DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (2021/0167263).
With respect to claim 1, Yamada teaches light-emitting device (10) comprising: a substrate (22); a light-emitting element (30) located on the substrate (Figs. 1B-C); a light-transmitting member (50) covering the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C); and a light-shielding member (60) located on the light-transmitting member (Figs. 1B-C), the light-shielding member shielding at least a portion of light emitted from the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C and paragraphs 77-78); wherein: the light-transmitting member (50) includes: an upper surface (top surface of 50) on which the light-shielding member is located (Fig. 3A), and a lateral surface (51) including an inclined portion (Fig. 3A), the inclined portion being connected to the upper surface (Fig. 3A), the substrate comprises a wall part (23) positioned at a lateral side of the light-emitting element (Fig. 1C); and an upper end of the wall part is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light-emitting element (Fig. 1C).
As for claim 2, Yamada teaches wherein: in a plan view, an area of a lower surface of the light-shielding member is greater than an area of the upper surface of the light- transmitting member (Figs. 3A-3B).
As for claim 3, Yamada teaches wherein: in a plan view, an area of a lower surface of the light-shielding member is substantially equal to an area of the upper surface of the light- transmitting member (Figs. 3A-3B).
As for claim 5, Yamada teaches wherein: the lateral surface (51) of the light-transmitting member (50) includes, in addition to the inclined portion (top half of 51) connected to the upper surface of the light- transmitting member (Fig. 3A), a lateral portion (bottom half of 51) that is vertical (Fig. 3A) or has an inclination angle larger than the inclined portion.
As for claim 6, Yamada teaches wherein: the lateral surface (51) of the light-transmitting member (50) includes, in addition to the inclined portion (top half of 51) connected to the upper surface of the light- transmitting member (Fig. 3A), a lateral portion (bottom half of 51) that is vertical (Fig. 3A) or has an inclination angle larger than the inclined portion.
As for claim 7, Yamada teaches wherein: the lateral surface (51) of the light-transmitting member (50) includes, in addition to the inclined portion (top half of 51) connected to the upper surface of the light- transmitting member (Fig. 3A), a lateral portion (bottom half of 51) that is vertical (Fig. 3A) or has an inclination angle larger than the inclined portion.
As for claim 13, Yamada teaches wherein: the wall part (23) surrounds the light-emitting element (Figs. 1A and 1C; paragraph 39).
As for claim 14, Yamada teaches wherein: the wall part (23) surrounds the light-emitting element (Figs. 1A and 1C; paragraph 39).
As for claim 15, Yamada teaches wherein: the wall part (23) surrounds the light-emitting element (Figs. 1A and 1C; paragraph 39).
As for claim 19, Yamada teaches planar light source comprising: a substrate (22); a plurality of light-emitting devices (10) located on the substrate (Figs. 1B-1C and Figs. 7-8); and at least one partitioning member (170) located on the substrate, the partitioning member comprising: a plurality of first wall parts (174s), each of the plurality of first wall parts comprising a first ridge extending in a first direction (Figs. 7-8), a plurality of second wall parts (174s), each of the plurality of second wall parts comprising a second ridge extending in a second direction (Figs. 7-8), the second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 7), and a partitioning region comprising two opposing first wall parts among the plurality of first wall parts and two opposing second wall parts among the plurality of second wall parts, the partitioning region being surrounded with the first and second ridges in a plan view (Figs. 7-8); wherein: a plurality of the partitioning regions are located in the first and second directions (Figs. 7-8); at least one first gapped portion is provided on at least one of the first ridges (Figs. 7-8); the plurality of light-emitting devices are respectively located inside the plurality of partitioning regions (Figs. 7-8); each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises: a light-emitting element (30) located on the substrate (Figs. 1B-1C and Figs. 7-8), a light-transmitting member (50) covering the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-1C), and a light-shielding member (60) located on the light-transmitting member (Figs. 1B-1C), the light-shielding member shielding at least a portion of light emitted from the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C and paragraphs 77-78); the light-transmitting member comprises: an upper surface (top surface of 50) on which the light-shielding member is located (Figs. 1B-C), and a lateral surface (51) including an inclined portion (Figs. 1B-C), the inclined portion being connected to the upper surface (Figs. 1B-C); the substrate comprises a wall part (23) positioned at a lateral side of the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C); and an upper end of the wall part of the substrate is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Liu et al. (2015/0129919).
With respect to claim 4, Yamada teaches all of the claimed elements, as is discussed above, except for explicitly teaching wherein: in a plan view, an area of a lower surface of the light-shielding member is less than an area of the upper surface of the light-transmitting member (claim 4).
As for claim 4, Liu also drawn to light-emitting devices, teaches wherein: in a plan view, an area of a lower surface of the light-shielding member (8) is less than an area of the upper surface of the light-transmitting member (6; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the relationship of the light-shielding member to the light-transmitting member of Liu in the light-emitting device of Yamada, in order to produce a desired lighting output such as emitting light from the top surface of the light-transmitting member (Fig. 6 of Liu).
Claims 8-12, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Shichijo et al. (2017/0373225).
With respect to claims 8-12, 16-18, and 20, Yamada teaches all of the claimed elements, as is discussed above, as well as teaching wherein: the wall part (23) includes: an inner lateral surface (vertical surface of 23 facing 30) facing the light-emitting element (Figs. 1B-C), and an outer lateral surface (outermost vertical surface of 23) located opposite to the inner lateral surface (Figs. 1B-C), the outer lateral surface forming a lateral surface of the substrate (Figs. 1B-C) [claims 8-12 and 20].
Yamada does not explicitly teach the inner lateral surface of the wall part is inclined away from the light-emitting element as a height of the inner lateral surface increases (claims 8-12 and 20); a protection element located on the substrate; wherein: an upper surface of the protection element is positioned lower than the upper end of the wall part (claims 16-18).
As for claims 8-12 and 20, Shichijo also drawn to light-emitting devices, teaches the inner lateral surface of the wall part (5a) is inclined away from the light-emitting element (3 and 4) as a height of the inner lateral surface increases (Fig. 3).
As for claims 16-18, Shichijo teaches a protection element (7) located on the substrate (1); wherein: an upper surface of the protection element is positioned lower than the upper end of the wall part (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the shape of the wall part, the protection element and the relationship of the wall part to the protection element of Shichijo in the light-emitting device of Yamada, in order to help with assembly (paragraph 69 of Shichijo) and to provide protection for the protection element (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 1/7/2026