DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: while the amendments to the claims are supported by the figures, the new limitations are not discussed in the specification. Applicant has not disclosed that the offset/non-collinear of the holes, the sizing of the holes, or that the grooves being spaced from the holes and the edge of the hanging strip provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, the specification is silent to these features.
In addition, [0027] recites that the bag can be hung through the groove 103. Should the grooves be interpreted as open holes?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaltman (US 3174644) in view of de Leeuwe et al. (US 4484351) and Schettle et al. (US 2022/0106077).
Regarding claim 6, Kaltman discloses, fig. 1 and 2, a downward-dispensing bag for paper products, comprising:
a bag body (at 11, fig. 2) having a top portion and a bottom portion and configured to accommodate paper products therein;
as seen in fig. 2, a hanging strip (at 54, fig. 2) integrally formed with the top portion of the bag body and projecting upwardly from the top portion;
three hanging holes (20, fig. 1, col. 2: 5-15) extending through the hanging strip, centers of the pair of auxiliary holes being arranged along a first line extending in a length direction of the hanging strip; and
a paper extraction port (at 46) provided at the bottom portion of the bag body and configured to permit the paper products 52 to be withdrawn downwardly from the bag body, fig. 2.
Kaltman further discloses one of the hanging holes is a central hole 20, fig. 1.
Kaltman does not teach two auxiliary holes from the central hanging hole.
De Leeuwe is analogous art in regard to a hanging container. De Leeuwe teaches a pair of auxiliary holes at 22 that provide gripping apertures, and a hanging hole 24 (hook mounting aperture) where the auxiliary holes have a larger opening area than the opening of the hanging hole and the hanging hole is offset toward an upper peripheral edge of the container, fig. 1, col. 2: 14-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hanging strip of Kaltman to have two larger gripping auxiliary hole apertures offset from the upper, smaller, hanging aperture (offset in order to allow space for the increased size of the auxiliary apertures that need to be sufficiently large to allow insertion of fingers) in order to be able to carry the package by hand or hang the packaging as per the teaching of de Leeuwe.
Kaltman further discloses that the hanging strip has a reinforcing and stiffening element 18 (col. 2: 1-10) but does not teach elongated grooves (the elongated grooves of the instant application provide stiffness/reinforcement).
Schettle is analogous art in regard to hanging packaging with a hang tab 100, fig. 5A, [0024]. The hang tab of Schettle is reinforced so that the weight of the package will not cause ripping or tearing of the hang tab [0036], [0038]. The reinforcement is provided hot pressing a surface, fig. 6, at 606, [0044], to form mutually (evenly) spaced elongated grooves at 504 distributed around a hanging hole on the hanging strip, fig. 5A and 5B. The grooves of Schettle are spaced apart from the holes and edge by the width of reinforcing portion 110 and 116, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hanging tab reinforcement element of Kaltman with integral reinforcement structures in the form of grooves as taught by Schettle in order to form the packaging unitarily from a single material while maintaining hang tab strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument against Schettle, Schettle is not introduced to teach the number of holes or offset holes. In addition, the argument that the grooves of Schettle are not mutually spaced is not found persuasive since the grooves are shown as mutually spaced in fig. 5A. Although not argued, Schettle also teaches that the embossed grooves are spaced from holes and edges, see annotated Fig. 5A, below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the other applied references have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In addition, Applicant has not disclosed that the offset/non-collinear of the holes, the sizing of the holes, or that the grooves being spaced from the holes and the edge of the hanging strip provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, the specification is silent to these features. As such, these features do not overcome the prior art and are considered to be mere design choices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOLLIE LLEWELLYN IMPINK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/MOLLIE IMPINK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799