DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 67-68, in the reply filed on July 2, 2026, is acknowledged. Claim 21 links Groups I and V-VII. Claims 69, 71-71, 74, 76, 173, 228-234 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao Weixing, CN101434498A, published May 20, 2009.
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for stimulating plant growth and/or promoting plant health comprising applying a free enzyme to a plant seed, wherein the enzyme is a phytase.
Claim 67 is drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein applying the enzyme to the plant seed comprises: (a) applying the enzyme to the plant seed at the time of planting; or (b) coating the plant seed with the enzyme.
Hao Weixing teaches a method comprising coating a plant seed with a phytase. Hao Weixing also teaches that the appropriate amount of phytase can provide nutrients such as phosphorous for the balanced growth of crops, so that crops can be robust and have sufficient nutrient absorption, thus improving disease resistance, as well as growth and maturity, thereby increasing crop yield. Accordingly, Hao Weixing anticipates claims 21 and 67.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 67-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb et al. U.S. Patent No. 10,570,066, issued Feb. 25, 2020 in view of Lim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070277257, published Nov. 29, 2007.
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for stimulating plant growth and/or promoting plant health comprising applying a free enzyme to a plant seed, wherein the enzyme is a phytase.
Claim 67 is drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein applying the enzyme to the plant seed comprises: (a) applying the enzyme to the plant seed at the time of planting; or (b) coating the plant seed with the enzyme.
Claim 68 is drawn to the method of claim 67, wherein the method comprises coating the plant seed with a seed coating formulation comprising: the enzyme, and an agriculturally acceptable carrier.
Lamb et al. teach compositions that can be applied directly to seeds, soil, or plants, and that have been shown to improve plant health, plant emergence, crop yield, plant health consistency, consistent or time-released bio-availability of nutrients in and around a plant, seed, or soil, plant resistance to disease and drought, and microbial catalysis. Lamb et al. also teach that these compositions may also be combined with other commercial products to enhance the efficacy thereof, including enzymes, and including agriculturally acceptable carriers (abstract; column 2; column 4 line 52 to column 5 line 5; column 7 line 42 to column 8 line 10; column 11 lines 33 to column 12 line 17; Examples 2, 2 and 5; claims 1 and 9).
Lamb et al. do not teach the combination of their compositions with an enzyme that is a phytase.
Lim et al. teach that phosphorus in soil is a limiting factor for plant growth, and that the phosphorus locked up as phytate in the soil is not available for plant utilization. Lim et al. also teach that phytase is an enzyme that increases the availability of utilizable phosphorus by catalyzing the conversion of phytate into inorganic phosphate and myo-inositol phosphate, releasing phosphate that can be utilized by plants (paragraphs [0004], [0012]).
Given the teachings of Lamb et al. that compositions comprising enzymes and agriculturally acceptable carriers can be applied directly to seeds, soil, or plants to improve plant health, plant emergence, crop yield, plant health consistency, consistent or time-released bio-availability of nutrients in and around a plant, seed, or soil, plant resistance to disease and drought, and microbial catalysis, and given the teachings of Lim et al. that phytase can increase the availability of phosphorus to plants by catalyzing the conversion of phytate into inorganic phosphate and myo-inositol phosphate, thus facilitating plant growth, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a composition comprising a phytase enzyme and an agriculturally acceptable carrier to a plant seed. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the availability of phosphorus to the plant seed to facilitate the growth of a plant therefrom. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, given the success of Lamb et al. in utilizing compositions comprising other enzymes, and given the known activity of phytase, as evidenced by Lim et al. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious as a whole to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 67-68 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 69 and 72 of copending Application No. 18/476,270 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for stimulating plant growth and/or promoting plant health comprising applying a free enzyme to a plant seed, wherein the enzyme is a phytase.
Claim 67 is drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein applying the enzyme to the plant seed comprises: (a) applying the enzyme to the plant seed at the time of planting; or (b) coating the plant seed with the enzyme.
Claim 68 is drawn to the method of claim 67, wherein the method comprises coating the plant seed with a seed coating formulation comprising: the enzyme, and an agriculturally acceptable carrier.
Claim 69 of the reference application is drawn to a plant seed coated with a free enzyme, wherein the enzyme is selected from a phospholipase, a lipase, a xylanase, a xylosidase, a mannanase, a pectinase, a lactonase, a chitosanase, a protease, a phytase, an acid phosphatase, a non- cellulolytic glucanase, an ACC deaminase, and combinations of any thereof, wherein the protease comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to any one of SEQ ID Nos: 46-48.
Claim 72 of the reference application is drawn to the plant seed of claim 69, wherein the seed is further coated with an agriculturally acceptable carrier, a polymer, a preservative, a fungicide, an insecticide, or a nematicide.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the seed produced by the method set forth in claims 21 and 67-68 of the instant application are obvious species encompassed by the genus of seed set forth in claims 69 and 72 of the reference application
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Remarks
/CYNTHIA E COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662