DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: holding arrangement and locking device in claims 1, 15 and 17 and snap-in mechanism in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 15-118 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie (Chinese Patent Document CN 112943527 A).
As per claim 1, Xie discloses a wind turbine rotor blade comprising: a base plate (1; figures 1,5) having an access opening (as shown; figure 5) and defining a base plane (the plane of base plate 1 shown; figure 5); a cover (2; figure 6) for closing said access opening (as shown; figure 6); a holding arrangement (31) configured to permit a movement of said cover relative to said base plate in a predetermined direction parallel to said base plane of said base plate (limiting blocks 31 shown to be in shape of circumferentially spaced tabs in sectors, i.e., capable of allowing cover plate 2 rotate in a direction parallel to the plane of baffle plate 1; figures 2, 5, 6) so as to cause said cover to be held in a form-fitting manner on said base plate (compresses tightly to cover plate 2; paragraph [0025]); and, a locking device (32) configured to block a movement of said cover in a direction opposite to said predetermined direction (bolted stopper restricting 5 degrees of freedom; paragraph [0030]).
As per claim 2, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said movement is a rotational movement (limiting blocks 3 are arranged circumferentially and there is no structure prohibiting rotational movement, i.e., limiting blocks 3 capable of permitting rotational movement parallel to the base plane; figures 2, 5).
As per claim 8, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said base plate comprises a ring including a fiber composite material and delimiting said access opening (baffle 1 is made of glass fiber reinforced plastic composite material; paragraph [0023]).
As per claim 15, Xie discloses a wind turbine rotor blade comprising: a base plate (1; figures 1,5) having an access opening (as shown; figure 5) and defining a base plane (the plane of base plate 1 shown; figure 5); a cover (2; figure 6) for closing said access opening (as shown; figure 6); a holding arrangement (31) configured to permit a movement of said cover relative to said base plate in a predetermined direction parallel to said base plane of said base plate (limiting blocks 31 shown to be in shape of circumferentially spaced tabs in sectors, i.e., capable of allowing cover plate 2 rotate in a direction parallel to the plane of baffle plate 1; figures 2, 5, 6) so as to cause said cover to be held in a form-fitting manner on said base plate (compresses tightly to cover plate 2; paragraph [0025]); and, a locking device configured to block a movement of said cover in a direction opposite to said predetermined direction (bolted stopper restricting 5 degrees of freedom; paragraph [0030]); said base plate having a main body and a ring delimiting said access opening (inner diameter core material (ring delimiting said opening) and outer diameter core material (main body); paragraph [0027]) and being made of a fiber composite material; and, said main body having a sandwich configuration including two cover layers and a core layer disposed between said two cover layers and made of fiber composite material (baffle 1 made of fiberglass composite material having a sandwich structure having core material 5 symmetrically wrapped by multiple layers 4; paragraphs [0023], [0024]).
As per claim 16, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 15, and further discloses wherein said two cover layers extend beyond said main body with said ring therebetween (open pore layers 41, which covers core material 5 (i.e., both inner and outer core materials), has a greater diameter than the diameter of core material 5, i.e., extending beyond core material 5; figure 4).
As per claim 17, Xie discloses a wind turbine rotor blade comprising: a base plate (1; figures 1,5) having an access opening (as shown; figure 5) and defining a base plane (the plane of base plate 1 shown; figure 5); a cover (2; figure 6) for closing said access opening (as shown; figure 6); a holding arrangement (31) configured to permit a movement of said cover relative to said base plate in a predetermined direction parallel to said base plane of said base plate (limiting blocks 31 shown to be in shape of circumferentially spaced tabs in sectors, i.e., capable of allowing cover plate 2 rotate in a direction parallel to the plane of baffle plate 1; figures 2, 5, 6) so as to cause said cover to be held in a form-fitting manner on said base plate (compresses tightly to cover plate 2; paragraph [0025]); a locking device configured to block a movement of said cover in a direction opposite to said predetermined direction (bolted stopper restricting 5 degrees of freedom; paragraph [0030]); said base plate having a main body and a ring delimiting said access opening (inner diameter core material (ring delimiting said opening) and outer diameter core material (main body); paragraph [0027]) and being made of laminate material to increase the strength of said base plate in the region of said access opening (open pore layers 41, which covers core material 5 (i.e., both inner and outer core materials), has a greater diameter than the diameter of core material 5, i.e., extending beyond core material 5; figure 4); and, said main body having a sandwich configuration including two cover layers and a core layer disposed between said two cover layers and made of fiber composite material (baffle 1 made of fiberglass composite material having a sandwich structure having core material 5 symmetrically wrapped by multiple layers 4; paragraphs [0023], [0024]).
As per claim 18, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 17, and further discloses wherein said two cover layers extend beyond said main body with said ring therebetween (open pore layers 41, which covers core material 5 (i.e., both inner and outer core materials), has a greater diameter than the diameter of core material 5, i.e., extending beyond core material 5; figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie.
As per claims 13, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 1. Xie further teaches wherein said cover comprises a handle (21; figure 2). However, Xie does not explicitly teach there are two handles. Therefore, the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is the number of handles. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xie’s handle to incorporate two handles especially since mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance.
As per claim 14, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 13. Xie further teaches wherein said locking device is arranged adjacent to said handle (locking device 32 is adjacent to handle 21; figure 2). Xie does not explicitly teach two locking devices adjacent to said handles. Therefore, the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is the number of locking devices. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xie’s handle to incorporate two locking devices especially since mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0034344).
As per claims 3, 5 and 7, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 1. Xie does not explicitly teach the features of claims 3, 5 and 7. However, Xie does teach the cover plate can be disassembled (paragraph [0030]).
Wang (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0034344) is a related art in that it teaches various methods of quick connections between two objects for repeatable and quick connection and disconnection from each other (paragraph [0002]). Therefore Wang is relevant to Xie requiring disassembly. Wang teaches a holding arrangement comprising a plurality of guide slots each extending in said predetermined direction and a plurality of pins that coact with said guide slots so as to engage therein (keyhole shaped slots engaged with plurality of pins to attach two objects; figures 20-23), wherein said guide slots are keyhole-shaped elongate holes (figures 21-23) and wherein said pins are collar screws (figure 47).
As taught by Wang, this allows two objects to be repeatedly and quickly connected to or disconnected from each other (paragraph [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xie’s base plate or the cover to incorporate Wang’s keyhole slots the other of the base plate or the cover to incorporate Wang’s collar screws inserted to the keyhole slots for locking, since it allows two objects to be repeatedly and quickly connected to or disconnected from each other (paragraph [0099]) in a secure manner (paragraph [0224]).
As per claims 9-12, Xie discloses the wind turbine rotor blade of claim 1. Xie does not teach the limitations of claims 9-12.
Wang (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0034344) is a related art in that it teaches various methods of quick connections between two objects for repeatable and quick connection and disconnection from each other (paragraphs [0002], [0099]).
Wang teaches a locking device comprising a snap-in mechanism configured to engage after the movement of a first component relative to a second component has been completed (spring biased retaining section 12a that snaps into holding area 22; figures 27, 35), wherein said snap-in mechanism comprises at least one locking pin which assumes a locked position via spring force (retaining section 12a forming a locking pin loaded with spring 15a; paragraph [0207]; figures 26-27) and wherein said snap-in mechanism comprises a display showing an engaged position of said snap-in mechanism (operating section 124a extending beyond floating fixing component 1 provides a visual indication (i.e., a display or marking) of the spring movement; figure 35).
As taught by Wang, this allows two objects to be repeatedly and quickly connected to or disconnected from each other (paragraph [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xie’s connection between the base plate and the cover to incorporate Xie’s spring loaded pin connection to a keyhole with a member extending beyond the component that provides visual indication of locking and unlocking, since it allows two objects to be repeatedly and quickly connected to or disconnected from each other (paragraph [0099]) in a secure manner (paragraph [0224]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 contains allowable subject matter wherein said guide slots and said pins are arranged asymmetrically with respect to one another so as to cause said cover to be arrangeable only in a single orientation on said base plate so as to cause said pins to engage in said guide slots. No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches this feature in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter a plurality of threaded sleeves inserted in said base plate and threadably engaging corresponding ones of said pins. No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches this feature in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramussen (U.S. Patent No. 12,018,639) teaches a method of installing a bulkhead of a wind turbine blade.
Ebbesen (U.S. Patent No. 10,428,794) teaches a cover for a reinforcement plate of a wind turbine blade.
Sorensen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0259688) teaches a cover plate having a plurality of elongated holes for a wind turbine blade root part.
Wojczak (U.S. Patent No. 12,263,261) teaches locking two ring members together using a plurality of pins engaging keyhole slots.
Pechacek (U.S. Patent No. 4,820,384) teaches a lock ring having a plurality of keyholes arranged in a circumferential direction.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745