DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-7, 11 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The examiner suggest amending the claims to include a comma after the claim in which is depended upon (i.e. claim 1,) to correspond with the other claim language and provide better quality. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite the limitation “a non-transitory, machine-readable medium having program code” however the specification is void and does not disclose any medium or program/software code executing instructions.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 and 17 recites the limitation "the first environment" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitations is interpretated as a first environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHANG et al. (2015/0215398) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349).
Regarding independent claim 1, CHANG teaches a method comprising: authenticating a first instance of a web browser to a backend of an organization (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login); and synchronizing the first instance of the web browser with a second instance of the web browser via the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023-0025, page 3, paragraph 0029 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login).
CHANG does not explicitly teach obtaining at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication.
Wilson teaches obtaining at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-66; receive browser policy data after verifying loin credentials).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG with the teachings of Wilson to receive policy data to provide the advantage of securely automatically pushing enterprise policy settings (Wilson, column 1, lines 37-51).
Regarding claim 2, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising storing configurations and preferences of users of the organization on one or more servers of the backend and providing to the first instance of the web browser at least a subset of the stored configurations and preferences after authentication of the first instance, wherein synchronizing the first instance with the second instance comprises synchronizing the subset of the configurations and preferences (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 3, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method wherein the configurations and preferences comprise at least one of bookmarks, cookies, color mode, themes, home page, and current browsing session (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 5, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising configuring predefined bookmarks on one or more servers of the organization and loading at least a subset of the predefined bookmarks into the first and the second instances of the web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 6, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising selecting the subset of predefined bookmarks based on at least one of a user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser and a group corresponding to the user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025, page 3, paragraph 0029 and page 4, paragraphs 0036-0039).
Regarding claim 7, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising loading into the first and the second instances of the web browser editable or read-only bookmarks (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 8, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising synchronizing auto-fillable information from the backend to at least one of the first and second instances of the web browser, wherein the auto-fillable information comprises at least one of passwords, user and company information, addresses, payment methods, a home page uniform resource locator (URL), a default search engine, new page settings, accessibility features, proxy settings, language, spell checking, privacy and security settings, and whitelisted domains (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 9, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method wherein synchronizing the first and second instances of the web browser comprises determining that a first user is logged into the first and the second instances, synchronizing open tabs on the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend and then synchronizing each of the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029; currently opened tabs in synchronized data on sever).
Regarding claim 11, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising receiving, at the first and second instances of the web browser, a password from a privilege access management (PAM) solution (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0021 & 0025 and page 3, paragraphs 0029 & 0034; automatically loads username and passwords).
Regarding independent claim 12, CHANG teaches a non-transitory, machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions to: authenticate a first instance of a web browser to a backend of an organization (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login); and synchronize the first instance of the web browser with a second instance of the web browser via the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023-0025, page 3, paragraph 0029 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login).
CHANG does not explicitly teach obtain at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication.
Wilson teaches obtain at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-66; receive browser policy data after verifying loin credentials).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG with the teachings of Wilson to receive policy data to provide the advantage of securely automatically pushing enterprise policy settings (Wilson, column 1, lines 37-51).
Regarding claim 13, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to store configurations and preferences of users of the organization on one or more servers of the backend and to retrieve the at least a subset of the stored configurations and preferences after web browser authentication, wherein the configurations and preferences comprise at least one of bookmarks, editable bookmarks, read-only bookmarks, cookies, color mode, themes, home page, and current browsing session (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 14, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to store configure predefined bookmarks on one or more servers of the backend; load at least a subset of the predefined bookmarks into the first and the second instances of the web browser; and select the subset of predefined bookmarks based on at least one of a user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser and a group corresponding to the user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 15, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to synchronize auto-fillable information from the backend to at least one of the first and second instances of the web browser, wherein the auto-fillable information comprises at least one of passwords, user and company information, addresses, payment methods, a home page uniform resource locator (URL), a default search engine, new page settings, accessibility features, proxy settings, language, spell checking, privacy and security settings, and whitelisted domains (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 16, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to synchronize the first and second instances of the web browser comprises determining that a first user is logged into the first and the second instances, synchronizing open tabs on the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend and then synchronizing each of the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029; currently opened tabs in synchronized data on sever).
Regarding claim 18, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to receive, at the first and second instances of the web browser, a password from a privilege access management (PAM) solution (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0021 & 0025 and page 3, paragraphs 0029 & 0034; automatically loads username and passwords).
Regarding independent claim 19, CHANG teaches a first endpoint that hosts a first instance of a secure web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0019-0021 & 0023-0024 and page 3, paragraph 0029; instance of web browser on client device); a second endpoint that hosts a second instance of the secure web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0019-0021 & 0023-0024 and page 3, paragraph 0029; second instance of web browser on client device); and a backend of an organization that comprises one or more servers that authenticate secure web browser instances of the organization (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login); and synchronize the first instance of the web browser with a second instance of the web browser via the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020 & 0023-0025, page 3, paragraph 0029 and page 4, paragraph 0035; authenticate login).
CHANG does not explicitly teach obtain at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication.
Wilson teaches obtain at least one of a security policy and an access policy for the organization from the backend after authentication (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-66; receive browser policy data after verifying loin credentials).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG with the teachings of Wilson to receive policy data to provide the advantage of securely automatically pushing enterprise policy settings (Wilson, column 1, lines 37-51).
Regarding claim 20, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system further comprising the backend storing configurations and preferences of users of the organization on one or more servers of the backend and to retrieve the at least a subset of the stored configurations and preferences after web browser authentication, wherein the configurations and preferences comprise at least one of bookmarks, editable bookmarks, read-only bookmarks, cookies, color mode, themes, home page, and current browsing session (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 21, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system further comprising the backend storing configuring predefined bookmarks on one or more servers of the backend; load at least a subset of the predefined bookmarks into the first and the second instances of the web browser; and select the subset of predefined bookmarks based on at least one of a user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser and a group corresponding to the user authenticated to the first and second instances of the web browser (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0019-0020, 0023 & 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 22, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system further comprising the backend storing synchronizing auto-fillable information from the backend to at least one of the first and second instances of the web browser, wherein the auto-fillable information comprises at least one of passwords, user and company information, addresses, payment methods, a home page uniform resource locator (URL), a default search engine, new page settings, accessibility features, proxy settings, language, spell checking, privacy and security settings, and whitelisted domains (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 23, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system further comprising the backend storing synchronize the first and second instances of the web browser comprises determining that a first user is logged into the first and the second instances, synchronizing open tabs on the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend and then synchronizing each of the first and second instances of the web browser with the backend (CHANG, page 2, paragraph 0025 and page 3, paragraph 0029; currently opened tabs in synchronized data on sever).
Regarding claim 25, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system wherein a first and second of the authenticated instances of the secure web browser receives a password from a privilege access management (PAM) solution (CHANG, page 2, paragraphs 0021 & 0025 and page 3, paragraphs 0029 & 0034; automatically loads username and passwords).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHANG et al. (2015/0215398) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18-23 and 25 above, and further in view of Qaim-Maqami et al. (US Pub No. 2014/0279497).
Regarding claim 4, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising storing in an encrypted storage vault at least one of payment methods and user credentials received for a user from either of the first and second instances of the web browser.
Qaim-Maqami teaches storing in an encrypted storage vault at least one of payment methods and user credentials received for a user from either of the first and second instances of the web browser (Qaim-Maqami, pages 5-6, paragraph 0060; payment credential data in encrypted vault).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG in view of Wilson with the teachings of Qaim-Maqami to include encrypted vaults to provide the advantage of improving security measures in mobile devices (Qaim-Maqami, page 1, paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 10, 17 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHANG et al. (2015/0215398) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18-23 and 25 above, and further in view of Kashyap et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0180427).
Regarding claim 10, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the method further comprising synchronizing a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in the first environment with a second environment associated with a user of the first environment, wherein the synchronizing is via a secure clipboard on a server of the organization.
Kashyup teaches synchronizing a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in the first environment with a second environment associated with a user of the first environment, wherein the synchronizing is via a secure clipboard on a server of the organization (Kashyup, pages 15-16, paragraphs 0153-0154 & 0162 and page 17, paragraph 00163; copy objects from first isolated environment/clipboard to second isolated environment clipboard).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG in view of Wilson with the teachings of Kashyup to copy objects from a source clipboard to destination clipboard to provide the advantage of maintaining compatibility with computer systems (Kashyup, page 4, paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 17, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 12.
CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the program code further comprises instructions to synchronize a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in the first environment with a second environment associated with a user of the first environment, wherein the instructions to synchronize comprise the instructions to synchronize via a secure clipboard on a server of the organization.
Kashyup teaches wherein the program code further comprises instructions to synchronize a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in the first environment with a second environment associated with a user of the first environment, wherein the instructions to synchronize comprise the instructions to synchronize via a secure clipboard on a server of the organization (Kashyup, pages 15-16, paragraphs 0153-0154 & 0162 and page 17, paragraph 00163; copy objects from first isolated environment/clipboard to second isolated environment clipboard).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG in view of Wilson with the teachings of Kashyup to copy objects from a source clipboard to destination clipboard to provide the advantage of maintaining compatibility with computer systems (Kashyup, page 4, paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 24, CHANG in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 19.
CHANG in view of Wilson teaches the system wherein the backend also synchronizes a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in a first environment of the first endpoint with a second environment of the second endpoint, wherein the first and second environments are associated with a same user and the synchronizing is via a secure clipboard in the backend.
Kashyup teaches wherein the backend also synchronizes a cut, paste, print, or copy operation detected in a first environment of the first endpoint with a second environment of the second endpoint, wherein the first and second environments are associated with a same user and the synchronizing is via a secure clipboard in the backend (Kashyup, pages 15-16, paragraphs 0153-0154 & 0162 and page 17, paragraph 00163; copy objects from first isolated environment/clipboard to second isolated environment clipboard).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHANG in view of Wilson with the teachings of Kashyup to copy objects from a source clipboard to destination clipboard to provide the advantage of maintaining compatibility with computer systems (Kashyup, page 4, paragraph 0035).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuncl et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0053183).
Conclusion
/SHAQUEAL D WADE-WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407