DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102anticipated as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. 2013/0093737 A1 to Ota et al (“Ota”).
As to claim 1, Ota discloses a display device (See Fig. 2) comprising:
a plurality of first light emitting elements (110 connected to the first data 14 from the left);
a plurality of second light emitting elements (110 connected to the second data 14 from the left);
a first data transfer line extending in a first direction (Vd(1), Vd(2), Vd(3));
a second data transfer line coupled to the first data transfer line and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (See Fig. 2; Ota discloses a line that extends laterally from VD(1) and runs along the bottom of switching elements 34 and connects to each element 34);
a first data line extending in the first direction (The first data line 14 from the left);
a second data line extending in the first direction (The second data line 14 from the left);
a plurality of first pixel circuits coupled to the first data line and coupled respectively to the plurality of first light emitting elements (The first column of pixels circuits 110 coupled to the first data line 14 from the left.);
a plurality of second pixel circuits coupled to the second data line and coupled respectively to the plurality of second light emitting elements (The second column of pixels circuits 110 coupled to the second data line 14 from the left.);
a first switching circuit controlling electrical coupling between the first data line and the second data transfer line (See Fig. 2; The first switching element 34 from the left couples the first data line 14 to the output received by Vd(1) by the defined second data transfer line described above.); and
a second switching circuit controlling electrical coupling between the second data line and the second data transfer line (See Fig. 2; The second switching element 34 from the left couples the second data line 14 to the output received by Vd(1) by the defined second data transfer line described above.), wherein
the first data line is supplied, from the second data transfer line via the first switching circuit, with a signal for causing each of the plurality of first light emitting elements to emit light (See Fig. 2; The first switching element 34 from the left couples the first data line 14 to the output received by Vd(1) by the defined second data transfer line described above.), and
the second data line is supplied, from the second data transfer line via the second switching circuit, with a signal for causing each of the plurality of second light emitting elements to emit light (See Fig. 2; The second switching element 34 from the left couples the second data line 14 to the output received by Vd(1) by the defined second data transfer line described above.).
As to claim 7, the same rejection or discussion is used as in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub. 2013/0093737 A1 to Ota et al (“Ota”) in view of US Patent Pub. 2020/0184900 A1 to Shin et al (“Shin”).
As to claim 2, Ota fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting elements and each of the plurality of second light emitting elements are arrayed alternately in the first direction.
Shin discloses wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting elements and each of the plurality of second light emitting elements are arrayed alternately in the first direction (See Fig. 1A; Shin discloses an arrangement of pixels wherein first pixels connected to the first data line D1a are alternately arranged with second pixels D1b in the first column of pixels.).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ota with the teachings of Shin wherein each of the plurality of first light emitting elements and each of the plurality of second light emitting elements are arrayed alternately in the first direction, as suggested by Shin thereby similarly using known configurations of arranging pixels in the display device of Ota.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624