DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is in response to the papers filed 03/26/2025 for Application No. 19/091,781. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 03/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopez et al. (US 2012/0028756 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lopez discloses a planetary gear carrier assembly comprising:
a plurality of planetary gears (120) each rotatable about a respective planet axis defined by a respective pin (130) through the gear; and
a planetary gear carrier (210, 310, 410...910, 1010, 1110 or 1210) defining an annular housing having a front face and a back face (i.e., front and back faces of the carrier) defining a housing therebetween and an annulus axis (i.e., rotational axis of the carrier assembly),
wherein the plurality of planetary gears (120) are located within and spaced circumferentially around the housing,
the pin (130) of each planetary gear passing from the front face to the back face at a location such that the planetary gear (120) partially extends radially outwards of the carrier periphery (fig. 1);
wherein the carrier is provided with compliance, the compliance provided by one or more portions (figs. 3-12, i.e., flex portions 140, 240, 340 540…940, 1040 or 1140) of reduced stiffness (see at least paragraphs [0048] and [0050]) in the front and back faces adjacent the location of the pin (130) of one or more of the planetary gears (120).
Regarding claim 2, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, comprising portions (fig. 4, i.e., flex portions 440) of reduced stiffness in the front and back faces adjacent the location of the pin (130) of two or more of the plurality of planetary gears (120).
Regarding claim 3, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, comprising portions (440) of reduced stiffness in the front and back faces adjacent the location of the pin (130) each of the plurality of planetary gears (120; paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the portions (Fig. 4, i.e., flex portions 440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending slots (Annotated Fig. 4 below, i.e., cut portions or slots as shown) formed in the front and back faces (paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending slots (Annotated Fig. 4 below, i.e., cut portions or slots as shown) formed in the front and back faces (paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 3, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending slots (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e., cut portions or slots as shown) formed in the front and back faces (paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending cuts (Annotated Fig. 4) formed in the front and back faces (paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending cuts (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e. radial slots), formed in the front and back faces (paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 3, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness comprise radially extending cuts (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e. radial slots) formed in the front and back faces (Annotated Fig. 4; paragraphs [0041] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness are straight portions (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e. radial slots) in the radially extending direction.
Regarding claim 14, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness are straight portions in the radially extending direction (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e., radial slot cut out portions or slots extending in radial direction with respect to rotational axis of the planetary carrier assembly).
Regarding claim 15, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness are curved portions (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e. curved portions) in the radially extending direction.
Regarding claim 16, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein the portions (440) of reduced stiffness are curved portions in the radially extending direction (Annotated Fig. 4, i.e., the semi-circle portions are radially extending from the central axis of the planetary gear carrier assembly).
Regarding claim 17, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 1, wherein portions (440) of reduced stiffness on either side of the location of a pin (130; paragraphs [0041] and [0057]) are closer to each other at their radially inner ends than at their radially outer ends (Fig. 4, i.e., the flex portions 440 include gaps 446 and semi-circle curved or ring 441 and neck portions formed in a cluster or closer to each other at the radially inner ends toward the central axis of the carrier assembly).
Regarding claim 18, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 2, wherein portions (440) of reduced stiffness on either side of the location of a pin (130) are closer to each other at their radially inner ends than at their radially outer ends (Fig. 4, i.e., the flex portions 440 include gaps 446 and semi-circle curved or ring 441 and neck portions formed in a cluster or closer to each other at the radially inner ends toward the central axis of the carrier assembly).
Regarding claim 19, Lopez discloses an epicyclic gear assembly comprising:
a sun gear (paragraphs [0008] and [0010], i.e., a sun gear not labeled); and
a carrier assembly as claimed in claim 1, the sun gear located coaxially with the carrier and radially inwards of the planetary gears (120) for meshing engagement with the planetary gears (120).
Regarding claim 20, Lopez discloses an epicyclic gear assembly as claimed in claim 19, further comprising an input shaft (paragraphs [0006], i.e., a rotating member upon the gear system or the sun gear may supply an input to the gear box to rotates via sun opening 114) extending through and coaxial with the annular axis of the carrier and in meshing engagement with the sun gear (par. [0054]).
Annotated Figure 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez, indicated above, and further in view of embodiment of Figure 2, hereinafter “Lopez2”.
Regarding claim 8, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 7, further including small gap holes (see Annotated Figure 4 above) attached to flex ring portions 442 at the radially innermost of the carrier assembly but does not specifically teach that the relief hole formed at a radially end of each of the cuts.
However, the difference between the embodiment in Figure 2 and the claimed invention was a known variation, specifically Lopez2 further teaches the flex portions includes relief cavities or holes at a radially end of the cut portions with respect to the central axis of the assembly, (Fig. 2, cavities or holes 244).
Furthermore, there were design incentive for implementing the claimed variation, specifically having different form of shapes or positioned at different location (paragraphs [0035] and [0036]) for providing an improvement in unbalanced load between the planet gears. It would have been recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the planetary carrier assembly of Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success to have relief hole at a radially end of each of the cuts of the carrier assembly as taught by Lopez2 in order to provide a reduction in load unbalanced between the planet gears of the carrier assembly such that absorbing in torque can be improved.
Regarding claim 10, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 9, further including small gap holes (see Annotated Figure 4 above) attached to flex ring portions 442 at the radially innermost of the carrier assembly but does not specifically teach that the relief hole formed at a radially end of each of the cuts.
However, the difference between the embodiment in Figure 2 and the claimed invention was a known variation, specifically Lopez2 further teaches the flex portions includes relief cavities or holes at a radially end of the cut portions with respect to the central axis of the assembly, (Fig. 2, cavities or holes 244).
Furthermore, there were design incentive for implementing the claimed variation, specifically having different form of shapes or positioned at different location (paragraphs [0035] and [0036]) for providing an improvement in unbalanced load between the planet gears. It would have been recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the planetary carrier assembly of Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success to have relief hole at a radially end of each of the cuts of the carrier assembly as taught by Lopez2 in order to provide a reduction in load unbalanced between the planet gears of the carrier assembly such that absorbing in torque can be improved.
Regarding claim 12, Lopez discloses the planetary gear carrier assembly of claim 11, further including small gap holes (see Annotated Figure 4 above) attached to flex ring portions 442 at the radially innermost of the carrier assembly but does not specifically teach that the relief hole formed at a radially end of each of the cuts.
However, the difference between the embodiment in Figure 2 and the claimed invention was a known variation, specifically Lopez2 further teaches the flex portions includes relief cavities or holes at a radially end of the cut portions with respect to the central axis of the assembly, (Fig. 2, cavities or holes 244).
Furthermore, there were design incentive for implementing the claimed variation, specifically having different form of shapes or positioned at different location (paragraphs [0035] and [0036]) for providing an improvement in unbalanced load between the planet gears. It would have been recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the planetary carrier assembly of Lopez with a reasonable expectation of success to have relief hole at a radially end of each of the cuts of the carrier assembly as taught by Lopez2 in order to provide a reduction in load unbalanced between the planet gears of the carrier assembly such that absorbing in torque can be improved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erno et al. (US 2012/0316027 A1) discloses a planetary gear system and method for using the same includes a carrier with cut-out or slot portions (316,318,416, 513) and stiffeners 1247 for absorbing torque, see Figures 2-15; and
Cintula (DE 1020/16219949 A1, machine translation attached) discloses a planet carrier made of sheet metal with beveled connecting webs and method for producing a planet carrier includes depression 14 and circular recess 17 for increasing stiffness of the planetary carrier component, see Figures 1-8.
/TINH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 March 6, 2026