DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species IV: Fig.7A-7C in the reply filed on December 16, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 16, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
1. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a quality indication part” and “an indication covering part” in claims 1, 3-5, and 9-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fanesi (US 2020/0308748).
Regarding Claim 1, Fanesi discloses a garment having a first surface (i.e. exterior surface of 1) and a second surface (i.e. interior surface of 1) opposite the first surface, comprising: a quality indication part (23) that indicates quality information on quality of the garment and is provided on the second surface (para.66-67); and an indication covering part (22:20,6) that indicates information (i.e. brand information) other than the quality information and is provided so as to cover the quality indication part (para.67); wherein at least one of the quality indication part or the indication covering part is deformable so that transition between a first state (i.e. when the pocket is closed and 23 is concealed in 22) in which the quality indication part is hidden by the indication covering part and a second state (i.e. when the pocket is opened and 23 is pulled out of 22) in which at least a portion of the quality indication part is exposed is available (as seen in Fig.5; para.67).
Regarding Claim 2, Fanesi discloses a garment according to claim 1, wherein the garment is a reversible garment configured to allow both the first surface and the second surface to be used (Abstract & para.26).
Regarding Claim 3, Fanesi discloses a garment according to claim 1, wherein the indication covering part (22:20,6) is an identification labeling part (20) providing identification information for identifying the garment (para.67).
Regarding Claim 4, Fanesi discloses a garment according to claim 1, wherein the quality indication part (23) transitions from the first state (i.e. when the pocket is closed and 23 is concealed in 22) to the second state (i.e. when the pocket is opened and 23 is pulled out of 22) by deforming (i.e. opening the pocket) the indication covering part (22:20,6) so that a position of the indication covering part with respect to the quality indication part shifts (as seen in Fig.5; para.67).
Regarding Claim 5, Fanesi discloses a garment according to claim 1, wherein when the indication covering part (22:20,6) deforms so as to fold back partially (i.e. the top edge of 20 would fold back partially as the pocket is opened), the quality indication part transitions from the first state (i.e. when the pocket is closed and 23 is concealed in 22) to the second state (i.e. when the pocket is opened and 23 is pulled out of 22)(as seen in Fig.5; para.67).
Regarding Claim 9, Fanesi discloses a quality indication member (23) provided to an article having a first surface (i.e. exterior surface of 1) and a second surface (i.e. interior surface of 1) opposite the first surface, comprising: a quality indication part (23) that indicates quality information on quality of the article and is provided on the second surface (para.66-67); and an indication covering part (22:20,6) that indicates information (i.e. brand information) other than the quality information and is provided so as to cover the quality indication part (para.67); wherein at least one of the quality indication part or the indication covering part is deformable (i.e. opening the pocket) so that transition between a first state (i.e. when the pocket is closed and 23 is concealed in 22) in which the quality indication part is hidden by the indication covering part and a second state (i.e. when the pocket is opened and 23 is pulled out of 22) in which at least a portion of the quality indication part is exposed is available (as seen in Fig.5; para.67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanesi (US 2020/0308748) in view of Nozawa (JP 2020098318 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Fanesi discloses the invention substantially as claimed above, including wherein the quality indication part and the indication covering part are provided at a lower portion of the garment (i.e. bottom portion of 6). Fanesi does not disclose wherein the quality indication part and the indication covering part are provided at a lower portion of the garment so as to span the first surface and the second surface. However, Nozawa teaches a garment (7) having an indication covering part (1) provided at a lower portion of the garment so as to span the first surface (7a) and the second surface (7b)(as seen in Fig.3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the indication covering part placement of Fanesi to be a pocket provided at a lower portion of the garment so as to span the first surface and the second surface, as taught by Nozawa, in order to provide the garment with the desired aesthetic appearance. When in combination, Fanesi and Nozawa teach wherein the quality indication part and the indication covering part are provided at a lower portion of the garment so as to span the first surface and the second surface.
Regarding Claim 11, Fanesi and Nozawa disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Fanesi and Nozawa do not disclose the quality indication part and the indication covering part are provided at a lower portion of a seam between a front body and a back body of the garment. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have moved the quality indication part and the indication covering part of modified Fanesi to be placed at a lower portion of a seam between a front body and a back body of the garment, in order to provide the desired placement of the tag portions. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732