DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 recite:
1. A system for managing locations of products, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to: read an information medium attached to a storage unit loaded with at least one first product, the storage unit being located in a stockroom in a retail store having a sales floor; associate the first product loaded on the storage unit located in the stockroom and a location in the stockroom with each other, using information acquired from reading the information medium attached to the storage unit; and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device.
2. The system according to claim 1, wherein the notified location in the stockroom indicates at least an area where a plurality of storage units including the storage unit are located in the stockroom and the information medium attached to the storage unit loaded with the first product.
3. The system according to claim 1, wherein the information acquired from reading the information medium includes area identification information identifying an area in the stockroom, the information medium being attached to the storage unit located at the area, and the one or more processors are configured to: associate the area identified by the area identification information as the location in the stockroom, with the first product loaded on the storage unit located at the area; and notify the terminal device of the area as the location in the stockroom associated with the first product.
4. The system according to claim 2, wherein the information acquired from reading the information medium includes medium identification information identifying the information medium, and the one or more processors are configured to: associate the information medium identified by the medium identification information as the location in the stockroom, with the first product loaded on the storage unit that is located with the information medium in the stockroom; and notify the terminal device of the area and the information medium as the location in the stockroom associated with the first product loaded on the storage unit that is located with the information medium at the area in the stockroom.
5. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage unit loaded with the first product is delivered from a delivery center to the stockroom in the retail store, and the one or more processors are configured to: acquire delivery information that associates the storage unit delivered from the delivery center to the stockroom with the first product delivered from the delivery center while being loaded on the storage unit; and associate the first product loaded on the storage unit located in the stockroom and the location in the stockroom with each other, using the information acquired from reading the information medium attached to the storage unit and the acquired delivery information.
6. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: generate a database by the association of the first product and the location in the stockroom; and notify the location in the stockroom by referring to the database that associates the first product and the location in the stockroom with each other.
7. The system according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the database based on (i) an acceptance list indicating which products loaded on which storage units when delivered from a delivery center to the stockroom in the retail store, (ii) identifiers identifying respective storage units loaded with products, and (iii) each information acquired by reading information media attached to the respective storage units.
8. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage unit is a wheeled stockroom cart, and the location in the stockroom indicates a location in the stockroom to which the wheeled stockroom cart loaded with the first product is moved.
9. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: manage a number of containers loaded on the storage unit, each of the containers being packed with a group of the first product; and update, when one or more of the containers are taken out from the storage unit, the number of containers by subtracting a number of taken containers.
10. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage unit is loaded with one or more containers packed with a group of the first product, and the one or more processors are configured to notify the terminal device of a number of containers to be taken out from the storage unit.
11. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to notify, when a plurality of products for which the stockroom is searched are in the location in the stockroom, the terminal device of a number of the plurality of products associated with the location in the stockroom.
12. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to notify, when a plurality of products for which the stockroom is searched are loaded on a plurality of storage units located in different locations, the terminal device of the different locations in a descending order of a number of products being searched for in each of the different locations.
13. The system according to claim 1, wherein a group of the first product is packed in a container, and the container is loaded on the storage unit.
14. The system according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of types of product are loaded on the storage unit.
15. The system according to claim 1, wherein the information medium attached to the storage unit displays location information by one or more human-recognizable characters or a human-recognizable color, the location information indicating a predetermined location being used as the location in the stockroom.
16. The system according to claim 15, wherein the information medium attached to the storage unit displays a code coding the information, the code being read to acquire the information, and the information being used to associate the predetermined location displayed by the information medium as the location in the stockroom with the first product.
17. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to add the first product to a list of products for which the stockroom is searched, receive from the terminal device a notification of taking out the first product from the storage unit located in the stockroom after notifying the location in the stockroom, and delete the first product from the list based on the receipt of the notification.
18. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive from the terminal device a notification indicating that the first product is not found at the notified location in the stockroom, and eliminate the association of the first product and the location in the stockroom based on the receipt of the notification.
19. A terminal device comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to: cause a first product to be loaded on a storage unit located in a stockroom in a retail store having a sales floor to be associated with a location in the stockroom by reading an information medium attached to the storage unit; receive an operation of searching the stockroom for the first product, a plurality of storage units loaded with products being located in the stockroom; and notify, in response to the operation, the location in the stockroom associated with the first product, the location in the stockroom being indicated by an identifier displayed on the information medium attached to the storage unit loaded with the first product.
20. A method for managing locations of products, comprising: reading, by a terminal device, an information medium attached to a storage unit loaded with a first product in a stockroom in a retail store having a sales floor; associating the first product with a location in the stockroom using information acquired from reading the information medium; receiving an operation of searching the stockroom for the first product, a plurality of storage units loaded with products being located in the stockroom; and notifying, in response to the operation, the location in the stockroom associated with the first product the first product, the location in the stockroom being indicated by an identifier displayed on the information medium attached to the storage unit loaded with the first product.
All claims recite subject matter falling under one of the four categories of invention (Step 1).
But for the recitation of the underlined additional elements claims 1-20 recite steps for enabling discovery of inventory by keeping records. Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) activities related to economy and commerce can be considered methods of organizing human activity. Thus claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A_1).
The additional elements are recited at a high degree of generality such that they amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea which per MPEP 2106.05(f) means they do not provide a practical application or significantly more (Step 2A_2 and Step 2B). Thus claims 1-20 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses:
1. A system for managing locations of products, comprising:one or more memories (paragraph 22); and one or more processors configured to (paragraph 22):
read an information medium attached to a storage unit loaded with at least one first product (paragraph 18-21 read stocking location identifier 165 and product identifier 192 and associate them in the inventory database),
Jones does also disclose a stock room (abstract, paragraph 36)
Jones fails to clearly disclose:
1) inventory location tracking granularity extended into the stockroom and not just the sales floor
2) notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device.
However in analogous art, Bartholomew discloses inventory location tracking extended into a stockroom (fig. 4 backroom), and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones by tracking inventory into the backroom with granularity and allowing employees and customers to obtain search results for inventory. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 2, Jones discloses the information medium attached to the storage unit loaded with the first product (paragraph 18-21). Jones as modified per claim 1 discloses the storage units associated with stockroom. Jones as modified fails to disclose and Bartholomew further discloses: wherein the notified location in the stockroom indicates at least an area where a plurality of storage units including the storage unit are located in the stockroom (fig. 4 458). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location details. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 3,
3. The system according to claim 1, wherein the information acquired from reading the information medium includes area identification information identifying an area area (paragraph 21);
Jones as modified fails to disclose and Bartholomew further discloses the storage unit being in a stockroom (fig. 4 backroom) and notify the terminal device of the area as the location in the stockroom associated with the first product (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location details. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 4, Jones discloses:
4. The system according to claim 2, wherein the information acquired from reading the information medium includes medium identification information identifying the information medium (paragraph 17-21), and the one or more processors are configured to:associate the information medium identified by the medium identification information as the location in the stockroom, with the first product loaded on the storage unit that is located with the information medium (paragraph 21)
Jones as modified fails to disclose and Bartholomew further discloses the storage unit being in a stockroom (fig. 4 backroom) and notify the terminal device of the area and the information medium as the location in the stockroom associated with the first product loaded on the storage unit that is located with the information medium at the area in the stockroom (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location details. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 6, Jones discloses:
6. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:generate a database by the association of the first product and the location in the stockroom (paragraph 21); and
Jones fails to disclose and Bartholomew discloses notify the location in the stockroom by referring to the database that associates the first product and the location in the stockroom with each other (fig. 4 paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location details. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 11, Jones fails to disclose and Bartholomew disclose:
11. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to notify, when a plurality of products for which the stockroom is searched are in the location in the stockroom, the terminal device of a number of the plurality of products associated with the location in the stockroom (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location and quantity information. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 13, Jones fails to disclose and Bartholomew discloses:
13. The system according to claim 1, wherein a group of the first product is packed in a container, and the container is loaded on the storage unit (fig. 4 bin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine these teachings with Jones by giving searchers location and quantity information. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
19. A terminal device comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to (paragraph 17-22 handheld scanning device):cause a first product to be loaded on a storage unit located in a stockroom in a retail store having a sales floor to be associated with a location
Jones does also disclose a stock room (abstract, paragraph 36)
Jones fails to clearly disclose:
1) inventory location tracking granularity extended into the stockroom and not just the sales floor
2) receiving an operation of searching and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device.
However in analogous art, Bartholomew discloses inventory location tracking extended into a stockroom (fig. 4 backroom), and receiving an operation of searching and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones by tracking inventory into the backroom with granularity and allowing employees and customers to obtain search results for inventory. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Regarding claim 20 Jones discloses:
20. A method for managing locations of products, comprising:reading, by a terminal device, an information medium attached to a storage unit loaded with a first product
Jones does also disclose a stock room (abstract, paragraph 36)
Jones fails to clearly disclose:
1) inventory location tracking granularity extended into the stockroom and not just the sales floor
2) receiving an operation of searching and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device.
However in analogous art, Bartholomew discloses inventory location tracking extended into a stockroom (fig. 4 backroom), and receiving an operation of searching and notify a terminal device of the location in the stockroom associated with the first product when the stockroom is searched for the first product with the terminal device (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones by tracking inventory into the backroom with granularity and allowing employees and customers to obtain search results for inventory. The motivation for the combination is to provide comprehensive product information (paragraph 2) and thereby improve customer/employee experience by allowing efficient locating of items.
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1/6 above, and further in view of Post (US 20230169456 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jones as modified discloses
5. The system according to claim 1,
Jones fails to disclose the product is delivery from a delivery center. However Post discloses inbound receiving from a delivery center (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with those of Jones as modified by having the stowed inventory be delivered inbound inventory. The motivation for the combination is increased fulfillment efficiency (paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 7, Jones as modified per claim 6 discloses:
7. The system according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the database based on (i) an acceptance list indicating which products loaded on which storage units .
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DeJarnettte (US 20190310646 A1).
However DeJarnette discloses inventory stored in wheeled carts delivered from a delivery center and processed into storage units (paragraph 151). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that inventory could be stored in wheeled carts. The motivation for the combination is improved user efficiency (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 8 Jones as modified discloses 8. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage unitindicates a location in the stockroom to which the.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20240185176 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Jones as modified fails to disclose and Kim discloses: 9. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:manage a number of containers loaded on the storage unit, each of the containers being packed with a group of the first product; andupdate, when one or more of the containers are taken out from the storage unit, the number of containers by subtracting a number of taken containers (paragraph 18, 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones as modified by enabling pick information to be sent. The motivation for the combination is improved inventory management (paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Jones as modified fails to disclose and Kim discloses: 10. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage unit is loaded with one or more containers packed with a group of the first product, andthe one or more processors are configured to notify the terminal device of a number of containers to be taken out from the storage unit (paragraph 72). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones as modified by enabling pick information to be sent. The motivation for the combination is improved inventory management (paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 14, Jones as modified fails to disclose and Kim discloses: wherein a plurality of types of product are loaded on the storage unit (paragraph 15, fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store multiple types of products. The motivation for the combination is improved inventory management (paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benson (US 20050256726 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Jones as modified discloses
12. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to notify, when a plurality of products for which the stockroom is searched are loaded on a plurality of storage units located in different locations, the terminal device of the different locations KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Jones as modified differs from the claimed invention in how search results are displayed. Benson discloses utilizing sortable orders. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this teaching to Jones as modified by allowing sorting of results.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pike (US 20180232688 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Jones as modified discloses:
15. The system according to claim 1, wherein the information medium attached to the storage unit displays location information (paragraph 17-21 indicia 165) by
16. The system according to claim 15, wherein the information medium attached to the storage unit displays a code coding the information (paragraph 17-21 indicia 165), the code being read to acquire the information, and the information being used to associate the predetermined location displayed by the information medium as the location in the stockroom with the first product (paragraph 21).
Jones as modified fails to disclose the indicia being human readable. However, Pike discloses human readable codes (paragraph 14 text). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones as modified by utilizing text labels. The motivation for the combination is efficient inventory management (paragraph 4-5).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Graube (US 20220051310 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Jones fails to disclose and Graube discloses:
17. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to add the first product to a list of products for which the stockroom is searched, receive from the terminal device a notification of taking out the first product from the storage unit located in the stockroom after notifying the location in the stockroom, and delete the first product from the list based on the receipt of the notification (paragraph 110 items deleted from shopping list as they are removed from shelf). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings with Jones as modified. The motivation for the combination is improved efficiency (paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20180053145 A1) in view of Bartholomew (US 20140279241 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Franey (US 20220237530 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Jones as modified fails to disclose and Franey discloses: 18. The system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive from the terminal device a notification indicating that the first product is not found at the notified location in the stockroom, and eliminate the association of the first product and the location in the stockroom based on the receipt of the notification (paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine this teaching with Jones as modified by identifying missing products. The motivation for the combination is improved efficiency (paragraph 23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Delaney (US 20200027055 A1) discloses an inventory management system involving scanning storage unit barcodes.
/NATHAN A MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627