DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2020/0408147).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a gas turbine generator set, comprising:
a gas turbine (105 of Figure 2);
an electric generator (106 of Figure 2); and
an equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2),
wherein the gas turbine is arranged inside the equipment cabin and the electric generator is connected to the gas turbine positioned inside the equipment cabin, and is used for generating power driven by the gas turbine (Para. 0026).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein a coupling or a gear box is arranged between the gas turbine and the electric generator (Para. 0031, gas turbine is connected to the generator), and the coupling or the gear box is used for connecting the gas turbine and the electric generator (Para. 0031, gas turbine is connected to the generator).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein:
a cabin wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2) is provided with a first opening (see Figure 1), and the first opening is provided with an air filter (201 of Figure 2, 5, 7; Para. 0032); and
the gas turbine generator set is provided with an air intake pipe (104 of Figure 1-2), a first end of the air intake pipe is arranged at an air intake passage of the gas turbine (105 of Figure 2), a second end of the air intake pipe is in communication with the air filter arranged at the first opening.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein a cabin wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2) is provided with a second opening (104 of Figure 1), the second opening is provided with an air filter (Para. 0032), and the second opening is used for drawing air outside the equipment cabin into the equipment cabin (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein a cabin wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2) is provided with a third opening (see Figure 1), and an exhaust port (103 of Figure 1) of the gas turbine (105 of Figure 2) is orientated towards the third opening, and spaced apart from the third opening (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses further comprising an exhaust pipe (202 of Figure 3), wherein the exhaust pipe is connected to the third opening (see Figure 1, 2, 7) at an outer side of the third opening (see Figure 3, 5, 7), and a muffling structure (Para. 0032, exhaust silencer) is arranged in the exhaust pipe.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses mobile power generation equipment (Para. 0025), comprising a carrier (100 of Figure 1) and the gas turbine generator set according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2020/0408147), in view of Miranda (US 2018/0041093).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the electric generator is arranged outside the equipment cabin.
Miranda discloses wherein the electric generator (24 of Figure 1) is arranged outside the equipment cabin (40 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the electric generator of Zhang arranged outside the equipment cabin, as taught by Miranda, to provide a replacement generator in the event of an inoperable generator that can be quickly coupled to the gas turbine reducing a process that may take up to a few hours to a few days depending on various environmental which may result in lost revenues, brown outs, or black outs factors [Miranda: Para. 0002, 0017-0018].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a first fuel container and/or a second fuel container, wherein:
the first fuel container stores liquid fuel, and the second fuel container stores gas fuel; and
a fuel used for combustion in a combustion chamber of the gas turbine comprises the liquid fuel introduced from the first fuel container and/or the gas fuel introduced from the second fuel container.
Miranda discloses further comprising a first fuel container (31 of Figure 1) and/or a second fuel container, wherein:
the first fuel container stores liquid fuel (Para. 0023), and the second fuel container stores gas fuel; and
a fuel used for combustion (Para. 0023) in a combustion chamber (33 of Figure 1) of the gas turbine comprises the liquid fuel introduced from the first fuel container and/or the gas fuel introduced from the second fuel container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a fuel container that stores fuel in the gas turbine of Zhang used for combustion, as taught by Miranda, to allow the mobile power plant system to be transported to a location in need of electricity, such as during an emergency, natural disaster, or other event resulting in insufficient electricity [Miranda: Para. 0017].
Claims 9, 11, 12, and 16-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2020/0408147), in view of Anderson (US 3,418,485).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a ventilation mechanism, wherein the ventilation mechanism is arranged at the electric generator (106 of Figure 2), and used for driving cooling air at the electric generator to circulate.
Anderson discloses further comprising a ventilation mechanism (56 of Figure 4), wherein the ventilation mechanism is arranged at the electric generator (34 of Figure 4), and used for driving cooling air at the electric generator to circulate (Col. 3:44-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a ventilation mechanism for the generator of Zhang, to provide all of the cooling and to provide all of the ventilation required for safe operation without the need to resort to auxiliary external conduits or other structure [Anderson: Col. 3:48-52].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses further comprising an air circulation system, the air circulation system comprising:
an air intake port (104 of Figure 1) through a first wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2);
an air drawing mechanism (Para. 0032, fan) disposed near a second wall of the equipment cabin; and
an air exit port (202 of Figure 3, 5-7) for the air drawing mechanism to draw cool air from outside of the equipment cabin through the air intake port, around the gas turbine, and through the air exit port to outside of the equipment cabin.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose an air exit port through a second wall.
Anderson discloses an air exit port (via 50 of Figure 4) through a second wall (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the cooling air of Zhang exit through a second wall, as taught by Anderson, to direct the air through an air-oil heat exchanger to cool the oil before it is returned to the engine [Anderson: Col. 3:44-67].
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger disposed by the air intake port of the equipment cabin, wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism passes through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine in the equipment cabin.
Anderson discloses further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger (61 of Figure 4) disposed by the air intake port (Col. 3:44-57) of the equipment cabin (31 of Figure 4), wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism (56 of Figure 4) passes through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine (33 of Figure 4; Col. 3:44-75) in the equipment cabin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a lubrication oil heat exchanger in the cabin of Zhang wherein the cool air entering passes through the heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine, as taught by Anderson, to cool the oil before it is returned to the engine [Anderson: Col. 3:44-67].
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses where the air drawing mechanism comprises a fan (Para. 0032, fan).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the air drawing mechanism (Para. 0032, fan) comprises an exhaust opening of the gas turbine (105 of Figure 2) being arranged at the air exit port (202 of Figure 3, 5-7) which also function as a gas turbine exhaust port (103 of Figure 1-2),
wherein a high-speed exhaust from the exhaust opening of the gas turbine flowing outside of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2) through the air exit port generates a negative pressure near the air exit port, thereby drawing the cool air from outside of the equipment cabin through the air intake port, around the gas turbine, and through the air exit port to outside of the equipment cabin (result of the exhaust opening arranged at the air exit port).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses further comprising an air circulation system, the air circulation system comprising:
an air intake port (104 of Figure 1) through a first wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2);
an air drawing mechanism (Para. 0032, fan) disposed at the air intake port for drawing cool air from outside into the equipment cabin through the air intake port; and
an air exit port (202 of Figure 3, 5-7) for the cool air drawn by the air drawing mechanism to exit to outside of the equipment cabin after passing around the gas turbine (105 of Figure 2).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose an air exit port through a second wall.
Anderson discloses an air exit port (via 50 of Figure 4) through a second wall (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the cooling air of Zhang exit through a second wall, as taught by Anderson, to direct the air through an air-oil heat exchanger to cool the oil before it is returned to the engine [Anderson: Col. 3:44-67].
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger disposed in the equipment cabin by the air intake port, wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism pass through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine.
Anderson discloses further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger (61 of Figure 4) disposed in the equipment cabin (31 of Figure 4) by the air intake port (Col. 3:44-57), wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism (56 of Figure 4) pass through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine (33 of Figure 4; Col. 3:44-75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a lubrication oil heat exchanger in the cabin of Zhang wherein the cool air entering passes through the heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine, as taught by Anderson, to cool the oil before it is returned to the engine [Anderson: Col. 3:44-67].
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses wherein the air drawing mechanism comprises a fan (Para. 0032, fan).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2020/0408147) and Anderson (US 3,418,485) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Bond (GB 2555379 A).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang and Anderson disclose all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising an inertia separator disposed at the air intake port before the lubrication oil heat exchanger in a direction of a flow of the cool air.
Bond discloses further comprising an inertia separator (Page 7, lines 10-12; Page 8, lines 5-8) disposed at the air intake port (29 of Figure 2-3) before the lubrication oil heat exchanger (31 of Figure 2-4) in a direction of a flow of the cool air.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have an inertia separator disposed in the air intake port of Zhang, as taught by Bond, to reduce any fire risk in the event of leakage of oil from the heat exchanger [Bond: Page 7, lines 10-12].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 1, 11, 12, and 13, Zhang (US 2020/0408147), Anderson (US 3,418,485), and Bond (GB 2555379 A) is regarded as being the closest prior art to the subject-matter of said claims and shows:
a gas turbine generator set, comprising:
a gas turbine (105 of Figure 2);
an electric generator (106 of Figure 2); and
an equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2),
wherein the gas turbine is arranged inside the equipment cabin and the electric generator is connected to the gas turbine positioned inside the equipment cabin, and is used for generating power driven by the gas turbine (Para. 0026);
further comprising an air circulation system, the air circulation system comprising:
an air intake port (104 of Figure 1) through a first wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2);
an air drawing mechanism (Para. 0032, fan) disposed near a second wall of the equipment cabin; and
an air exit port (202 of Figure 3, 5-7) for the air drawing mechanism to draw cool air from outside of the equipment cabin through the air intake port, around the gas turbine, and through the air exit port to outside of the equipment cabin.
Anderson discloses an air exit port (via 50 of Figure 4) through a second wall (see Figure 4);
further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger (61 of Figure 4) disposed by the air intake port (Col. 3:44-57) of the equipment cabin (31 of Figure 4), wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism (56 of Figure 4) passes through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine (33 of Figure 4; Col. 3:44-75) in the equipment cabin.
Bond discloses further comprising an inertia separator (Page 7, lines 10-12; Page 8, lines 5-8) disposed at the air intake port (29 of Figure 2-3) before the lubrication oil heat exchanger (31 of Figure 2-4) in a direction of a flow of the cool air.
The subject-matter of claim 14 differs from Zhang, Anderson, and Bond reciting further comprising an air filter disposed by the air intake port but after the inertia separator in the direction of the flow of the cool air.
A detailed search and review of the prior art revealed a notable absence of the teachings recited in claim 14. The search was unable to find any prior art that teaches the limitations “an air filter disposed by the air intake port but after the inertia separator in the direction of the flow of the cool air.” Therefore, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the subject-matter of claim 14.
With respect to claims 1, 11, and 12, Zhang (US 2020/0408147) and Anderson (US 3,418,485) is regarded as being the closest prior art to the subject-matter of said claims and shows:
a gas turbine generator set, comprising:
a gas turbine (105 of Figure 2);
an electric generator (106 of Figure 2); and
an equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2),
wherein the gas turbine is arranged inside the equipment cabin and the electric generator is connected to the gas turbine positioned inside the equipment cabin, and is used for generating power driven by the gas turbine (Para. 0026);
further comprising an air circulation system, the air circulation system comprising:
an air intake port (104 of Figure 1) through a first wall of the equipment cabin (101 of Figure 1-2);
an air drawing mechanism (Para. 0032, fan) disposed near a second wall of the equipment cabin; and
an air exit port (202 of Figure 3, 5-7) for the air drawing mechanism to draw cool air from outside of the equipment cabin through the air intake port, around the gas turbine, and through the air exit port to outside of the equipment cabin.
Anderson discloses an air exit port (via 50 of Figure 4) through a second wall (see Figure 4);
further comprising a lubrication oil heat exchanger (61 of Figure 4) disposed by the air intake port (Col. 3:44-57) of the equipment cabin (31 of Figure 4), wherein the cool air entering the air intake port and as drawn by the air drawing mechanism (56 of Figure 4) passes through the lubrication oil heat exchanger before passing around the gas turbine (33 of Figure 4; Col. 3:44-75) in the equipment cabin.
The subject-matter of claim 15 differs from Zhang and Anderson reciting further comprising a fire damper disposed near the air intake port but after the lubrication oil heat exchanger in a direction of a flow of the cool air.
A detailed search and review of the prior art revealed a notable absence of the teachings recited in claim 15. The search was unable to find any prior art that teaches the limitations “a fire damper disposed near the air intake port but after the lubrication oil heat exchanger in a direction of a flow of the cool air.” Therefore, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the subject-matter of claim 15.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Norton (US 6,232,679) discloses a gas turbine and an oil heat exchanger.
Marchand (US 4,550,563), Sun (CN 112682172 A), disclose a gas turbine and an inertia separator.
Davis (US 2019/0063341) and Seldenrust (US 11,598,477) disclose a gas turbine generator set comprising a gas turbine, electric generator, and an equipment cabin.
Laing (US 2018/0030895) discloses an air circulation system for a gas turbine enclosure comprising an air intake port in a first wall and an exit port in a second wall.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834