Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 7, the claim recites that cyclotrimethylene trinitramine and 1,3,5,7-tetranitro-1,3,5,7-tetrazocane are detected at specified concentration levels “when their vapor partial pressures are 10,000 and 1,000,000 times lower.”
The claim does not identify the reference vapor pressure relative to which the respective vapor partial pressures are “lower” or clearly establish the correspondence between the recited explosives, concentration levels, and numerical factors. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear.
With regards to claim 16, the claim contains the corresponding “10,000 and 1,000,000 times lower” limitation and is indefinite for the same reasons stated with respect to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hargrove et al. (US 2013/0017618 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Hargrove teaches “sampling an atmosphere over a sample” by collecting an air sample through inlet 15 from the vicinity of an item or area being tested (Hargrove [0029], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 1).
Hargrove further teaches “detecting explosive impurities or decomposition products in the atmosphere” by conducting the collected air sample through high-temperature heater 50 to thermally decompose explosive nitrogenous compounds carried in the air sample and generate NO2, and thereafter directing that heated air sample to a spectrometer to detect the resultant NO2 decomposition product (Hargrove [0033], [0049], [0059]-[0063], Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claims 2 and 14, Hargrove teaches the thermal-decomposition cavity ring-down spectroscopy [0019], [0022], [0049], [0059]. Hargrove thermally decomposes explosive nitrogenous compounds in the sampled air and expressly detects the resultant NO2 using a cavity ring-down spectroscopy apparatus (Hargrove [0033], [0049]-[0059], Fig. 2).
With regard to claims 3 and 15, Hargrove teaches thermal-decomposition laser-induced fluorescence [0017], [0022], [0059]. Hargrove teaches the same thermal-decomposition operation and expresses teaches laser-induced fluorescence (LIF) as a spectrometer/detector (Hargrove [0033], [0059]-[0061]).
With regards to claims 4 and 5, Hargrove expressly identifies explosive compounds including RDX (i.e., cyclotrimethylene trinitramine), HMX (i.e., octogen), TNT (i.e., , 2,4,6-trinitrotoluene), PETN (i.e., Pentaerythritol tetranitrate), nitroglycerin (i.e., NG, alternative spelling nitroglycerine, also known as trinitroglycerin (TNG), nitro, glyceryl trinitrate (GTN), or 1,2,3-trinitroxypropane), ammonium nitrate, and acetone peroxide (i.e., APEX), (Hargrove [0002], [0033], [0035]).
With regards to claim 6, Hargrove discloses detection sensitivity of 0.01 to 1.0 parts per billion (Hargrove [0035]). Because 0.01 ppb equals 10 parts per trillion, the disclosed concentration range falls within both the parts-per-billion and parts-per-trillion regimes.
With regards to claim 8, Hargrove teaches an inlet (inlet 15), a particulate filter (large particle filter 30 and optional downstream particle filters 62/64), and a detector (spectrometers 82/84 and CRDS detector structure) (Hargrove [0029] - [0033], [0040], [0049]-[0058], Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claims 11, 12 and 20, Hargrove teaches, respectively, the cavity ring-down spectroscopy CRDS [0019] [0023] [0061] and laser-induced fluorescence detector LIF [0022], [0059] as alternatives used with the thermal-decomposition stages (Hargrove [0033], [0049]-[0059], [0061], Figs. 1-2).
With regards to claim 13, Hargrove teaches “sampling an atmosphere over a sample” by collecting an air sample through inlet 15 from the vicinity of an item or area being tested (Hargrove [0029], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 1).
Hargrove further teaches “detecting explosive impurities or decomposition products in the atmosphere” by conducting the collected air sample through high-temperature heater 50 to thermally decompose explosive nitrogenous compounds carried in the air sample and generate NO2, and thereafter directing that heated air sample to a spectrometer to detect the resultant NO2 decomposition product (Hargrove [0033], [0049], [0059]-[0063], Figs. 1-2).
Lastly, Hargrove expressly identifies explosive compounds including RDX (i.e., cyclotrimethylene trinitramine), HMX (i.e., octogen), TNT (i.e., , 2,4,6-trinitrotoluene), PETN (i.e., Pentaerythritol tetranitrate), nitroglycerin (i.e., NG, alternative spelling nitroglycerine, also known as trinitroglycerin (TNG), nitro, glyceryl trinitrate (GTN), or 1,2,3-trinitroxypropane), ammonium nitrate, and acetone peroxide (i.e., APEX), (Hargrove [0002], [0033], [0035]).
With regard to claims 14 and 15, refer respectively to claims 2 and 3. Hargrove teaches the corresponding thermal-decomposition CRDS and thermal-decomposition LIF alternatives in the claim-13 explosive-detection method (Hargrove [0033], [0049]-[0059], Figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 17, Hargrove’s device includes inlet 15, particulate filter 30, and detector/spectrometers 82/84 and performs the atmospheric explosive detection method for the listed explosive species (Hargrove [0029]-[0033], [0040], [0049]-[0059], Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hargrove et al. (US 2013/0017618 A1) in view of Corrigan et al. (US 5,585,575).
With regards to claims 7 and 16, Hargrove teaches detection of nitrogenous explosive compounds at trace concentration levels. Hargrove expressly identifies RDX and HMX among the explosive compounds contemplated for detection and teaches detection sensitivity between 0.01 and 1.0 parts per billion, a range extending to 10 parts per trillion (Hargrove [0002], [0035]). Hargrove thus teaches the claimed explosive species and detection at the claimed ppb/ppt concentration levels.
Hargrove does not expressly teach the recited 10,000- and 1,000,000-times lower vapor-pressure relationship.
Corrigan teaches explosive detection by collecting vapor and particulate emissions associated with explosives. Corrigan expressly teaches that plastic explosives such as C4, DM-12, and SEMTEX exhibit extremely low vapor pressures and states that such explosives have vapor pressures 10,000 to 1,000,000 times lower than conventional explosives (Corrigan, col. 14, ll. 18–30).
Corrigan further teaches that analysis of such plastic explosives is based upon detection of signature molecules and expressly identifies cyclotrimethylenetrinitramine (RDX) and PETN as such signature molecules. Corrigan further teaches storing RDX and PETN spectral patterns for explosive detection (Corrigan, cols. 20–21; see also Fig. 11D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ Hargrove’s trace explosive detection method for the known extremely low-vapor-pressure explosive materials taught by Corrigan because Corrigan expressly identifies extremely low vapor pressure and correspondingly low concentrations as recognized difficulties in explosive detection, while Hargrove expressly provides sensitive trace detection of explosive compounds including RDX and HMX. The combination would predictably permit detection of the known low-vapor-pressure explosive materials at Hargrove’s disclosed trace concentration levels.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hargrove et al. (US 2013/0017618 A1) in view of Syage et al. (US 2009/0223310 A1).
With regard to claims 9 and 18, Hargrove teaches an explosive-detection apparatus in which inlet 15 collects an air sample from the vicinity of an item or area being tested, the collected sample passes through the apparatus, and explosive compounds or their decomposition products are detected (Hargrove [0029]–[0035], Fig. 1).
Hargrove does not expressly teach the recited thermoelectric element configured to heat or cool the sample.
Syage teaches a trace explosive vapor and particle sampling system in which the temperature of the sampling environment is actively controlled to improve collection. Syage teaches heating source 108 directed toward the sampling area to heat the surface or object being sampled, thereby increasing vapor pressure and enhancing vapor collection through intake port 104 (Syage [0025]–[0027], Figs. 1A–1C).
Syage further expressly teaches cooling the sample mesh 120 using a thermoelectric device, such as a Peltier cooler, and explains that active thermoelectric cooling provides rapid cooling and permits operation below ambient temperature, thereby improving collection efficiency (Syage [0032], Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide Hargrove’s explosive-sampling apparatus with thermoelectric temperature control as taught by Syage.
Syage expressly teaches that temperature control is useful in explosive trace sampling to affect vapor availability and collection and further teaches a thermoelectric/Peltier device as a known means for active temperature control. The modification would predictably provide active heating or cooling for improving collection of trace explosive material prior to detection.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hargrove et al. (US 2013/0017618 A1) in view of Miller et al. (US 2004/0175309 A1).
With regard to claims 10 and 19, Hargrove expressly teaches a source of nitrogen monoxide 70 in communication with high-temperature heater 50 so that NO is supplied in the sampled-gas path before spectrometer 82 (Hargrove [0059],[0063] – [0064], Fig. 4).
Hargrove does not expressly disclose that source 70 itself generates NO (i.e., NO generator).
Miller teaches a nitric-oxide gas generator having a chemical mixing chamber and heat source that initiates a reaction producing NO gas, together with outlet/dilution structure for supplying the generated NO (Miller [0001]-[0004], [0013]-[0017], Figs. 1-2).
In view of the utility of an on-demand NO generator for supplying the NO reagent that Hargrove already intentionally introduces upstream of the detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Miller’s known NO generator as Hargrove’s NO source 70, thereby predictably supplying generated NO to Hargrove’s existing pre-detector NO input while preserving Hargrove’s principle of operation.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884