DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 19/092,019 filed on March 27, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 2, on line 3, the limitation of “a first side wall first intermediary position” should be replaced with “a first vertical side wall first intermediary position.” The first intermediary position is located on the previously claimed “first vertical side wall.” Therefore, this change would provide antecedent basis and context. Also, on line 5, the limitation of “a first side wall second intermediary position” should be replaced with “a first vertical side wall second intermediary position.”
With regard to claim 3, on line 3, the limitation of “a second side wall first intermediary position” should be replaced with “a second vertical side wall first intermediary position.” The first intermediary position is located on the previously claimed “second vertical side wall.” Therefore, this change would provide antecedent basis and context. Also, on line 5, the limitation of “a second side wall second intermediary position” should be replaced with “a second vertical side wall second intermediary position.”
With regard to claim 13, on line 3, the limitation of “a first side wall first intermediary position” should be replaced with “a first vertical side wall first intermediary position.” The first intermediary position is located on the previously claimed “first vertical side wall.” Therefore, this change would provide antecedent basis and context. Also, on line 5, the limitation of “a first side wall second intermediary position” should be replaced with “a first vertical side wall second intermediary position.”
With regard to claim 14, on line 3, the limitation of “a second side wall first intermediary position” should be replaced with “a second vertical side wall first intermediary position.” The first intermediary position is located on the previously claimed “second vertical side wall.” Therefore, this change would provide antecedent basis and context. Also, on line 5, the limitation of “a second side wall second intermediary position” should be replaced with “a second vertical side wall second intermediary position.”
Claim Interpretations
Applicant has not claimed any details with regard to the shape of the protruding rib(s). Therefore, if the rib has any vertical, horizontal, or diagonal component, it will be interpreted as reading on that limitation (see claims 4-8 and 15-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hodgetts (US 5976672: see annotated Figures below).
With regard to claim 1, Hodgetts teaches a connector foot 64 for attaching a cargo blocker 60 to a storage mat 20, said connector foot comprising: a plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 11) including at least: a first vertical side wall (Fig. 11) having a first side wall first end point and a first side wall second end point; a second vertical side wall (Fig. 11) having a second side wall first end point and a second side wall second end point; a first end wall (Fig. 11) connecting the first side wall first end point to the second side wall first end point; and a second end wall (Fig. 11) connecting the first side wall second end point to the second side wall second end point; and at least one protruding rib 68 extending from an outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the first end wall, or the second end wall (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 4, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented vertically on the outer surface. With regard to claim 5, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 does not extend to a top of the vertical wall (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 6, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 does not extend to a bottom of the vertical wall (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 7, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented horizontally on the outer surface. With regard to claim 8, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented diagonally on the outer surface. With regard to claim 9, Hodgetts teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib comprises a plurality of protruding ribs 68 with each protruding rib of the plurality of protruding ribs extending from the outer surface of a different vertical wall of the plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 10, Hodgetts teaches the foot, further comprising a cargo block 18 attached to and extending upwardly from a connector foot top surface 60 (Col. 5, lines 51-53). With regard to claim 11, Hodgetts teaches an organization system kit comprising: a plurality of connector feet 64, each connector foot of the plurality of connector feet comprising: a plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 11) including at least: a first vertical side wall (Fig. 11) having a first side wall first end point and a first side wall second end point; a second vertical side wall (Fig. 11) having a second side wall first end point and a second side wall second end point; a first end wall (Fig. 11) connecting the first side wall first end point to the second side wall first end point; a second end wall (Fig. 11) connecting the first side wall second end point to the second side wall second end point; and at least one protruding rib 68 extending from an outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the first end wall, or the second end wall (Fig. 14a); and a cargo block 18 attached to and extending upwardly from a connector foot top surface 60 (Col. 5, lines 51-53); and at least one storage mat 20 comprising a grid-like assortment of cutouts 48 with each cut-out sized and shaped to accept a connector foot of the plurality of connector feet (Fig. 11 and 14a). With regard to claim 15, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented vertically on the outer surface. With regard to claim 16, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 does not extend to a top of the vertical wall (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 17, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 does not extend to a bottom of the vertical wall (Fig. 14a). With regard to claim 18, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented horizontally on the outer surface. With regard to claim 19, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib 68 is oriented diagonally on the outer surface. With regard to claim 20, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one protruding rib comprises a plurality of protruding ribs 68 with each protruding rib of the plurality of protruding ribs extending from the outer surface of a different vertical wall of the plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 14a).
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cerny (US 8683769; see annotated figures below).
With regard to claim 1, Cerny teaches a connector foot 82 for attaching a cargo blocker to a storage mat 20 (intended use), said connector foot comprising: a plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 6) including at least: a first vertical side wall (Fig. 6) having a first side wall first end point and a first side wall second end point; a second vertical side wall (Fig. 6) having a second side wall first end point and a second side wall second end point; a first end wall (Fig. 6) connecting the first side wall first end point to the second side wall first end point; and a second end wall (Fig. 6) connecting the first side wall second end point to the second side wall second end point; and at least one protruding rib 96 extending from an outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the first end wall, or the second end wall (Figs. 6, 7c). With regard to claim 2, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the plurality of vertical walls further includes: a third vertical side wall (Fig. 6) extending from a first vertical side wall first intermediary position and having a third side wall end point; a fourth vertical side wall (Fig. 6) extending from a first vertical side wall second intermediary position and having a fourth side wall end point; and a third end wall (Fig. 6) connecting the third side wall end point to the fourth side wall end point; and wherein the plurality of vertical walls are aligned in a "T" configuration, and the at least one protruding rib extends from the outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the third vertical side wall, the fourth vertical side wall, the first end wall, the second end wall, or the third end wall (Fig. 6). With regard to claim 3, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the plurality of vertical walls further includes: a fifth vertical side wall (Fig. 6) extending from a second vertical side wall first intermediary position and having a fifth side wall end point; a sixth vertical side wall (Fig. 6) extending from a second vertical side wall second intermediary position and having a sixth side wall end point; and a fourth end wall (Fig. 6) connecting the fifth side wall end point to the sixth side wall end point; and wherein the plurality of vertical walls are aligned in an "X" configuration, and the at least one protruding rib extends from the outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the third vertical side wall, the fourth vertical side wall, the fifth vertical side wall, the sixth vertical side wall, the first end wall, the second end wall, the third end wall, or the fourth end wall (Fig. 6). With regard to claim 4, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 96 is oriented vertically on the outer surface. With regard to claim 5, Cerny teaches the foot,
wherein the at least one protruding rib 96 does not extend to a top of the vertical wall (Fig. 7c). With regard to claim 7, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 96 is oriented horizontally on the outer surface (Fig., 6). With regard to claim 8, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 96 is oriented diagonally on the outer surface (Fig. 7c). With regard to claim 9, Cerny teaches the foot, wherein the at least one protruding rib 96 comprises a plurality of protruding ribs with each protruding rib of the plurality of protruding ribs extending from the outer surface of a different vertical wall of the plurality of vertical walls (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodgetts ‘672 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lescord (US 10557275). With regard to claim 12, Hodgetts teaches the kit, wherein the at least one storage mat 20comprises a grid-like assortment of cutouts 48 with each cut-out sized and shaped to accept a connector foot 64 of the plurality of connector feet (Fig. 11). Hodgetts lacks the specific teaching wherein the at least one storage mat comprises a plurality of storage mats. Lescord teaches a similar kit comprising wherein at least one storage mat 2 comprises a plurality of storage mats 2 and each storage mat of the plurality of storage mats includes a grid-like assortment of cutouts 12 with each cut-out sized and shaped to accept a connector foot 32 of the plurality of connector feet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Hodgetts to employ a storage mat comprising a plurality of storage mats in view of Lescord in order to provide flexibility for the size and shape of the entire mat system. Also, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to show or render obvious the organization system kit as claimed, and particularly wherein the plurality of vertical walls further includes: a third vertical side wall extending from a first vertical side wall first intermediary position and having a third side wall end point; a fourth vertical side wall extending from a first vertical side wall second intermediary position and having a fourth side wall end point; and a third end wall connecting the third side wall end point to the fourth side wall end point; and wherein the plurality of vertical walls are aligned in a "T" configuration, and the at least one protruding rib extends from the outer surface of one of the first vertical side wall, the second vertical side wall, the third vertical side wall, the fourth vertical side wall, the first end wall, the second end wall, or the third end wall and including the remaining structure of claim 13. Claim 14 depends upon claim 13.
Suggestions for Applicant
Applicant could amend claim 1 to include the limitations of claims 10 and 2 (which would be similar to those of claims 11 and 12, combined).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luxender (US 3027017) has been cited to show a similar connector foot comprising: a mat 11, a cargo block 40, vertical and end walls 31 and diagonal protruding rib 63 .
Romph (US 6176657) has been cited to show a similar connector foot comprising: a mat 18, a cargo block 72, vertical and end walls 52 and horizontal protruding ribs 68 .
Rutman (US 11964632) has been cited to show a similar connector foot comprising: a mat 50 with cutouts 42, a cargo block 94, vertical and end walls 46 and protruding ribs (Fig. 7) .
Buchanan (US 12734954) has been cited to show a similar connector foot from the same assignee and same inventor.
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
September 21, 2026