DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 was filed after the is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the acronym “OAuth” without spelling out the acronym at its first occurrence. The Examiner suggest the acronym to be spelled out to recite “Open Authorization” at its first occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims 8-14 recite the limitation “a non-transitory, machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions”, and claims 15-20 recite the limitations “processor” and “machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions executable by the processor”, however, the specification is void of any medium or program code and processor with in an apparatus.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of copending Application No. 19/195,964 in view of Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425). The claims of the copending application teaches each and every claim limitation of the instant application but does not explicitly teach usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS). However, Chauhan teaches usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS) (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104 & page 13, paragraph 0124; access policies and manage/monitor network applications (SaaS application)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application with the teachings of Chauhan to monitor and manage network applications to provide the advantage of preventing potential misuse of resources (Chauhan, page 1, paragraph 0002).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. Independent claims 1 & 18 of the copending application are mapped to independent claims 1, 8 & 15 of the instant application.
Co-Pending Application 19/195,964
Instant Application 19/092,316
1. A method comprising: verifying, by a backend of an organization, a web browser on an endpoint that hosts a first environment that comprises the web browser;
1. A method comprising: verifying, by a backend of an organization, a web browser on an endpoint that hosts a first environment that comprises the web browser;
communicating, by the backend to at least one of the first environment and the web browser, one or more security policies of the organization after verifying the web browser; and
communicating, by the backend to at least one of the first environment and the web browser, one or more security policies of the organization after verifying the web browser; and
managing, with the first environment and/or the web browser, at least one of activity in the first environment and activity of the web browser based, at least in part, on the one or more security policies.
monitoring and managing, with at least one of the first environment and the web browser, usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS) based, at least in part, on the one or more security policies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims (s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chauhan teaches a method comprising: verifying, by a backend of an organization, a web browser on an endpoint that hosts a first environment that comprises the web browser (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser; authentication of the user and client application); communicating, by the backend to at least one of the first environment and the web browser, one or more security policies of the organization the web browser (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application obtain various policies from network devices/gateway to manage network application); and monitoring and managing, with at least one of the first environment and the web browser, usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS) based, at least in part, on the one or more security policies (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application access policies and mange/control network application (SaaS applications)).
Chauhan teaches the client application obtaining policies from the network and authenticating the client application & providing network applications based on the authentication (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121) but does not explicitly teach communicating, by the backend to at least one of the first environment and the web browser, one or more security policies of the organization after verifying the web browser.
Wilson teaches communicating, by the backend to at least one of the first environment and the web browser, one or more security policies of the organization after verifying the web browser (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-column 8, line 35; after verification of the credential transmitting browser policy data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the teachings of Wilson to obtain browser policies after verification to provide the advantage of secure distribution of enterprise policy data (Wilson, column 1, lines 20-52).
Regarding claim 3, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches the method wherein monitoring usage of SaaS applications further comprises tracking at least one of use of the SaaS applications and resources of the organization involved in use of the SaaS applications (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 17, paragraph 0161-0162).
Regarding independent claim 8, Chauhan teaches a non-transitory, machine-readable medium having stored thereon program code comprising instructions to: authenticate a web browser with a backend of an organization (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser; authentication of the user and client application); obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application obtain various policies from network devices/gateway to manage network application); and monitor and manage, with at least the web browser, usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS) based, at least in part, on the one or more security policies (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application access policies and mange/control network application).
Chauhan teaches the client application obtaining policies from the network and authenticating the client application & providing network applications based on the authentication (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121) but does not explicitly teach obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser after authentication of the web browser.
Wilson teaches obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser after authentication of the web browser (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-column 8, line 35; after verification of the credential transmitting browser policy data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the teachings of Wilson to obtain browser policies after verification to provide the advantage of secure distribution of enterprise policy data (Wilson, column 1, lines 20-52).
Regarding claim 10, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions to track at least one of use of the SaaS applications and resources of the organization involved in use of the SaaS applications (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 17, paragraph 0161-0162).
Regarding independent claim 15, Chauhan teaches an apparatus comprising: a processor; and a machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: authenticate a web browser with a backend of an organization (Chauhan, page 3, paragraph 0050, page 4, paragraphs 0055-0057, page 10, paragraph 0099 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121; client device with managed and unmanaged partitions including a client application with embedded browser; authentication of the user and client application); obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application obtain various policies from network devices/gateway to manage network application); and monitor and manage, with at least the web browser, usage of Software-as-a-Service applications (SaaS) based, at least in part, on the one or more security policies (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104; client application access policies and mange/control network application).
Chauhan teaches the client application obtaining policies from the network and authenticating the client application & providing network applications based on the authentication (Chauhan, page 10, paragraphs 0103-0104 and page 13, paragraphs 0120-0121) but does not explicitly teach obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser after authentication of the web browser.
Wilson teaches obtain from the backend one or more security policies of the organization the web browser after authentication of the web browser (Wilson, column 7, lines 40-column 8, line 35; after verification of the credential transmitting browser policy data).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan with the teachings of Wilson to obtain browser policies after verification to provide the advantage of secure distribution of enterprise policy data (Wilson, column 1, lines 20-52).
Regarding claim 17, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to track at least one of use of the SaaS applications and resources of the organization involved in use of the SaaS applications (Chauhan, page 10, paragraph 0104 and page 17, paragraph 0161-0162).
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 above, and further in view of Boyer et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0273957).
Regarding claim 2, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the method wherein monitoring usage of SaaS applications comprises tracking which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization.
Boyer teaches wherein monitoring usage of SaaS applications comprises tracking which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization (Boyer, page 10, paragraph 0113, page 12, paragraphs 0131 & 0134, and page 15, paragraph 0163; user login activity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 9, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 8.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprise instructions to track which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization.
Boyer teaches wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprise instructions to track which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization (Boyer, page 10, paragraph 0113, page 12, paragraphs 0131 & 0134, and page 15, paragraph 0163; user login activity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 16, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 15.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprise instructions to track which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization.
Boyer teaches wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprise instructions to track which of the SaaS applications are accessed with personal credentials and which of the SaaS applications are accessed with credentials of the organization (Boyer, page 10, paragraph 0113, page 12, paragraphs 0131 & 0134, and page 15, paragraph 0163; user login activity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 above, and further in view of Cohen et al. (US Pub No. 2015/0135302).
Regarding claim 4, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the method wherein monitoring usage of SaaS applications comprises monitoring OAuth requests and connections and identifying third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and connections.
Cohen teaches wherein monitoring usage of SaaS applications comprises monitoring OAuth requests and connections and identifying third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and connections (Cohen, page 2, paragraph 0039, page 3, paragraph 0047, and page 4, paragraph 0077; track request for OAuth token to identify SaaS application and enforce redirection or enforcements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Cohen to monitor request to provide the advantage of ensuring network traffic captivation (Cohen, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 11, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 8.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprises instructions to monitor OAuth requests and connections and identify third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and connections.
Cohen teaches wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprises instructions to monitor OAuth requests and connections and identify third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and (Cohen, page 2, paragraph 0039, page 3, paragraph 0047, and page 4, paragraph 0077; track request for OAuth token to identify SaaS application and enforce redirection or enforcements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Cohen to monitor request to provide the advantage of ensuring network traffic captivation (Cohen, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 15.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprises instructions to monitor OAuth requests and connections and identify third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and connections.
Cohen teaches wherein the instructions to monitor usage of SaaS applications comprises instructions to monitor OAuth requests and connections and identify third party SaaS applications being used based on monitoring the OAuth requests and (Cohen, page 2, paragraph 0039, page 3, paragraph 0047, and page 4, paragraph 0077; track request for OAuth token to identify SaaS application and enforce redirection or enforcements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Cohen to monitor request to provide the advantage of ensuring network traffic captivation (Cohen, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0116345).
Regarding claim 5, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 1.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the method wherein managing usage of SaaS applications comprises at last one of: executing requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and using API keys to administer the SaaS application.
Xu teaches wherein managing usage of SaaS applications comprises at last one of: executing requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and using API keys to administer the SaaS application (Xu, page 5, paragraphs 0053; authenticate users to SaaS resources based on API keys).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Xu for authentication using API keys to provide the advantage of improving state sharing plug in for workspace environments (Xu, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 12, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 8.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications comprise at last one of: instructions to execute requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and instructions to use API keys to administer the SaaS application.
Xu teaches wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications comprise at last one of: instructions to execute requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and instructions to use API keys to administer the SaaS application (Xu, page 5, paragraphs 0053; authenticate users to SaaS resources based on API keys).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Xu for authentication using API keys to provide the advantage of improving state sharing plug in for workspace environments (Xu, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 19, Chauhan in view of Wilson teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 15.
Chauhan in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications comprise at last one of: instructions to execute requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and instructions to use API keys to administer the SaaS application.
Xu teaches wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications comprise at last one of: instructions to execute requests to a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application on behalf of a user if an application programming interface (API) is unavailable for the SaaS application; and instructions to use API keys to administer the SaaS application (Xu, page 5, paragraphs 0053; authenticate users to SaaS resources based on API keys).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson with the teachings of Xu for authentication using API keys to provide the advantage of improving state sharing plug in for workspace environments (Xu, page 1, paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0145425) in view of Wilson et al. (US Patent No. 8,347,349) and further in view of Xu et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0116345) as applied to claims 5, 12 & 19 above, and further in view of Boyer et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0273957).
Regarding claim 6, Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 5.
Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu does not explicitly teach the method wherein managing usage of SaaS applications further comprises at least one of analyzing configurations of the SaaS application and scanning for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application.
Boyer teaches wherein managing usage of SaaS applications further comprises at least one of analyzing configurations of the SaaS application and scanning for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application (Boyer, page 17, paragraphs 0179-0183 and page 18, paragraph 0195).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 7, Chauhan in view of Wilson, in further view of Xu and in further view of Boyer teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 6, however, Boyer teaches the method wherein analyzing configurations comprises analyzing forwarding rules and alias rules of an e-mail SaaS application (Boyer, page 17, paragraphs 0179-0183 and page 18, paragraph 0195).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson, in further view of Xu and in further view of Boyer with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 13, Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 12.
Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu does not explicitly teach the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions to, at least one of, analyze configurations of the SaaS application and scan for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application.
Boyer teaches wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions to, at least one of, analyze configurations of the SaaS application and scan for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application (Boyer, page 17, paragraphs 0179-0183 and page 18, paragraph 0195).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 14, Chauhan in view of Wilson, in further view of Xu and in further view of Boyer teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 13, however, Boyer teaches the non-transitory, machine-readable medium wherein instructions to analyze configurations comprises analyzing forwarding rules and alias rules of an e-mail SaaS application (Boyer, page 17, paragraphs 0179-0183 and page 18, paragraph 0195).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson, in further view of Xu and in further view of Boyer with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Regarding claim 20, Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu teaches each and every claim limitation of claim 19.
Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions to, at least one of, analyze configurations of the SaaS application and scan for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application.
Boyer teaches wherein the instructions to manage usage of SaaS applications further comprise instructions to, at least one of, analyze configurations of the SaaS application and scan for persistence of exploits of the SaaS application (Boyer, page 17, paragraphs 0179-0183 and page 18, paragraph 0195).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chauhan in view of Wilson and in further view of Xu with the teachings of Boyer to analyzing user & network behavior to provide the advantage of preventing cyber threats (Boyer, page 1, paragraphs 0004-0005).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Magazine et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0334698).
Conclusion
/SHAQUEAL D WADE-WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407