NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sealing structure” in claims 1, 10, and 17. See paragraph 62-64 of the originally-filed specification for the corresponding structure disclosed.
“anti-toppling structure” in claim 4. See figure 10 and paragraph 66 of the originally-filed specification for the corresponding structure disclosed.
“stopping portion” in claim 5. See paragraph 68 of the originally-filed specification for the corresponding structure disclosed.
“first fixing structure” in claim 12. See paragraph 82 of the originally-filed specification for the corresponding structure disclosed.
“second fixing structure” in claim 12. See paragraph 85 of the originally-filed specification for the corresponding structure disclosed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 4 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 4 depends from independent claim 1)
An oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank,
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port.
The oxygen removal module according to
claim 1 (An oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank;
[C] wherein a top portion of the electrolyte tank is provided with a pressure release valve.)
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port.
The instant application includes features [A], [B], and [D] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 4 which includes features [A] and [B] from the recitations of claim 1 and [D] from the further recitations of claim 4. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 10 of Instant Application
Claim 11 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 11 depends from independent claim 1)
A fresh-keeping device, comprising:
[E] a frame provided with an accommodating space, wherein one side of the frame is provided with an opening, a wall of the frame is provided with a vent hole, and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space;
[F] a drawer capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening, to form a closed storage space with the frame; and
an oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank,
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port,
[E] wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole, to consume oxygen inside the closed storage space through the oxygen removal module.
A fresh-keeping device, comprising:
[E] a frame provided with an accommodating space, wherein one side of the frame is provided with an opening, a wall of the frame is provided with a vent hole, and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space;
[F] a drawer capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening, so as to form a closed storage space with the frame; and
the oxygen removal module according to claim 1 (An oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank;
[C] wherein a top portion of the electrolyte tank is provided with a pressure release valve.)
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port.
[E] wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole, so as to consume oxygen inside the storage space through the oxygen removal module.
The instant application includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 11 which includes features [A] and [B] from the recitations of claim 1 and [D], [E], and [F] from the further recitations of claim 11. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 11 of Instant Application(wherein claim 11 depends from claim 10, discussed above)
Claim 12 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 12 depends from claim 11, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 10 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated) ,
[G] wherein the frame comprises:
[Ga] an inner frame, wherein the accommodating space is arranged in the inner frame, the opening is arranged on one side of the inner frame, the vent hole is arranged in a side wall of the inner frame far away from the opening, and the water tank is arranged at an upper side wall of the inner frame; and
[Gb] an outer frame arranged on the inner frame, wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged between the inner frame and the outer frame.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 11(features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated),
[G] wherein the frame comprises:
[Ga] an inner frame, wherein the accommodating space is arranged in the inner frame, the opening is arranged on one side of the inner frame, the vent hole is arranged in a side wall of the inner frame far away from the opening, and the water tank is arranged at an upper side wall of the inner frame; and
[Gb] an outer frame arranged on the inner frame, wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged between the inner frame and the outer frame.
The instant application includes the features of claim 10([A], [B], [D], [E], and [F]), in addition to [G], [Ga], and [Gb] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 12 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F] from the recitations of claims 1 and 11, in addition to [G], [Ga], and [Gb] from the further recitations of claim 12. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 12 of Instant Application(wherein claim 12 depends from claim 11, discussed above)
Claim 13 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 13 depends from claim 12, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 11 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], and [Gb], as previously indicated),
[H] wherein the electrolyte tank is detachably arranged on the inner frame through a first fixing structure, and the water tank is detachably arranged on the inner frame through a second fixing structure.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 12(features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], and [Gb], as previously indicated),
[H] wherein the electrolyte tank is detachably arranged on the inner frame through a first fixing structure, and the water tank is detachably arranged on the inner frame through a second fixing structure.
The instant application includes the features of claim 11 ([A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], and [Gb]), in addition to [H] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 13 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], and [Gb] from the recitations of claims 1, 11, and 12, in addition to [H] from the further recitations of claim 13. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 13 of Instant Application(wherein claim 13 depends from claim 12, discussed above)
Claim 14 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 14 depends from claim 13, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 12 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] as previously indicated),
[I] wherein the first fixing structure comprises:
[Ia] a first connecting column arranged on the side wall of the inner frame, wherein a first connecting hole is arranged in the first connecting column;
[Ib] a first stepped hole arranged at a corresponding position of the electrolyte tank, wherein the first connecting column passes through the first stepped hole; and
[Ic] a first fixed connecting member, wherein the first fixed connecting member passes through the first stepped hole and is threadedly connected to the first connecting hole.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 13(features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] as previously indicated),
[I] wherein the first fixing structure comprises:
[Ia] a first connecting column arranged on the side wall of the inner frame, wherein a first connecting hole is arranged in the first connecting column;
[Ib] a first stepped hole arranged at a corresponding position of the electrolyte tank, wherein the first connecting column passes through the first stepped hole; and
[Ic] a first fixed connecting member, wherein the first fixed connecting member passes through the first stepped hole and is threadedly connected to the first connecting hole.
The instant application includes the features of claim 12 ([A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H]), in addition to [I], [Ia], [Ib], and [Ic] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 14 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] from the recitations of claims 1, 11, 12, and 13 in addition to [I], [Ia], [Ib], and [Ic] from the further recitations of claim 14. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 14 of Instant Application(wherein claim 14 depends from claim 12, discussed above)
Claim 15 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 15 depends from claim 13, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 12 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] as previously indicated),
[J] wherein the second fixing structure comprises:
[Ja] a second connecting column arranged on the upper side wall of the inner frame, wherein a second connecting hole is arranged in the second connecting column;
[Jb] a second stepped hole arranged at a corresponding position of the water tank, wherein the second connecting column passes through the second stepped hole; and
[Jc] a second fixed connecting member,
[Jd] wherein the second fixed connecting member passes through the second stepped hole and is threadedly connected to the second connecting hole.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 13(features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] as previously indicated),
[J] wherein the second fixing structure comprises:
[Ja] a second connecting column arranged on the upper side wall of the inner frame, wherein a second connecting hole is arranged in the second connecting column;
[Jb] a second stepped hole arranged at a corresponding position of the water tank, wherein the second connecting column passes through the second stepped hole; and
[Jc] a second fixed connecting member,
[Jd] wherein the second fixed connecting member passes through the second stepped hole and is threadedly connected to the second connecting hole.
The instant application includes the features of claim 14 ([A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H]), in addition to [J], [Ja], [Jb], [Jc], and [Jd] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 14 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], [F], [G], [Ga], [Gb], and [H] from the recitations of claims 1, 11, 12, and 13 in addition to [J], [Ja], [Jb], [Jc], and [Jd] from the further recitations of claim 15. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 15 of Instant Application(wherein claim 15 depends from claim 10, discussed above)
Claim 16 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 16 depends from claim 11, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 10 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated),
[K] wherein a sealing strip is arranged between the opening and the drawer.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 11(features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated),
[K] wherein a sealing strip is arranged between the opening and the drawer.
The instant application includes the features of claim 10 [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F]), in addition to [K] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 11 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F] from the recitations of claims 1 and 11, in addition to [K] from the further recitations of claim 16. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 16 of Instant Application(wherein claim 16 depends from claim 10, discussed above)
Claim 17 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 17 depends from claim 11, discussed above)
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 10 (features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated),
[L] wherein a plurality of vent holes are provided, and the plurality of vent holes are arranged on a side wall of the frame in an array.
The fresh-keeping device according to claim 11(features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F], as previously indicated),
[L] wherein a plurality of vent holes are provided, and the plurality of vent holes are arranged on the side wall of the frame in an array.
The instant application includes the features of claim 10 [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F]), in addition to [L] which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 11 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F] from the recitations of claims 1 and 11, in addition to [L] from the further recitations of claim 17. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,282 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 17 of Instant Application
Claim 18 of Reference Patent (wherein claim 18 depends from claims 1 and 11, discussed above)
A refrigerator, comprising: a fresh-keeping device, comprising:
[E] a frame provided with an accommodating space, wherein one side of the frame is provided with an opening, a wall of the frame is provided with a vent hole, and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space;
[F] a drawer capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening, to form a closed storage space with the frame; and
an oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank,
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port,
[E] wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole, to consume oxygen inside the closed storage space through the oxygen removal module.
A refrigerator, comprising the fresh-keeping device according to claim 11 (A fresh-keeping device, comprising:
[E] a frame provided with an accommodating space, wherein one side of the frame is provided with an opening, a wall of the frame is provided with a vent hole, and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space;
[F] a drawer capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening, so as to form a closed storage space with the frame; and
the oxygen removal module according to claim 1 (An oxygen removal module used in a refrigerator, comprising:
[A] an electrolyte tank provided with a water inlet; and
[B] a water tank provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet, such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank;
[C] wherein a top portion of the electrolyte tank is provided with a pressure release valve.)
[D] wherein the water tank is provided with a water feeding port, and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port.)
[E] wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole, so as to consume oxygen inside the storage space through the oxygen removal module.)
The instant application includes the features of claim 17 ([A], [B], [D], [E], and [F]) as applied in a refrigerator which are expressly described by the invention of the reference patent in claim 18 which includes features [A], [B], [D], [E], and [F] from the recitations of claims 1 and 11, in addition to being applied to a refrigerator as recited in claim 18. For this reason, the claimed inventions, while not the same, are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KANESAKA (JP 2015017765 A – published 29 January, 2015; see English machine translation and foreign patent document).
As to claim 1, KANESAKA discloses an oxygen removal module (par. 29) used in a refrigerator(10; figure 1), comprising:
an electrolyte tank (76) provided with a water inlet(90); and
a water tank(100) provided with a water outlet(104), and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet (figure 7 and 10), such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank (par. 37), wherein the water tank (100) is provided with a water feeding port (37 or 39; par. 27 and 49), and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port (upper wall of the water tank, 100, which is mounted on the water feeding port, 37 or 39, as shown in figure 6 or 10, at least).
As to claim 10, KANESAKA discloses a fresh-keeping device, comprising:
a frame (62) provided with an accommodating space (space internal to the frame, 62), wherein one side of the frame (left side shown in figure 1 and 5) is provided with an opening (opening covered or uncovered by the door, 66; par. 14), a wall of the frame (rear wall) is provided with a vent hole (par. 30; figure 7; 80), and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space (par. 30);
a drawer (64; par. 14) capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening (par. 14), so as to form a closed storage space with the frame (closed as shown in figure 1 and 5); and
an oxygen removal module (par. 29) used in a refrigerator(10; figure 1), comprising:
an electrolyte tank (76) provided with a water inlet(90); and
a water tank(100) provided with a water outlet(104), and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet (figure 7 and 10), such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank (par. 37),
wherein the water tank (100) is provided with a water feeding port (37 or 39; par. 27 and 49), and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port (upper wall of the water tank, 100, which is mounted on the water feeding port, 37 or 39, as shown in figure 6 or 10, at least),
wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole (figure 7; par. 30) , to consume oxygen inside the closed storage space through the oxygen removal module (par. 30).
As to claim 17, KANESAKA discloses a refrigerator (10), comprising:
a fresh-keeping device, comprising:
a frame (62) provided with an accommodating space (space internal to the frame, 62), wherein one side of the frame (left side shown in figure 1 and 5) is provided with an opening (opening covered or uncovered by the door, 66; par. 14), a wall of the frame (rear wall) is provided with a vent hole (par. 30; figure 7; 80), and the vent hole is communicated with the accommodating space (par. 30);
a drawer (64; par. 14) capable of accessing and containing in the accommodating space through the opening (par. 14), so as to form a closed storage space with the frame (closed as shown in figure 1 and 5); and
an oxygen removal module (par. 29) used in a refrigerator(10; figure 1), comprising:
an electrolyte tank (76) provided with a water inlet(90); and
a water tank(100) provided with a water outlet(104), and the water outlet is connected to the water inlet (figure 7 and 10), such that water is supplemented to the electrolyte tank through the water tank (par. 37), wherein the water tank (100) is provided with a water feeding port (37 or 39; par. 27 and 49), and a sealing structure capable of plugging the water feeding port is mounted on the water feeding port (upper wall of the water tank, 100, which is mounted on the water feeding port, 37 or 39, as shown in figure 6 or 10, at least), wherein the electrolyte tank is arranged at the vent hole (figure 7; par. 30) , to consume oxygen inside the closed storage space through the oxygen removal module (par. 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANESAKA (JP 2015017765 A – published 29 January, 2015; see English machine translation and foreign patent document), in view of WANG (CN 107782040 A – published 9 March, 2018; see English machine translation for citations).
As to claim 15, KANESAKA does not further disclose wherein a sealing strip is arranged between the opening and the drawer.
WANG, however, is within the field of endeavor provided a fresh-keeping device (par. 2). WANG teaches a drawer (500) which is capable of accessing and containing (par. 39) the accommodating space(space interior to 200) through the opening (260). More so, WANG teaches wherein a sealing strip (310) is arranged between the opening and the drawer (figure 1; par. 14 and 38). Particularly, the positioning of the sealing strip, as claimed, allow for sealing of the accommodating space (par. 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify KANESAKA, in view of the teachings of WANG, to provide the sealing strip, as claimed, for the purpose of sealing the accommodating space.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANESAKA (JP 2015017765 A – published 29 January, 2015; see English machine translation and foreign patent document).
As to claim 16, KANESAKA previously disclose wherein the system included the vent hole arranged on the side wall (see rejection of claim 11).
KANESAKA does not expressly disclose wherein a plurality of vent holes are provided, and the plurality of vent holes are arranged in an array.
However, the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 -VI(B). Looking at the instant application, paragraph 92 recites the use of vent holes “can increase an oxygen transfer area between the accommodating space 411 and the oxygen removal module 100, thus improving an oxygen removal efficiency of the oxygen removal module 100”, but the specification does not provide evidence that a plurality of vent holes, over a singular vent hole, would necessarily result in any new of unexpected results. Particularly, in view of paragraph 78, the specification provides wherein a vent hole provides oxygen removal. As such, it is not found that the inclusion of a plurality of vent holes, over a singular vent hole, would result in any patentable significance as the same result is found in both of the configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify KANESAKA, as claimed, in view of legal precedent as the source of supporting rationale to support an obviousness rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 18-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 9/22/2026
JENNA M. MARONEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763