DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A (Claims 1-7 and 11-14) in the reply filed on 10/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/2/2026.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph.
Regarding claim 6, “a means for preventing the interface from leaving the first position without manual intervention“ does not qualify under 112(f) because there is no corresponding structure in the specification or drawings that performs the claimed function (¶35)
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may:
amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 6: Claim limitation “a means for preventing the interface from leaving the first position without manual intervention” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. ¶35 of the specification describes the movement and the fastener that will stop movement at different positions, but it fails to describe or point out what structure will preform the function. The elected species is shown in Fig 3, and Figs 1-3 do not point to any structure that would preform this function. For the purpose of applying prior art, the limitation will be interpreted such that any structure that performs the function will be considered to satisfy the limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a)(1) as being unpatentable by Chang et. al (US 20190073006 A1) hereafter referred to as Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a unit of network equipment (100 network device; see at least Fig. 3), comprising:
a modular chassis (102 rack assembly);
one or more internal components (components housed in 200 rectangular casing) within an enclosure of the unit of network equipment (200 rectangular casing housed within 102);
and at least one repositionable element (124 operation sled), each repositionable element comprising:
an interface that is shaped to secure in place a line card or a fabric module within the repositionable element (420 fabric card sled tray configured to hold 410 fabric card, ¶26),
a stationary base (102 rack assembly holds 124 operation sleds) secured in place to said unit of network equipment (Fig 3, ¶20-21),
means for moving (see interpretation above, 208 bottom panel of 200 rectangular casing has mounting pins which engage with grooves in the 102 rack assembly, ¶24, Fig 3) said repositionable element between a first position (124 operation sled is seated in the 102 rack assembly, Fig 3) and a second position (124 operation sled is slid out of 102 rack assembly, Fig 3),
wherein said first position disposes said interface within said chassis (Fig 3),
and wherein said second position disposes said interface beyond a perimeter of the enclosure of said unit of network equipment (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1, wherein said each repositionable element (124 operation sled) further comprises a means for preventing the interface from leaving the first position without manual intervention (222 screw locks 124 operation sled into the 102 rack assembly, ¶24).
Regarding claim 11, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1, wherein said interface (200 casing contains 220 connector panel) provides a communication channel between said one or more internal components and any line card or any fabric module secured to said interface (¶24 “The operation sled 124 includes a connector panel 220 that includes external connection ports such as a USB port, Ethernet port, etc. to allow the external connection to components on the circuit boards in the operation sled 124”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Lam et. al (US 10285291 B1) hereafter referred to as Lam.
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the line card comprises a plurality of device ports, wherein one or more of said plurality of device ports is coupled to one or more of a small form-factor pluggable device (SFP), an XFP optical transceiver, an SFP+ optical transceiver, a Quad Small Form-factor pluggable plus (QSFP+) device, and a CF2 device. However, Lam teaches
the line card (10 line card) comprises a plurality of device ports (18 plurality of ports),
wherein one or more of said plurality of device ports is coupled to one or more of a small form-factor pluggable device (SFP), an XFP optical transceiver, an SFP+ optical transceiver, a Quad Small Form-factor pluggable plus (QSFP+) device, and a CF2 device (col 4 lines 15-20 18 is a “small form factor pluggable (SFP) transceiver modules, optical transceiver modules, etc”).
Chang and Lam are both in the industry of network devices with line cards, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chang to include the plurality of SFP ports in order to couple to other devices and transfer/receive data (Lam col 4 lines 3-20)
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Mannens (US 20180160559 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of claim 1,
Chang fails to teach the unit of network equipment is a wireless communication device, an Ethernet switch, a cable television (CATV) node, an Optical Line Terminal (OLT), a Remote PHY device (RPD), or a Remote MACPHY device (RMD).
However, Mannens teaches the unit of network equipment (remote PHY device, ¶18 Fig 2A) is a wireless communication device, an Ethernet switch, a cable television (CATV) node, an Optical Line Terminal (OLT), a Remote PHY device (RPD), or a Remote MACPHY device (RMD) (device is a RPD, ¶18, abstract, Fig 2A)
Chang and Mannens are both in the industry of modular network devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the Remote PHY device in order to provide a means of connecting and transmitting data in the modular device (Mannens ¶1-2)
Regarding claim 5, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the enclosure of said unit of network equipment conforms to a BundesKabelnetz (BK) standard. However, Mannens teaches the enclosure of said unit of network equipment (204 ands 206 slots) conforms to a BundesKabelnetz (BK) standard (abstract, ¶32).
Chang and Mannens are both in the industry of modular network devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the network equipment conform to a BundesKabelnetz (BK) standard to maximize power and heat dissipation in the modular device (Mannens ¶32)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of El-Akkad et. al (TW 202403340 A) hereafter referred to as El-Akkad.
Regarding claim 4, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the unit of network equipment is disposed in a hermetically sealed environment, a vacuum, or orbital environment. However, El-Akkad teaches
The unit of network equipment (102 RF system) is disposed in a hermetically sealed environment, a vacuum, or orbital environment (the cavity in 102 RF system may be hermetically sealed, pg. 9 ¶3). Chang and El-Akkad are in the industry of modular network devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chang to include the hermetically sealed environment of El-Akkad in order to provide shielding against electromagnetic interference (El-Akkad pg 9 ¶3)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang et. al (US 20130107450 A1) hereafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the means for moving said repositionable element between said first position and said second position comprises: a first elongated rod secured to said stationary base and extending through a first hole in said interface, and a second elongated rod secured to said stationary base and extending through a second hole in said interface, wherein said first elongated rod and said second elongated rod are on either side of said interface, and wherein said first and second holes are sized to permit said interface to slide along said first and second elongated rods between said first position and said second position.
However, Zhang teaches the means for moving said repositionable element between said first position (closed state, shown in Fig 6) and said second position (extended state, shown in Fig 1) comprises:
a first elongated rod (30 sliding apparatus) secured to said stationary base (secured to 13 posts) and extending through a first hole (3131 first mounting hole on left side of 20 server module) in said interface,
and a second elongated rod (30 sliding apparatus) secured to said stationary base (secured to 13 posts) and extending through a second hole (3131 first mounting hold on right side of 20 server module) in said interface,
wherein said first elongated rod and said second elongated rod are on either side of said interface (Fig 1 and 6),
and wherein said first and second holes are sized to permit said interface to slide along said first and second elongated rods between said first position and said second position (¶17-18).
Chang and Zhang are both in the industry of chassis with sliding modules, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the sliding rod and guiding hole structure of Zhang instead of the groove and pin structure of Chang as a means for sliding the elements in the module in order to facilitate sliding of the module in and out of the rack while maximizing space available for modules in the chassis with an alternative to the traditional bulky sliding apparatus (Zhang ¶5)
Further, MPEP §2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)… See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)” In the instant case, it would have been obvious to utilize the rod and guiding hole taught by Zhang as an obvious substitution for the intended purpose of sliding the module in and out of the chassis (MPEP §2144.07)
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Mahoney et. al (US 9983370 B) hereafter referred to as Mahoney.
Regarding claim 12, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the first position disposes a thermal conductor in contact with said interface, wherein said thermal conductor extends through said stationary base to make physical conduct with said enclosure of said unit of network equipment. However, Mahoney teaches
the first position (when 208 SFP cage is in 102 enclosure) disposes a thermal conductor (105 body) in contact with said interface (Shown in Fig 2B),
wherein said thermal conductor extends through said stationary base (102 encasement) to make physical conduct with said enclosure of said unit of network equipment (col 4 lines 12-20).
Chang and Mahoney are both in the industry of network devices with cooling methods, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the fan cooling structure of Chang with the heat sink structure of Mahoney in order to passively transfer heat from the modules to the surroundings (col 3 line 65- col 4 line 11)
Regarding claim 13, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the interface is a thermal conductor capable of facilitating a transfer of heat away from any pluggable device secured by said interface. However, Mahoney teaches the interface (105 body) is a thermal conductor capable of facilitating a transfer of heat away from any pluggable device secured by said interface (col 4 lines 12-20).
Chang and Mahoney are both in the industry of network devices with cooling methods, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the fan cooling structure of Chang with the heat sink structure of Mahoney in order to passively transfer heat from the modules to the surroundings (col 3 line 65- col 4 line 11)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Elias et. al (US 20030142477 A1) hereafter referred to as Elias.
Regarding claim 13, Chang teaches the unit of network equipment of Claim 1.
Chang fails to teach the interface, when disposed in said second position, possesses sufficient thermal mass to prevent rapid temperature rise in adjacent physical components. However, Elias teaches interface (202 circuit card), when disposed in said second position (when not housed in chassis a attached to another heat dissipation device), possesses sufficient thermal mass to prevent rapid temperature rise in adjacent physical components (Elias teaches a material to absorb thermal energy to keep temperature constant, abstract and 22).
Chang and Elias are both in the industry of electronic devices with thermal management devices, therefore it would have been obvious to include the material taught by Elias to keep the temperature of the chassis from rising when slid out of the chassis (Elias ¶22)
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/E.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2841