DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 12 was amended to depend on claim 1, and will be examined herein. Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Dependent claims not rejected separately are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "pelletizing a polyester obtained..." in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester being produced in claim 1 distinct from the polyester produced by the esterification step?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a polyester pellet obtained..." in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester pellet being produced in claim 1 distinct from the polyester pellet produced by the pelletizing step?
Claim 8 recites the limitation "pelletizing a polyester obtained..." in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester being produced in claim 8 distinct from the polyester produced by the esterification step?
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a polyester pellet obtained..." in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester pellet being produced in claim 8 distinct from the polyester pellet produced by the pelletizing step?
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a resulting polyester" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester being produced in claim 10 distinct from the polyester produced by the claim 1?
Claim 12 recites the limitation "producing a polyester..." in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester being produced in claim 12 distinct from the polyester produced by claim 1?
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a polyester pellet" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester pellet being produced in claim 12 distinct from the polyester pellet produced by claim 1?
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a polyester" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is another polyester being produced in claim 12 distinct from the polyester produced by claim 1?
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 states "the separating is separating cyclic dimers using a separator." Claim 11 depends on claim 3. Claim 3 states "separating at least a part of the cyclic dimer in the contact treatment..."
Claim 11 does not further claim 3 since one would separate something with a separator. A separator is the genus; it is the broadest possible term. Claim 11 is just stating an inherent feature of claim 3 that a separator is used for the separating, thus claim 11 does not further limit claim 3. Claim 11 needs to be more specific to the type of separator to be further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al (US 2013/0211037; herein Maeda, already of record). Regarding claim 1, Maeda teaches:
Conducting an esterification reaction of reacting a diol component containing 1,4- butanediol, with a dicarboxylic acid component (claim 1 and paragraphs 0038-0039, 1, 4-butanediol is used)
Pelletizing a polyester obtained through the esterification reaction (claim 1)
Conducting a contact treatment by bringing a polyester pellet obtained by the pelletizing into contact with a contact treatment liquid (claim 1)
Wherein in the contact treatment, the contact treatment liquid upon the contact with the polyester pellet has a cyclic dimer concentration of not more than 3500 ppm by mass (paragraph 0090, the cyclic dimer is removed from the contact treatment solution, thus there is 0 ppm. One can also take the first instance of the use of the contact treatment solution, where again there would be 0 ppm cyclic dimer)
Regarding claim 2, Maeda teaches:
Wherein a temperature of the contact treatment liquid upon the contact between the polyester pellet and the contact treatment liquid is not less than 25°C and not more than the melting point of the polyester (claim 2)
Regarding claim 3, Maeda teaches:
further comprising separating at least a part of the cyclic dimer in the contact treatment liquid after the contact treatment (paragraph 0090)
Regarding claim 4, Maeda teaches:
Wherein the contact treatment liquid from which at least part of the cyclic dimer have been separated during the separating is used as a second contact treatment liquid in the contact treatment (paragraph 0090, the contact treatment liquid can be recycled and used again, thus a second contact treatment liquid)
Regarding claim 5, Maeda teaches:
Wherein in the contact treatment, the contact treatment liquid upon the contact between the polyester pellet and the contact treatment liquid contains water at 10% by mass to 99% by mass with respect to the total contact treatment liquid (claim 1)
Regarding claim 6, Maeda teaches:
Wherein in the contact treatment, the contact treatment liquid upon the contact between the polyester pellet and the contact treatment liquid comprises a mixture of an alcohol and water (paragraphs 0080-0084, ethanol and/or isopropanol is used with water)
Regarding claim 7, Maeda teaches:
Wherein in the contact treatment, the contact treatment liquid upon the contact with the polyester pellet has a cyclic dimer concentration of not less than 100 ppm by mass (The first instance of the use of the contact treatment solution there would be 0 ppm cyclic dimer)
Regarding claim 8:
See remarks regarding claims 1, 3, 4, and 6.
Regarding claim 9, Maeda teaches:
Wherein the cyclic dimers separated in the separating are supplied to the esterification reaction (paragraph 0090)
Regarding claim 11, Maeda teaches:
Wherein the separating is separating cyclic dimers using a separator (as previously discussed Maeda separates out the cyclic dimers, this would naturally be accomplished via the use of a separator)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda. Regarding claim 10:
Wherein a resulting polyester has a cyclic dimer content of not more than 2000 ppm by mass
Maeda teaches a cyclic dimer content of 1 ppm to not more than 6000 ppm, with specific ranges therein, paragraphs 0115 and 0117.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that since Maeda teaches overlapping cyclic dimer content values that the claimed range is obvious (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 12:
See remarks regarding claims 3, 6, and 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 8680229. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because one cannot perform the process of one without performing the process of the other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for references related to polyester production.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743