DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statements
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/27/25 and 04/13/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/792,320, filed on July 12, 2022.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0001] of the originally filed specification, reference to parent case 17/792,320 should be updated so as to reflect the fact that this application has now issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,273,758.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0056925.
As to claim 1, Jung et al '925 discloses
an operation method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the operation method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including Logged minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration information, wherein the Logged MDT configuration information includes area configuration information (see step S1210 in figure 12 and paragraph [0200] of Jung et al '925 which discloses that the user equipment receives, from base station eNB, a radio resource control message including Logged MDT configuration information wherein the Logged MDT configuration information includes area configuration information);
identifying a report type, based on the Logged MDT configuration information (see paragraph [0173] of Jung et al '925);
in case that the UE camps on a cell in a camped normally state, a registered public land mobile network RPLMN is included in a public land mobile network PLMN (see paragraph [0008] of Jung et al '925) identity list stored in the UE (see paragraphs [0021], [0095] and [0241] of Jung et al '925), and the cell is included in a logging area indicated in the area configuration information (inherently or obviously in Jung et al, the cell that the user equipment is camped on in a normal state will be included in a logging area indicated in the area configuration information), determining whether conditions corresponding to an event type of the report type are satisfied, based on the Logged MDT configuration information (see paragraph [0173] of Jung et al '925); and
performing logging of at least one measurement while the UE is in an RRC IDLE mode or an RRC INACTIVE mode within the logging area in case that the conditions are satisfied (see paragraphs [0006] and [0074] of Jung et al '925),
wherein whether the cell is included in the logging area is determined based on a system information block type 1 SIB1 (see paragraph [0207] of Jung et al '925 which discloses determining whether the cell is included in the logging area, and to the extent that Jung et al '925 does not indicate that such is based on a system information block type 1 (SIB1), such would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, the reason being that it was old and well-known in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's invention that communication between a user equipment and a base station is typically performed using SIB1, of which fact official notice is taken by the examiner).
As to claim 2, Jung et al '925 further discloses that determining whether the cell is included in the logging area is based on a PLMN identity information list, see paragraph [0212] of this reference.
As to claim 3, see paragraphs [0164] and [0223] of Jung et al '925 where this reference discloses using global cell identifier and PLMN identity.
As to claim 4, see paragraphs [0232] through [0291] of Jung et al '925 where this reference discloses determining whether the log entry into a PLMN list is valid or invalid.
As to claim 5, see paragraphs [0095] and [0164] of Jung et al '925 where this reference discloses that the area configuration information includes a tracking area code (TAC).
As to claims 6-10, the limitations of these claims would have been obvious using the same analysis as set forth above in the rejection claims 1-5, note that the Jung et al '925 operation method will inherently be performed in both the user equipment and the base station, because the wireless communication system of this reference is performed between the user equipment and the base station.
As to claims 11-20, the limitations of these claims also would have been obvious using the same analysis as set forth above in the rejection of claims 1-5, note that the user equipment and the base station in Jung et al '925 will both inherently or obviously include a communicator and at least one processor coupled with the communicator to perform the steps recited in claims 1-5.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,758. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are fully anticipated by what is recited in the claims of applicant's prior patent.
As to claim 1 of the instant application, note that the limitations recited on lines 1-6 are fully anticipated by what is recited on lines 1-10 of claim 1 of the '758 patent; the limitations recited on lines 7-12 are fully anticipated by what is recited on lines 11-13 of claim 1 of the '758 patent together with what is recited in claim 2 of the '758 patent; the limitations recited on lines 13-15 are fully anticipated by what is recited on lines 18-21 of claim 1 of the '758 patent; and the limitations recited on lines 16-17 are fully anticipated by what is recited on lines 14-17 of claim 1 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 2 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claim 4 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 3 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claim 8 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 4 of instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claim 9 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 5 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited on lines 6-7 of claim 10 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 6 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claim 6 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 7 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are anticipated by what is indicated in either claim 9 or claim 10 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 8 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in either claim 3 or claim 7 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 9 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in either claim 4, claim 9, claim 10 or claim 15 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 10 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are anticipated by what is recited in either claim 5 or claim 10 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 11 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claims 11 and 12 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 12 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are fully anticipated by what is recited in claim 14 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 13 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are anticipated by what is recited in claim 13 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 14 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are anticipated by what is recited in claim 14 of the '758 patent.
As to claim 15 of the instant application, note that the limitations of this claim are anticipated by either claim 5, claim 10 or claim 15 of the '758 patent.
As to claims 16-20, the limitations of these claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from what is recited in claims 1-15 of the '758 patent, the reason being that both the user equipment and the base station operating in the wireless communication system of applicant's previously claimed invention will inherently or obviously include a communicator and at least one processor in order to perform the operation method thereof.
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al '846 and Jung et al '832 disclose two additional examples of an operation method of a user equipment in a wireless communication system wherein radio resource control messages are received from a base station, where such control messages include Logged minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration information which includes area configuration information, similar to Jung et al '925, supra.
Conclusion
/KENNETH B WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 June 26, 2026