DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/092,503 in view of Kubo et al. (US Publication 2022/0162404).
In re claim 1, U.S. Application No. 19/092,503 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element and a liquid component,
wherein the capacitor element includes an anode foil having an elongated shape, a cathode foil having an elongated shape, a separator having an elongated shape and disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil, and a first conductive polymer layer and a second conductive polymer layer between the anode foil and the cathode foil (Claim 1),
the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator are wound in a longitudinal direction of the elongated shapes to form a wound body (Claim 1),
the anode foil includes a porous portion in which at least a portion of a surface is covered with a dielectric layer (Claim 1),
the cathode foil is arranged opposite the dielectric layer (Claim 1),
the separator contains a fiber material (Claim 1),
the first conductive polymer layer contains a first conductive polymer (Claim 1),
the second conductive polymer layer contains a second conductive polymer (Claim 1), and electrical conductivity of the first conductive polymer layer is lower than electrical conductivity of the second conductive polymer layer (Claim 1).
U.S. Application No. 19/092,503 does not disclose the first conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the dielectric layer in the porous portion, at least a portion of a surface of the cathode foil, and at least a portion of a surface of the fiber material in the separator,
the second conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the first conductive polymer layer.
Kubo discloses the first conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the dielectric layer in the porous portion (¶69, ¶127), at least a portion of a surface of the cathode foil, and at least a portion of a surface of the fiber material in the separator (¶69),
the second conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the first conductive polymer layer (¶107).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the solid electrolyte construction of Kubo to achieve a device having improved ESR characteristics.
U.S Application 19/024,468
U.S. Application 19/092,503
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 11
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, AND 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (US Publication 2022/0162404).
In re claim 1, Kubo discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a capacitor element (10 – Figure 3, ¶178) and a liquid component (¶25),
wherein the capacitor element (10 – Figure 3) includes an anode foil (11 – Figure 4, ¶179) having an elongated shape (Figure 4), a cathode foil (12 – Figure 4, ¶179) having an elongated shape (Figure 4), a separator (13 – Figure 4, ¶179) having an elongated shape and disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil (Figure 4), and a first conductive polymer layer and a second conductive polymer layer between the anode foil and the cathode foil (¶52-62, ¶74-80),
the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator are wound in a longitudinal direction of the elongated shapes to form a wound body (Figure 4, ¶73)),
the anode foil includes a porous portion in which at least a portion of a surface is covered with a dielectric layer (¶39),
the cathode foil (12 – Figure 4) is arranged opposite the dielectric layer (See Figure 4; The cathode is arranged opposite the anode which contains the dielectric layer.),
the separator (13 – Figure 4) contains a fiber material (¶40),
the first conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the dielectric layer in the porous portion (¶69, ¶127), at least a portion of a surface of the cathode foil, and at least a portion of a surface of the fiber material in the separator (¶69),
the second conductive polymer layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the first conductive polymer layer (¶107),
the first conductive polymer layer contains a first conductive polymer (¶98-104),
the second conductive polymer layer contains a second conductive polymer (¶105-107), and electrical conductivity of the first conductive polymer layer is lower than electrical conductivity of the second conductive polymer layer (¶78).
In re claim 2, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 2, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein the first conductive polymer layer and the second conductive polymer layer form a conductive path connecting the dielectric layer to the cathode foil (12 – Figure 4) via the separator (13 – Figure 4) (¶190-196, ¶69).
In re claim 6, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein both the first conductive polymer and the second conductive polymer include a dopant (¶54, ¶78), and a doping ratio of the dopant in the first conductive polymer is lower than a doping ratio of the dopant in the second conductive polymer (¶78).
In re claim 7, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein the first conductive polymer includes a first polymer dopant having a sulfonic acid group (¶54),
the second conductive polymer includes a second polymer dopant having a sulfonic acid group (¶78), and a weight average molecular weight Mw1 of the first polymer dopant is smaller than a weight average molecular weight Mw2 of the second polymer dopant (¶59, ¶78-79).
In re claim 10, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein both the first conductive polymer layer and the second conductive polymer layer contain an organic solvent with a boiling point of 150°C or higher (¶58, ¶77),
and a content of the organic solvent in the first conductive polymer layer is lower than a content of the organic solvent in the second conductive polymer layer (¶61, ¶80).
In re claim 11, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein the first conductive polymer layer further contains a water-soluble polymer compound (¶54; Note that polyvinyl sulfonic acid is a water-soluble polymer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. (US Publication 2022/0162404) in view of Nobuta et al. (US Publication 2010/0033906).
In re claim 5, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 2, as explained above. Kubo further discloses the second conductive polymer has a higher conductivity than the first conductive polymer (¶78).
Kubo does not disclose wherein a polymerization degree of the first conductive polymer is lower than a polymerization degree of the second conductive polymer.
Nobuta discloses that increasing the degree of polymerization can increase the conductivity of the polymer layer (¶78).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the polymerization technique of Nobuta to arrive at the conductivity requirements of Kubo to provide for conductive polymers with desired conductivity and improved oxygen barrier properties (¶81: Nobuta), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. (US Publication 2022/0162404) in view of Hamada et al. (US Patent 6,224,639).
In re claim 6, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses wherein both the first conductive polymer and the second conductive polymer include a dopant (¶54, ¶78). Kubo further discloses the second conductive polymer has a higher conductivity than the first conductive polymer (¶78).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose a doping ratio of the dopant in the first conductive polymer is lower than a doping ratio of the dopant in the second conductive polymer.
Hamada discloses a first conductive polymer layer having a lower conductivity than a second conductive polymer layer (col.5 ll.21-26). Hamada further discloses that increasing the dopant amount increases the polymerization rate, and thus results in conductive polymer with higher conductivity (col.5 ll.28-37).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of dopant as suggested by Hamada to acquire a second conductive polymer having a higher conductivity than a first conductive polymer as required by Kubo, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 8, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 7, as explained above. Kubo further discloses the first and second conductive polymers include a dopant having a sulfonic acid group (¶54, ¶78).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose wherein a degree of sulfonation of the first polymer dopant is lower than a degree of sulfonation of the second polymer dopant.
Hamada discloses a first conductive polymer layer having a lower conductivity than a second conductive polymer layer (col.5 ll.21-26). Hamada further discloses that increasing the dopant amount increases the polymerization rate, and thus results in conductive polymer with higher conductivity (col.5 ll.28-37).
The combination of Kubo and Hamada discloses a degree of sulfonation of the first polymer dopant is lower than a degree of sulfonation of the second polymer dopant.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of dopant resulting in a higher degree of polymerization, and thus sulfonation, as suggested by Hamada to acquire a second conductive polymer having a higher conductivity than a first conductive polymer as required by Kubo, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. (US Publication 2022/0162404) in view of Yoshida et al. (US publication 2010/0165546).
In re claim 9, Kubo discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Kubo further discloses the second conductive polymer has a higher conductivity than the first conductive polymer and having a dopant that is a sulfonic group (¶54, ¶78).
Kubo does not disclose wherein both the first conductive polymer layer and the second conductive polymer layer contain an alkaline component, and a content of the alkaline component in the first conductive polymer layer is higher than a content of the alkaline component in the second conductive polymer layer.
Yoshida discloses the addition of an alkaline compound in an electrolyte layer having a sulfonic acid group is correlated to the conductivity of the electrolyte layer (¶168).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the alkaline content of the conductive polymer layers of Kubo to achieve a desired conductivity of the conductive polymer layers, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishimura et al. (US Publication 2012/0212880) Figure 2, Figure 4, [¶46]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847