CTNF 19/092,427 CTNF 96836 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for continuation of US Application No. 17/588,178 (now U.S. Patent No. 12,266,862) which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/251,573 filed October 1, 2021. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2025 has considered by the examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-5, 7-12 and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,266,862 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the rationale detailed below: 19/092,427 US12,266,862 Claim 1 Claim 11 An antenna element for generating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer ; An antenna element for generating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer; a square ring patch positioned below the top dielectric layer; a square ring patch positioned directly below the top dielectric layer; a square ring slot; a square ring slot; a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot; and a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot, wherein the upper form layer separates the top dielectric layer and the middle dielectric layer, wherein the lower form layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer and the bottom dielectric layer; and e lectrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch. electrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch. Claim 2 Claim 2 Claim 3, 4 Claim 3 Claim 5 Claim 1 Claim 6 Claim 4 Claim 7 Claim 5 Claim 8 Claim 7 Claim 9 Claim 8 An antenna element for generating or receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer; An antenna element for generating or receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer; a square ring patch positioned below the top dielectric layer; a square ring patch positioned directly below the top dielectric layer; a square ring slot; a square ring slot; a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot; and a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot, wherein the upper foam layer separates the top dielectric layer and the middle dielectric layer, wherein a lower foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer and the bottom dielectric layer; and electrical feed lines receiving electrical power generated from electrical resonance received by the square ring patch and induced in the square ring slot. electrical feed lines receiving electrical power generated from electrical resonance received by the square ring patch and induced in the square ring slot. Claim 10 Claim 9 Claim 11-12 Claim 10 Claim 13 Claim 8 Claim 14 Claim 11 Claim 15 Claim 12 Claim 16 Claim 14 Claim 17 Claim 15 An antenna array for communicating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of antenna elements positioned in the antenna array, each antenna element comprising: An antenna array for communicating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of antenna elements positioned in an antenna array, each antenna element comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer; a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer; a square ring patch below the top dielectric layer; a square ring patch directly below the top dielectric layer; a square ring slot; a square ring slot; a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot; and a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot , wherein the upper foam layer separates the top dielectric layer and the middle dielectric layer, wherein a lower foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer and the bottom dielectric layer; and electrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch. electrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch. Claim 18 Claim 16 Claim 19 Claim 17 Claim 20 Claim 18 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5-9, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga et al, US-20200076083-A1 (hereinafter Fukunaga) in view of Park et al, KR-101014352-B1 (hereinafter Park) . Regarding claim 1 , Fukunaga discloses the following: an antenna element for generating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer (Fig. 28 below: top, middle and bottom dielectric layers); a square ring patch positioned below the top dielectric layer (Fig. 28, 30B: ring patch 11, 12 which is square, see para [0190] stating c=d, e=f); a square ring slot (Fig. 28 and 30C: a ring slot 13 which is square, see para [0190] stating a=b); and electrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch (Fig. 28, para [0209]: probe electrodes 31-32 supplying electrical power to antenna electrodes 11-12, 13 as illustrated in fig. 11). Fukunaga does not disclose a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot. Park suggests a plurality of foam layers (120, 140, fig. 1) between the plurality of dielectric layers (150, 130, 110), wherein an upper foam layer (140) of the plurality of foam layers separates the patch (310) from another patch (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers as suggested in Park to the antenna element taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7). PNG media_image1.png 346 722 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 3 , Fukunaga discloses wherein the square ring patch (12, fig. 30B) has a larger perimeter than the square ring slot (13, figs. 30B, 30C, para [0190]: c=d=1.80 > a=b=1.30). Regarding claim 5 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein: the upper foam layer separates the top dielectric layer and the middle dielectric layer, and a lower foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer and the bottom dielectric layer. Park suggests wherein: the upper foam layer (140, fig. 1) separates the top dielectric layer (150) and the middle dielectric layer (130), and a lower foam layer (120) of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer (130) and the bottom dielectric layer (110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to provide plurality of foam layers as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga for the purpose of separating the radiating elements in order to improve the isolation between the radiating elements. Regarding claim 6 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the plurality of foam layers are made of a low-dielectric foam or honeycomb material with low average dielectric constant. Park suggests wherein the plurality of foam layers are made of a low-dielectric foam (page 3, last para: The first foam substrate 120 and the second foam substrate 140 are generally made of a material such as styrofoam, and are configured to have a dielectric constant almost similar to that of air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use low-dielectric foam as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the elements to improve the isolation of the elements and reducing the signal loss in high frequency applications with the low dielectric property. Regarding claim 7 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the square ring patch is positioned between the top dielectric layer and the upper foam layer. Park suggests wherein the square ring patch (the top radiating element 310, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30B of Fukunaga disclose the top radiating element is the square ring patch 11, 12) is positioned between the top dielectric layer (150) and the upper foam layer (140). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the patch between the top dielectric layer and the foam layer as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the ring patch with the component on the second dielectric layer, widening the operating bandwidth (Park, page 4, para 7) and preventing the ring patch being affected by air. Regarding claim 8 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the upper foam layer contacts the square ring patch and the square ring slot. Park suggests wherein the upper foam layer (140, fig. 1) contacts the square ring patch (the top radiating element 310, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30B of Fukunaga disclose the top radiating element is the square ring patch 11, 12) and the square ring slot the bottom radiating element 300, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30C of Fukunaga disclose the bottom radiating element is the square ring slot 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the upper foam layer contacting the square ring patch and the square ring slot as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the square ring patch and the square ring slot and maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7). Regarding claim 9 , Fukunaga discloses the following: an antenna element for generating or receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer (Fig. 28 above: top, middle and bottom dielectric layers); a square ring patch positioned below the top dielectric layer (Fig. 28, 30B: ring patch 11, 12 which is square, see para [0190] stating c=d, e=f); a square ring slot (Fig. 28 and 30C: a ring slot 13 which is square, see para [0190] stating a=b); and electrical feed lines receiving electrical power generated from electrical resonance received by the square ring patch and induced in the square ring slot (Fig. 28, para [0209]: probe electrodes 31-32 supplying electrical power to antenna electrodes 11-12, 13 as illustrated in fig. 11). Fukunaga does not disclose a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot. Park suggests a plurality of foam layers (120, 140, fig. 1) between the plurality of dielectric layers (150, 130, 110), wherein an upper foam layer (140) of the plurality of foam layers separates the top patch (310) from the bottom patch (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers as suggested in Park to the antenna element taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7). Regarding claim 11 , Fukunaga discloses wherein the square ring patch (12, fig. 30B) has a larger perimeter than the square ring slot (figs. 30B, 30C, para [0190]: c=d=1.80 > a=b=1.30). Regarding claim 13 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein: the upper foam layer separates the top dielectric layer and the middle dielectric layer, and a lower foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer and the bottom dielectric layer. Park suggests wherein: the upper foam layer (140, fig. 1) separates the top dielectric layer (150) and the middle dielectric layer (130), and a lower foam layer (120) of the plurality of foam layers separates the middle dielectric layer (130) and the bottom dielectric layer (110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to provide plurality of foam layers as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga for the purpose of separating the radiating elements in order to improve the isolation between the radiating elements. Regarding claim 14 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the plurality of foam layers are made of a low-dielectric foam or honeycomb material with low average dielectric constant. Park suggests wherein the plurality of foam layers are made of a low-dielectric foam (page 3, last para: The first foam substrate 120 and the second foam substrate 140 are generally made of a material such as styrofoam, and are configured to have a dielectric constant almost similar to that of air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use low-dielectric foam as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the elements to improve the isolation of the elements and reducing the signal loss in high frequency applications with the low dielectric property. Regarding claim 15 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the square ring patch is positioned between the top dielectric layer and the upper foam layer. Park suggests wherein the square ring patch (the top radiating element 310, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30B of Fukunaga disclose the top radiating element is the square ring patch 11, 12) is positioned between the top dielectric layer (150) and the upper foam layer (140). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the patch between the top dielectric layer and the foam layer as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the ring patch with the component on the second dielectric layer, widening the operating bandwidth (Park, page 4, para 7) and preventing the ring patch being affected by air. Regarding claim 16 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the upper foam layer contacts the square ring patch and the square ring slot. Park suggests wherein the upper foam layer (140, fig. 1) contacts the square ring patch (the top radiating element 310, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30B of Fukunaga disclose the top radiating element is the square ring patch 11, 12) and the square ring slot the bottom radiating element 300, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30C of Fukunaga disclose the bottom radiating element is the square ring slot 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the upper foam layer contacting the square ring patch and the square ring slot as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the square ring patch and the square ring slot and maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga and Park as applied to claim s 1 and 9 above, and further in view of NPL “Rogers RT/duroid 5880 low DK RF High Frequency PCB Board” applied as a teaching reference . Regarding claim 2 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the plurality of dielectric layers comprise one or more printed circuit boards. Park discloses wherein the plurality of dielectric layers comprise one or more printed circuit boards (page 3, para 5, 7, 9: the dielectric layers may be made of Rogers RT / Duroid 5880 product which are printed circuit board, see NPL “Rogers RT/duroid 5880 low DK RF High Frequency PCB Board” applied as a teaching reference). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to include printed circuit board as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process and reducing cost because printed circuit boards are commonly used in the antenna art and their benefits are low cost, easy to repair, low electric noise, widely available and highly reliable. Regarding claim 10 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the plurality of dielectric layers comprise one or more printed circuit boards. Park discloses wherein the plurality of dielectric layers comprise one or more printed circuit boards (page 3, para 5, 7, 9: the dielectric layers may be made of Rogers RT / Duroid 5880 product which are printed circuit board, see NPL “” applied as a teaching reference). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to include printed circuit board as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process and reducing cost because printed circuit boards are commonly used in the antenna art and their benefits are low cost, easy to repair, low electric noise, widely available and highly reliable . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga and Park as applied to claim s 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Manry Jr. et al, US-8773323-B1 (hereinafter Manry Jr.) . Regarding claim 4 , Fukunaga discloses wherein: the square ring patch has a square shape (11, 12, fig. 30B) The combination Fukunaga and Park does not disclose the top dielectric layer has a hexagonal shape. Manry Jr. suggests the top dielectric layer has a hexagonal shape (Fig. 1 and fig. 5: unit cell 502 has a hexagonal shape and the unit cell 100 comprises a plurality of dielectric layers 308, 310, see fig. 3, col. 6, lines 6-43, it is implied that the top dielectric layer has hexagonal shape). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to provide the top dielectric layer of the antenna element taught in Fukunaga and Park having a hexagonal shape as suggested by Manry Jr. as claimed for the purpose of being able to arrange the antenna elements in a specific pattern in a designated area. Regarding claim 12 , Fukunaga discloses wherein: the square ring patch has a square shape (11, 12, fig. 30B) The combination Fukunaga and Park does not disclose the top dielectric layer has a hexagonal shape. Manry Jr. suggests the top dielectric layer has a hexagonal shape (Fig. 1 and fig. 5: unit cell 502 has a hexagonal shape and the unit cell 100 comprises a plurality of dielectric layers 308, 310, see fig. 3, col. 6, lines 6-43, it is implied that the top dielectric layer has hexagonal shape). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to provide the top dielectric layer of the antenna element taught in Fukunaga and Park having a hexagonal shape as suggested by Manry Jr. as claimed for the purpose of being able to arrange the antenna elements in a specific pattern in a designated area . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga, US-20200076083-A1 in view of Park, KR-101014352-B1, and further in view of Manry Jr., US-8773323-B1 . Regarding claim 17 , Fukunaga discloses the following: each antenna element comprising: a plurality of dielectric layers comprising a top dielectric layer, a middle dielectric layer, and a bottom dielectric layer (Fig. 28 above: top, middle and bottom dielectric layers); a square ring patch below the top dielectric layer (Fig. 28, 30B: ring patch 11, 12 which is square, see para [0190] stating c=d, e=f); a square ring slot (Fig. 28 and 30C: a ring slot 13 which is square, see para [0190] stating a=b); and electrical feed lines supplying electrical power to generate electrical resonance in the square ring slot for producing the RF signal in the square ring patch (Fig. 28, para [0209]: probe electrodes 31-32 supplying electrical power to antenna electrodes 11-12, 13 as illustrated in fig. 11). Fukunaga does not disclose a plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers, wherein an upper foam layer of the plurality of foam layers separates the square ring patch from the square ring slot. Park suggests a plurality of foam layers (120, 140, fig. 1) between the plurality of dielectric layers (150, 130, 110), wherein an upper foam layer (140) of the plurality of foam layers separates the top patch (310) from the bottom patch (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of foam layers between the plurality of dielectric layers as suggested in Park to the antenna element taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7). The combination of Fukunaga and Park does not disclose an antenna array for communicating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of antenna elements positioned in the antenna array. Manry Jr. suggests an antenna array for communicating a radio frequency (RF) signal, comprising: a plurality of antenna elements positioned in the antenna array (502/602, figs. 5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position a plurality of antenna elements taught in Fukunaga and Park in an array as suggested in Manry Jr. as claimed for the purpose of having a wider signal coverage because antenna array having more antenna elements will generate wider beam signals. Regarding claim 18 , Fukunaga does not disclose wherein the upper foam layer contacts the square ring patch and the square ring slot. Park suggests wherein the upper foam layer (140, fig. 1) contacts the square ring patch (the top radiating element 310, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30B of Fukunaga disclose the top radiating element is the square ring patch 11, 12) and the square ring slot the bottom radiating element 300, fig. 1 which could be different shape, see page 3, para 3 and fig. 28, 30C of Fukunaga disclose the bottom radiating element is the square ring slot 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the upper foam layer contacting the square ring patch and the square ring slot as suggested in Park to the antenna element as taught in Fukunaga as claimed for the purpose of separating the square ring patch and the square ring slot and maintaining a constant height between the square ring patch from the square ring slot in order to induce the resonance (Park, page 3, last para) and widen the bandwidth of the antenna (Park, page 4, para 4, 7). The combination of Fukunaga and Park does not disclose wherein, for each antenna element: the plurality of dielectric layers are hexagonally shaped. Manry Jr. suggests wherein, for each antenna element: the plurality of dielectric layers are hexagonally shaped (Fig. 1 and fig. 5: unit cell 502 has a hexagonal shape and the unit cell 100 comprises a plurality of dielectric layers 308, 310, see fig. 3, col. 6, lines 6-43, it is implied that the plurality of dielectric layers are hexagonally shaped). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to provide the plurality of dielectric layers of the antenna element taught in Fukunaga and Park having a hexagonal shape as suggested by Manry Jr. as claimed for the purpose of being able to arrange the antenna elements in a specific pattern in a designated area. Regarding claim 19 , the combination of Fukunaga and Park does not disclose wherein the plurality of antenna elements are arranged in a triangular-array lattice with multiple antenna elements. Manry Jr. suggests the teaching of wherein the plurality of antenna elements are arranged in a triangular-array lattice with multiple antenna elements (Fig. 6, col. 5, lines 15-20: plurality of antenna elements 502/604 are distributed in a triangular lattice). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to arrange the modified antenna elements as taught in Fukunaga and Park in a triangular-array lattice as suggested in Manry Jr. for the purpose of increasing the element separation in order to reduce the mutual coupling effect between the antenna elements and being able to arrange antenna elements in a specific pattern in a designated area. Regarding claim 20 , the combination of Fukunaga and Park does not disclose wherein the antenna array is included in an aircraft, a rotorcraft, a helicopter, an unmanned aerial vehicle, an automobile, a motorcycle, a bus, a boat, or a train. Manry Jr. suggests the teaching of wherein the antenna array is disposed on an aircraft (Col. 3, lines 25-28: the antenna array can be applicable to unmanned aircraft antennas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of invention to dispose the modified antenna elements as taught in Fukunaga and Park on an aircraft as suggested by Manry Jr. for the purpose of providing wireless communication to the aircraft. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANH N HO whose telephone number is (571)272-4657. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dameon Levi can be reached at (571)272-2105. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845 /ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 9 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 10 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 11 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 12 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 13 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 14 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 15 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 16 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 17 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 18 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/092,427 Page 19 Art Unit: 2845