated circuit which can be connected to the antenna via wires or traces like 14; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 5, Cox and Kim et al. fail to disclose the first antenna portion and the second antenna portion are connected and is made of one metal wire.
However, Finn et al. does disclose the first antenna portion and the second antenna portion are connected and is made of one metal wire (Smart card 100 comprises an card body 301 on which a coupling frame antenna 302 is disposed that comprises a first loop portion around the periphery of the card, now labeled C1, and a second waveform portion, now labeled C2, around a module opening 204 wherein said antenna 302 may be a copper metal wire embedded in the card body and both portions are made from the same wire; Paragraph 40-43, 69, and 143-158 as well as figure 1-3 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have the first antenna portion and the second antenna portion are connected and is made of one metal wire as taught by Finn et al. to avoid electrostatic discharge problems and since the type of material can be chosen for certain resonating properties (Paragraph 63, 75-77, and 151 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Cox and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the metal wire is made of copper or copper alloy.
However, Finn et al. does disclose wherein the metal wire is made of copper or copper alloy (Smart card 100 comprises an card body 301 on which a coupling frame antenna 302 is disposed that comprises a first loop portion around the periphery of the card, now labeled C1, and a second waveform portion, now labeled C2, around a module opening 204 wherein said antenna 302 may be a copper metal wire embedded in the card body and both portions are made from the same wire; Paragraph 40-43, 69, and 143-158 as well as figure 1-3 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have wherein the metal wire is made of copper or copper alloy as taught by Finn et al. to avoid electrostatic discharge problems and since the type of material can be chosen for certain resonating properties (Paragraph 63, 75-77, and 151 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Cox further discloses wherein the antenna structure are connected with at least one integrated circuit by conductive material or by a conductive tape (Interconnect 14 are used to connect the integrated circuit and antenna and said connects 14 may be conductive traces that can be made from a metal material like copper; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Examiners note – Regarding the processes of “injection molding, extruding, over-molding and soldering/welding” – “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. "In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”. (See MPEP 2113, Section I).
Regarding Claim 8, Cox and Kim et al. fails to disclose wherein the conductive material are printed on the substrate film.
However, Finn et al. does disclose wherein the conductive material are printed on the substrate film (Coupling frame 302 may be made from conductive material and printed on the card body; Paragraph 151 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have wherein the conductive material are printed on the substrate film as taught by Finn et al. to design the antenna structure with the exact specifications required for placement (Paragraph 151-153 of Finn et al.).
Examiners note – Regarding the recitation of the limitation “printed” the examiner notes, “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. "In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)”. (See MPEP 2113, Section I).
Regarding Claim 9 as best understood, Cox and Kim et al. fail to disclose 13.56 MHz as defined by the ISO/IEC 14443 standard. Although, Kim et al. does disclose wherein the antenna structure is configured to generate power so as to operate one of the plurality of information carrying card for communication at a high frequency equal to or close to 13.56 MHz (Laminate core layer 40 for an information carrying card comprises an antenna structure comprising a first antenna portion 114 as a plurality of loops that operates in a first frequency band of 13.56mhz and the antenna structure generates power a card; Paragraph 41-59 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
However, Finn et al. does disclose 13.56 MHz as defined by the ISO/IEC 14443 standard (Antenna structure may operate in a 13.56mhz band and may be designed based on a ISO/IEC 14443 standard; Paragraph 63 and 124 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox to have wherein the antenna structure is configured to generate power so as to operate one of the plurality of information carrying card for communication at a high frequency equal to or close to 13.56 MHz as defined by the ISO/IEC 14443 standard as taught by Kim et al. and Finn et al. so the card may operate for multiple applications and meet the required standards for said applications (Paragraph 124 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Cox fails to disclose wherein the antenna structure is configured to generate power so as to operate one of the plurality of information carrying card at a high frequency in a range of from 13 MHz to 18 MHz.
However, Kim et al. does disclose wherein the antenna structure is configured to generate power so as to operate one of the plurality of information carrying card at a high frequency in a range of from 13 MHz to 18 MHz (Laminate core layer 40 for an information carrying card comprises an antenna structure comprising a first antenna portion 114 as a plurality of loops that operates in a first frequency band of 13.56mhz and the antenna structure generates power a card; Paragraph 41-59 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox to have wherein the antenna structure is configured to generate power so as to operate one of the plurality of information carrying card for communication at a high frequency equal to or close to 13.56 MHz as defined by the ISO/IEC 14443 standard as taught by Kim et al. to use a frequency method as well as allow the antenna to operate in two bands for wider range and without interference (Paragraph 47-51 of Kim et al.). and allow the card may operate for multiple applications and meet the required standards for said applications (Paragraph 124 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Cox further discloses a core layer for a plurality of information carrying cards, comprising the core sheet (Core layer 80 with thermoplastic layer 6 comprises the inlay 8 serving as a core sheet; Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 12, Cox further discloses comprising a crosslinked polymer disposed on both side of the core sheet (Crosslinked polymer 18 may be disposed on both sides of the inlay 8 especially in cases where the cavity 7 is bigger than inlay 8 as seen in figure 16; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 13, Cox further discloses wherein the core layer is self-centered in a crosslinked polymer in a direction normal to a plane of the core layer (Core layer 180 comprising multiple sections of antenna structures as seen in figure 33, may be designed such that it is self-centered in the crosslinked polymer 18 in a direction normal to the plane wherein polymer 18 can be disposed on front side and other side of layer 6; Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 33 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 14, Cox further discloses wherein the core layer including a plurality of section, each section comprising one antenna structure (Core layer 180 comprising multiple sections of inlay 8 and thus multiple antenna structures as seen in figure 33, Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox ).
Regarding Claim 18, Cox further discloses an information carrying card comprising the core sheet (Core layer 180 comprising multiple sections of inlay 8 and thus multiple antenna structures may be cut up to make multiple information carrying cards wherein each card would comprise one of the inlay 8 serving as a core sheet as seen in figure 33, Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox ).
Regarding Claim 19, Cox further discloses a crosslinked polymer composition disposed on both side of the substrate film, wherein the substrate film is centered in the crosslinked composition in a direction normal to a plane of the core sheet (Substrate film 18 may have crosslinked polymer disposed on both sides wherein inlay layer 8 and thus film 12 are centered in in the crosslink polymer 18 as seen in figure 17, Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 16-17 of Cox ).
Regarding Claim 20 as best understood, Cox further discloses an information carrying card comprising one section of the core layer (Core layer 180 comprising multiple sections of inlay 8 and thus multiple antenna structures may be cut up to make multiple information carrying cards wherein each card would comprise one of the inlay 8 serving as a core sheet as seen in figure 33, Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 21, Cox further discloses a crosslinked polymer composition disposed on both side of the substrate film, wherein the substrate film is centered in the crosslinked composition in a direction normal to a plane of the core layer (Substrate film 18 may have crosslinked polymer disposed on both sides wherein inlay layer 8 and thus film 12 are centered in in the crosslink polymer 18 as seen in figure 17, Paragraph 77-99 as well as figure 16-17 of Cox ).
Regarding Claim 22, Cox further discloses wherein the substrate film comprises a polymer, a paper, plasticized paper, a composite, or any combination thereof (Support film 12 may be made from a polyester material like PET which is a thermoplastic polyamide and thus serves as a substrate film; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 23, Cox further discloses wherein the substrate film is a first thermoplastic layer made of a thermoplastic polymer (Support film 12 may be made from a polyester material like PET which is a thermoplastic polyamide and thus serves as a substrate film; Paragraph 51-61 and 77-99 as well as figure 14-16 of Cox).
Regarding Claim 24, Cox and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the antenna structure is made of a wire or a thread, and the conductive material comprises a metal.
However, Finn et al. does disclose wherein the antenna structure is made of a wire or a thread, and the conductive material comprises a metal. (Smart card 100 comprises an card body 301 on which a coupling frame antenna 302 is disposed that comprises a first loop portion around the periphery of the card, now labeled C1, and a second waveform portion, now labeled C2, around a module opening 204 wherein said antenna 302 may be a copper metal wire embedded in the card body and both portions are made from the same wire; Paragraph 40-43, 69, and 143-158 as well as figure 1-3 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have wherein the antenna structure is made of a wire or a thread, and the conductive material comprises a metal as taught by Finn et al. to avoid electrostatic discharge problems and since the type of material can be chosen for certain resonating properties (Paragraph 63, 75-77, and 151 of Finn et al.).
Regarding Claim 25, Cox and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the conductive material is made of copper or copper alloy.
However, Finn et al. does disclose wherein the conductive material is made of copper or copper alloy. (Smart card 100 comprises an card body 301 on which a coupling frame antenna 302 is disposed that comprises a first loop portion around the periphery of the card, now labeled C1, and a second waveform portion, now labeled C2, around a module opening 204 wherein said antenna 302 may be a copper metal wire embedded in the card body and both portions are made from the same wire; Paragraph 40-43, 69, and 143-158 as well as figure 1-3 of Finn et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Cox and Kim et al. to have wherein the conductive material is made of copper or copper alloy as taught by Finn et al. to avoid electrostatic discharge problems and since the type of material can be chosen for certain resonating properties (Paragraph 63, 75-77, and 151 of Finn et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20190204812 A1 (Cox; Mark A.) discloses a core sheet formed with an antenna structure comprising a coil that can be used in an information carrying card.
US 8602310 B2 (Kato; Noboru et al.) discloses a coil antenna structure wherein a portion of the coils have a waveform structure and some of the widths of the coils can be changed to change the resonant frequency band of the antenna.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845