DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballan et al. (US Patent Pub 2020/0073487; hereinafter Ballan) in view of Okuzumi et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0052617; hereinafter Okuzumi).
With reference to claim 1, Ballan discloses a knob on display device (1), comprising:
a conductive cap (12/121), the conductive cap at a top of the knob on display device (1) (see paragraphs 31-32; Figs. 1-4);
a dome switch (19), the dome switch under the conductive cap (121), the dome switch (19) electrically connected to a touch surface (121) of the conductive cap (12) (see paragraph 37; Figs. 7-8);
a printed circuit including conductive pads (15), the conductive pads (15) including one or more dome switch pads (19), the dome switch (19) mounted on the one or more conductive pads (15) (see paragraphs 22, 37; Figs. 7-8);
an inner housing (11), the inner housing between the conductive cap (121) and the mounting structure (13), the inner housing enabled to rotate about a post (hollow recess/16) within the mounting structure (13) (see paragraphs 25-26, 28; Figs. 3-4); and
at least one electrode (14/15) comprising an electrically conductive material, the at least one electrode (14/15) including an electrode electrically connected to the touch surface (121) of the conductive cap (12) via the dome switch (19) and the one or more conductive pads, the electrode mechanically coupled (22, 21) to the inner housing to rotate with the inner housing (see paragraphs 22-23, 32-33; Figs. 3-4).
While disclosing all that is required as explained above, including a mounting structure (13), Ballan fails to specifically disclose the mounting structure as a base assembly as recited.
Okuzumi discloses a knob device (20) capable of receiving both vertical depression an rotational input (see paragraphs 54-55; Figs. 1-5) wherein the knob includes a base assembly (36), the base assembly at a bottom of the knob on display device (15) (see paragraphs 56-57; Fig. 1-5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a base assembly similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi which allows for input similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Ballan to thereby provide an alternative housing portion for supporting and attaching the operation knob to the panel (see Okuzumi; paragraph 57).
With reference to claim 2, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 1, wherein: Okuzumi further discloses a bottom side (38) of the base assembly (36) to mount to a touch screen of a touch screen device (16), so that the electrode is positioned in engagement proximity to the touch screen of the touch screen device through the base assembly (in teaching transmitting to the panel (15); see paragraphs 62, 65; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 3, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 2, wherein Okuzumi further discloses an adhesive applied to the bottom side of the base assembly to secure the knob on display device to the touch screen (15) (see paragraph 57; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 4, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 2, while Okuzumi discloses the electrodes are in engagement proximity to the touch screen display, there fails to be disclosure of the specific thickness of 0.5 millimeters or less of the base assembly as recited.
However, the examiner finds that the thickness of the base assembly, as taught by Okuzumi, would inherently need to have a thickness which allows for transmission to the touch panel (15), such that the base assembly has a thickness through which the electrode is positioned in engagement proximity to the touch screen (see paragraphs 62, 65; Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the thickness of the base to have a thickness to allow for transmission from the knob to the touch panel, similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi to thereby permit necessary transmission of input signals (Okuzumi; see paragraphs 62, 65).
With reference to claim 5, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 1, wherein Okuzumi further discloses wherein the base assembly (34) includes: one or more side walls (40, 42) extending toward the conductive cap (24) (see paragraphs 56, 59; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 7, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 1, wherein Ballan further discloses that wherein the conductive cap (121), the dome switch (19), and the printed circuit including the conductive pads (14/15) are to rotate with the inner housing (11) responsive to a rotation of the conductive cap (121) (see paragraphs 28-29, 33-34; Figs. 3-5).
With reference to claim 8, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 7, wherein Ballan further discloses that wherein a bearing (131) coupled to the inner housing (11); and the post coupled to the bearing to enable the inner housing and the electrode to rotate about the post (see paragraph 34; Figs. 3-4).
With reference to claim 11, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose all that is required as explained above with reference to the knob on display device of claim 1, wherein Ballan further discloses wherein the printed circuit including the conductive pads comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (see paragraph 37; Fig. 8).
With reference to claim 13, Ballan discloses a knob on display system (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a touch screen device comprising a touch sensor and a touch screen (see paragraphs 40-41, 45-46); and
a knob on display device (1) comprising;
a conductive cap (12/121), the conductive cap at a top of the knob on display device (1) (see paragraphs 31-32; Figs. 1-4);
a dome switch (19), the dome switch under the conductive cap (121), the dome switch (19) electrically connected to a touch surface (121) of the conductive cap (12); (see paragraph 37; Figs. 7-8);
a printed circuit including conductive pads (15), the conductive pads (15) including one or more dome switch pads (19), the dome switch (19) mounted on the one or more conductive pads (15) (see paragraphs 22, 37; Figs. 7-8);
an inner housing (11), the inner housing between the conductive cap (121) and the mounting structure (13), the inner housing enabled to rotate about a post (hollow recess/16) within the mounting structure (13) (see paragraphs 25-26, 28; Figs. 3-4); and
at least one electrode (14/15) comprising an electrically conductive material, the at least one electrode (14/15) including an electrode electrically connected to the touch surface (121) of the conductive cap (12) via the dome switch (19) and the one or more conductive pads, the electrode mechanically coupled (22, 21) to the inner housing to rotate with the inner housing (see paragraphs 22-23, 32-33; Figs. 3-4).
While disclosing all that is required as explained above, including a mounting structure (13), Ballan fails to specifically disclose the mounting structure as a base assembly as recited.
Okuzumi discloses a knob device (20) capable of receiving both vertical depression an rotational input (see paragraphs 54-55; Figs. 1-5) wherein the knob includes a base assembly (36), the base assembly at a bottom of the knob on display device (15) (see paragraphs 56-57; Fig. 1-5); and a bottom side (38) of the base assembly (36) [is] secured to the touch screen of the touch screen device, so that the electrode is positioned in engagement proximity to the touch screen of the touch screen device through the base assembly (in teaching transmitting to the panel (15); see paragraphs 62, 65; Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a base assembly similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi which allows for input similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Ballan to thereby provide an alternative housing portion for supporting and attaching the operation knob to the panel (see Okuzumi; paragraph 57).
With reference to claim 14, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display system of claim 13, wherein Okuzumi further discloses that the bottom side (38) of the base assembly (36) is secured to the touch screen (15) using an adhesive (see paragraphs 57, 89; Figs. 5, 9).
With reference to claim 15, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display system of claim 14, wherein Okuzumi further discloses wherein the adhesive spans at least substantially an entire surface of the bottom side of the base assembly (in teaching the bottom/attachment surface is bonded with an adhesive or transparent adhesive; see paragraphs 57, 89; Figs. 5, 9).
With reference to claim 16, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display system of claim 15, wherein Ballan further discloses that wherein the conductive cap (121), the dome switch (19), and the printed circuit including the conductive pads (14/15) are to rotate with the inner housing (11) responsive to a rotation of the conductive cap (121) (see paragraphs 28-29, 33-34; Figs. 3-5).
With reference to claim 18, Ballan discloses a method of assembling a knob on display system (1), the method comprising:
applying an adhesive to a bottom side of a base assembly of a knob on display device (see paragraphs 57, 89; Figs. 5, 9), the knob on display device (1) comprising a conductive cap (121), a dome switch (19), a printed circuit including conductive pads (14/15), and one or more electrodes (14/15) (see paragraphs 22-23, 37; Figs. 1, 5, 7-8),
the conductive cap (121) at the top of the knob on display device (1), the dome switch (19) under the conductive cap and electrically connected to the touch surface of the conductive cap (see paragraph 37; Figs. 7-8) ,
the conductive pads including one or more dome switch pads to mount the dome switch thereto (19) (see paragraphs 22, 37; Figs. 7-8),
the inner housing (11) between the conductive cap (121) and a mounting structure (13), the inner housing enabled to rotate about a post extending from the mounting structure (13) (see paragraphs 25-26, 28; Figs. 3-4),
the one or more electrodes comprising an electrically conductive material, the one or more electrodes including an electrode electrically connected to the touch surface (121) of the conductive cap (12) via the dome switch (19) and the one or more dome switch pads, the one or more electrodes mechanically coupled (21, 22) to the inner housing to rotate with the inner housing (see paragraphs 22-23, 32-33; Figs. 3-4).
While disclosing all that is required as explained above, including a mounting structure (13), Ballan fails to specifically disclose the mounting structure as a base assembly as recited.
Okuzumi discloses a knob device (20) capable of receiving both vertical depression an rotational input (see paragraphs 54-55; Figs. 1-5) wherein the knob includes a base assembly (36), the base assembly at a bottom of the knob on display device (15) (see paragraphs 56-57; Fig. 1-5); and a bottom side (38) of the base assembly (36) [is] secured to the touch screen of the touch screen device, so that the electrode is positioned in engagement proximity to the touch screen of the touch screen device through the base assembly (in teaching transmitting to the panel (15); see paragraphs 62, 65; Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a base assembly similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi which allows for input similar to that which is taught by Okuzumi to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Ballan to thereby provide an alternative housing portion for supporting and attaching the operation knob to the panel (see Okuzumi; paragraph 57).
With reference to claim 19, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the method of claim 18, wherein Okuzumi further discloses wherein applying the adhesive to the base assembly comprises applying the adhesive to substantially an entire surface of the bottom side of the base assembly (in teaching the bottom/attachment surface is bonded with an adhesive or transparent adhesive; see paragraphs 57, 89; Figs. 5, 9).
With reference to claim 20, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the method of claim 19, wherein Okuzumi further discloses wherein the one or more electrodes are positioned at a fixed distance from the touch sensor of the touch screen device (see paragraph 61).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballan and Okuzumi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Rao et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0014141; hereinafter Rao).
With reference to claim 6, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display device of claim 5, and while Okuzumi discloses the usage of a seal between the bottom surface and the conductive elements (see paragraph 80), there fails to be disclosure of a seal as recited.
Rao discloses a button assembly having a button cap (410) and one or more side walls (440) comprising: one or more seals (470) between the one or more side walls (440) of the base assembly and the conductive cap (410).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to allow the usage of a seal provided between the base and the cap similar to that which is taught by Rao to be carried out on a knob on display device similar to that which is taught by Ballan and Okuzumi to thereby incorporate an environmental seal to thereby effectively prevent ingress of foreign matter (see Rao; paragraph 28).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballan and Okuzumi as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Arnold et al. (US Patent No. 10,705,629; hereinafter Arnold).
With reference to claim 9, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display device of claim 8, however fails to disclose the usage of detents of the base assembly as recited.
Arnold discloses a knob (12) on display (14) comprising: detents (68) of the base assembly (12-H); and one or more detent actuators (64) of the inner housing (12-2), the one or more detent actuators to provide mechanical resistance to rotation of the inner housing about the post (see column 6, lines 29-47; Figs. 3-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of detents similar to that which is taught by Arnold to be carried out in a knob on display device similar to that which is taught by Ballan and Okuzumi to create localized resistance to rotation of the knob (see 5, lines 9-13).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballan and Okuzumi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gipson et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0319727; hereinafter Gipson).
With reference to claim 12, Ballan and Okuzumi disclose the knob on display device of claim 1, and while Ballan discloses the printed circuit includes conductive pads (151) (see paragraph 37), there however fail to be disclosure of a flexible printed circuit comprising a folded portion as recited.
Gipson discloses a foldable flexible circuit board (see abstract; Figs. 3-6) wherein the printed circuit including the conductive pads comprises a flexible printed circuit, the flexible printed circuit (36) being folded to enable a portion thereof to lay flat relative to the touch sensor surface (54) (see paragraphs 35-37, 40-41; Figs. 3-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PALEXZNYY et al. (US2010/0156823) discloses the usage of a dome switch positioned under a touch-sensitive display of an electronic device to receive input when an applied force to the touch-sensitive display is applied (see paragraphs 13-35; Figs. 1-6).
AHN (US2005/0199477) discloses a scroll key having a selecting switch wherein a FPC assembled on the base such that a button and the FPC are fixed on the base board together (see paragraphs 28-40; Figs. 1-6).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625