DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 1-2, as currently drafted it is advised that the recitation of “[a/the] direction in which the power transmission coil moves relative to the power reception coil” is somewhat confusing in that it could potentially imply that the power transmission coil is moving while Applicant’s Specification appears to disclose the opposite situation, in that the power reception coil is the mobile unit. It is generally recommended the claims provide more context or be rephrased as needed. See also the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) below regarding further clarity issues requiring clarification and suggested claim amendment.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1 (and claims 2-12 dependent thereon), the scope of the claim is indefinite due to unclear and potentially conflicting claim limitations regarding the structure of the power transmission coil as “has a structure in which a conductor is uniformly wound around an entire area in a direction in which the power transmission coil moves relative to the power reception coil” while also having potentially conflicting and/or vague connection as to the means achieves the functions of: “wherein the power transmission coil includes a first area where power in a first power value range is wirelessly transmitted, and a second area where power in a second power value range is wirelessly transmitted, wherein a maximal value of the second power value range is smaller than a maximal value of the first power value range, and wherein a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the second area of the power transmission coil is smaller than a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the first area of the power transmission coil”. Specifically, based on Applicant’s disclosure it would appear that the intended invention is a transmission coil having a non-uniform structure, as can be seen in embodiments of Figs. 2A and 5A which has two distinct areas where the coil windings (conductor separation distance or conductor width) and/or the magnetic substrate thickness are designed to be intentionally different such that different coupling coefficients with a receiver that is able to move between the two areas is achieved. As currently drafted, the claim language therefore presents conflicting or vague limitations, since the transmission coil structure cannot both be completely uniform and also be structured to create the two different power areas. Additionally, the claim language as drafted does not clearly link the manner in which the structure achieves the different coupling coefficients and therefore the different power ranges, which otherwise may be confused with other unsupported means to change transmission power values. Failure to adequately recite the supported structure used to achieve the recited functions consistent with Applicant’s supported embodiments may also potentially raise Written Description issues if not properly addressed.
It is recommended Applicant consider the suggested amendment as follows to ensure the claims are clear and consistent with the embodiments of the invention. Additionally, Applicant is advised to incorporate at least one specific structure for achieving the invention (see indicated allowable subject matter and the Conclusion for further discussion) according to the disclosed embodiments to prevent the claims from encompassing subject matter broader than the supported embodiments that also would be unable to distinguish from prior art arrangements (the structural feature may be inserted in the last paragraph replacing the phrase: “the structure of the power transmission coil is designed” for example). For purposes of examination, claim 1 will be interpreted as reciting limitations as in the suggested amendment.
Claim 1. (Suggested Amendment) A wireless power transmission system comprising:
a power transmission coil and a power reception coil disposed to face each other wherein the power reception coil is configured to be relatively movable along a length of the power transmission coil,
wherein the power transmission coil has a structure in which a conductor is with a uniform number of turns and a uniform outer width of the power transmission coil along the length of the power transmission coil
wherein the power transmission coil includes a first area along the length of the power transmission coil where power in a first power value range is wirelessly transmitted to the power reception coil, and a second area along the length of the power transmission coil where power in a second power value range is wirelessly transmitted to the power reception coil,
wherein a maximal value of the second power value range is smaller than a maximal value of the first power value range, and
wherein the structure of the power transmission coil is designed such that a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the second area of the power transmission coil and the maximal value of the second power value range is smaller than a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the first area of the power transmission coil and the maximal value of the first power value range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae (US2018/0342895).
Re claim 1. As best understood Bae teaches a wireless power transmission system (see Bae: Figs. 1, 2A, 3, 7-10) comprising:
a power transmission coil (transmission coil <140> of wireless power transmission device, see Bae: [0021-0024], [0051], Figs. 1, 2A, 7) and a power reception coil (reception induction coil of wireless power reception device, see Bae: [0021-0024], Figs. 1, 2A) disposed to face each other and configured to be relatively movable (see Bae: [0049-0054], Fig. 7 regarding reception coil able to move position along length of the transmission coil),
wherein the power transmission coil has a structure in which a conductor is uniformly wound around an entire area in a direction in which the power transmission coil moves relative to the power reception coil (see Bae: [0051-0054], Fig. 7 regarding transmission coil having uniform outer width along the horizontal length and uniform number of turns throughout),
wherein the power transmission coil includes a first area where power in a first power value range is wirelessly transmitted, and a second area where power in a second power value range is wirelessly transmitted (see Bae: [0029], [0031], [0049-0054], Fig. 7 regarding different coupling coefficient between reception coil and transmission coil at different positions/areas along length of transmission coil thereby having different power transfer efficiency/different max power transferrable),
wherein a maximal value of the second power value range is smaller than a maximal value of the first power value range (see Bae: [0029], [0031], [0049-0054], Fig. 7 regarding different coupling coefficient between reception coil and transmission coil at different positions/areas along length of transmission coil thereby having different power transfer efficiency/different max power transferrable; see also rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above regarding interpretation of the claim limitations), and
wherein a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the second area of the power transmission coil is smaller than a coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil when the power reception coil is in the first area of the power transmission coil (see Bae: [0029], [0031], [0049-0054], Fig. 7 regarding different coupling coefficient between reception coil and transmission coil at different positions/areas along length of transmission coil thereby having different power transfer efficiency/different max power transferrable). See Bae: [0021-0024], [0029], [0031], [0049-0054], Figs. 1, 2A, 3, 7-10. Note that the claim as best understood could also be anticipated by almost any general wireless power transmission coil without specifying the actual structural design to achieve different coupling coefficient areas are being produced since coupling coefficient inherently varies across relative positioning with a transmission coil as is explicitly shown in Bae. See the Conclusion below regarding further suggestions.
Re claim 2. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 1, wherein a size of the power transmission coil is longer than a size of the power reception coil in the direction in which the power transmission coil moves.
Re claim 8. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 1, wherein a conductor width of the power transmission coil in the first area and a conductor width of the power transmission coil in the second area are equivalent to each other (see Bae: [0051-0054], Fig. 7 regarding transmission coil shown with uniform conductor width throughout).
Re claim 10. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 1, further comprising a power transmission circuit power converter <47>) configured to convert a direct-current (DC) voltage into an alternating-current (AC) voltage and apply the AC voltage to the power transmission coil (see Bae: [0037], [0042-0043], Fig. 3 regarding wireless transmission unit including DC-AC converter to drive transmission coil).
Re claim 11. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 10, further comprising a power reception circuit configured to convert an AC current of the power reception coil into a DC current (see Bae: [0022-0024], Figs. 1, 2A regarding wireless power reception) device including circuitry to convert received AC power into DC power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Kim (KR20210050923A; specific reference is made to attached English machine translation).
Re claims 3-5. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 1, and generally mentions providing other layers with the transmission coil (see Bae: [0042-0048], Fig. 4), but does not explicitly discuss providing magnetic substance layer with the transmission coil. Kim, however, teaches that it is known in the art of inductive wireless power transmission systems to design the system wherein the power coil layer is in contact with a magnetic substance on a side opposite to a side facing the power reception coil; wherein a thickness of the magnetic substance in the second area is thinner than a thickness of the magnetic substance in the first area; wherein, when the power reception coil is in the second area of the power transmission coil, the coupling coefficient between the power transmission coil and the power reception coil decreases as a thickness of the magnetic substance in the second area decreases (see Kim: [0053-0057], [0142], Figs. 2A-C regarding providing magnetic material layer next to coil layer in order to improve magnetic field coupling efficiency). One of ordinary skill would appreciate the use of magnetic layer to improve coupling efficiency is predictably applicable to the transmission coil of Bae, and alternatively Official Notice is taken that it is well-known in the art of inductive wireless power transmission systems for magnetic substance layer to be applied to the transmission coil side to improve magnetic field coupling efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bae to incorporate the teachings of Kim by including a magnetic substance layer having different/thinner/decreased thicknesses in different areas along the length of the coil as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably enhance the magnetic field coupling efficiency of the inductive power transmission system (see Kim: [0053-0057]) while providing different thickness to provide an efficient construction with more magnetic material in areas desired (see Kim: [0053-0057], Figs. 2A-C). Note that the combination inherently results in different coupling coefficients in generally different areas along the length of the coil as discussed by Bae: [0049-0054], Fig. 7, and Kim: [0053-0057], Figs. 2A-C due to both the coupling coefficient variation along the coil length and the magnetic material generally affecting coupling efficiency as understood in light of Applicant’s own disclosure. See also Conclusion below regarding further suggestions to avoid broad interpretation of claim language with respect to similar prior art such as Kim.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae.
Re claim 12. As best understood, Bae teaches the wireless power transmission system according to claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose the wireless power reception device further comprising a constant-voltage circuit configured to convert a voltage of the power reception circuit into a constant DC voltage (see Bae: [0022], Fig. 1). Official Notice is hereby taken, however, that it is very well-known in the art of wireless power transmission systems for the receiver to further include a DC constant-voltage regulating circuit for purposes of ensuring that constant DC voltage is supplied to a load of the wireless power reception device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bae to incorporate the constant-voltage circuit as recited for purposes of providing well-known means to predictably ensure that wirelessly received power is provided at constant desired DC voltage beneficial to applications/loads where stability of the supplied voltage is desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note the claims are interpreted according to manner discussed with respect to rejection under 35 USC 112(b) and suggested amendment above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6, as best understood, would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or render obvious a wireless power transmission coil according to claim 1 (see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) for current interpretation/suggested amendment), structured “wherein, on a facing surface where the power transmission coil faces the power reception coil, a separation distance between a plurality of conductors of the power transmission coil in the second area is shorter than a separation distance between a plurality of conductors of the power transmission coil in the first area” to create the different coupling coefficients. As discussed above, although prior art such as Bae discloses transmission coil structures with uniform length/width and different separation distances between turns (see Bae: Fig. 10) with receiver movable along the length with inherently different coupling coefficient, and other prior art of record generally discloses non-uniform power transmission coil shapes, as best understood, the prior art does not sufficiently teach or suggest designing the power transmission coil with uniform outer length and width and turns, with first and second areas along the length designed to have different separation distances between plurality of conductors of the transmission windings such that different coupling coefficients, and thus respective max values of respective power ranges, are created when the receiver moves between the different areas as understood in light of Applicant’s disclosure. Claim 6, in light of Applicant’s Specification, Drawings, and as presently understood as discussed in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above, would therefore overcome the cited prior art of record.
Claim 7, as best understood, effectively requires the same limitations as claim 6 except phrased in different manner, and would therefore overcome the cited prior art of record for the same reasons as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Claim 9, as best understood, would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or render obvious a wireless power transmission coil according to claim 1 (see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) for current interpretation/suggested amendment), structured “wherein a conductor width of the power transmission coil in the first area and a conductor width of the power transmission coil in the second area are different from each other” to create the different coupling coefficients. As discussed above, although prior art such as Bae discloses transmission coil structures with uniform length/width and different separation distances between turns (see Bae: Fig. 10) with receiver movable along the length with inherently different coupling coefficient, and other prior art of record generally discloses non-uniform power transmission coil shapes or design of conductor width, as best understood, the prior art does not sufficiently teach or suggest designing the power transmission coil with uniform outer length and width and turns, with first and second areas along the length designed to have different conductor widths of the transmission windings in the areas such that different coupling coefficients, and thus respective max values of respective power ranges, are created when the receiver moves between the different areas as understood in light of Applicant’s disclosure. Claim 9, in light of Applicant’s Specification, Drawings, and as presently understood as discussed in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above, would therefore overcome the cited prior art of record.
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant amend the claims in manner similar to the suggested amendment to address the issues under 35 USC 112(b) and then incorporate further details of the transmission coil structure used to actually create the different coupling coefficient areas, such as in the indicated allowable subject matter, to overcome the cited prior art of record under broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant is advised also that although the current description of differing magnetic substance thickness is currently rejected by prior art applicable under broadest reasonable interpretation, Applicant may also consider amending the claims to be more specific as to how the magnetic substance is changing thickness with relation to the areas and the overall layout of the transmission coil if desired to distinguish from prior art that is otherwise broadly applicable. Applicant is reminded that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation during examination, and may contact the examiner to discuss possible amendments or the office action as needed.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836