DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/27/25(2), 06/09/2025 and 08/25/2025 have been received and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The applicant’s specification submitted is acceptable for examination purposes.
Examiner Notes
(1) In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121 (b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131 (b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
(2) Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11537673. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 11537673 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 11537673 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 11537673
Instant Application
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; a memory configured to store a set of permissions comprising a first permission and a second permission different from the first permission, wherein: a first user assigned the first permission to a second user, the first permission indicating that the second user is permitted to view recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to provide one or more suggestions of other users to the first user; and the first user assigned the second permission to a third user, the second permission indicating that the third user is permitted to view the recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to generate one or more matches for the first user; and a hardware processor configured to: transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to the second user, the first series of profiles corresponding to a first set of recommendations of users for the first user; receive, using the interface, a selection from the second user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; determine that the first permission is assigned to the second user; in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the first profile of the first series of profiles and determining that the first permission is assigned to the second user: update, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the first profile, the first series of profiles, the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile; and the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile to the first user, wherein the first profile comprises an icon or statement indicating that the first profile is suggested for the first user by the second user; transmit, using the interface, a second series of profiles to the third user, the second series of profiles corresponding to a second set of recommendations of users for the first user; receive, using the interface, a selection from the third user of a second profile of the second series of profiles, the second profile belonging to a fourth user; determine that the second permission is assigned to the third user; and in response to receiving the selection from the third user of the second profile and determining that the second permission is assigned to the third user: update the second series of profiles by removing the second profile; transmit the updated second series of profiles to the first user; and automatically enable communication between the first user and the fourth user.
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; and a hardware processor configured to: transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receive, using the interface, a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles; and transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
2. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the updated first series of profiles comprises an indication that the second user recommended the first profile to the first user.
3. The apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; updating the first series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the updated first series of profiles to the first user, the processor is further configured to: receive, using the interface, a selection from the first user of a profile of the updated first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the profile of the updated first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmit, using the interface, the third series of profiles to the first user.
4. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user, the processor is further configured to: receive, using the interface, a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmit, using the interface, the third series of profiles to the second user.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the second user; a second weight is assigned to a fourth user, the second weight different from the first weight; the processor is further configured to: transmit, using the interface, the first series of profiles to the fourth user; and receive, using the interface, a selection from the fourth user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and updating the first series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the fourth user of the second profile.
5. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight; the processor is further configured to: transmit, using the interface, the first series of profiles to the third user; and receive, using the interface, a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile.
6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein: the first weight is greater than the second weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the updated first series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the updated first series of profiles.
6. The apparatus of Claim 5, wherein: the first weight is greater than the second weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the hardware processor is further configured to: place the second profile in a list of matches for the first user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of matches for the first user to the first user.
7. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the processor is further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
8. A method comprising: receiving, from a first user, an assignment of a first permission to a second user, the assignment of the first permission to the second user indicating that the second user is permitted to view recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to provide one or more suggestions of other users to the first user; receiving, from the first user, an assignment of a second permission to a third user, the second permission different from the first permission, the assignment of the second permission to the third user indicating that the third user is permitted to view the recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to generate one or more matches for the first user; transmitting a first series of profiles to the second user, the first series of profiles corresponding to a first set of recommendations of users for the first user; receiving a selection from the second user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; determining that a first permission is assigned to the second user; in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the first profile of the first series of profiles and determining that the first permission is assigned to the second user: updating, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the first profile, the first series of profiles, the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile; and transmitting the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile to the first user, wherein the first profile comprises an icon or statement indicating that the first profile is suggested for the first user by the second user; transmitting a second series of profiles to the third user, the second series of profiles corresponding to a second set of recommendations of users for the first user; receiving a selection from the third user of a second profile of the second series of profiles, the second profile belonging to a fourth user; determining that the second permission is assigned to the third user; and in response to receiving the selection from the third user of the second profile and determining that the second permission is assigned to the third user: updating the second series of profiles by removing the second profile; transmitting the updated second series of profiles to the first user; and automatically enabling communication between the first user and the fourth user.
8. A method comprising: transmitting a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receiving a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determining, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles; and transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
9. The method of Claim 8, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the updated first series of profiles comprises an indication that the second user recommended the first profile to the first user.
10. The method of Claim 9, wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; updating the first series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the updated first series of profiles to the first user, the method further comprises: receiving a selection from the first user of a profile of the updated first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the profile of the updated first series of profiles: determining, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmitting the third series of profiles to the first user.
11. The method of Claim 8,wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user, the method further comprises: receiving a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determining, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmitting the third series of profiles to the second user.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the second user; a second weight is assigned to a fourth user, the second weight different from the first weight; the method further comprises: transmitting the first series of profiles to the fourth user; and receiving a selection from the fourth user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the updated first series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the fourth user of the second profile.
12. The method of Claim8, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight; the method further comprises: transmitting the first series of profiles to the third user; and receiving a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein: the first weight is greater than the second weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the updated first series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the updated first series of profiles.
13. The method of Claim 12, wherein: the first weight is greater than the second weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles.
14. The method of claim 8, further comprising: placing the second profile in a list of matches for the first user; and transmitting the list of matches for the first user to the first user.
14. The method of Claim 8, further comprising, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile: placing the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmitting the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
15. At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor, are configured to: receive, from a first user, an assignment of a first permission to a second user, the assignment of the first permission to the second user indicating that the second user is permitted to view recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to provide one or more suggestions of other users to the first user; receive, from the first user, an assignment of a second permission to a third user, the second permission different from the first permission, the assignment of the second permission to the third user indicating that the third user is permitted to view the recommendations of other users generated for the first user and select from amongst the recommendations to generate one or more matches for the first user; transmit a first series of profiles to the second user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the first user; receive a selection from the second user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; determine that a first permission is assigned to the second user; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the first profile of the first series of profiles and determining that the first permission is assigned to the second user: update, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the first profile, the first series of profiles, the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile; and transmit the updated first series of profiles comprising the first profile to the first user, wherein the first profile comprises an icon or statement indicating that the first profile is suggested for the first user by the second user; in response to transmitting the updated first series of profiles to the first user: receive a selection from the first user of a profile of the updated first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the profile of the updated first series of profiles: further update, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the profile of the updated first series of profiles, the updated first series of profiles; and transmit the further updated first series of profiles to the first user; transmit a second series of profiles to the third user, the second series of profiles corresponding to a second set of recommendations of users for the first user; receive a selection from the third user of a second profile of the second series of profiles, the second profile belonging to a fourth user; determine that the second permission is assigned to the third user; and in response to receiving the selection from the third user of the second profile and determining that the second permission is assigned to the third user: update the second series of profiles by removing the second profile; transmit the updated second series of profiles to the first user; and automatically enable communication between the first user and the fourth user.
15. At least one computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to: transmit a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receive a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user; and transmit the second series of profiles to the second user; in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user: receive a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user; and transmit the third series of profiles to the second user.
16. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
16. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 15, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
17. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the updated first series of profiles comprises an indication that the second user recommended the first profile to the first user.
17. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 16, wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user.
18. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: a third weight is assigned to a fourth user, the third weight different from the first weight; the plurality of instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: transmit the first series of profiles to the fourth user; and receive a selection from the fourth user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the updated first series of profiles is further based on the third weight and the selection from the fourth user of the second profile.
18. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 15, wherein: a third weight is assigned to a third user, the third weight different from the first weight; the plurality of instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: transmit the first series of profiles to the third user; and receive a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the third weight and the selection from the third user of the second profile.
19. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein: the first weight is greater than the third weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the updated first series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the updated first series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the updated first series of profiles.
19. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 18, wherein: the first weight is greater than the third weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles.
20. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein, when executed by the at least one processor, the plurality of instructions are further configured to: place the second profile in a list of matches for the first user; and transmit the list of matches for the first user to the first user.
20. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 15, wherein, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the plurality of instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12353488. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 12353488 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 12353488 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 12353488
Instant Application
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; a memory configured to store a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; and a hardware processor configured to: transmit to the first user, using the interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmit to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receive from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assign a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user;
and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user; update the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user;
reorder the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmit to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user;
generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; and a hardware processor configured to:
transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receive, using the interface, a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles; and transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user.
1. An apparatus comprising: […]
reorder the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmit to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user;
generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
2. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
1. An apparatus comprising: […]
generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
3. The apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user.
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; a memory configured to store a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; and a hardware processor configured to: transmit to the first user, using the interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmit to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receive from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assign a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user;
and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user; update the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user;
reorder the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmit to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user;
generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
4. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user, the processor is further configured to: receive, using the interface, a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmit, using the interface, the third series of profiles to the second user.
1. An apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network; a memory configured to store a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; and a hardware processor configured to: transmit to the first user, using the interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmit to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receive from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assign a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user;
and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user; update the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user;
reorder the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmit to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user;
generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
5. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight; the processor is further configured to: transmit, using the interface, the first series of profiles to the third user; and receive, using the interface, a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second user is a friend of the first user, and the third user is a potential dater for the first user.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second user is a friend of the first user, and the third user is a potential dater for the first user.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to, in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: place the profile of the third user in a list of suggestions for the first user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of suggestions to the first user.
7. The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the processor is further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
8. A method comprising: storing, using a memory, a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; transmitting to the first user, using an interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmitting to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receiving from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assigning a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user; and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: updating the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user; reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; generating a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enabling communication between the first user and the third user.
8. A method comprising: transmitting a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receiving a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determining, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles; and transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user.
8. A method comprising: […]
reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; generating a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enabling communication between the first user and the third user.
9. The method of Claim 8, wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile, the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
8. A method comprising: […]
reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; generating a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enabling communication between the first user and the third user.
10. The method of Claim 9, wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user.
8. A method comprising: storing, using a memory, a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; transmitting to the first user, using an interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmitting to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receiving from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assigning a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user; and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: updating the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user; reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; […].
11. The method of Claim 8,wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight; determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight; and in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user, the method further comprises: receiving a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determining, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles; and transmitting the third series of profiles to the second user.
8. A method comprising: storing, using a memory, a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; transmitting to the first user, using an interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmitting to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receiving from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assigning a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user; and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: updating the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user; reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; […].
12. The method of Claim 8, wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight; the method further comprises: transmitting the first series of profiles to the third user; and receiving a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles; and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile.
Claim 8, […]
and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: updating the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user; reordering the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmitting to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; […].
13. The method of Claim 12, wherein: the first weight is greater than the second weight; the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles.
14. The method of claim 8, further comprising: in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: place the profile of the third user in a list of suggestions for the first user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of suggestions to the first user.
14. The method of Claim 8, further comprising, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile: placing the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmitting the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
15. At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to: store a permission, the permission indicating that a second user is allowed to suggest users to a first user; transmit to the first user, using an interface, a set of recommended user profiles; transmit to the second user, using the interface, a profile of a third user; receive from the second user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the third user; assign a first weight value to the second user, the first weight value indicating an importance that a recommendation engine should give to recommendations from the second user; and in response to receiving the selection of the profile of the third user: update the set of recommended user profiles to include the profile of the third user; reorder the updated set of recommended user profiles to set a position of the profile of the third user within the updated set of recommended user profiles based at least on the first weight value associated with the second user; transmit to the first user, using the interface, the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with an indication that the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; generate a graphical user interface that displays the reordered set of recommended user profiles along with the indication, wherein: the reordered set of recommended user profiles is represented by a set of graphical representations rearranged according to an order of the reordered recommended user profiles, each graphical representation of each user profile in the reordered set of recommended user profiles represents a respective user profile; and the indication comprises a graphical representation that indicates the profile of the third user has been selected by the second user for the first user; and enable communication between the first user and the third user.
15. At least one computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to: transmit a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user; receive a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles; in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user; and transmit the second series of profiles to the second user; in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user: receive a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles; and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user; and transmit the third series of profiles to the second user.
20. The at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions are further configured to: receive from the first user, using the interface, a second selection of the profile of the third user; receive, from the third user, using the interface, a selection of the profile of the first user; in response to receiving, from the first user, the second selection of the profile of the third user and receiving, from the third user, the selection of the profile of the first user, enable communication between the first user and the third user.
20. The at least one computer-readable medium of Claim 15, wherein, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the plurality of instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit the list of matches for the second user to the second user.
Further noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12353488 to arrive at the claims 1-20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are directed to non-statutory subject matter because it does not fall within four categories of patentable subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C 101 (Process, machine manufacture or composition of matter).
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (Step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (Step 2A), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B). Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas.
Analysis
STEP 1:
Claims 1, 8 and 15 subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. § 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Analysis
STEP 2A, PRONG l (Claim 1):
Under step 2A, prong 1, of the 2019 Guidance, we first look to whether the claim recites any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activities such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes). MPEP § 2106.04(a).
The claim recites the following limitations that are collectively directed to an abstract idea:
• (a) “transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user”
• (b) “receive, using the interface, a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles”
• (c) “in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles”
• (d) “transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user”
Limitations (a) though (d) above, but for the recitation of generic computer components, are collectively directed to an abstract idea that falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping, and particularly the sub-grouping of “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People” including “social activities” as provided in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C).
These limitations recite a long-standing real-word social activity of including other user’s opinions on prospective date or match candidates. This is an abstract idea of allowing humans to exchange information and form relationships, or said otherwise managing relationships between people based on a second person’s recommendation. For instance, these limitations essentially recite a first person (i.e. second user) looking for others to connect with and being given recommendations, an acquaintance (i.e. first user) reviewing and selecting another connection to recommend, providing the acquaintance’s recommended connection to the first person.
Accordingly limitations (a)-(d) recite an abstract idea.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim recites the following additional elements:
• That the abstract idea is implemented on a computer including the components of “an interface configured to send and receive data over a network”, “a hardware processor.” These limitations are a high-level recitation of a generic computer components and represents mere instructions to apply on a computer as in MPEP 2106.05(f), which does not provide integration into a practical application.
• The limitations “transmit”, “receive” are part of the abstract idea for the ‘certain method of organizing human activity’ of managing relationships. But even if considered as additional elements, they do not provide integration into a practical application.
Under step 2B, the limitation (a)-(b) and (d) merely constitute extra-insignificant solution activity (mere data gathering and output, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; see MPEP 2106.05(g) – presenting offers, selecting information examples) and is well-known, conventional, and routine in the art (See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering); see MPEP 2106.05(d), II; receive/transmit over network; store/retrieve from memory/storage), which are well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), " iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;” and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 8 is rejected under U.S.C. 101 for similar reasons.
Claim 15 recites determining the possible matched profiles based on the feedback through the selection of third party, the feedback has weight in association with third party whom provided the feedback. For the generic computer components in claim 1, these limitations recite activities that could reasonably and be practically performed in the human mind; for instance, the recitations encompass to evaluate the list of selected candidate profiles based on third party opinion, each feedback has an associated weight, for example, determining the matched date mate based on a friend/colleague/ family member opinion, family member feedback is has more weight for decision making, however, the date finder opinion will supersede all others opinion. At step 2A, prong 2, the claim recites “receive …”, “transmit …” which are mere data gathering, and transmitting steps, and therefore insignificant pre-solution data gathering activities. These limitations describe generic computer components, akin to adding the word "apply it" in connection with the abstract idea. Nothing in the claims integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. At step 2B, the additional limitations identified as insignificant extra-solution activity are well-understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Therefore, the additional elements, considered individually and as part of the claim as a whole, do not add significantly more than the abstract idea itself. In view of MPEP 2106 and the current guidelines for subject matter eligibility, claim 15 is ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are dependent on their respective parent claims and include all the limitations of these claims; these claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, thus the claims are direct to abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are directed to non-statutory subject matter because it does not fall within four category of patentable subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C 101 (Process, machine manufacture or composition of matter).
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “At least one computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to:…” is not defined exclusively in application’s specification. The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer-readable medium that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 16-20, these claims are directly depending upon the respectively rejected independent claim 15 which has rejected based on 35 U.S.C 101, thus these claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 for carrying same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being Williams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362440 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches an apparatus comprising: an interface configured to send and receive data over a network (paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed, noted, the selected candidate profile for forwarding to the vetter for further review is interpreted as a first series of profiles);
A hardware processor configured to:
transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user (paragraph [0064], the candidate may search the client database on their own…; if the client finds a candidate she want to be vetted, she may forward the profile to her vetter for review; noted, as user searches and find a candidate that she want to be vetted, that is an indication that the client [interpreted as the second user] choose the candidate that will be forward to vetter [first user] for review to recommend candidate for the client [second user]);
transmit, using the interface, a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user (Fig. 1, paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed);
receive, using the interface, a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles (Fig. 1, paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed)
in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles (paragraph [0066]-[0069], determining the candidate profile is vetted by clicking on a GUI; once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed; the vetted profiles are mixed with the non-vetted profiles);
and transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user (paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed, noted, the vetted profiles show up in the client/friend feed is interpreted as transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user).
Regarding claim 7, Williams teaches all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein, in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the processor is further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit, using the interface, the list of matches for the second user to the second user (paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed; the vetted profiles are mixed with the non-vetted profiles).
As per claim 8, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
As per claim 14, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claim 7 and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362440 A1) in view of Rad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0074824 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Williams teaches all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein: the first series of profiles comprises a second profile (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], the vetted profiles are forwarding from the user to vetter for recommendation; the vetter pass the vetted profiles to user feed; user feed has both vetted and non-vetted profiles, which indicates that non-vetted profiles [interpreted as a second profile] are within the profiles that the user pass to the vetter for review [first series of profiles], thus, it read on the first series of profiles comprises a second profile as claimed), and the second series of profiles comprises the first profile and the second profile (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], forwarding the candidate profile [interpreted as first profile] to her vetters for review; the vetter pass the vetted profiles to user feed; user feed has both vetted and non-vetted profiles, user’s feed includes both vetted and non-vetted profiles [interpreted as second series of profiles]) but do not explicitly disclose: the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles.
Rad teaches: the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles (paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, result list changes based on ordering algorithm; the algorithm includes score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm, thus, it indicates that the selected profile by a friend of user would allow this profile ordering higher than the one not being recommended by a friend of a user, which teach the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles; the first profile located before the second profile in the second series of profiles to address issue with irrelevant entities (Rad, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Williams as modified by Rad teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 2, further teach wherein the second series of profiles comprises an indication that the first user recommended the first profile to the second user (Williams, paragraph [0069], vetted profiles [the first profile] are easily identifiable with badge/icon or some other indication).
As per claims 9-10, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claims 2-3 and are similarly rejected.
Claims 4, 11, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362440 A1) in view of Rad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0074824 A1), further in view of Herbst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,943,243 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Williams teaches all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user.
Rad teaches: a first weight is assigned to the first user (paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm, which is interpreted as a first weight is assigned to the first user [friend]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include first weight is assigned to the first user into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include first weight is assigned to the first user to address issue with irrelevant entities (Rad, paragraph [0008]).
Williams as modified by Rad do not explicitly disclose: a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight.
Herbst teaches: a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight (col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weight higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, dater’s evaluation weight is interpreted as a second weight, friend’s evaluation weight is interpreted as the first weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include a second weight is assigned to the second user, the second weight different from the first weight to address a need for a dating system that present solutions to these problems at the same time that it is builds on the positive aspects of real-life dating (Herbst, col. 2, line 18-20).
Williams as modified by Rad and Herbst further teach:
determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight (Rad, paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, result list changes based on ordering algorithm; the algorithm includes score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm, ordering the result lists using friend recommended attributes point, which is read on determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight); and in response to transmitting the second series of profiles to the second user (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed, noted, the vetted profiles show up the client/friend feed is interpreted as transmit, using the interface, the second series of profiles to the second user), the processor is further configured to receive, using the interface, a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles (Herbst, col. 7, line 4-13 and line 20-25, evaluation come from the dater in process of evaluating the profile); and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles; determine, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles (Rad, paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, teaches ordering the results based on various attributes such as recommended by friend, etc.; in conjunction with the weight associated with the dater being used to score for determined a match (col. 5, line 53-61, col. 7, line 20-25), it teaches and in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles; determine, based at least in part on the selection from the second user of the profile and the second weight, a third series of profiles as claimed); and transmit, using the interface, the third series of profiles to the second user (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed, noted, the vetted profiles show up the client/friend feed is interpreted as transmit, using the interface, the third series of profiles to the second user).
As per claim 11, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claim 4 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15, Williams teaches at least one computer-readable medium comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to: transmit a first series of profiles to a first user, the first series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for a second user (paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed, noted, the selected candidate profile for forwarding to the vetter for further review is interpreted as a first series of profiles); receive a selection from the first user of a first profile of the first series of profiles (paragraph [0066]-[0069], determining the candidate profile is vetted by clicking on a GUI); and in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile of the first series of profiles, determine, based at least in part on the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles (paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed; the vetted profiles are mixed with the non-vetted profiles; noted, the vetted profiles is interpreted as a second series of profiles).
Williams does not explicitly disclose: determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user.
Rad teaches: determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user (paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, result list changes based on ordering algorithm; the algorithm includes score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm, ordering the result lists using friend recommended attributes point; in conjunction with the selection of vetted profiles as taught by Williams, it teaches determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include determine, based at least in part on a first weight assigned to the first user and the selection from the first user of the first profile, a second series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user to address issue with irrelevant entities (Rad, paragraph [0008]).
Williams as modified by Rad further teach: transmit the second series of profiles to the second user (Williams, paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed); receive a selection from the second user of a profile of the second series of profiles (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0069], determining the candidate profile is vetted by clicking on a GUI).
Williams as modified by Rad do not explicitly disclose: in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user.
Herbst teaches: in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user (col. 5, line 53-61, col. 7, line 4-13 and line 20-25, evaluation come from the dater in process of evaluating the profile; the weight associated with the dater being used to score for determined a match; in conjunction with the teaching of Rad, paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, ordering the results based on various attributes such as recommended by friend, etc., it teaches in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include in response to receiving the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles: determine, based at least in part on a second weight assigned to the second user and the selection from the second user of the profile of the second series of profiles, a third series of profiles corresponding to recommendations of users for the second user to address a need for a dating system that present solutions to these problems at the same time that it is builds on the positive aspects of real-life dating (Herbst, col. 2, line 18-20).
Williams as modified by Rad and Herbst further teach: transmit the third series of profiles to the second user (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed, noted, the vetted profiles show up the client/friend feed is interpreted as transmit the third series of profiles to the second user).
As per claim 16-17, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claim 2-3 and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 18, Williams as modified by Rad and Herbst teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 15, further teach: a third weight is assigned to a third user, the third weight different from the first weight (Herbst, col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, matchmaker’s evaluation weight is interpreted as a third weight, friends’ evaluation weight is interpreted as the first weight); when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: transmit the first series of profiles to the third user (Williams, paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed); and receive a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0069], determining the candidate profile is vetted by clicking on a GUI); determining the second series of profiles is further based on the third weight and the selection from the third user of the second profile (Herbst col. 7, line 1-13 and 15-25 and line 59-62, determining the match based on combined scores which has calculated based on weights associated with friend of dater and matchmaker; in conjunction with the selection from the vetter from Williams as described above, it teaches determining the second series of profiles is further based on the third weight and the selection from the third user of the second profile as claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Williams as modified by Rad and Herbst teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 18, further teach the first weight is greater than the third weight (Herbst, col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, matchmaker’s evaluation weight is interpreted as a third weight, friends’ evaluation weight is interpreted as the first weight); the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], the candidate profiles are forwarding from the user to vetter for recommendation; the vetter pass the vetted profiles to user feed; user feed has both vetted and non-vetted profiles; in conjunction with profiles being reviewed by various users including dater, friends and matchmaker, thus, it is noted that one of the ordinary skill in the art would know that the candidate profiles comprising a profile being evaluated by matchmaker, friends and user in the order of how the user forwarding to the vetter, thus, it read on the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles as claimed); the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles (Rad, paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, result list changes based on ordering algorithm; the algorithm includes score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm; in conjunction with the teaching of Herbst, col. 5, line 53-61, col. 7, line 4-13 and line 20-25, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker; the weight associated with the dater being used to score for determined a match thus, it indicates that the selected profile by a friend of user would allow this profile ordering higher than the one being recommended by the matchmaker but lower than the one selected by the dater, which teach the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles as claimed).
Regarding claim 20, Williams as modified by Rad and Herbst teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach in response to receiving the selection from the first user of the first profile, the plurality of instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, are further configured to: place the first profile in a list of matches for the second user; and transmit the list of matches for the second user to the second user. (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], once the candidate profile vetted by the vetter, the client/friend can now see the candidate’s profile in their feed; the vetted profiles are mixed with the non-vetted profiles).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362440 A1) in view of Herbst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,943,243 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Williams teaches all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose wherein: a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight.
Herbst teaches a first weight is assigned to the first user (col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, friend’s evaluation weight is interpreted as the first weight); a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight (col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, matchmaker’s evaluation weight is interpreted as a third weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include a first weight is assigned to the first user; a second weight is assigned to a third user, the second weight different from the first weight to address a need for a dating system that present solutions to these problems at the same time that it is builds on the positive aspects of real-life dating (Herbst, col. 2, line 18-20).
Williams as modified by Herbst further teach:
the processor is further configured to: transmit, using the interface, the first series of profiles to the third user (Williams, paragraph [0061], [0064]-[0065], forwarding the candidate profile to her vetters for review; the candidate profile appears in the vetter’s feed); and receive, using the interface, a selection from the third user of a second profile of the first series of profiles (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0069], determining the candidate profile is vetted by clicking on a GUI); and determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile (Herbst col. 7, line 1-13 and 15-25 and line 59-62, determining the match based on combined scores which has calculated based on weights associated with friend of dater and matchmaker; in conjunction with the selection from the vetter from Williams as described above, it teaches determining the second series of profiles is further based on the first weight, the second weight, and the selection from the third user of the second profile as claimed).
As per claim 12, this claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the arguments given above for rejected claim 5 and is similarly rejected.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0362440 A1) in view of Herbst et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,943,243 B2), further in view of Rad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0074824 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Williams as modified by Herbst teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 5, further teach: the first weight is greater than the third weight (Herbst, col. 5, line 53-61, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker, noted, matchmaker’s evaluation weight is interpreted as a third weight, friends’ evaluation weight is interpreted as the first weight); the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles (Williams, paragraph [0066]-[0067], [0069], the candidate profiles are forwarding from the user to vetter for recommendation; the vetter pass the vetted profiles to user feed; user feed has both vetted and non-vetted profiles; in conjunction with profiles being reviewed by various users including dater, friends and matchmaker, thus, it is noted that one of the ordinary skill in the art would know that the candidate profiles comprising a profile being evaluated by matchmaker, friends and user in the order of how the user forwarding to the vetter, thus, it read on the first series of profiles comprises a third profile, the third profile located before the first profile and the second profile in the first series of profiles, the second profile located before the first profile in the first series of profiles as claimed) but do not explicitly disclose: the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles.
Rad teaches: the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles (Rad, paragraph [0052],[0053], [0085], [0086], line 22-28, result list changes based on ordering algorithm; the algorithm includes score of match result entity has been recommended by a friend of a user with 8388608 number of points in ordering algorithm; in conjunction with the teaching of Herbst, col. 5, line 53-61, col. 7, line 4-13 and line 20-25, each evaluator has an associated numerical weights; dater may weighted higher than friend, friends weighted higher than matchmaker; the weight associated with the dater being used to score for determined a match thus, it indicates that the selected profile by a friend of user would allow this profile ordering higher than the one being recommended by the matchmaker but lower than the one selected by the dater, which teach the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles as claimed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles into vetted profiles of Williams.
Motivation to do so would be to include the second series of profiles comprises the first profile, the second profile, and the third profile, the first profile located before the second profile and the third profile in the second series of profiles, the second profile located before the third profile in the second series of profiles to address issue with irrelevant entities (Rad, paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
/KEN HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168