Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hazeyama (US 20150357870).
As to claim 1, Hazeyama discloses a rotor that is provided in a rotary electric machine, is opposed to a stator, and is rotatable about a central axis, the rotor comprising (Para 0034): magnetic pole portions arranged along a circumferential direction about the central axis (Fig. 3); and a rotor core that supports the magnetic pole portions from one radial side (Fig. 3); wherein each of the magnetic pole portions includes: a first magnet in which the radial direction is a magnetization direction (Fig. 3); and a second magnet in which a direction inclined circumferentially with respect to the radial direction is a magnetization direction (Fig. 3), the second magnets being arranged symmetrically with each other on circumferentially outer sides of the first magnet (Fig. 3); a first gap is provided between the first magnet and the second magnet in the circumferential direction (Fig. 3); a second gap is provided between the second magnets in the circumferential direction between the magnetic pole portions adjacent to each other (Fig. 3); and a maximum width of the second gap in the circumferential direction is larger than a maximum width of the first gap in the circumferential direction (Fig. 3).
As to claim 2, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the maximum width of the first gap and the maximum width of the second gap increase toward outside in the radial direction (Fig. 3).
As to claim 4, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the second magnet has a quadrangular cross section orthogonal to the central axis (Fig. 3).
As to claim 5, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet includes a first supported surface directed radially inward (Fig. 3); the second magnet includes a second supported surface directed radially inward (Fig. 3); and the rotor core includes: a first support surface that supports the first supported surface (Fig. 3); and a second support surface that supports the second supported surface (Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 5, wherein the second support surface is a plane orthogonal to the radial direction (Fig. 3); a ridge line is provided at an intersection of the second support surfaces supporting the second supported surfaces of the second magnets of the magnetic pole portions adjacent to each other (Fig. 3); and the ridge line is exposed to the second gap (Fig. 3).
As to claim 8, Hazeyama discloses a rotary electric machine comprising: the rotor according to claim 1; and a stator opposed to the rotor (Para 0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazeyama and in view of Takahashi (JP 2020018130).
As to claim 3, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
Hazeyama fails to disclose wherein the first magnet and the second magnet include portions partially in contact with each other.
Takahashi discloses wherein the first magnet and the second magnet include portions partially in contact with each other (Fig. 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Hazeyama with the first magnet and the second magnet include portions partially in contact with each other, as disclosed by Takahashi, to optimize magnetic fields and reduce current loss.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazeyama and in view of Hideki (CN 117280568).
As to claim 6, Hazeyama discloses the rotor according to claim 5, a first support surface, a first supported surface, an adhesive (Para 0040), a second support surface, and a second supported surface.
Hazeyama fails to disclose a first groove to be filled with an adhesive between the first support surface and the first supported surface; and a second groove to be filled with an adhesive between the second support surface and the second supported surface.
Hideki discloses a first groove to be filled with an adhesive between the first support surface and the first supported surface (Para 0040); and a second groove to be filled with an adhesive between the second support surface and the second supported surface (“The two permanent magnets M are respectively loaded and arranged in the magnet holding grooves 34 and fixed to the rotor core 24 by, for example, adhesive”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Hazeyama with a first groove to be filled with an adhesive between the first support surface and the first supported surface; and a second groove to be filled with an adhesive between the second support surface and the second supported surface, as disclosed by Hideki, to properly secure the magnets.
Conclusion
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent
Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834