DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on March 27, 2025 for application number 19/091,980. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 27, 2025 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tractor-trailer system, feedback controller, dynamic system, data-driven model, ultra-local model and control system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“tractor-trailer system” in claims 56-65.
“dynamic system”, “control system” in claims 66-75.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 56-62, 64-70 and 72-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansson et al. (WO 2022/184258 A1), hereinafter “Hansson”.
Regarding claim 56, Hansson discloses a method for a vehicle, comprising: retrieving data from one or more sensors positioned on a tractor of the vehicle (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 4)), wherein the tractor is mechanically coupled to a trailer forming a tractor-trailer system (Fig. 1 (100)); determining, based on the data retrieved from the one or more sensors, a lateral acceleration parameter of the tractor (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 31)); and controlling based on the lateral acceleration parameter of the tractor, via a controller, a steering angle of steered wheels of the tractor such that a lateral acceleration of the vehicle is held below a threshold lateral acceleration (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 4, 16, 22-31)).
Regarding claim 57, Hansson discloses the method of claim 56, wherein the one or more sensors comprises an accelerometer (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 18, 54)).
Regarding claim 58, Hansson discloses the method of claim 56, wherein the controller comprises a data-driven model, and wherein the data-driven model comprises an ultra-local model (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 5, 7, 8, 54, 56)).
Regarding claim 59, Hansson discloses the method of claim 58, wherein the ultra-local model is formulated such that a future state depends on a current state and a reference, wherein the current state is the lateral acceleration parameter of the tractor in a current time period and the reference is a lateral acceleration of the tractor predicted along a maneuver at an immediate future time period (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26, 40, 45, 46, 54)).
Regarding claim 60, Hansson discloses the method of claim 59, wherein the reference is modified by a reference governor for enforcement of a constraint on an allowable maximum lateral acceleration of the tractor-trailer system (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 6, 26, 34)).
Regarding claim 61, Hansson discloses the method of claim 60, wherein the allowable maximum lateral acceleration of the tractor-trailer system is generated based on an amplification factor of the lateral acceleration from the tractor to the trailer (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 26-35)).
Regarding claim 62, Hansson discloses the method of claim 60, wherein the reference governor receives the reference of the lateral acceleration parameter for a maneuver path from an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) (Background section (paragraph 2, 6)); and wherein the maneuver path is an obstacle avoidance path generated after sensing an obstacle along a current trajectory of the vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 26-35, 53-55)).
Regarding claim 64, Hansson discloses the method of claim 56, wherein the threshold lateral acceleration is selected such that rollover of one or more of the tractor and the trailer is avoided (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26-35, 40, 45, 46, 54)).
Regarding claim 65, Hansson discloses the method of claim 56, wherein the steering angle is controlled via an actuator configured to control an angle of the steered wheels (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 6, 8); Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 17)); and wherein the method is configured to change a current state of the tractor-trailer system to a next state (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 17, 19, 26-30)).
Regarding claim 66, Hansson discloses a control system comprising: a sensor, and a feedback controller (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 4, 5-10)); the sensor configured to provide real-time data comprising a current state of a dynamic system (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 6, 8; 26-35, 53-55)), wherein the dynamic system is a tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Fig. 1 (100)), and the current state comprises a current lateral acceleration of a tractor of the tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 31)); the feedback controller configured to determine a value of a control input based on a modified reference and the current state (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26, 40, 45, 46, 54)); and wherein the control system comprises a data-driven model (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 5, 7, 8, 54, 56)), wherein the data-driven model comprises an ultra-local model of the dynamic system (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 5, 7, 8, 54, 56)); and wherein the control system is configured to prevent a rollover of the tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26-35, 40, 45, 46, 54)).
Regarding claim 67, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 66, wherein the ultra-local model configured to represent the dynamic system uses a low-order differential equation, and wherein the low-order differential equation is a first-order differential equation (page 15, line 8 – page 16, line 19.
Regarding claim 68, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 66, wherein the sensor comprises an accelerometer (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 18, 54)).
Regarding claim 69, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 66, wherein the control system further comprises a reference governor configured to output the modified reference based on an input reference and the current state such that the dynamic system satisfies a constraint (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 6, 26, 34)), and wherein the constraint is a maximum allowable lateral acceleration for the tractor-trailer combination vehicle to prevent the rollover of one or more of the tractor and a trailer of the tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 26-35)).
Regarding claim 70, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 69, wherein the reference governor receives the input reference for a maneuver path from an Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) (Background section (paragraph 2, 6)); and wherein the maneuver path is an obstacle avoidance path generated after sensing an obstacle along a current trajectory of the vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 26-35, 53-55)).
Regarding claim 72, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 69, wherein the input reference is a predicted lateral acceleration of the tractor at a future time period (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26, 40, 45, 46, 54)).
Regarding claim 73, Hansson discloses the control system of claim 66, wherein the control input is a steering angle for wheels of the tractor; and wherein an actuator is configured to receive and implement the control input changing the current state of the dynamic system to a next state (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 6, 8); Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 17, 19, 26-30)).
Regarding claim 74, Hansson discloses a method comprising: receiving, from a sensor, a real-time data comprising a current state of a dynamic system (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 6, 8; 26-35, 53-55)), wherein the dynamic system is a tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Fig. 1 (100)), and the current state comprises a current lateral acceleration of a tractor of the tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 31)); determining, by a feedback controller of a control system, a value of a control input based on a modified reference and the current state (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26, 40, 45, 46, 54)), wherein the control system comprises a data-driven model (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 5, 7, 8, 54, 56)), wherein the data-driven model comprises an ultra-local model of the dynamic system (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 5, 7, 8, 54, 56)); and providing, the control input to an actuator of the dynamic system, such that the dynamic system changes from the current state to a next state (Summary section (paragraphs 3, 6, 8); Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 16, 17, 19, 26-30)); and wherein the method is implemented by the control system for preventing a rollover of the tractor-trailer combination vehicle (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 19, 26-35, 40, 45, 46, 54)).
Regarding claim 75, Hansson discloses the method of claim 74, wherein the ultra-local model of the control system is formulated by estimating dynamics of the dynamic system in real-time while the tractor-trailer combination vehicle is in nominal operation (Detailed Description of Example Embodiments of the Invention section (paragraphs 23-35, 53-55)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 63 and 71 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747