DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 and 15 recites the limitation "Pa/s". This limitation is unclear and confusing because the uniots for viscosity are Pa
∙
s.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danov (EP 3594458), hereinafter referred to as Danov.
Re claim 1, Danov teaches a latent heat storage module comprising:
a first container (e.g. 2) and a second container (e.g. 4) structured to contain a slurry (e.g. description, “a phase change sludge 42”);
the slurry comprising a first component configured to retain its liquid phase during operation of the latent heat storage module, and a second component which is a phase change material suspended in the first component (see description, “In other words, a phase change sludge is a mixture of a carrier liquid, for example water, and a phase change material”);
a device configured to transport the slurry from the first container to the second container (e.g. claims, “characterized in that the device (1) comprises at least one pump, by means of which the phase change sludge (42) from the first tank (2) via the pressure tank (3) to the second tank (4) and / or from the second container (4) via the pressure container (3) to the first container (2)”); and
a heat exchanger (3; see description, “the pressure vessel is designed as a tube bundle heat exchanger”) in contact with the device configured to pass heat to or from the slurry.
Re claim 2, Danov teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the second component is a solid-solid phase change material (e.g. see description, “Method according to one of claims 11 to 13, in which a mixture of substances with potassium nitrate or lithium nitrate is used as the phase change sludge”; the examiner notes that potassium nitrate is a solid-solid PCM).
Re claim 3, Danov teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the phase change material has a phase transition temperature within an operating temperature range of the latent heat storage module (inherent basic function of the operation of a PCM).
Re claim 4, Danov teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the first component is not a phase change material within an operating temperature range of the latent heat storage module (inherent basic function of a carrier liquid; see description, “comprises a carrier liquid, for example water, and a phase change material”).
Re claim 7, Danov teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the first component is water (see description, “comprises a carrier liquid, for example water, and a phase change material”).
Re claim 17, Danov teaches a latent heat storage module comprising:
a first container (e.g. 2) and a second container (e.g. 4) structured to contain a slurry (e.g. description, “a phase change sludge 42”);
the slurry comprising
the slurry comprising a first component configured to retain its liquid phase during operation of the latent heat storage module, and a second component which is a phase change material suspended in the first component (see description, “In other words, a phase change sludge is a mixture of a carrier liquid, for example water, and a phase change material”);
a heat exchanger (3; see description, “the pressure vessel is designed as a tube bundle heat exchanger”) in contact with the slurry configured to pass heat to or from the slurry
Re claim 19, Danov teaches the module of claim 17, wherein the second component is a solid-solid phase change material (e.g. see description, “Method according to one of claims 11 to 13, in which a mixture of substances with potassium nitrate or lithium nitrate is used as the phase change sludge”; the examiner notes that potassium nitrate is a solid-solid PCM).
Re claim 20, Danov teaches the module of claim 17, wherein the phase change material has a phase transition temperature within an operating temperature range of the latent heat storage module (inherent basic function of the operation of a PCM).
Claim(s) 9-10, 13-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clarksean (US Pat No. 7,096,929), hereinafter referred to as Clarksean.
Re claim 9, Clarksean teaches a latent heat storage system comprising:
a cooling apparatus (112);
a latent heat storage module (104) in fluid communication with the cooling apparatus comprising:
a mixture (e.g. C3-lns 35-40, “the PCM slurry 106”) comprising a first component configured to retains its liquid phase during operation of the latent heat storage module and a second component which is a phase change material suspended in the first component (e.g. C3-lns 35-40, “The PCM slurry comprises a mixture of water, emulsifier, and paraffin, that absorbs peak A/C loads”);
a device (108) configured to mechanically move the mixture from a first area of the module to a second area of the module; and
a heat exchanger (102), in contact with the device, configured to pass heat to the mixture or extract heat from the mixture while the mixture is in transit between the first area and the second area
Re claim 10, Clarksean teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the mixture is a slurry (e.g. C3-lns 35-40, “the PCM slurry 106”).
Re claim 13, Clarksean teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the phase change material has a phase transition temperature within an operating temperature range of the latent heat storage module (inherent basic function of the operation of a PCM).
Re claim 14, Clarksean teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first component is not a phase change material within an operating temperature range of the latent heat storage module (inherent basic function of a carrier liquid).
Re claim 16, Clarksean teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the cooling apparatus is a heat pump (C4-lns 5-10, “the air conditioning unit 202 may be used to re-solidify the PCM 204 during a non-peak or less load demand period”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danov, in view of Official Notice.
Re claim 5, Danov teaches the module of claim 1. Danov doesn’t teach the limitation of the slurry is a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s as a PCM slurry, for the purpose optimizing the thermal energy storage capacity, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Danov and integrated the slurry is a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s, for the purpose optimizing the thermal energy storage capacity.
Re claim 6, Danov teaches the module of claim 1. Danov teaches the limitation of the device being a pump. Danov doesn’t teach the limitation of the pump is a positive displacement pump. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a positive displacement pump, for the purpose optimizing the flow rate, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Danov and integrated the pump is a positive displacement pump, for the purpose optimizing the flow rate.
Re claim 8, Danov teaches the module of claim 1. Danov doesn’t teach the limitation of wherein the second component is an organometallic compound. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using an organometallic compound for a PCM slurry, for the purpose targeted phase transition profiles, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Danov and integrated wherein the second component is an organometallic compound, for the purpose targeted phase transition profiles.
Claim(s) 11-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danov, in view of Official Notice.
Re claim 11, Clarksean teaches the module of claim 1. Clarksean teaches the limitation of the device being a pump. Clarksean doesn’t teach the limitation of the pump is a screw pump. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a screw pump, for the purpose optimizing the flow rate, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Clarksean and integrated the pump a screw pump, for the purpose optimizing the flow rate.
Re claim 12, Clarksean teaches the module of claim 1. Clarksean doesn’t teach the limitation of wherein the second component is a solid-solid phase change material. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a solid-solid phase change material, for the purpose of maintaining physical integrity of the PCM, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Clarksean and integrated wherein the second component is a solid-solid phase change material, for the purpose of maintaining physical integrity of the PCM.
Re claim 15, Clarksean teaches the module of claim 1. Clarksean doesn’t teach the limitation of the slurry is a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s as a PCM slurry, for the purpose optimizing the thermal energy storage capacity, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Clarksean and integrated the slurry is a viscous gel having a viscosity of about 0.5-20 Pa/s, for the purpose optimizing the thermal energy storage capacity.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danov, in view of Wetzel et al. (US 20180283726), hereinafter referred to as Wetzel.
Re claim 18, Danov teaches the module of claim 17. Danov doesn’t teach the limitation of wherein the module comprises a pivoting component structured to pivot the module with a pivot angle of about 180 degrees.
However, Wetzel teaches a latent heat storage module comprising a pivoting component (1701 and 1703) structured to pivot the module with a pivot angle of about 180 degrees (e.g. ¶ 4, “a multi-section PCM container rotatingly supported about a center long axis of the multi-section PCM container”).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Danov and integrated wherein the module comprises a pivoting component structured to pivot the module with a pivot angle of about 180 degrees, as taught by Wtzel, in order to improve efficiency and flexibility of thermal energy storage and recovery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTo-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 10/10/2026