DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,289,517. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite the same or similar computing system and computer-implemented method to interact with robotic control using natural language commands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0178076 to Abramson et al. (“Abramson”).
Regarding claim 6, Abramson teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving a user request to control a robotic device, the user request including a natural language description to instruct the robotic device to perform a sequence of operations (a user provides a natural language text sequence through an input interface, see paragraph [0197]; the device carries out tasks specified by a user by performing actions that control the devices, see paragraph [0091]);
determining a state of the robotic device (state representation is received as input, see paragraph [0033]);
sending a request to a language model (LM), the request including at least:
a high-level system state of the robotic device determined based at least in part on the low-level system state; at least a portion of the user request; and at least a portion of mapping data that associates high-level commands with respective low-level machine controls for the robotic device (the method for controlling an agent interacting with an environment includes processing the state representation using a high-level controller to generate respective low-level input and processing the input for the position using an action policy neural network to generate the action to be performed by the agent and causing the agent to perform the sequence of actions, see paragraph [0028]. Further, mapping of high-level actions into low-level commands is discussed in paragraph [0144]); and
receiving, from the LM and in response to the request, at least one high-level command to cause the robotic device to perform the sequence of operations (the high-level controller neutral network is discussed in paragraph [0143] and receives commands that then auto-regressively generate respective low-level input.);
associating, using the mapping, the at least one high-level command with at least one low-level machine control (a control system for the agent maps high-level actions into low-level commands in order to control the agent, see paragraph [0144]); and
sending the at least one low-level machine control to the robotic device to cause the robotic device to perform the sequence of operations (the low-level commands and controls cause the robotic device to perform a sequence of operations, for example in the case of paragraph [0144] the agent is controlled by specifying forces or torque to apply to the joints or other portions of the body of the agent) .
Regarding claim 7, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving logic to implement the at least one low-level machine control; and sending the logic to the robotic device to cause the robotic device to perform the sequence of operations (paragraph [0203] teaches logic circuitry in addition to hardware and code to create the execution environment for computer programs).
Regarding claim 8, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving sensory input from the robotic device; converting the sensory input to high-level sensor observation data; translating the high-level sensor observation data to formatted high-level sensor observation data for processing by the LM; and sending the formatted high-level sensor observation data to the LM in association with the user request (an observation image captured by the agent is the sensory input from the robotic device).
Regarding claim 9, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the user request includes a description of an object to track using the robotic device, and wherein the at least one low-level machine control causes the robotic device to locate the object (the goal may be to locate an object of interest and to move an object of interest, paragraph [0082], or to grab/pull an object of interest in paragraph [01444], these actions would require tracking the object in order to locate and interact with the object).
Regarding claim 10, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving a plurality of video frames from the robotic device; processing at least some of the plurality of video frames using a vision model to locate the object and generate a bounding box around the object; and sending data descriptive of at least one of the bounding box or location information of the object to the LM. (Abramson teaches receiving images, reference number 110, captured by a camera sensor of the agent, reference number 104, see paragraph [0064]; the agent then is able to locate an object of interest in the environment as stated in paragraph [0082], in the example of paragraph [0180] the agent receives a request to locate a drum and outputs text to specify the color of the located drum.)
Regarding claim 15, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the robotic device is at least one of a multiaxial camera device, a robotic arm, or a remotely controlled vehicle (paragraph [0082] gives an example of the agent being a vehicle, or a camera in paragraph [0194]).
Claims 16, 18-20 are rejected similarly to claims 6, 7, 9, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramson as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0014609 to Laska (“Laska”).
Regarding claim 11, Abramson teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, but is silent on the robotic device is a multiaxial camera device; and the user request includes a request to zoom in on an object using the robotic device, and wherein the at least one low-level machine control causes the multiaxial camera device to locate the object, zoom in on the object, and record imagery of the object.
Laska teaches a smart home environment including service robots that receive commands and autonomously carry out household tasks. In one example, the robot receives a zoom command and changes motion parameter settings for a multiaxial camera based on the zoom commands (see paragraphs [0078], [0206]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teaching of Abramson with that of Laska to include zoom commands as one of the commands that may be inputted by the user and to subsequently utilize the low-level machine controls to cause the camera to zoom and carry out associated tasks to expand the useful scope of control of the agent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AMY R. HSU
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/AMY R HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638