DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Fisher et al (US D547,630).
See figures, which plainly read on every element of claims 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Hayashimoto (US 4,202,320)
Regarding claim 1, Hayashimoto discloses A chainsaw (figure 1), comprising: a housing (see the main body of the chainsaw, in the figures as a whole, the housing is apparent), the housing comprising a central housing(e.g. the part proximate to / adjacent to bar 11), a motor cover (back portion near electric cord) and a handle housing (See figure 1, and Col. 2 line 21+), the motor cover arranged obliquely upward at a tail part of the central housing(See angle at tail , figure 1), the handle housing arranged obliquely downward at the tail part of the central housing (down and to the left, figure 1), and a hollow structure arranged between the motor cover and the handle housing (FOR THE HAND, SEE FIGURE 1; OR the shell of the housings form this opening); and a cutting assembly, the cutting assembly arranged on a front side of the central housing 9See saw chain at the right figure 1), an axis of the cutting assembly intersected with an axis of the handle housing, and a first intersection thereof located inside the handle housing (these clauses are broad enough to read on any line that passes through any part of the recited components—the intersection is plainly in the claimed location, and therefore anticipatory of claim 1).
Claim 2 is anticipated in the same manner.
Regarding claim 3, Hayashimoto shows an air inlet is arranged on the motor cover (left of figure 1, slots shown), and the air inlet is located at the hollow structure (at encompasses many locations—here the vents let into the interior chamber of the shell of the overall housing- and/or are in line with the handle hole above the vents shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 4. Hayashimoto further shows a driving assembly, the driving assembly installed in the motor cove (figure 2; “ its case cover removed to show the internal motor and transmission arrangements; its case cover removed to show the internal motor and transmission arrangements;”) ; a transmission assembly, the transmission assembly installed in the central housing, and a transmission connection with the driving assembly and the cutting assembly respectively (location of the transmission and drive are all in the housing, as seen in figure 1, and as discussed: “eg piece being inserted between the chain saw cover and the saw chain guide bar and fixed in that state.” Inter alia) ; and a power supply assembly (cord, at left figure 1), the power supply assembly arranged at a tail part of the handle housing (as shown in figure 1) and electrically connected with the driving assembly.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Ebner (US 2017/0239835)
Regarding claim 1, Ebner discloses A chainsaw (figure 1; title, etc.), comprising: a housing, the housing comprising a central housing ( 40), a motor cover (50) and a handle housing (48). Ebner further discloses the motor cover arranged obliquely upward at a tail part of the central housing(see figure 1), the handle housing arranged obliquely downward at the tail part of the central housing (down and to the right figure 1; figure 3), and a hollow structure arranged between the motor cover and the handle housing (the shell of the housings form this opening as shown in e.g. figure 3); and a cutting assembly (chain- 100), the cutting assembly arranged on a front side of the central housing (See saw chain at the left figure 3), an axis of the cutting assembly intersected with an axis of the handle housing, and a first intersection thereof located inside the handle housing (these clauses are broad enough to read on any line that passes through any part of the recited components—the intersection is plainly in the claimed location, and therefore anticipatory of claim 1; also consider that the clause encompasses the intersection of 400 and 420 because it is within the bounded portions of the housing between upper and lower bounds).Claim 2 is anticipated in the same manner.
Regarding claim 4, Ebner further shows a driving assembly, the driving assembly installed in the motor cove (figure 3) ; a transmission assembly, the transmission assembly installed in the central housing, and a transmission connection with the driving assembly and the cutting assembly respectively (location of the transmission and drive are all in the housing, as seen in figure 3) ; and a power supply assembly (battery, at 24), the power supply assembly arranged at a tail part of the handle housing (as shown in figure 1) and electrically connected with the driving assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Ebner further discloses a switch is arranged in the handle housing (90 and associated as in figure 3), the switch, the driving assembly and the power supply assembly are electrically connected through a conductive wire, the conductive wire is led out from the power supply assembly, passes through an inside of the handle housing and is connected with the switch, and extends into the motor cover to be connected with the driving assembly (this is implicit in the disclosure as shown; e.g. ‘battery’ configured: “ The chainsaw further includes a battery configured to provide power to the motor, the battery being received in the cavity along the first axis.”).
Regarding claim 6, Ebner further discloses the cutting assembly comprises a bar (“guide bar” [0005]), the bar is slidably installed on a side of the housing through a tensioning block (shown in figure 1, and implicit in figure 3; as is commonly known in the chainsaw arts), and a side cover is further arranged on the side of the housing where the tensioning block is arranged (See figure 1). Claims 16-20 are also clearly anticipated by Ebner, as set forth with respect to claims 1,2 5 and 6, noting figure 1 and 3 thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 7-15 depend directly or indirectly from claim 7 containing a specific and unknown type of mounting structure.
Conclusion
SEAN M. MICHALSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3724
/SEAN M MICHALSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724