DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 19/092,617. Claims 1-9 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) because the range of hydroxy content is broader than the range in claim 1, from which claim 7 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695, included in the IDS) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2011-184663, included in the IDS).
Yoshikawa et al teaches a thermally conductive sheet comprising graphite particles and polymer (overview). The long axis of the graphite particles is oriented in the thickness direction of the sheet (overview). The polymer includes a poly acrylate ester (par. 24). The polymer includes hydroxy groups (par. 27). The polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 to 1,000,000 (par. 32). The polymer has a glass transition temperature of -70 to 20 °C (par. 24). The sheet is not required to contain sulfur. Therefore, it may be reasonably inferred that the sulfur content is zero. The amount of graphite particles is 40-80 % by weight (par. 48).
In an example, the conductive sheet has a thickness of 0.15 mm, which equates to 150 µm (par. 76).
A method of forming the thermally conductive sheet includes a step of forming a primary sheet including the graphite and the polymer, a laminating step, and a slicing step (par. 74-76).
Yoshikawa et al does not teach the content of the hydroxy groups in mmol/g.
However, Suzuki et al teaches a thermally conductive sheet comprising a polymer wherein the polymer contains 0.1-2 mmol/g of carboxyl groups (p. 2, claim 1). A carboxyl content in the above range provides adequate strength and flexibility (p. 8). It is well known in the art that a carboxyl group includes one hydroxy group. Therefore, the corresponding hydroxy content is 0.1-2 mmol/g.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the hydroxy group content of Suzuki et al with the polymer comprising hydroxy of Yoshikawa et al in order to provide adequate strength and flexibility.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695, included in the IDS) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2011-184663, included in the IDS) and further in view of Yoshikawa et al (US 2010/0073882).
Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2011-184663) teaches a method of forming a thermally conductive sheet as described above.
Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2011-184663) does not teach that the primary sheet is formed by coating.
However, Yoshikawa et al (US 2010/0073882) teaches a method of making a thermally conductive sheet comprising a step of making a primary sheet by painting a composition onto a substrate (par. 88, 113). Painting onto a substrate satisfies coating.
Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695) and Yoshikawa et al (US 2010/0073882) are both directed to a method of making a thermally conductive sheet comprising a step of forming a primary sheet composed of graphite and polymer. Yoshikawa et al (US 2010/0073882) further teaches that the primary sheet is formed by painting (coating) the graphite and polymer composition onto a substrate. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the painting (coating) step of Yoshikawa et al (US 2010/0073882) with the method of Yoshikawa et al (JP 2012-158695) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2011-184663) in order to obtain a known and convenient means of forming the primary sheet.
Examiner’s Information