DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 3/27/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-11 are elected. Claims 12-20 are not elected.
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-11, drawn to a system for optimizing paper making process of a paper machine, classified in D21G 9/0009.
II. Claims 12-20, drawn to a method of optimizing paper making process of a paper machine, classified in D21H3/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions 1 and 2 are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the optimization process can be completed by a person without the system.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with ATTORNEY SHUKLA on 10/7/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group 1, claims 1-11. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 12-20 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “receive a process parameters” in line 3 is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “determine amount of” in line 3 is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "nozzle assembly" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 depends from claim 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "as the process parameter" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner understands the phrase is in reference to the claim 1 limitation of “received process parameters”. The claim 1 limitation is directed to a plurality of parameters and the dependent claim 8 is directed to a singular parameter that was not established prior.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) “determine an optimal concentration level of a plurality of dosing additives based on the received process parameters; and control concentration level of the plurality of dosing additives for optimizing the papermaking process based on the determined optimal concentration level.” This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited claim limitations do not integrate physical means to achieve the limitation. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the invention does not make an action beyond changing additive dosing which may be done by other common means like a metering pump on a timer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1).
For claim 1, HUHTELIN teaches a method of paper production that uses a system to improve (optimize) the production [0045]. This teaches the limitation of “A system for optimizing paper making process of a paper machine, the system comprising.” The improvements are to basis weight control by the use of additive and tracking their concentration measurements and the final weights [0044]. This teaches the limitation of “a process device configured to: receive a process parameters corresponding to characteristics of the material and chemical composition that is used in a paper making process”. The optimal basis weight is found based on the optimal flow rate (parameter) and controlled by the concentration [0044]. This teaches the limitation of “an optimal concentration level of a plurality of dosing additives based on the received process parameters; and control concentration level of the plurality of dosing additives for optimizing the paper making process based on the determined optimal concentration level”.
For claim 2, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the optimal concentration level is determined by concentration measurements and calculations [0042]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein, to determine the optimal concentration level, the process device is further configured to: compare the received process parameters with predefined reference values; determine deviations in the received process parameters based on the comparison; calculate an adjustment in the concentration level of the plurality of dosing additives based on the determined deviations; and determine an optimal concentration level of the plurality of dosing additives based on the calculated adjustment in the concentration level”.
For claim 3, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the use of a controller and signaling equipment [0094] to control a dosing pump line feeding additive [0029]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the process device is further configured to: generate at least one control signal based on the received process parameters; and transmit the at least one control signal to at least one dosing pump, wherein the at least one control signal is transmitted to control the concentration level of the plurality of dosing additives”.
For claim 5, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 3, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the use of a controller and signaling equipment [0094] to control a dosing pump line feeding additive [0029]. The dosing pump can also lead to a blending chest (mixer) [0026]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: at least one dosing pump configured to determine amount of a plurality of dosing additives based on the at least one control signal received from the process device, and transmit the amount of the plurality of dosing additives in a controlled manner to a mixer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1) in view of MILLER (US 5740844).
For claim 6, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 5, as above. HUHTELIN teaches a blend chest (mixer) but does not teach a mixer with a nozzle assembly. MILLER teaches a filling system for a packaging machine similar to the feed system of HUHTELIN [abstract]. MILLER also teaches the system uses a tri-clamp arrangement to hold the feed line in place. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: a mixer comprising: a nozzle mounted, via a tri-clamp arrangement, on a process pipeline, wherein the nozzle assembly includes an inner core for injecting the plurality of dosing additives received from the at least one dosing pump and an outer core for supplying dilution water; and a pressure-controlled booster pump configured to supply dilution water at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of a process fluid received from the process pipeline”. MILLER also teaches the advantage of the tri-clamp is that it allows for fast and simple switch between in-line cleaning and production [col 2 line 53]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the tri-clamp arrangement of MILLER into the system of HUHTELIN. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the versatility of the tri-clamp as taught by MILLER.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1) in view of NIOPPONEN (US 20170160206 A1).
For claim 4, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the concentration of additive is controlled [0013]. HUHTELIN does not teach the measurement method for concentration. NUOPPONEN teaches a similar measurement and control of additive concentration in papermaking [0001]. NUOPPONEN further teaches the concentration is measured by turbidity and Total Suspended Solids (TSS) [0044 and 0085]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the process parameters corresponds to at least one of pH value, conductivity value, total suspended solids (TSS) concentration value, charge density value, or turbidity value”. NUOPPONEN teaches the advantage of the in-line TSS measurement is the improved turbidity measurement at higher consistencies [0054]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the in-line turbidity measurement of NUOPPONEN into the system of HUHTELIN to produce paper. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved turbidity measurement at higher consistencies, as taught by NUOPPONEN.
For claim 11, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the concentration of additive is controlled [0013]. HUHTELIN does not teach the measurement method for concentration. NUOPPONEN teaches a similar measurement and control of additive concentration in papermaking [0001]. NUOPPONEN further teaches the concentration is measured by turbidity and Total Suspended Solids (TSS) [0044 and 0085]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the process device is further configured to: receive at least one of a pH value, a conductivity value, and a total suspended solids (TSS) concentration value from a plurality of sensors, wherein the plurality of sensors is in communication with the paper machine”. NUOPPONEN teaches the advantage of the in-line TSS measurement is the improved turbidity measurement at higher consistencies [0054]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the in-line turbidity measurement of NUOPPONEN into the system of HUHTELIN to produce paper. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved turbidity measurement at higher consistencies, as taught by NUOPPONEN.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1) and MILLER (US 5740844) in view of SCHRADER (US 20230028512 A1).
For claim 7, HUHTELIN and MILLER teach the system of claim 6, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the control of stock preparation by mixing/blending [0012]. HUHTELIN teaches the additives are passed through the nozzle. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the mixer is configured to: receive the plurality of dosing additives from the inner core of the nozzle assembly and dilution water from the outer core of the nozzle assembly;”. HUHTELIN does not teach the assembly making a fine mist. SHRADER teaches a similar tri-clover clamp assembly to hold a nozzle [0163]. The assembly is used to create a spray (fine mist) [0163]. This teaches the limitation of “generate a fine mist at a tip of nozzle assembly by combining the plurality of dosing additives with the dilution water; and perform mixing of the generated fine mist with the process fluid inside the pipeline”. SCHRADER also teaches the advantage of the assembly is that it allows for the vaporization of water without a separate unit [0124]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to expect tri-clamp nozzle arrangement of MILLER to produce a spray like the similar arrangement of SCHRADER. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the same arrangement and the advantage of the assembly needing only one unit as taught by SCHRADER.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1) in view of KARPPI (US 20140110073 A1).
For claim 8, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the concentration of additive is controlled [0013]. HUHTELIN does not teach the measurement method for concentration. KARPPI teaches a similar control of additive in papermaking [0063]. KARPPI teaches the concentration is measured by charge density of the filtrate [0063]. KARPPI teaches the charge density is used as a process parameter [0073 and 0078]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: a charge analyzer unit configured to: continuously extract a filtrate from a headbox of the paper machine; measure a charge density value of the filtrate; and provide the measured charge density value as the process parameter to the process device”. KARPPI teaches the advantage of the invention is the improved efficiency of the fixative additive and its simple use [0014]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the charge density of KARPPI into the system of HUHTELIN. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved efficiency of the fixative additive use and ease of use as taught by KARPPI.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUHTELIN (US 20050016704 A1) in view of KARPPI (US 20140110073 A1) and DESKINS (US 20060006114 A1).
For claim 9, HUHTELIN teaches the system of claim 1, as above. HUHTELIN teaches the concentration of additive is controlled [0013]. HUHTELIN does not teach the measurement method for concentration. KARPPI teaches a similar control of additive in papermaking [0063]. KARPPI teaches the concentration is measured by turbidity of the filtrate [0063]. KARPPI teaches the filtrate is drained from the fiber and the turbidity measurement is used [0063]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: a turbidity tester unit that comprises: a filtrate unit configured to separate a filtrate from a pulp received from the paper machine” and “send the turbidity value to the process device”.
KARPPI does not teach the use of a vacuum filtration system. DESKINS teaches the filtration of the pulp is completed by vacuum filtration [0038]. This teaches the limitation of “; a vacuum pump coupled to the filtrate unit and configured to enhance the filtration of the filtrate from the pulp”. DESKIN teaches the use of a flowmeter to control and measure the flow [0134]. This teaches the limitation of “a flow cell configured to receive the filtrate from the filtrate unit; and a turbidity sensor disposed within the flow cell and configured to measure turbidity value of the filtrate,”. DESKINS teaches the advantage of the system is that self-contained water usage [0183]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the cleaning system of DESKINS into the system of HUHTELIN. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the efficiency of water use as taught by DESKINS.
For claim 10, HUHTELIN, KARPPI, and DESKINS teach the system of claim 9, as above. HUHTELIN and KARPPI do not teach the cleaning method of the tester. DESKINS teaches the measurement and control of turbidity [0161]. DESKINS teaches the system is also cleaned by flushing water through the turbidimeter and through a drain valve [0245]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the turbidity tester unit further comprising: a water booster pump configured to supply pressurized cleaning water to the filtrate unit; and a filtrate drain valve configured to control the flow of pressurized cleaning water for flushing the filtrate unit”. DESKINS teaches the advantage of the system is that self-contained water usage [0183]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the cleaning system of DESKINS into the system of HUHTELIN. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the efficiency of water use as taught by DESKINS.
Conclusion
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748