DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed March 27, 2025 and September 16, 2025 have been considered.
________________________________________
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4)-(5) because the reference characters 64A and 66A are reversed in Figure 3. Paragraph [0058] and Figure 1 identify through-hole 64A in lower wall portion 64 and through-hole 66A in upper wall portion 66, whereas Figure 3 assigns 64A to the upper-wall hole and 66A to the lower-wall hole.
Suggested Correction: On a replacement drawing sheet for Figure 3, change the upper-wall hole label from 64A to 66A and the lower-wall hole label from 66A to 64A. Submit the replacement sheet in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), without adding new matter.
________________________________________
Specification
The specification is objected to under MPEP 608.01 because paragraphs [0036] and [0038] refer to the tenth aspect even though the floor cross member used by the fifteenth and sixteenth aspects is introduced in the thirteenth aspect. These references are inconsistent with paragraphs [0032]-[0039] and the corresponding dependencies in claims 15 and 16.
Suggested Correction: Change "tenth aspect" to "thirteenth aspect" in paragraphs [0036] and [0038].
The specification is objected to under MPEP 608.01 because paragraph [0043] directs the reader to Figure 13 for battery 18, but the application contains only Figures 1-7. Battery 18 is illustrated in Figure 3 and is correctly referenced there in paragraph [0044].
Suggested Correction: In paragraph [0043], change "Fig. 13" to "Fig. 3".
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
The phrase "position corresponding to the pillar" in claims 12 and 15 means a position overlapping the pillar in the vehicle longitudinal direction, as expressly stated in paragraphs [0031] and [0037]. "Uniform interval" in claims 10 and 11 is read in light of the small positional tolerance described in paragraph [0027]. "End portion" in claim 16 includes the end point and a finite adjacent length in the transverse direction, as stated in paragraph [0039].
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 2019/0001803 A1.
Reference 2 - US 2018/0236863 A1.
Reference 3 - US 2020/0223303 A1.
Reference 4 - JP 2013-133046 A.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A vehicle side portion structure, comprising: (L2) a pillar extending in a vehicle vertical direction at a vehicle side portion; (L3) a rocker extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction at a lower side of the pillar and connected to the pillar, (L4) and structured to include a main body portion and an extending portion that extends toward a vehicle transverse direction inner side from an upper portion of the main body portion; and (L5) a frame member disposed at a vehicle transverse direction inner side of the main body portion and a vehicle lower side of the extending portion.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches a vehicle side portion structure of vehicle 10 including left and right side sills 25 and 24 and a battery mounting structure (Figs. 1, 4-5; paragraphs [0036]-[0040]). (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly describe a vertical side pillar. Reference 2 teaches front pillar 73 and center pillar 74 extending upward at the vehicle side and integrally provided on side sill 11 (Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]). (L3) Reference 1 teaches side sill 25 extending longitudinally along the side of vehicle 10; incorporating Reference 2's integral pillar arrangement places that sill below and connected to the pillar. (L4) In Reference 1, the tall outboard part of side sill 25 forms the main body, and the upper part of the sill extends inward above depression 57. Lower partition wall 25b bounds the underside of that inward upper portion (Fig. 5; paragraph [0038]). These are portions of the illustrated integral sill, not separately numbered parts. (L5) Hollow connection member 50 is located in depression 57, inboard of the tall outboard body and below its upper inward extension (Figs. 4-5; paragraphs [0036]-[0039]).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Reference 1's side sill 25 with the integral upward pillar arrangement taught by Reference 2, because the pillar-to-sill connection supplies a structural vehicle-side support and passes lateral loads into the sill and the battery-supported lower body. Reference 1 uses its sill/battery connection to resist inward side-impact deformation (paragraph [0039]), and Reference 2 joins the pillar directly to the side sill in the same vehicle-body setting (paragraph [0032]; Fig. 1). Joining the upright pillar at the sill's upper body portion preserves Reference 1's inboard depression and battery-frame placement and predictably produces that load-carrying connection.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 1, wherein: (L2) the frame member is a battery side frame extending in the vehicle longitudinal direction, and (L3) the extending portion extends further toward a vehicle transverse direction inner side than a vehicle transverse direction center of the battery side frame.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches connection member 50 as a hollow frame extending longitudinally along the battery pack side and attached to the casing sidewall 46a, thereby forming a battery side frame (paragraph [0036]; Figs. 1, 4-5). (L3) Figure 4 shows the upper inward portion of side sill 25 over the transverse width of connection member 50, with the inboard end of that upper portion inward of the center of member 50. This relative placement follows from the illustrated structural boundaries; no scale-derived dimension is asserted. The express pillar teaching absent from Reference 1 remains supplied by Reference 2's pillar 74 integral with side sill 11 (Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's longitudinal member 50 and the sill overhang extending beyond its center when incorporating Reference 2's integral pillar, because this existing layout provides a broad under-sill mounting region and transmits side-impact load into the battery structure (Reference 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0039]). The pillar connection uses the sill's upper body without requiring the inboard frame or overhang to be moved. The resulting geometry and load path are therefore predictable.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 1, wherein (L2) the rocker is formed as a closed cross-sectional structure by the main body portion and the extending portion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 forms side sill 25 as an integral extrusion enclosing hollow space 56, including the tall outboard body and the upper inward portion above depression 57 (paragraph [0038]; Fig. 5). The connected perimeter of those portions provides the claimed closed cross-sectional structure. Reference 1 does not expressly describe the pillar connection; Reference 2 supplies integral center pillar 74 and side sill 11 (paragraph [0032]; Fig. 1).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2's integral pillar connection on Reference 1's hollow closed-section sill while retaining its upper inward portion, because Reference 1 expressly selects the hollow extrusion to reduce weight while preserving rigidity (paragraph [0038]). An attached pillar can transfer load into that rigid perimeter without opening the section or removing the depression that accommodates the frame.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 2, wherein (L2) the battery side frame is fixed to the vehicle lower side of the extending portion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 2 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 places installation hole 62 in the upper wall of connection member 50 below installation hole 58 in lower partition wall 25b. Bolt 60 engages nut 59 to fix member 50 beneath the upper inward sill portion (paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; Figs. 4-5). The pillar omitted from Reference 1 is supplied by Reference 2's integral pillar 74 on side sill 11 (paragraph [0032]; Fig. 1).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's bolted under-extension connection when adding Reference 2's pillar, because bolts 60 and nut 59 secure the battery side frame directly below the sill portion that receives the pillar loads. Reference 1 already uses separated fixing points to resist relative movement during side collision (paragraph [0039]); adding the pillar leaves the accessible bolted joint and its predictable restraining function intact.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 2, wherein (L2) the battery side frame is fixed to the vehicle transverse direction inner side of the main body portion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 2 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 places connection member 50 in depression 57 on the inner side of the tall outboard body of sill 25 and fixes it to lower partition wall 25b by bolts 60 (paragraphs [0038]-[0039]; Fig. 5). Reference 1 does not expressly disclose a separate fixed joint between the facing vertical side of member 50 and the main body's inner wall. Reference 2 teaches rigid vehicle-body members secured together by bolts and nuts, including battery side frame 61 to support portion 16c, and floor cross members 31 joined to the facing surface 16a of inner panel 13 (paragraphs [0035], [0043]-[0051]; Figs. 1-3). Providing an additional fixed joint at the adjacent inner body wall and member 50 is the proposed modification; it is not attributed as an express horizontal-fastener teaching of either reference. Claim 5 does not require the particular wall-to-wall transverse fasteners recited in claim 9.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to supplement Reference 1's upper bolted connection with a fixed joint between the facing side of member 50 and the main body's inner wall at depression 57, in the structure having Reference 2's integral pillar. Reference 1 identifies side-impact load transfer and restraint of sill rotation as purposes of coupling the battery pack and sill (paragraph [0039]); Reference 2 documents fixed joints between adjacent structural members at the sill and battery support (paragraphs [0035], [0043]-[0051]). Securing the adjacent vertical interface provides a second load-bearing interface spaced from the upper joint, so transverse relative movement and rotation load are shared rather than carried only by the upper connection. Using a bolted joint of the disclosed type at that accessible interface predictably restrains separation while leaving the frame below the upper extension. This is an application of the documented joining technique to the adjoining structural surfaces, not an assumption that any unspecified location is interchangeable.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 2, wherein (L2) the battery side frame is fixed to a battery case that is disposed at a vehicle lower portion and houses a battery.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 2 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 attaches hollow connection member 50 along the outer face of sidewall 46a of casing 46. Casing 46 and lid 49 enclose battery module 21 in battery pack 16 below floor panel 65, at the lower portion of vehicle 10 (paragraphs [0036]-[0037]; Fig. 4). This fixes the longitudinal battery side frame to the lower battery case. Reference 1 lacks an express pillar connection; Reference 2 supplies center pillar 74 integral with side sill 11 (paragraph [0032]; Fig. 1).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the attachment of member 50 to casing sidewall 46a when providing the pillar arrangement of Reference 2, because that attachment conveys sill loads to the battery structure and lets the battery module serve as lateral reinforcement (Reference 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0039]). The case remains below the floor and continues to enclose the battery; the added pillar connection does not alter those functions.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 6, wherein (L2) the battery case has a flange portion extending in a vehicle transverse direction, (L3) and is fixed to a vehicle lower side of the battery side frame at the flange portion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 6 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1's further embodiment provides casing 71 with bottom 72 and lid 73. Installation portion 75 extends transversely from bottom 72 toward side sill 67 and is below the leading end 83 of separate connection plate 81 (paragraphs [0041]-[0044]; Figs. 6-8). Installation portion 75 is therefore a flange of the battery case, distinct from upper lid flange 74. (L3) Bolts 76 fix portion 75 beneath plate 81 and also fasten the plate, lid flange and sill together. The proposed modification applies this lower flanged-case attachment to casing 46 and retained hollow longitudinal connection member 50 of Figures 4-5: the case-bottom flange extends beneath member 50 and is fixed to its lower side. The stepped sill 25, its overhang beyond the frame center, and Reference 2's integral pillar remain. The separate embodiments are combined under 103; Figure 4 alone is not said to show flange 75.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adapt Reference 1's flanged-case connection of Figures 6-8 to its stepped-sill arrangement of Figures 4-5, retaining hollow member 50 and the integral pillar supplied by Reference 2. Both arrangements fix a battery-side connecting member beneath a side sill to transfer side-impact loads into the battery structure (Reference 1, paragraphs [0039], [0043]-[0044]). Extending the case bottom outward beneath member 50, as bottom portion 75 extends beneath plate 81, provides a lower support and fastening surface at that existing joint. The flange can be clamped against the underside of member 50 while the member remains in depression 57. The common bolts are lengthened through the member to the existing upper sill fixation, following the through-member clamping technique of bolts 76. This predictably joins the case, connecting member and sill along the same load path without removing the stepped sill or longitudinal hollow frame.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 7, wherein (L2) the extending portion, the battery side frame and the flange portion are fastened together in the vehicle vertical direction by first fasteners (L3) that pass through the battery side frame.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 7 analysis, including the retained stepped sill 25 and hollow member 50 with an added lower case flange, is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 expressly fixes installation portion 75, connection plate 81, upper flange 74 and lower sill wall 86 together with vertical bolts 76 and weld nuts 55 (paragraphs [0041], [0044]; Figs. 6-8). (L3) Each bolt passes through plate hole 84, with two longitudinally separated holes shown in Figure 7. Applying that common through-member joint to the Figure 4 arrangement extends the first bolts through the added lower case flange, through hollow member 50 at its opening-61/hole-62 route, and into the sill fixation at wall 25b. The bolt head bears below the case flange, so the extending sill portion, frame and flange are clamped together. Unmodified bolt 60 clamps only member 50's upper wall to the sill; the longer common bolt and added flange are express modifications, not a reading of the unmodified figure.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the common vertical fastening technique of Reference 1's bolts 76 for the flanged-case joint adopted in claim 7, while retaining Reference 2's pillar connection. Reference 1 expressly uses a common case/connecting-member/sill joint to transmit impact directly to the battery structure (paragraphs [0041]-[0044]). Placing the bolt head below the case-bottom flange and extending the shank through member 50 to its existing upper sill attachment consolidates those aligned connections and clamps the supported flange at the same load-transfer station. A flange bearing against the member's underside and a bolt of the required grip length leave the hollow member in its original depression. Reference 1 supplies both the existing through-access route 61/62 and the common through-member joint; applying the latter at that route predictably fastens the three recited parts together.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 8, wherein (L2) an inner wall portion, which is positioned at the vehicle transverse direction inner side of the main body portion, is fastened in the vehicle transverse direction by second fasteners to an outer wall portion that is positioned at a vehicle transverse direction outer side of the battery side frame.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 8 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 places hollow member 50 adjacent the inboard vertical wall of the tall outboard body of sill 25 at depression 57 (Fig. 4; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]), but does not expressly show transverse bolts between those two vertical walls. Reference 2 documents bolted rigid-member joints at the vehicle sill and battery support, including bolt 40a fastening battery side frame 61 to support portion 16c (paragraphs [0035], [0043]; Figs. 2-3). The proposed additional joint applies that bolt-and-nut fastening technique through the facing inner wall of the rocker body and outer wall of retained member 50. A bolt axis normal to those vertical, longitudinal walls extends in the vehicle transverse direction. Those added bolts are the second fasteners; the common vertical bolts of claim 8 remain the first fasteners. Neither reference is asserted to depict this added wall joint literally.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to supplement the upper common-bolt joint with bolted connections between the adjacent vertical walls of the sill body and member 50, using the rigid-member fastening technique documented by Reference 2. Reference 1 seeks to transmit lateral impact and restrain relative rotation and longitudinal movement at the sill/battery connection (paragraph [0039]). Clamping the facing side walls provides a second load-bearing interface separated from the upper joint and directly restrains transverse separation. Orienting the added bolts transversely is the geometry required to clamp those parallel vertical walls. The known bolts retain their clamping function, and the retained hollow frame provides the outer wall for this interface; the result is predictable additional lateral restraint alongside the vertical attachment.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 9, wherein (L2) a plurality of the first fasteners and the second fasteners are disposed alternately at a uniform interval in the vehicle longitudinal direction.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 9 analysis is incorporated. (L2) References 1 and 2 do not expressly provide the claimed alternating uniform sequence. Reference 3 teaches fastening panel 230 with plural bolted seat support points 232A and battery support points 234A arranged alternately at equal intervals along the panel, to distribute load evenly and prevent concentration at an individual battery attachment (paragraphs [0015]-[0016], [0054]-[0057], [0062]-[0063]; claim 2; Figs. 4, 6). Its array extends across the vehicle width. Applying that spacing technique along the longitudinal member of References 1 and 2 places plural vertical first fasteners and transverse second fasteners at alternating, uniformly spaced longitudinal stations. The longitudinal orientation and the two retained fastening directions are proposed adaptations, not features attributed literally to Reference 3.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the first and second attachment groups alternately at uniform intervals along the battery side frame, applying Reference 3's equal-load-sharing arrangement to the combined structure of References 1 and 2. The repeated joints in both structures transfer load between a vehicle body and a battery-supported member; Reference 3 specifically explains that evenly spaced alternating connections avoid concentrating load at a particular attachment (paragraphs [0057], [0063]). In the combined side structure the supporting member runs longitudinally, so distributing the two joint groups along that length provides the same regular load-transfer opportunities. Their vertical and transverse bolt axes need not change because the spacing technique concerns locations along the member, not the orientation of each clamped surface. Reference 1 also permits more than two fixing points (paragraph [0050]). The change therefore predictably distributes the existing attachment groups without changing their respective joining functions.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2, 3 and 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 9, wherein (L2) a lower wall portion, which is positioned at a vehicle lower side, of the battery side frame is fastened to the flange portion by third fasteners (L3) that are respectively disposed at a uniform interval between the first fasteners and the second fasteners.
Analysis
(L1) The complete claim 9 analysis is incorporated; claim 11 depends directly from claim 9. (L2) Reference 4 teaches lower flange 64B joined to the lower wall 50L of a distinct first battery side frame 50 by separate bolts 76 and weld nuts 78 (paragraphs [0039]-[0042]; Figs. 1, 5). Flange 64B belongs to enclosing side frame 60, to which upper cover 38 and lower cover 40 are joined; it is part of the assembled case boundary, not part of cover 40 alone (paragraphs [0033]-[0036]). Its case-to-frame bolts are separate from rocker attachment bolts 80. Adding that lower-wall/flange bolted interface to the claim-9 structure supplies third fasteners joining retained member 50's lower wall to the added case flange. (L3) Reference 3 teaches uniform spacing of alternating attachment groups for even load distribution (paragraphs [0015]-[0016], [0057], [0062]-[0063]; Figs. 4, 6). Apply that technique by placing the first and second groups at regularly alternating longitudinal stations and the third bolts at uniformly repeated intervening stations. References 1-4 do not literally depict the complete three-group pattern; its arrangement is the proposed modification.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Reference 4's separate lower-wall/case-flange fasteners to the combined structure of References 1 and 2 and distribute them between the first and second fastening stations using Reference 3's regular-spacing technique. Reference 4's separate flange-to-frame connection transmits load between the two side structures and restrains their relative bending (paragraph [0041]; Fig. 5). Supplementing the common body bolts with lower-wall-only case bolts provides additional case/frame load-transfer sites and retains that subassembly connection independently of the body fasteners. Reference 3 teaches distributing attachment loads through regularly spaced intervening connections rather than concentrating them at a few sites (paragraphs [0057], [0063]). Placing third bolts midway between regularly alternating first and second stations produces a repeated first-third-second-third sequence, reduces unsupported lengths of the flange/frame interface, and avoids putting all three bolts at one longitudinal section. Each added bolt clamps the known lower-wall/flange interface, while the inherited first and second joints retain their functions. Those load-sharing and attachment results are predictable; no reference is alleged to disclose the entire sequence by itself.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 4, wherein (L2) the battery side frame is fixed to the rocker at a position corresponding to the pillar in the vehicle longitudinal direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 4 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 fixes connection member 50 to side sill 25 at two longitudinally separated bolt-60 stations to resist rotation and longitudinal displacement during side collision, but does not specify a station longitudinally overlapping a pillar (paragraph [0039]; Fig. 5). Reference 2 locates center pillar 74 integrally at the middle of side sill 11 and places second floor cross member 31b at that longitudinal region, connecting the vehicle's transverse support structure to the sill (paragraphs [0032], [0045]-[0051]; Fig. 1). Placing one of Reference 1's side-frame fixing stations at the longitudinal overlap with that pillar is the proposed modification, not a claim that Reference 1 expressly shows the alignment.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to locate one of Reference 1's side-frame-to-sill fixing stations at the longitudinal overlap with Reference 2's center pillar 74, because that is where a pillar side load enters the lower side structure. Reference 1's separated bolt stations resist sill movement during side collision (paragraph [0039]); placing one at the known pillar station shortens the intervening sill span carrying that concentrated load before it reaches the attached frame. The existing bolted connection can be positioned there without changing its fastening principle, with predictable local restraint of the sill.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 6, (L2) further comprising a floor cross member extending in a vehicle transverse direction at a vehicle upper side of the battery case, (L3) wherein the floor cross member is disposed at a position overlapping with at least a portion of the extending portion, as seen from a vehicle lateral side.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 6 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 teaches floor cross members 26 and 27 extending transversely between side sills 24 and 25 above casing 46 and lid 49 (paragraphs [0036], [0040]; Figs. 1, 5). (L3) Figure 5 shows the end region of cross member 26 at the vertical level of the upper inward portion of side sill 25, with its end portion 26a fixed to that sill. The cross member and at least part of the upper inward portion therefore overlap when viewed laterally. Reference 2's cross members 31 similarly connect to inner panel 13 at facing surface 16a (paragraphs [0034], [0051]; Fig. 2). Reference 2 supplies the express pillar arrangement not stated in Reference 1.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's above-case transverse floor cross members and their overlap with the upper inward sill portion while adding Reference 2's pillar, because the cross members support floor panel 65 and provide a transverse structural connection between the side sills (Reference 1, paragraph [0040]). Reference 2 uses the same sill-to-cross-member connection in a body with integral pillars (paragraphs [0032], [0051]). Combining these compatible body connections predictably carries loads across the floor while preserving the battery enclosure below it.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 13, wherein (L2) the floor cross member is fixed to the extending portion.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 13 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 fixes end portions 26a and 27a of floor cross members 26 and 27 to the side sills, with the Figure 5 joint at the inboard side of the upper portion extending above depression 57 (paragraph [0040]). This is the claimed fixed connection to the extending portion. Reference 2 confirms the corresponding arrangement of cross-member ends joined to facing surface 16a of inwardly bulging inner panel 13 (paragraphs [0034], [0051]; Fig. 2). The express integral pillar relationship missing from Reference 1 is supplied by Reference 2, paragraph [0032].
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's fixed cross-member end connection to the upper inboard sill portion when using Reference 2's pillar arrangement, because the fixed joint supports the floor and maintains a transverse load path between the sill and cross member (Reference 1, paragraph [0040]; Reference 2, paragraph [0051]). No change to the joint's structural function or to the battery frame below the extension is required.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The vehicle side portion structure of claim 13, wherein (L2) the floor cross member is disposed at a position corresponding to the pillar in the vehicle longitudinal direction.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 13 analysis is incorporated. (L2) Reference 1 does not expressly locate a floor cross member in longitudinal overlap with a pillar. Reference 2 shows second floor cross member 31b extending transversely at the longitudinal station of center pillar 74, with its ends joined to side sill 11 through inner panel 13 (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0032], [0045]-[0051]). Locating Reference 1's transverse floor member at that pillar station supplies the added relationship while retaining its above-case position and overlap with the extending sill portion.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place Reference 1's above-case floor cross member at the center-pillar station taught by Reference 2, because the transverse member can receive the side load close to where the pillar introduces it into the sill. Reference 2's Figure 1 locates cross member 31b at pillar 74 and its paragraph [0051] fixes the cross-member ends to the sill. Applying that position to Reference 1's otherwise compatible floor structure predictably reduces the unsupported longitudinal load-transfer distance while retaining the existing upper-sill joint and battery packaging.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 requires, with all limitations of claims 13, 6, 2 and 1, a bracket connecting the pillar inner side surface, the upper surface of the floor cross-member transverse end portion, and the upper surface of the battery case. US 2019/0001803 A1 and US 2018/0236863 A1 provide fixed floor-cross-member/sill joints but do not provide that three-surface bracket. US 2022/0314780 A1 provides bracket 180 between a floor cross member and the upper side of a side sill; it does not connect that bracket to both the pillar inner side surface and the battery-case upper surface. The known two-member cross-to-sill joint does not itself suggest extending the same bracket to the third, battery-case surface in the claimed arrangement.
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-15 are rejected. Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter. The drawing and specification objections remain outstanding.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2020/0017147 A1 provides vehicle pillars, side rockers, battery rails and transverse beams. Its battery compartment does not provide the lower case-flange and common through-side-frame fastening arrangement of claim 8, and its separation of outer and inner rocker flanges provides no stronger whole-structure disclosure than the stepped sill of US 2019/0001803 A1.
US 2021/0050570 A1 provides sealed sleeves and fasteners through a battery pack to a vehicle body. Its internal attachment does not cofasten the claimed upper rocker extension, distinct peripheral battery side frame and lower case flange.
US 2022/0314780 A1 provides a bracket at the upper end region of a floor cross member and a side sill. It does not connect the same bracket to the pillar inner surface and battery-case upper surface required by claim 16.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615