Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 29 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites, “The device according to claim 21, wherein the conduit has a square, rectangular, circular cross-section.” It is believed that Applicant meant to recite “wherein the conduit has a square, rectangular, [or] circular cross-section.” As written, the cross-section would have to be all three and be contradictory.
Line 2 of claim 29 ends with “and.” It is believed that the period is unintentional.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites, “wherein the structural profile includes a wrapping structure.” Applicant discloses two wrapping structures, 104 and 304 in [0138-40], [0151-53], [0157-58] and Figs. 6, 9-10, and 12-13 of Applicant’s disclosure. Various details of the wrapping structures are disclosed and recited in claims 30-38. However, it is not clear from Applicant’s disclosure as to what constitutes a wrapping structure beyond the full details of the two disclosed wrapping structures.
Claims 34-35 and 37 recites the limitation "the device.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in each of these claims. It is believed that the device intends to refer to “the construction element” of claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-29 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Dijk (US 2007/0062146).
Regarding claim 21, Van Dijk discloses a device (wall element, panel 1’, [0002]; [0067], Fig. 1A), comprising: a body of generally straight parallelepiped shape with a length (L), a width (A), and a height (H) (panel 1’, [0067], Fig. 1A), including a first pair of opposite faces (as shown in Fig. 1A, right (4’) and left (5’) faces), a second pair of opposite faces (top (2’) and bottom (3’), 3’, Fig. 1A), and a third pair of opposite faces (Fig. 1A); a pair of protrusions located on a face of the first pair of opposite faces (extensions/wall continuations 10’, [0071], Fig. 1A), defining a longitudinal inlet (space between extensions/wall continuations 10’ bounded by transverse edge 5’, [0071], Fig. 1A); a pair of rabbets located on another face of the first pair of opposite faces (8’ and 9’, [0073], Fig. 1A), defining a longitudinal protrusion (transverse end 4’/4’’, [0071-73], Fig. 1A), wherein the longitudinal protrusion corresponds to the longitudinal inlet (see joining in Fig. 1B, [0071]); and at least one conduit traversing the length (L) of the body (hollow chamber 40’, [0071], Fig. 1A), wherein the conduit is filled with a thermally insulating material (insulating foam, [0010]; see also muffling in chambers 240, [0083], Fig. 4D).
Regarding claim 22, Van Dijk discloses wherein the conduit has a square, rectangular, [or] circular cross-section (square or rectangular shape of 40’, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 23, Van Dijk discloses a surface finish on at least one opposite face of the second pair of opposite faces ([0010]).
Regarding claim 24, Van Dijk discloses wherein the device is a construction element and has a defined and fixed cross-section (is a wall element, defined and fixed cross section shown in Fig. 1A; abstract).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the device is extruded (made by extrusion, abstract [0067]).
Regarding claim 26, Van Dijk discloses wherein the device is a panel or a block (abstract).
Regarding claim 27, Van Dijk discloses wherein the device is made of a thermoplastic material ([0067]).
Regarding claim 28, Van Dijk discloses wherein the device is made of a mixture of a thermoplastic material and cellulose fibers (abstract, [0007]).
Regarding claim 29, Van Dijk discloses a kit for constructing a building structure (Fig. 4A), comprising: at least one structural profile (H-profile 91’, [0082] Fig. 4B), having, on at least one side, a channel (both sides, Fig. 4B); and. at least one construction element that fits into the channel of the structural profile (panel 1’, Fig. 4B), the construction element comprising: a body of generally straight parallelepiped shape with a length (L), a width (A), and a height (H) (panel 1’, [0067], Fig. 1A), including a first pair of opposite faces (as shown in Fig. 1A, right (4’) and left (5’) faces), a second pair of opposite faces (top (2’) and bottom (3’), 3’, Fig. 1A), and a third pair of opposite faces (Fig. 1A); a pair of protrusions located on a face of the first pair of opposite faces (extensions/wall continuations 10’, [0071], Fig. 1A), defining a longitudinal inlet (space between extensions/wall continuations 10’ bounded by transverse edge 5’, [0071], Fig. 1A); and a pair of rabbets located on another face of the first pair of opposite faces (8’ and 9’, [0073], Fig. 1A), defining a longitudinal protrusion (transverse end 4’/4’’, [0071-73], Fig. 1A), wherein the longitudinal protrusion corresponds to the longitudinal inlet (see joining in Fig. 1B, [0071]).
Regarding claim 39, Van Dijk discloses wherein the construction element is made of a thermoplastic material ([0067]).
Regarding claim 40, Van Dijk discloses wherein the construction element is made from a mixture of a thermoplastic material and cellulose fibers (abstract, [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk (US 2007/0062146) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of De Zen (US 6,189,269).
Regarding claim 30, Van Dijk teaches a kit substantially a claimed. Van Dijk does not disclose wherein the structural profile includes a wrapping structure, wherein the wrapping structure further includes at least one structure conduit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of wall panels with connecting components (abstract, col. 1), De Zen teaches wherein the structural profile includes a wrapping structure (column 14, col. 5 ll. 43-55, Figs. 9, 15; while it is not clear what constitutes a wrapping structure, column 14 is believed to include one because it has a conduit), wherein the wrapping structure further includes at least one structure conduit (interior of column 14, col. 5 ll. 43-55, Figs. 9, 15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified H-profile 91’ of Van Dijk to have a conduit within the central portion and spacing it apart because (column 14, col. 5 ll. 43-55, Figs. 9, 15) of De Zen teaches having both joiner 13, similar to H-Profile 91’ of Van Dijk and column 14, which differs from joiner 13 in the manner being modified and columns 14 can therefore be filled with insulating concrete (De Zen col. 3 ll. 63 to col. 4 ll. 4) to anchor the structure and provide effective insulation.
Regarding claim 31, Van Dijk as modified teaches, wherein the wrapping structure is made of a thermoplastic material (Van Dijk [0082]; see also, De Zen abstract and col. 1).
Regarding claim 32, Van Dijk as modified teaches, wherein the structure conduit is filled with a thermo-insulating material (as modified, De Zen col. 3 ll. 63 to col. 4 ll. 4; further, see De Zen col. 5 ll. 56-65).
Regarding claim 33, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the building structure is a wall (Van Dijk title, abstract, Fig. 4; De Zen abstract).
Regarding claim 34, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the channel has an opening coincident with the width (A) of the body of the construction element (Van Dijk [0082], Fig. 4b; De Zen Fig. 15) and the construction element comprises at least one conduit traversing the length (L) of the body (Van Dijk hollow chamber 40’, [0071], Fig. 1A), and the [construction element] has a square or rectangular cross-section (at least rectangular interior of hollow chamber 40’ of Van Dijk, [0071], Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 35, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the conduit of the [construction element] is filled with a thermally insulating material (insulating foam, Van Dijk [0010]; see also muffling in chambers 240, Van Dijk [0083], Fig. 4D).
Regarding claim 36, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the construction element comprises a surface finish on at least one opposite face of the second pair of opposite faces (Van Dijk [0010]).
Regarding claim 37, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the construction element has a defined and fixed cross-section (defined and fixed cross section shown in Van Dijk Fig. 1A; abstract) and the [construction element] is extruded (made by extrusion, Van Dijk abstract [0067]).
Regarding claim 38, Van Dijk as modified teaches wherein the construction element is a panel or a block (Van Dijk, abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. [0160] of Arthur (US 2026/0092441) teaches a connecting element (post module 11) with a conduit 115, filled with insulating foam. Figs. 6A-6F of Hunts (US 5,647,181) teaches various configurations of connecting elements for panels with a conduit running through the connecting element. De Zen (US 5,729,944; US 5,706,620) teaches subject matter similar to De Zen (US 6,189,269), cited above.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744