Priority
The Examiner notes that there appears to be a claim for foreign priority to DE 102024108853.2 filed on 4/14/25. This appears to be a misfiled claim as the Transmittal Letter on the same date uses the current application number 19/091,752, but states that it is for an “AIR FILTER DEVICE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE”. Further, the Docket No. is different (68167-103) from the current application (022144.0003C1C1). Moreover, the figures appear to show an automobile air filter. Finally, the filing date (March 27, 2024) is after the earliest date of the current application.
The Examiner requests confirmation that this submission was not intended.
Claim Interpretation
MPEP § 2111.04(II) states that for method claims, "The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met."
As a result, as currently written, the last wherein limitation is not required for method claims 1, 6 and 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,758,136 and 12,289,449. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1-11 of the current application are anticipated by claims 1-11 of the U.S. Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0222843 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for decoding a video, the method comprising:
obtaining transform coefficients for a current block from a bitstream to thereby generate a coefficient block for a current block (Lee [0072]);
obtaining transform mode information of the current block from the bitstream [see paras. 0014, 0120, 0274, 0287-88];
determining a transform type of the current block based on the transform mode information [see paras. 0014, 0019, 0120, 0209, 0211-12, 0252, 0257]; and
inverse-transforming the coefficient block according to the transform type of the current block [see figs. 1-2 and paras. 0089, 0120-24],
wherein the transform mode information is index information for indicating a transform type of the current block among predefined transform types [see paras. 0014, 0069, 0089 describing such as discrete cosine transform (DCT), discrete sine transform (DST), and KLT and 0251-52 describing the DCT comprises at least one of DCT-II or DCT-VIII and the DST comprises at least one of DST-I or DST-VII], and
wherein the transform mode information is not obtained from the bitstream when only one non-zero transform coefficient exists in the coefficient block and is located at a top left corner in the coefficient block (see claim interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transform mode information is obtained when a transform skip is not performed in the current block [see fig. 22 and paras. 0246 and 0250 where performing the transform is a transform skip not performed].
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predefined transform types include DCT-2, DST-7 and DCT-8 [see paras. 0014, 0069, 0089 describing such as discrete cosine transform (DCT), discrete sine transform (DST), and KLT and 0251-52 describing the DCT comprises at least one of DCT-II or DCT-VIII and the DST comprises at least one of DST-I or DST-VII].
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transform mode information is information indicating a transform type for each of a horizontal direction and a vertical direction [see paras. 0272 and 0277-82].
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transform mode information is obtained only when the current block is a luma component [see paras. 0127-28].
Regarding Claims 6-10, all claim limitations are set forth in Claims 1-6 in the
decoder form, respectively, and, therefore, rejections and arguments analogous to those presented for
Claims 1-6 are applicable to Claims 6-10. Encoding data is the reverse of decoding data and
Lee further discloses a method for encoding a video [see paras. 0005-08] and therefore discloses all
reverse steps of the decoding method as disclosed above.
Further Lee discloses transforming residual data [see figs. 1-2 and paras. 0089, 0120-24].
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses a method for storing a bitstream associated with video data, the method comprising: generating the bitstream containing encoded data for a current block (Lee [0162]); and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Lee [0320]), wherein the generating of the bitstream comprises: determining a transform type of the current block; transforming residual data of the current block according to the transform type to thereby generate a coefficient block for the current block; encoding transform mode information indicating the transform type of the current block, wherein the transform mode information is index information for indicating the transform type of the current block among predefined transform types, and wherein the transform mode information is not encoded when only one non-zero transform coefficient exists in the coefficient block and is located at a top left corner in the coefficient block (see claims 1 and 6 for remaining limitations).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482