DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on July 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 – 22 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 17, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “transmitting” in line 4 should be “transmit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fredlund (US 2016/0373646).
Regarding claim 1, Fredlund discloses an imaging device comprising: at least one processor (20) (fig. 1); and at least one memory (20/28) having stored thereon instructions (fig. 1) which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the imaging device at least to: identifying a user of the imaging device (¶66-67, 70, 98, 102: face recognition); determining a state of continuous use of the imaging device by the user (fig. 6; ¶78, 80, 100: detecting face of user provides feedback to user and reads on continued use); and performing control such that information of the user is recorded in a memory in association with an image captured by the imaging device (fig. 2; ¶67, 70, 40: storing user images…the face recognition step 175 could be used to recognize the face of the user of the digital camera 10. The output of step 175 can include metadata that identifies the names or other identifiers for specific faces that are detected) between a time at which the user is identified and a time at which it is determined that use of the imaging device by the user is not continuing (fig. 6; ¶100: the digital camera 10 can be configured so that image capture is automatically initiated when all of the criteria have been met. An advantage of providing such an automatic capture mode is that the photographer 210 need not press the image capture button 240, which can be awkward, and may impart undesirable motion to the digital camera 10 during capture).
Regarding claim 2, Fredlund discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fredlund also teaches wherein the memory is included in the imaging device or connected to the imaging device in a physically detachable manner (¶40: removable Flash memory).
Regarding claim 3, Fredlund discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fredlund also teaches wherein the imaging device is connected to a server including the memory via a communication path, and the processor cause the imaging device to transmitting a signal to the server in accordance with a result of the determination so that the image and the information of the user are recorded in association with each other in the memory (¶40: photo service provided implies server).
Regarding claim 4, Fredlund discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fredlund also teaches wherein the imaging device identifies the user of the imaging device based on biometric information of the user of the imaging device (¶67: face recognition).
Regarding claim 5, Fredlund discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fredlund also teaches wherein the biometric information includes information of at least one of an iris, a fingerprint, a vein, and a face (¶67: face recognition).
Claim 23 is rejected as applied to claim 1 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Fredlund.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fredlund in view of Stenberg (US 6,433,818).
Regarding claim 6, Fredlund discloses the limitations of claim 1. Fredlund fails to explicitly disclose wherein the imaging device identifies the user of the imaging device based on authentication information that is input by the user of the imaging device or read from a recording medium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Fredlund with the teachings of Steinberg. Fredlund discloses a camera device that identifies a face of a user for image capture. Steinberg teaches a digital camera with biometric security that uses a smart card or password for authentication purposes (c.5, line 60-65). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of user input authentication, as taught by Stenberg, with the invention of Fredlund would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that reduces unauthorized use of a camera and/or deters theft.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639