DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-30 in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 24, line 5 there is an extra “other”. Claim 20, line 2 delete the period “.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Griffith et al. (US 2022/0344941) (“Griffith”).
With respect to claim 1, Griffith discloses a first nanogrid node configured to operate as one of a plurality of peer nanogrid nodes in a nanogrid system within a premises (figure 7 discloses battery systems 300 interconnected with each other), the first nanogrid node comprising: a power supply input to receive power from a power source that is external to the first nanogrid node and within the premises (figure 7 discloses receiving power from power grid 110 and solar panels 115); a switch coupled to connect or disconnect the first nanogrid node from the power source (figures 4 and 10 discloses that the battery system comprises switching circuits to allow the battery system to be connected or not to the appliance from the power sources); a rechargeable battery (battery 305); a power output to provide power to a load within the premises (power is provided to loads 200); a communication interface configured to implement a peer-to-peer wireless connection with at least a second nanogrid node of the plurality of peer nanogrid nodes within the premises (figures 4 and 7 discloses communication circuitry to communicate with other battery systems 300); and a processing unit, including at least one programmable processor and memory, configured to control the nanogrid node to manage power flow within the premises cooperatively with the second nanogrid node, including to control operation of the switch to cause power to be provided to the power output selectively from the power supply input or from the battery. Figure 4 discloses that each of the battery systems 300 comprise processor 410, memory 420 to control the power flow of the battery 305.
With respect to claims 2, 20, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of one of the claims, wherein the peer-to-peer wireless connection comprises a wireless mesh network connection. Paragraph 0071 discloses that the communication circuit 450 include wireless communication network to communicate with other battery systems 300.
With respect to claim 3, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the first nanogrid node further communicates with a third nanogrid node, of the plurality of nanogrid nodes, via the communication interface, such that the first nanogrid node, the second nanogrid node and the third nanogrid node form at least a portion of a wireless mesh network of nanogrid nodes. Figure 7 discloses three battery systems 300A, 300B and 300C.
With respect to claims 4, 22, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of one of the claims, wherein the processing unit is configured to manage the peer-to-peer wireless connection by continuously monitoring network conditions and adjusting one or more communication parameters based on the network conditions to achieve a specified quality of data exchange with the second nanogrid node. Paragraphs 0081, 0083-0084 discloses a plurality of battery systems 300 form a mesh network that exchange data over the network, communication system 450 includes various suitable wireless networks.
With respect to claim 5, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to control the peer-to-peer wireless connection to cause one or more power management commands for real-time management of power flow within the premises to be communicated between the first nanogrid node and the second nanogrid node. Paragraphs 0098, 0101-0102 discloses real-time monitoring of user power to be communicated/share in the network.
With respect to claim 8, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to repeatedly update a data model of a power system of the premises. Paragraph 0098, figures 6a and 6b discloses updating the data modes of the system.
With respect to claim 9, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 8, wherein the processing unit is configured to control the peer-to-peer wireless connection to cause the data model of the power system of the premises to be shared between the first nanogrid node and the second nanogrid node. Figures 5 and 7 discloses that the data is share between the battery systems 300.
With respect to claim 10, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to cause the first nanogrid node to control power flow within the premises to provide power from the first nanogrid node to a load within the premises in response to a detected failure of the second nanogrid node. Paragraph 0103, 108 discloses that one of the battery systems 300 control/monitors other battery systems/primary battery to provide power when one of the battery systems is unavailable.
With respect to claims 11, 21, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of one of the claims, wherein the processing unit is configured to control the first nanogrid node to provide a single point of communication, for the plurality of nanogrid nodes, to a third-party energy system, via an Internet Protocol (IP) network. Figure 5 and 7 discloses providing communication to the battery systems via the internet.
With respect to claims 12, 18, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of one of the claims, wherein the processing unit is configured to monitor power, energy and/or data collection at an aggregate level for the premises. Figures 6a-6b, paragraph 0103 discloses that a primary battery system monitors power of the other battery systems.
With respect to claim 13, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the peer-to-peer wireless connection comprises a wireless mesh network connection, and wherein the first nanogrid node further communicates with a third nanogrid node, of the plurality of nanogrid nodes, in a mesh wireless mesh network. Paragraphs 0081, 0083-0084, figure 7 discloses a plurality of battery systems 300 (300A, 300B, 300C) form a mesh network that exchange data over the network, communication system 450 includes various suitable wireless networks.
With respect to claim 14, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the first nanogrid node is configured to monitor statuses of each of a plurality of other peer nanogrid nodes in the nanogrid system and to dynamically adjust message routing based on the monitored statuses. Figures 6a-6b, paragraph 0103 discloses that a primary battery system monitors power of the other battery systems and adjust the system accordingly.
With respect to claim 15, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1, wherein the first nanogrid node is configured to: monitor statuses of each of a plurality of other peer nanogrid nodes in the nanogrid system; determine collective information for the nanogrid system based on the monitored statuses (paragraph 0103 a primary battery system to monitor other battery systems); and generate and dynamically update a graphical user interface including display data indicative of a representation of a distributed energy resource (DER), based on the collective information (figure 4 discloses an interface 460 with a screen to show characteristics of the battery system, paragraph 0072).
With respect to claims 16, 23, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of one of the claims, wherein the first nanogrid node is configured to be dynamically added to and/or removed from the nanogrid system. Paragraphs 0087, 0116 discloses adding/removing battery systems from the building.
With respect to claim 17, Griffith discloses a nanogrid system for managing power within a premises (battery system 300 provide power to a building loads 200), the nanogrid system comprising: a plurality of nanogrid nodes configured in a nanogrid system (figure 7 discloses a plurality of battery systems 300 interconnected with each other), wherein each nanogrid node includes: a connection to a power source within the premises (connection to grid 110 or solar panels 115, figure 7); a microgrid interconnection device (MID) configured to selectively disconnect from the power source (figures 4 and 10 discloses that the battery system comprises switching circuits to allow the battery system to be connected or not to the appliance from the power sources); at least one power management component configured to provide backup power to one or more loads within a portion of the nanogrid system (battery control system 440, figure 4); and a peer-to-peer wireless connection with at least another nanogrid node of the plurality of nanogrid nodes, wherein the nanogrid node is configured to modify the operation of the MID and the power management component based on information exchanged via the peer-to-peer wireless connection. Figure 4 discloses that each of the battery systems 300 comprise processor 410, memory 420 to control the power flow of the battery 305.
With respect to claim 19, Griffith discloses the nanogrid system of claim 18, wherein the nanogrid control system is implemented in two or more separate computing devices. Figure 5 discloses that the control system is implanted in various computing devices.
With respect to claim 24, Griffith discloses the a computer readable medium having instructions thereon, execution of which within a nanogrid system causes the nanogrid system to perform operations (figure 4, paragraph 0069 discloses a battery system 300 that comprises memory 420 comprising computer readable medium that stores instructions) comprising: communicating with each of a plurality of nanogrid nodes in the nanogrid system within a premises, wherein at least some of the communication is through multiple nanogrid nodes communicating other each other peer-to-peer; and performing nanogrid system level analysis and/or updates based on the communicating (Paragraphs 0081, 0083-0084 and figure 7 discloses a plurality of battery systems 300 form a mesh network that exchange data over the network, communication system 450 includes various suitable wireless networks).
With respect to claim 25, Griffith discloses the computer readable medium of claim 24, wherein analysis and/or updates comprise one of optimizing building-level energy and power, determining aggregate available energy storage capacity, determining net energy accumulation, providing instant charge/discharge power to a premises wiring system, determining available net power to be imported from the premises wiring system to nanogrid nodes, determining available net power to be exported to the premises wiring system from nanogrid systems, determining a status of connected loads, or determining system status and availability. Figure 5 discloses determining a configuration of the battery system of a powered building, paragraphs 0081-0090, 0103-0104.
With respect to claim 26, Griffith discloses the computer readable medium of claim 24, wherein the analysis and/or updates comprise maintaining up-to-date aggregated views of multiple nanogrids within a common premises, wherein each of the nanogrids of the multiple nanogrids comprises a unique subset of the plurality of nanogrid nodes. Figures 5, 6a-6b, paragraph 0103 discloses that a primary battery system monitors power of the other battery systems.
With respect to claim 27, Griffith discloses the computer readable medium of claim 24, wherein the analysis and/or updates comprise a model to identify electrical anomalies, thermal anomalies, or safety risks across a premises electrical distribution system. Paragraph 0087-0089 discloses monitoring the performance of the battery system.
With respect to claims 28, 29 Griffith discloses the computer readable medium of one of the claims, wherein the reconciling requests and setpoints comprises prioritization based on user inputs or physical constraints of the electrical distribution system, wherein the physical constraints of the electrical distribution system comprise current ratings of conductors. Figures 4 and 5 discloses an interface to receive inputs from a user to thus control the system based on user inputs.
With respect to claim 30, Griffith discloses the computer readable medium of claim 29, wherein the physical constraints of the electrical distribution system comprise current ratings of conductors. Figure 1 discloses building 100 where the battery systems are connected to receptacles 165 and to power lines 155, the conductors in building 100 have respective ratings that provide constrains to the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffith et al. (US 2022/0344941) (“Griffith”) in view of Ashman et al. (US 12,322,963) (“Ashman”).
With respect to claim 7, Griffith discloses the first nanogrid node of claim 1; except for, wherein the processing unit is configured to repeatedly receive and apply new software via an over-the-air (OTA) software update process.
Ashman discloses a control circuitry to monitor and control electrical loads, energy storage, generation sources to maintain power consumption within power capacity, the system comprises an internet connected gateway, figure 5-16. Col. 42, lines 26-41 discloses receiving over-the-air firmware updates.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Griffith and include the over-the-air firmware updates of Asman, for the purpose of easily and conveniently providing updates to remote components, for example (col. 8, lines 29-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the one or more power management commands include: first a command to charge or discharge a battery within one of the plurality of nanogrid nodes; a second command to curtail use of solar power within the premises; and a third command to manage power to a connected load within the premises.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goldsmith (US 2012/0143385) discloses an autonomous control of a microgrid, the microgrid network includes plurality of intelligent agents assign to a load, storage device, source or switch, abstract.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836