DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, in lines 2-5, Applicant recites “a second vehicle speed”, but does not recite “a first vehicle speed”. Similarly, Applicant recites “a second ambient brightness”, but does not recite “a first ambient brightness”. Again, Applicant recites “a second state of the route to be traveled”, but does not recite “a first state of the route to be traveled”. Finally, Applicant recites “the second distance”, but does not recite “a first distance”. It appears this rejection could be overcome if Applicant amends claim 3 to depend on claim 2 rather than claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Moreover, in lines 4-5, Applicant recites “the third update condition”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Additionally, in line 5, Applicant recites “the second distance”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Additionally, Applicant recites “the preceding vehicle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, in line 2, Applicant recites “a second vehicle speed”, but does not recite “a first vehicle speed”. In line 6, Applicant recites “a second driving instruction”, but does not recite “first driving instruction”. It appears this rejection could be overcome if Applicant amends claim 5 to depend on claim 4 (if Applicant also amends claim 4 to depend on claim 2), rather than claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Moreover, in line 7, Applicant recites “the second optical pattern”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Did Applicant intend to recite “the second light pattern”? Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, in line 2, Applicant recites “a second ambient brightness”, but does not recite “a first ambient brightness”. It appears this rejection could be overcome if Applicant amends claim 6 to depend on claim 2 rather than claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, in line 2, Applicant recites “a second state of the route to be traveled”, but does not recite “a first state of the route to be traveled”. In lines 2-3, Applicant recites “a third update condition” without reciting a first and second update condition. It appears this rejection could be overcome if Applicant amends claim 7 to depend on claim 2 rather than claim 1. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 8 is rejected under this provision at least based on its dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, in lines 2-5, Applicant recites “a second vehicle speed”, but does not recite “a first vehicle speed”. Similarly, Applicant recites “a second ambient brightness”, but does not recite “a first ambient brightness”. Again, Applicant recites “a second state of the route to be traveled”, but does not recite “a first state of the route to be traveled”. Finally, Applicant recites “the second distance”, but does not recite “a first distance”. It appears this rejection could be overcome if Applicant amends claim 15 to depend on claim 14 rather than claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Moreover, in lines 4-5, Applicant recites “the third update condition”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Additionally, in line 5, Applicant recites “the second distance”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Additionally, Applicant recites “the preceding vehicle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim for this recitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 16, in lines 3-4, Applicant recites “a second distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front”, but does not recite a “a first distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front”. In line 5, Applicant recites “a fourth update condition”, but does not recite a first, second or third update condition. In line 9, Applicant recites “a fourth driving instruction”, but does not recite a first, second or third driving instruction. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 is rejected under this provision at least based on its dependency on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 6,343,869).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a light carpet control method, wherein the method comprises: determining that a vehicle meets a light carpet trigger condition (Kobayashi teaches many light carpet trigger conditions detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2; see at least col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 17 which includes a non-exhaustive of conditions which trigger emitting a first light beam) and emitting a first light beam (via light unit 5), wherein the first light beam is used to display a first light pattern on a route to be traveled along by the vehicle; and determining that the vehicle meets a light carpet update condition (again, the description contains many different light update trigger conditions based on changes detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2), and emitting a second light beam (via light unit 5), wherein the second light beam is used to display a second light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle, and the second light pattern is different from the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light carpet trigger condition comprises at least one of the following: obtaining an input instruction (mode determining means 3 issues instructions/control signals to illumination control means 4) for turning on a light carpet, a first vehicle speed of the vehicle meets a first preset condition, a first ambient brightness of the vehicle meets a second preset condition, a first state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle meets a third preset condition, or a first distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front meets a fourth preset condition (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light carpet update condition (again, the mode determining means 3 continually updates based on the change of the many different environments and vehicle statuses detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2) comprises at least one of the following: a second vehicle speed of the vehicle meets a first update condition, a second ambient brightness of the vehicle meets a second update condition, a second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle meets the third update condition; and the second distance between the vehicle and the preceding vehicle meets a fourth update condition (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein determining that a vehicle meets a light carpet trigger condition and emitting a first light beam comprises: obtaining a first driving instruction (mode determining means 3 issues instructions/control signals to illumination control means 4), wherein the driving instruction indicates the first light pattern; and driving a shielding assembly (at least 34) based on the first driving instruction, wherein the shielding assembly 34 is configured to enable the first light beam to display the first light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light carpet update condition comprises a second vehicle speed (see at least col. 9, lines 27-45) of the vehicle meets a first update condition, and the determining that the vehicle meets the light carpet update condition and emitting a second light beam comprises: determining the second light pattern according to the second vehicle speed; obtaining a second driving instruction, wherein the second driving instruction indicates the second optical pattern; and driving a shielding assembly (at least 34) based on the second driving instruction, wherein the shielding assembly is configured to enable the second light beam to display the second light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light carpet update condition comprises a second ambient brightness of the vehicle (see at least col. 7, line 20 through col. 8, line 26) meets a second update condition, and the determining that the vehicle meets a light carpet update condition and emitting a second light beam comprises: determining first brightness of the second light pattern according to the second ambient brightness; and emitting the second light beam (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the light carpet update condition comprises a second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle (see at least col. 6, line 42 through col. 7, line 20) meets a third update condition, and the determining that the vehicle meets a light carpet update condition and emitting a second light beam comprises: determining the second light pattern according to the second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle; obtaining a second driving instruction, wherein the second driving instruction indicates the second optical pattern; and driving a shielding assembly (at least 34) based on the second driving instruction, wherein the shielding assembly is configured to enable the second light beam to display the second light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the determining the second light pattern according to a second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle comprises: determining that a second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle is a zebra crossing (see at least Figs. 15-16 and description of pedestrian crossings and changing illumination pattern), and obtaining a third driving instruction, wherein the third driving instruction is used to control the second target light pattern to be displayed on the zebra crossing of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle; and driving a shielding assembly (at least 34) based on the third driving instruction, wherein the shielding assembly is configured to enable the second light beam to display the second light pattern on the zebra crossing of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses, wherein the light carpet update condition comprises a second distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front meets (see at least col. 16, lines 20-32) a fourth update condition, and the determining that the vehicle meets the light carpet update condition and emitting a second light beam comprises: determining the second light pattern according to the second distance between the vehicle and the vehicle in front; and obtaining a fourth driving instruction, wherein the fourth driving instruction is used to indicate the second optical type; and driving a shielding component based on the fourth driving instruction, wherein the shielding component is configured to enable the emergent second light beam to display the second light type on the to-be-traveled path (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the determining the second light pattern according to the second distance between the vehicle and the vehicle in front comprises: determining that the second distance is less than the first distance, and one of a first length of the second light pattern is less than a second length of the first light pattern, or, a first brightness of the second light pattern is greater than a second brightness of the first light pattern, or, a first flicker frequency of the second light pattern is greater than a second flicker frequency of the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the determining the second light pattern according to the second distance between the vehicle and the vehicle in front comprises: determining that the second distance is greater than the first distance, and one of a first length of the second light pattern is greater than a second length of the first light pattern, or, a first brightness of the second light pattern is less than a second brightness of the first light pattern, or, a first flicker frequency of the second light pattern is less than a second flicker frequency of the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second light pattern comprises a first light carpet and a second light carpet, the first light carpet and the second light carpet are different (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a light source assembly (at least light source unit 5), at least one processor (at least processor within ECU 10), at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (at least memory within ECU 10) to be executed by the at least one processor, the light source assembly is configured to send a beam, the program including instructions to: determine that a vehicle meets a light carpet trigger condition (Kobayashi teaches many light carpet trigger conditions detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2; see at least col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 17 which includes a non-exhaustive of conditions which trigger emitting a first light beam) and emit a first light beam, wherein the first light beam is used to display a first light pattern on a route to be traveled along by the vehicle; and determine that the vehicle meets the a light carpet update condition (again, the description contains many different light update trigger conditions based on changes detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2), and emit a second light beam, wherein the second light beam is used to display a second light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle, and the second light pattern is different from the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the light carpet trigger condition comprises at least one of the following: obtaining an input instruction mode determining means 3 issues instructions/control signals to illumination control means 4) for turning on a light carpet, a first vehicle speed of the vehicle meets a first preset condition, a first ambient brightness of the vehicle meets a second preset condition, a first state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle meets a third preset condition, or a first distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front meets a fourth preset condition (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the light carpet update condition (again, the mode determining means 3 continually updates based on the change of the many different environments and vehicle statuses detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2) comprises at least one of the following: a second vehicle speed of the vehicle meets a first update condition, a second ambient brightness of the vehicle meets a second update condition, a second state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle meets the third update condition; and the second distance between the vehicle and the preceding vehicle meets a fourth update condition (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a driving assembly (at least 37,38) and a shielding assembly (at least 34), and the driving assembly is connected to the shielding assembly; wherein the light carpet update condition comprises a second distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front meets a fourth update condition, wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor to further cause the apparatus to: determine the second light pattern according to the second distance between the vehicle and the vehicle in front; and obtain a fourth driving instruction, wherein the fourth driving instruction is used to indicate the second optical type; and drive the shielding component 34 based on the fourth driving instruction, wherein the shielding component 34 is configured to enable the emergent second light beam to display the second light type on the to-be-traveled path (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 16, and further discloses, wherein the instructions executed by the at least one processor to further cause the apparatus to: determine that the second distance is less than the first distance, and one of a first length of the second light pattern is less than a second length of the first light pattern, or, a first brightness of the second light pattern is greater than a second brightness of the first light pattern, or, a first flicker frequency of the second light pattern is greater than a second flicker frequency of the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 18, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the second light pattern comprises a first light carpet and a second light carpet, the first light carpet and the second light carpet are different (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 19, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the vehicle light system comprises a light source assembly (light source unit 5), at least one processor (processor within ECU 10), at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory within ECU 10) storing a program to be executed by the at least one processor, the light source assembly 5 is configured to send a beam, the program including instructions to: determine that a vehicle meets a light carpet trigger condition (Kobayashi teaches many light carpet trigger conditions detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2; see at least col. 3, line 45 through col. 4, line 17 which includes a non-exhaustive of conditions which trigger emitting a first light beam) and emit a first light beam, wherein the first light beam is used to display a first light pattern on a route to be traveled along by the vehicle; and determine that the vehicle meets the light carpet update condition (again, the description contains many different light update trigger conditions based on changes detected by the driving-environment detecting means 2), and emit a second light beam, wherein the second light beam is used to display a second light pattern on the route to be traveled along by the vehicle, and the second light pattern is different from the first light pattern (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi discloses the limitations of claim 19, and further discloses wherein the light carpet trigger condition comprises at least one of the following: obtaining an input instruction (mode determining means 3 issues instructions/control signals to illumination control means 4) for turning on a light carpet, a first vehicle speed of the vehicle meets a first preset condition, a first ambient brightness of the vehicle meets a second preset condition, a first state of the route to be traveled along by the vehicle meets a third preset condition, or a first distance between the vehicle and a vehicle in front meets a fourth preset condition (see Figures 1-27 and column 3, line 12 through column 25, line 58).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mochizuki et al US 2008/0192496 (lamp system for vehicle)
/SEAN P GRAMLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875