Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: transport mechanism, heating portion, bonding portion, recording portion, peeling portion and cleaning portion in claims 1 and 10. The Specification discloses that the transport mechanism may be a belt member provided around transport rollers, the heating portion is a heater, bonding portion is a first transport roller, recording portion is an ink jet head, peeling portion is a second transport roller and the cleaning portion comprises a pump, a water spray port and a water spray pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (Japanese Patent 2020-200120).
With regards to claim 10, Matsumoto discloses an ink jet textile printing apparatus (paragraph 1). While Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose the type of adhesive used, since the claims are directed to an apparatus and the adhesive is the material worked upon by the apparatus, the type of adhesive does not impart patentability to the claims as per MPEP 2115. Apparatus claims are examined in view of its structural limitations, not its functional limitations, as per MPEP 2114. Matsumoto discloses that the printing apparatus comprises:
A transport mechanism that bonds a fabric to an adhesive layer formed at a surface of a fabric transport member to transport the fabric (Figure 1 item 4)
A heating portion that heats the adhesive layer (Figure 1 item 14)
A bonding portion that bonds the fabric to the heated adhesive layer (Figure 1 item 8)
A recording portion that attached an ink composition to the fabric bonded to the adhesive layer using an ink jet head (Figure 1 item 2)
A peeling portion that peels off the recorded fabric from the adhesive layer (paragraph 29)
A cleaning portion that cleans the adhesive layer from which the fabric is peeled off with a cleaning solution containing water (Figure 1 item 10, paragraph 33)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 - 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2024/0042783) in view of Shimizu et al (Japanese Patent 2021169594).
With regards to claim 1, Watanabe teaches a method for producing a transfer sheet comprising jetting and aqueous adhesive liquid by an inkjet method where the aqueous adhesive liquid contains a resin A and a resin B (Abstract), where the resins are (meth)acrylic resin (paragraph 38). While Watanabe discloses that the adhesive is used in an inkjet method it does not disclose explicitly the ink jet textile printing apparatus as disclosed in the claim preamble. Yet, since the claim is directed to an adhesive composition and not to the printing apparatus, the limitations in the preamble only recite purpose or intended use of the composition, which is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction as per MPEP 2111.02.
Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose the adhesive force of the adhesive layer bonded to a fabric.
Shimizu discloses an aqueous adhesive (paragraph 1) comprising of acrylic copolymers (paragraph 26), in the same field of endeavor as Watanabe, where Shimizu states that the adhesive force A at a room temperature of 23°C is considered to be good between 8 N/ 25 mm up to 10 N/ 25 mm (paragraphs 96 and 106) while the adhesive force B at -10°C is considered to be good between 4 N/ 25 mm up to 5 N/ 25 mm (paragraph 99 and 106), where the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature represented by (A – B) / (23°C – (-10°C)) is between 0.12 N/°C·25 mm and 0.15 N/°C·25 mm. While Shimizu discloses the adhesive force at 23°C and -10°C, the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature is considered inclusive for all temperatures, i.e. 23°C and 33°C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aqueous adhesive composition of Watanabe have an adhesive force such that the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature is 0.05 N/°C·50 mm or more, as suggested by Shimizu. The rationale being that, as stated by Shimizu, these ranges are considered to be good adhesion as per standards JIS Z-0237 (paragraphs 96 and 99).
With regards to claim 4, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches that the (meth)acrylic resin includes a first (meth)acrylic resin including, as a constituent unit, a (meth)acrylic monomer where a glass transition temperature of a homopolymer is 40°C or higher (paragraphs 50, 51, 58 and 61).
With regards to claim 5, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches that the (meth)acrylic resin includes a second (meth)acrylic resin having a higher glass transition temperature than a glass transition temperature of a first (meth)acrylic resin (paragraph 33).
With regards to claim 6, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches that the mass ratio between a resin A and a resin B in an aqueous adhesive liquid is within a range from 50:50 to 90:10 (paragraph 67), indicating that the resin A or first resin has 50% to 90% by mass with respect to a total amount of the first resin and the second resin.
With regards to claim 7, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Shimizu teaches that the adhesive composition comprises a tackifying resin selected from a group consisting of a rosin-based resin, terpene-based resin or other hydrocarbon resins (paragraph 51) that comprises 5.0% by mass or less with respect to a total amount of the adhesive composition (paragraph 25).
With regards to claim 8, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches that the aqueous adhesive comprises a content of an organic solvent ranges from 1 to 80% by mass with respect to a total amount of the aqueous adhesive composition (paragraph 73). While Watanabe does not explicitly state that the content is 5.0% by mass or less, since the claimed range overlaps the range as disclosed by Watanabe, a case of prima facie obviousness exists as per MPEP 2144.05 that states: “[I]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).”
With regards to claim 9, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches an adhesion imparting method comprising attaching the aqueous adhesive composition as disclosed above to a fabric transport member of an ink jet textile printing apparatus to form an adhesive layer (paragraphs 6 – 8) as disclosed by Watanabe in view of Shimizu.
With regards to claim 11, the teachings of Watanabe and Shimizu are presented above. Additionally, Watanabe teaches fabric transport member of an ink jet textile printing apparatus comprising an adhesive layer of the aqueous adhesive composition (paragraphs 6 – 8) as disclosed by Watanabe in view of Shimizu.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (Japanese Patent 2020-200120) in view of Watanabe (US 2024/0042783) and Shimizu et al (Japanese Patent 2021169594).
With regards to claim 12, Matsumoto discloses an ink jet textile printing method (paragraph 1) comprising:
Bonding a fabric to an adhesive layer formed at a surface of a fabric transport member of an ink jet textile printing apparatus to transport the fabric (Abstract, paragraphs 1 and 12)
Heating the adhesive layer (Figure 1 item 14)
Bonding fabric to the heated adhesive layer (Figure 1 item 8)
Attaching an ink composition to the fabric bonded to the adhesive layer using an ink jet head (Figure 1 item 2)
Peeling off the recorded fabric from the adhesive layer (paragraph 29)
Cleaning the adhesive layer from which the fabric is peeled off with a cleaning solution containing water (Figure 1 item 10, paragraph 33)
Matsumoto fails to explicitly disclose that the adhesive used is an aqueous adhesive composition as disclosed in claim 1.
Watanabe teaches a method for producing a transfer sheet comprising jetting and aqueous adhesive liquid by an inkjet method (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Matsumoto, where the aqueous adhesive liquid contains a resin A and a resin B (Abstract) and the resins are (meth)acrylic resin (paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an aqueous adhesive comprising (meth)acrylic resin, as suggested by Watanabe, in Matsumoto’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Watanabe, it provides an adhesive that has an appropriate balance between the adhesion to a transfer target object and the strength of the adhesive layer in the transferred product to reduce the stickiness on the transfer target object (paragraphs 4 and 21).
Matsumoto and Watanabe fail to explicitly disclose the adhesive force of the adhesive layer bonded to a fabric.
Shimizu discloses an aqueous adhesive (paragraph 1) comprising of acrylic copolymers (paragraph 26), in the same field of endeavor as Watanabe, where Shimizu states that the adhesive force A at a room temperature of 23°C is considered to be good between 8 N/ 25 mm up to 10 N/ 25 mm (paragraphs 96 and 106) while the adhesive force B at -10°C is considered to be good between 4 N/ 25 mm up to 5 N/ 25 mm (paragraph 99 and 106), where the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature represented by (A – B) / (23°C – (-10°C)) is between 0.12 N/°C·25 mm and 0.15 N/°C·25 mm. While Shimizu discloses the adhesive force at 23°C and -10°C, the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature is considered inclusive for all temperatures, i.e. 23°C and 33°C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aqueous adhesive composition of Watanabe to be used in Matsumoto’s method to have an adhesive force such that the change rate of adhesive force per unit temperature is 0.05 N/°C·50 mm or more, as suggested by Shimizu. The rationale being that, as stated by Shimizu, these ranges are considered to be good adhesion as per standards JIS Z-0237 (paragraphs 96 and 99).
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art made of record does not teach or suggest an aqueous adhesive composition where the adhesive force of an adhesive layer at 23°C is 0.5 to 2.0 N/50 mm and a difference between a loss elastic modulus G'23 at 23°C and a loss elastic modulus G'33 at 33°C is 3000 Pa to 10,000 Pa.
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746