DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 11,635,315, hereafter Williams) in view of Madsen. (US 3,286,109)
With respect to claim 1, Williams teaches a fluid flow sensing system comprising: a light source and a light sensor; an optical fiber (54) including a fiber core exposed at a face of the optical fiber such that light from the light source can pass out of and into the fiber core; an anemometer for measuring a fluid flow, the anemometer including: a stator (66); a rotor (58) including one or more blades having a reflective surface for reflecting light from the fiber core back into the fiber core for measurement by the light sensor; and a gap between the stator and the rotor, wherein the anemometer is positioned at the face of the optical fiber such that, as the rotor rotates, the blades of the rotor pass the fiber core reflecting light from the light source back into the fiber core, the fiber core receives the light reflected by the reflective surface and transmits it to the light sensor. (col. 3, lines 45-65, Fig. 1)
Williams does not explicitly teach a stabilizing agent is filled in the gap between the stator and the rotor.
However, it is known in the art to provide a stabilizing agent between a stator and a rotor to dampen vibrations. For example, Madsen teaches an apparatus having a rotor and a stator and a stabilizing agent filling the space between the two. (col. 2, lines 10-24)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Williams to include a stabilizing agent, as taught by Madsen, in order to reduce the oscillations occurring in the rotating assembly.
With respect to claims 2-4, although Williams, as modified by Madsen, does not explicitly teach the type of stabilizing agent, these are known materials which would perform appropriately and therefore would have been obvious choices to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
With respect to claims 5-6 and 10, although Williams, as modified by Madsen, does not explicitly discuss microfluidic channels these are known in the art and therefore would have been an obvious choice of design in order to provide the material into the gap of Williams.
With respect to claims 7-9, although Williams, as modified by Madsen, does not explicitly discuss the function of the stabilizing agent this would be a function of the stabilizing agent that is chosen and therefore It would have been obvious to one spelled out having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use known materials having predictable effects on the structure.
With respect to claim 11, Williams teaches an anemometer (50) for measuring a fluid flow comprising: a stator (66); a rotor (58) including one or more blades having a reflective surface for reflecting light from a fiber core back into the fiber core for measurement by a light sensor; and a gap between the stator and the rotor. (col. 3, lines 45-65, Fig. 1)
Williams does not explicitly teach a stabilizing agent is filled in the gap between the stator and the rotor.
However, it is known in the art to provide a stabilizing agent between a stator and a rotor to dampen vibrations. For example, Madsen teaches an apparatus having a rotor and a stator and a stabilizing agent filling the space between the two. (col. 2, lines 10-24)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Williams to include a stabilizing agent, as taught by Madsen, in order to reduce the oscillations occurring in the rotating assembly.
With respect to claim 12, Williams teaches the reflective surface is a gold coating coated on a bottom surface of the one or more blades.
With respect to claim 13, although Williams does not explicitly teach the reflective surface is coated on all the blades of the rotor, this would have been an obvious modification in order to provide complete reflectance as the rotor turns.
With respect to claims 14-16, although Williams, as modified by Madsen, does not explicitly teach the type of stabilizing agent, these are known materials which would perform and appropriately and therefore would have been obvious choices to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
With respect to claim 17, Williams teaches a flow sensing system comprising: a light source; a light sensor; and a micro, optomechanical anemometer comprising: an optical fiber including a fiber core exposed at a face of the optical fiber (54) such that light from the light source can pass out of and into the fiber core; a stator (66); a rotor (58) including one or more blades having a reflective surface for reflecting light from the fiber core back into the fiber core for measurement by the light sensor; and a gap between the stator and the rotor, wherein the micro, optomechanical anemometer is positioned at the face of the optical fiber such that, as the rotor rotates, the blades of the rotor pass the fiber core reflecting light from the light source back into the fiber core, the fiber core receives the light reflected by the reflective surface and transmits it to the light sensor. (col. 3, lines 45-65, Fig. 1)
Williams does not explicitly teach a stabilizing agent is filled in the gap between the stator and the rotor.
However, it is known in the art to provide a stabilizing agent between a stator and a rotor to dampen vibrations. For example, Madsen teaches an apparatus having a rotor and a stator and a stabilizing agent filling the space between the two. (col. 2, lines 10-24)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Williams to include a stabilizing agent, as taught by Madsen, in order to reduce the oscillations occurring in the rotating assembly.
With respect to claims 18-20, although Williams, as modified by Madsen, does not explicitly teach the type of stabilizing agent, these are known materials which would perform appropriately and therefore would have been obvious choices to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 3,680,378; US 4,851,666; and WO 0146662 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853