DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species 1 (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following: the specification as filed does not include the above described section headings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2021/0276055 to Nakamura et al. (“Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a substrate processing apparatus (abstract, para [0003], [0004], [0077], [0084], and [0188] – [0199], Figs. 1 and 15) comprising: a rotation body (ref. 2 ) including a placement portion (ref. 2a1) to place a substrate (ref. 100) with a processed surface so that space is maintained between a surface of the rotation body facing the substrate and a surface of the substrate opposite the processed surface (para [0030] – [0031], [0037], note ref. 3a1, Figs. 1 and 15); a rotation driver (para [0039], motor) that rotates the rotation body; a liquid supplier (ref. 4 and 5) that supplies liquid (ref. 101 and 1022) on the processed surface of the substrate (para [0058] - [0065]); a cooler (ref. 3, para [0029], [0041]) that supplies cooling gas to the space between the substrate and the placement portion; and a remover (ref. 7, para [0029], [0078], claim 3).
Nakamura does not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the remover removes a droplet on a surface of the rotation body facing the substrate. Initially, it is noted that the recited droplet is not positively claimed and is not interpreted to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. Further, Nakamura discloses the claimed structural features, and the Nakamaru apparatus appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, and appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited (note, e.g., para [0078] and claim 3, thawing of frozen liquid and the remover promoting drying).
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 can be made when the prior art product seems to be identical except that the prior art is silent as to an inherent characteristic. MPEP 2112(III)(A).
Once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. MPEP 2112(V).
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura does not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the remover removes the droplet when the substrate is not placed on the placement portion. However, since Nakamura discloses the claimed structural features, and the Nakamaru apparatus appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses a detector (ref. 8) that detects the state of thawed liquid; and a controller that controls the remover to remove the thawed liquid in accordance with a detection result by the detector (note para [0077] – [0084]), but does not explicitly teach that the thawed liquid is in the form of a droplet. Again, it is noted that the recited droplet is not positively claimed and is not interpreted to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. Further, Nakamura discloses the claimed structural features, and the Nakamaru apparatus appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, and appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura does not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the detector detects the droplet when the substrate is not placed on the placement portion. Again, it is noted that the recited droplet is not positively claimed and is not interpreted to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus. Further, Nakamura discloses the claimed structural features, and the Nakamaru apparatus appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, and appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses an apparatus wherein: the detector detects a state of the liquid supplied on the processed surface of the substrate, in addition to detecting the droplet (claims 1 and 3); and the controller controls a flow rate of the cooling gas supplied by the cooler in accordance with the state of the liquid detected by the detector, in addition to controlling removal of the droplet by the remover (claims 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses an apparatus (ref. 3, para [0029], [0041]) wherein the remover removes the droplet by blowing gas to the droplet.
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses an apparatus wherein temperature of the gas blown from the remover is normal temperature or higher (para [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0276055 to Nakamura et al. (“Nakamura”) in view of US 2020/0147655 to Takai (“Takai”).
Regardign claim 6, Nakamura discloses an apparatus wherein: the cooler includes a cooling nozzle (ref. 3d, para [0038]) that can supply the cooling gas, but does not explicitly teach a distribution plate provided to face the substrate and at a discharging side of the cooling gas of the cooling nozzle, and the remover removes the droplet on a surface of the distribution plate facing the substrate. However, distribution plates were known in the art as effective for enhancing the flow and distribution control of fluids (see, e.g., Takai at, inter alia, para [0021], note Figs. 1 and 2, ref. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Nakamura apparatus as was known wherein it includes a distribution plate provided to face the substrate and at a discharging side of the cooling gas of the cooling nozzle, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance flow and distribution control. Since the Nakamura/Takai apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein the remover removes the droplet on a surface of the distribution plate facing the substrate.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714