DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang et al (US 2023/0162670).
As to claim 1, Bang teaches a display module comprising:
an electro-optical device that includes a temperature detection element and is configured to display an image ([0051] The pixel P may have a structure in which a sensing current SC is output through a sensing line SL when a temperature sensing voltage TSV is applied through a data line DL. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the pixel P may include a driving transistor DT, a switching transistor ST, a sensing transistor MT);
a wiring board that includes a driving circuit configured to drive the electro-optical device ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110. To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver); and
a circuit board that includes a first control circuit configured to control the driving circuit and is electrically coupled to the electro-optical device via the wiring board ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver),
wherein the driving circuit includes a measurement circuit ([0063] at least two of the display panel driver 120, the panel temperature determiner 140, and the temperature afterimage compensator 150 may be implemented as one configuration) configured to measure a temperature of the electro-optical device based on an output signal from the temperature detection element in a flyback period of the electro-optical device ([0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1F).
As to claim 2, Bang teaches a display module comprising:
an electro-optical device that includes a temperature detection element and is configured to display an image ([0051] The pixel P may have a structure in which a sensing current SC is output through a sensing line SL when a temperature sensing voltage TSV is applied through a data line DL. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the pixel P may include a driving transistor DT, a switching transistor ST, a sensing transistor MT);
a wiring board ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110. To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver); and
a circuit board that is electrically coupled to the electro- optical device via the wiring board ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver),
wherein the electro-optical device includes a driving circuit configured to drive the electro-optical device ([0053] The display panel driver 120 may drive the display panel 110. To accomplish this, the display panel driver 120 may include a gate driver, a data driver, a sensing driver), the circuit board includes a first control circuit configured to control the driving circuit ([0057] The timing controller may generate a plurality of control signals and provide the generated control signals to the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver to control the gate driver, the data driver, and the sensing driver), and
the driving circuit includes a measurement circuit ([0063] at least two of the display panel driver 120, the panel temperature determiner 140, and the temperature afterimage compensator 150 may be implemented as one configuration) configured to measure a temperature of the electro-optical device based on an output signal from the temperature detection element in a flyback period of the electro-optical device ([0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1F).
As to claim 4, Bang teaches the display module, wherein the flyback period is included in a vertical scanning period ([0066] the panel temperature determiner 140 may measure the sensing currents SC flowing through the pixels P during the vertical blank period FV of the one frame 1F).
As to claim 8, Bang teaches an electronic device comprising the display module according to claim 1 (see display panel, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Uchino et al (US 2009/0315813).
As to claim 3, Bang does not teach wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period.
However, Uchino teaches the display module, wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period ([0157] More particularly, the WSEN2 pulse width conversion block 94 acquires temperature information of the display panel 70 from the detection section 80 periodically, for example, after every one horizontal period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, wherein the flyback period is included in a horizontal scanning period, as suggested by Uchino. The motivation would have been in order to improve the display quality ([0014]).
3. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Ishii (US 2024/0312429).
As to claim 5, Bang does not teach the measurement circuit as claimed.
However, Ishii teaches the display module, wherein the measurement circuit includes: a constant current source configured to supply a current to the temperature detection element (VCC, fig. 7); an A/D converter configured to convert an output signal from the temperature detection element into a digital value (ADC, fig. 7, [0104]); and a second control circuit configured to control the A/D converter to make the output signal from the temperature detection element taken into the A/D converter in the flyback period ([0104] The gate control part 27 outputs the enable control signal ES of H level (logical level 1) in the blank period BP as a temperature measurement period. Accordingly, the MUX wiring MW is connected to the resistance value measurement part 34C, the resistance value is measured, and the temperature is calculated by the temperature calculator 35C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, the measurement circuit, as suggested by Ishii. The motivation would have been in order to accurately perform temperature correction ([0004]).
4. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Wang et al (US 2019/0304374).
As to claim 6, Bang does not teach a plurality of demultiplexers as claimed.
However, Wang teaches the display module, wherein the electro-optical device includes a signal line driving circuit (data driver 30, fig. 1) including a plurality of demultiplexers (demux unit, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, a plurality of demultiplexers, as suggested by Wang. The motivation would have been in order to prevent current leakage and flicker ([0005]).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al (US 2023/0162670) in view of Fujikawa (US 2021/0104186).
As to claim 7, Bang does not teach a diode as claimed.
However, Fujikawa teaches the display module, wherein the temperature detection element is a diode ([0032] temperature detection element 13 consists of a diode 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bang to teach, wherein the temperature detection element is a diode, as suggested by Fujikawa. The motivation would have been in order to properly monitoring the temperature of the display region ([0005]).
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628