CTFR 19/091,757 CTFR 88133 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment 1. Amendment filed on 04/24/2026 has been considered. Claims 1-2 have been amended. Response to Arguments 2. Applicant contends that, “Bang predict the temperature PTEMP of the pixel P by measuring the sensing current SC flowing through the pixel P, not the potential difference between the pixel P. Therefore, Bang fails to disclose the feature "wherein the output signal from the temperature detection element is a potential difference between the temperature detection element" recited in claim 1” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Current flowing in the sensing transistor MT implicitly indicates a difference in potential voltage across the electrodes. Furthermore, the amended limitation is fully taught by the newly presented prior art by Nakamura et al (US 2010/0045709). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim (s) 1-2, 4, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2010/0045709) . As to claim 1, Bang teaches a display module comprising: an electro-optical device that includes a temperature detection element and is configured to display an image ([0051] The pixel P may have a structure in which a sensing current SC is output through a sensing line SL when a temperature sensing voltage TSV is applied through a data line DL. For example, as shown in FIG. 3 , the pixel P may include a driving transistor DT, a switching transistor ST, a sensing transistor MT); a wiring board that includes a driving circuit configured to drive the electro-optical device ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110 . To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver); and a circuit board that includes a first control circuit configured to control the driving circuit and is electrically coupled to the electro-optical device via the wiring board ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver), wherein the driving circuit includes a measurement circuit ([0063] at least two of the display panel driver 120 , the panel temperature determiner 140 , and the temperature afterimage compensator 150 may be implemented as one configuration) configured to measure a temperature of the electro-optical device based on an output signal from the temperature detection element in a flyback period of the electro-optical device ([0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1 F). Bang does not teach the temperature detection element as claimed. However, Nakamura teaches wherein the output signal from the temperature detection element is a potential difference between the temperature detection element ([0086] The temperature signal processing circuit 26 then calculates the temperature of the PIN diode 53 on the basis of the voltage between the anode and the cathode of the PIN diode 53, Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, wherein the output signal from the temperature detection element is a potential difference between the temperature detection element, as suggested by Nakamura. The motivation would have been in order to more accurately calculate the temperature ([0087]). As to claim 2, Bang teaches a display module comprising: an electro-optical device that includes a temperature detection element and is configured to display an image ([0051] The pixel P may have a structure in which a sensing current SC is output through a sensing line SL when a temperature sensing voltage TSV is applied through a data line DL. For example, as shown in FIG. 3 , the pixel P may include a driving transistor DT, a switching transistor ST, a sensing transistor MT); a wiring board ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110 . To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver); and a circuit board that is electrically coupled to the electro- optical device via the wiring board ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver), wherein the electro-optical device includes a driving circuit configured to drive the electro-optical device ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110 . To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver), the circuit board includes a first control circuit configured to control the driving circuit ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver), and the driving circuit includes a measurement circuit ([0063] at least two of the display panel driver 120 , the panel temperature determiner 140 , and the temperature afterimage compensator 150 may be implemented as one configuration) configured to measure a temperature of the electro-optical device based on an output signal from the temperature detection element in a flyback period of the electro-optical device ([0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1 F). Bang does not teach the temperature detection element as claimed. However, Nakamura teaches wherein the output signal from the temperature detection element is a potential difference between the temperature detection element ([0086] The temperature signal processing circuit 26 then calculates the temperature of the PIN diode 53 on the basis of the voltage between the anode and the cathode of the PIN diode 53, Figure 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, wherein the output signal from the temperature detection element is a potential difference between the temperature detection element, as suggested by Nakamura. The motivation would have been in order to more accurately calculate the temperature ([0087]). As to claim 4, Bang in view of Nakamura teaches the display module, wherein the flyback period is included in a vertical scanning period (Bang: [0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1 F). As to claim 7, Bang in view of Nakamura teaches the display module, wherein the temperature detection element is a diode (Nakamura: [0077] In the pixel circuit 31, by forming the temperature detection circuit 33 from the PIN diode 53). As to claim 8, Bang in view of Nakamura teaches an electronic device comprising the display module according to claim 1 (Bang: see display panel, fig. 1) . 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2010/0045709) and further in view of Uchino et al (US 2009/0315813) . As to claim 3, Bang in view of Nakamura do not teach wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period. However, Uchino teaches the display module, wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period ([0157] More particularly, the WSEN2 pulse width conversion block 94 acquires temperature information of the display panel 70 from the detection section 80 periodically, for example, after every one horizontal period). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang in view of Nakamura to teach, wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period, as suggested by Uchino. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality ([0014]) . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2010/0045709) and further in view of Ishii (US 2024/0312429) . As to claim 5, Bang in view of Nakamura do not teach the measurement circuit as claimed. However, Ishii teaches the display module, wherein the measurement circuit includes: a constant current source configured to supply a current to the temperature detection element (VCC, fig. 7); an A/D converter configured to convert an output signal from the temperature detection element into a digital value (ADC, fig. 7, [0104]); and a second control circuit configured to control the A/D converter to make the output signal from the temperature detection element taken into the A/D converter in the flyback period ([0104] The gate control part 27 outputs the enable control signal ES of H level (logical level 1) in the blank period BP as a temperature measurement period. Accordingly, the MUX wiring MW is connected to the resistance value measurement part 34 C, the resistance value is measured, and the temperature is calculated by the temperature calculator 35 C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang in view of Nakamura to teach, the measurement circuit, as suggested by Ishii. The motivation would have been in order to accurately perform temperature correction ([0004]) . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Nakamura et al (US 2010/0045709) and further in view of Wang et al (US 2019/0304374) . As to claim 6, Bang in view of Nakamura do not teach a plurality of demultiplexers as claimed. However, Wang teaches the display module, wherein the electro-optical device includes a signal line driving circuit (data driver 30, fig. 1) including a plurality of demultiplexers (demux unit, fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang in view of Nakamura to teach, a plurality of demultiplexers, as suggested by Wang. The motivation would have been in order to prevent current leakage and flicker ([0005]). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMEN W BOGALE whose telephone number is (571)270-1579. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10:AM-6:PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nitin Patel can be reached at (571)272-7677. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AMEN W BOGALE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2628 /NITIN PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 2 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 3 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 4 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 5 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 6 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 7 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 8 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 9 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 10 Art Unit: 2628 Application/Control Number: 19/091,757 Page 11 Art Unit: 2628