Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous Claim Objections are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment to the claims.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim limitation “heating elements” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use generic placeholder “elements” coupled with functional language “heating” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 and 13 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under FIG. 1, [0032], heating elements 104a-f.
B. Claim limitation “control elements” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use generic placeholder “elements” coupled with functional language “control” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 and 13 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under FIG. 1, [0032], control elements 106a-f, and [0036] the control elements 106a-f are knobs that are adjustable.
C. Claim limitation “light elements” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use generic placeholder “elements” coupled with functional language “light” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 and 13 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under FIG. 1, [0032], light elements 102a-f.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a power level” in line 5 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “a power level” and a plurality of power levels mentioned in claim 1 line 4 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a power level” in line 4 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “a power level” and a power level mentioned in claim 3 line 5 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the one or more light elements are configured to be visible to a user of the cooktop system when one or more items of cookware are positioned above the one or more heating elements of the cooktop system” is unclear in context, because “one or more items of cookware” are an unclaimed part of the invention and this “one or more items of cookware” can have a variety of shapes and sizes and might block “the one or more light elements” and may not be visible to a user as claimed. Therefore, the limitation of claim 12 are indefinite (See MPEP 2173.05(b) II). Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the at least one or more heating elements” in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a power level” in line 1 rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between this “a power level” and a power level mentioned in claim 13 line 15 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the one of more of the heating elements” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the one of more of the heating elements” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the one or more of the one or more control elements” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the one of more of the heating elements” in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “wherein the one or more light elements are configured to be visible to a user of the cooktop system when one or more items of cookware are positioned above the one or more heating elements of the cooktop system” is unclear in context, because “one or more items of cookware” are an unclaimed part of the invention and this “one or more items of cookware” can have a variety of shapes and sizes and might block “the one or more light elements” and may not be visible to a user as claimed. Therefore, the limitation of claim 12 are indefinite (See MPEP 2173.05(b) II). Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
The rest of the claims are also been rejected because each claim depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbey (EP 1 020 686 A1) in view of SAPORETTI et al. (US 2020/0128630 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Hilbey disclose a cooktop system (see Fig 1), comprising:
a cooktop including one or more heating elements spaced apart along a cooktop surface (cooking surface has four burners 3-6 spaced apart along a cooktop surface, [0010], Fig 1) and one or more control elements (four control means 7-10, [0011], Fig 1) that control power delivered to each of the one or more heating elements, the one or more control elements are adjustable to provide a plurality of power levels to each of the one or more heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011]), the one or more control elements are positioned along a front surface of the cooktop (four control means 7-10 are positioned along a front surface of the cooktop, Fig 1) and the one or more heating elements are spaced apart along the cooktop surface between the front surface and a rear surface of the cooktop opposite the front surface (burners 3-6 are spaced apart along the cooktop surface between the front surface and a rear surface of the cooktop opposite the front surface, Fig 1); and
one or more light elements of the cooktop surface (indicator lights 11-14, [0013], Fig 1), each light element of the one or more light elements spaced apart along the cooktop surface from the one or more control elements with respect to a corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (each indicator light 11-14 spaced apart along the cooktop surface from the one or more control elements 7-10 with respect to a corresponding one of the one or more heating elements, Figs 1-2) and between the corresponding one of the one or more heating elements and the front surface of the cooktop (indicator light 11-14 between the corresponding one of the four burners 3-6 and the front surface of the cooktop, Fig 1), the one or more light elements include a plurality of power indication stages that correspond to the plurality of power levels (apparent speed of movement of the light points can be used to visualize the level of power control of the focus, [0022], Fig 3);
wherein, responsive to an adjustment of at least one of the one or more control elements to select a power level from the plurality of power levels of at least one of the one or more heating elements, the cooktop system is configured to activate a corresponding one of the one or more light elements positioned at the corresponding one of the one or more heating elements to illuminate a power indication stage of the plurality of power indication stages that corresponds to the power level of the corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (a one-second increment period is used to visualize a low power control level and a shorter period to visualize a higher power control level, [0022], Fig 3).
Hilbey discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose one or more light elements of a cooktop surface (taught already by Hilbey); and each light element of the one or more light elements positioned at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (“the one or more heating elements” taught already by Hilbey);
SAPORETTI et al. further teach a cooktop system (see Title), and one or more light elements (light source 11, [0035], Figs 1-2. Note: “one or more light elements” taught by Hilbey already) of a cooktop surface (a cooktop surface including top plate 3 and a support portion 5, [0034-0035], Fig 1), each light element of the one or more light elements (Note: “each light element of the one or more light elements” taught by Hilbey already) positioned at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (light source 11 positioned at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding heating element- coil 2, [0034], Fig 2. Note: “the one or more heating elements” taught by Hilbey already);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to add Hilbey with SAPORETTI et al.’s further teaching of one or more light elements of a cooktop surface; each light element of the one or more light elements positioned at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of the one or more heating elements; because SAPORETTI et al. teach, in Para. [0005], of providing an excellent light indicators with enhanced information content in order to improve the usability of the induction hob.
Claim 2, wherein the one or more light elements are light bars (light bar 20, [0015], Fig 2, Hilbey).
Claim 3, wherein the plurality of power indication stages (Note: “the plurality of power indication stages” taught by Hilbey already) incrementally and symmetrically extend further outwardly towards a right side and a left side of the cooktop from a center portion of each of the one or more light elements (light guide 13.1 may extend form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at the one or more control elements (Note: “to adjustments at the one or more control elements” taught by Hilbey already) to increase a power level supplied to one or more of the one or more heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey), wherein the center portion of each of the light elements is aligned with a center of each of the corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (see Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.).
Claim 4, wherein the plurality of power indication stages (Note: “the plurality of power indication stages” taught by Hilbey already) incrementally and symmetrically retract inwardly towards the center portion from outer portions of each of the one or more light elements (light guide 13.1 may extend form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at the one or more control elements (Note: “to adjustments at the one or more control elements” taught by Hilbey already) to decrease a power level supplied to one or more of the one or more heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey).
Claim 5, wherein the one or more light elements are horizontal light bars positioned visually below each of the one or more heating elements when viewed from above the cooktop system (The line can be any shape, [0013], details see Figs 1-3, Hilbey).
Claim 6, wherein the plurality of power indication stages are symmetrical on both sides of the center portion (Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.).
Claim 7, wherein the light bars are curved light bars positioned visually below each of the one or more heating elements (The line can be any shape, [0013], details see Figs 1-3, Hilbey).
Claim 8, wherein the plurality of power indication stages includes four power indication stages for each one of the one or more light elements (a one-second increment period is used to visualize a low power control level and a shorter period to visualize a higher power control level, [0022], Hilbey; clearly, the light elements capable of “includes four power indication stages” as claimed).
Claim 10, wherein each of the one or more light elements is individually responsive to one of the one or more control elements (four indicator lights 11 to 14 are located on the hob… the second end of which is located in the vicinity of the control panel close to the control means with which it is associated, [0013], Figs 1 and 3, Hilbey).
Claim 11, wherein the one or more heating elements are induction heating elements (an induction hob, [0018], Hilbey).
Claim 12, wherein the one or more light elements are configured to be visible to a user of the cooktop system when one or more items of cookware are positioned above the one or more heating elements of the cooktop system (lights visible by transparency under a transparent hearth plate 23 made for example of glass or glass-ceramic… each indicator light 11 to 14 is produced by means of a light bar 20, [0014-0015], Figs 1-3, Hilbey).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Hilbey disclose a method of displaying a plurality of power levels of a cooktop (display means is a light indicator… the temperature of the hearth, the power control level of the hearth, [0005], Fig 1), the method comprising:
positioning one or more light elements (indicator lights 11-14, [0013], Fig 1) of a cooktop surface at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of one or more heating elements of the cooktop (cooking surface has four burners 3-6, [0010], Fig 1), the one or more light elements are spaced apart along the cooktop surface from one or more control elements (four control means 7-10, [0011], Fig 1), the one or more light elements include a plurality of power indication stages that correspond to the plurality of power levels of each of the one or more heating elements (apparent speed of movement of the light points can be used to visualize the level of power control of the focus, [0022], Fig 3), each of the one or more light elements extends in a direction parallel to the one or more light elements (see Fig 1);
activating at least one of the one or more heating elements by actuating a corresponding one of the one or more control elements (four control means 7-10, each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Fig 1);
illuminating the one or more light elements at each of the at least one of the one or more heating elements that are activated (a one-second increment period is used to visualize a low power control level and a shorter period to visualize a higher power control level, [0022], Fig 3); and
adjusting one of the at least one or more heating elements activated during the activating step to a power level of the plurality of power levels (the power control level of the fireplace given by the user using the control means, the temperature of the fireplace, [0020]); and
Hilbey discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the method comprising: positioning one or more light elements (Note: “the one or more light elements” taught by Hilbey already) of a cooktop surface at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of one or more heating elements (Note: “one or more heating elements” taught by Hilbey already) of the cooktop;
SAPORETTI et al. further teach a cooktop system (see Title), and one or more light elements (light source 11, [0035], Figs 1-2) of a cooktop surface (a cooktop surface including top plate 3 and a support portion 5, [0034-0035], Fig 1), and a method comprising: positioning one or more light elements of a cooktop surface (an induction cooking device 1, [0034]; light source 11, [0035], Figs 1-2. Note: “the one or more light elements of a cooktop surface” taught by Hilbey already) at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of one or more heating elements (light source 11 positioned at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding heating element- coil 2, [0034], Fig 2. coil 2, [0034], Fig 2. Note: “one or more heating elements” taught by Hilbey already) of the cooktop;
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to add Hilbey with SAPORETTI et al.’s further teaching of a method comprising: positioning one or more light elements of a cooktop surface at and centered visually with respect to a corresponding one of one or more heating elements of the cooktop; because SAPORETTI et al. teach, in Para. [0005], of providing an excellent light indicators with method of enhancing information content in order to improve the usability of the induction hob.
Claim 14, wherein the one or more light elements are light bars (light bar 20, [0015], Fig 2, Hilbey).
Claim 15, wherein an adjustment of a power level of the plurality of power levels increases the power level of the plurality of power levels of the one or more heating elements activated during the activating step (four control means 7-10, each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011]. Hilbey); and
adjusting the power indication stage of the one or more light elements (Note: “the adjusting the power indication stage of the light element” taught by Hilbey already) includes incrementally extending an illuminated area of the one or more light elements further outwardly from a center portion of the one or more light elements (light guide 13.1 may extend form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at the control element (Note: “the one or more light elements responsive to adjustments at the one or more control elements” taught by Hilbey already) to increase the power level of the plurality of power levels supplied to one or more of the one or more heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey), wherein the center portion of each of the one or more light elements is aligned with a center of each of the corresponding one of the one or more heating elements (see Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.).
Claim 16, wherein an adjustment of a power level of the plurality of power levels decreases the power level of the plurality of power levels of one of the one or more heating elements activated during the activating step (four control means 7-10, each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011]. Hilbey); and
adjusting the power indication stage of the one or more light elements (Note: “the adjusting the power indication stage of the light element” taught by Hilbey already) includes incrementally retracting an illuminated area of the one or more light elements inwardly towards the center portion from outer portions of each of the one or more light elements (light guide 13.1… form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at one or more of the one or more control elements (Note: “the light elements responsive to adjustments at the control element” taught by Hilbey already) to decrease the power level of the plurality of power levels supplied to the one or more of the heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey).
Claim 17, wherein an adjustment of a power level of the plurality of power levels increases the power level of the plurality of power levels of one of the one or more heating elements activated during the activating step (four control means 7-10, each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011]. Hilbey); and
adjusting the power indication stage of the one or more light elements (Note: “the adjusting the power indication stage of the light element” taught by Hilbey already) includes incrementally growing an illuminated area of the one or more light elements outwardly from a first side of the one or more light elements (light guide 13.1… form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at one or more of the one or more control elements (Note: “the light element responsive to adjustments at the one or more control elements” taught by Hilbey already) to increase the power level supplied to the one or more of the heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey).
Claim 18, wherein the adjustment of the power level decreases the power level of one of the activated heating elements (four control means 7-10, each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011]. Hilbey); and
the adjusting the power indication stage of the light element (Note: “the adjusting the power indication stage of the light element” taught by Hilbey already) includes incrementally retracting an illuminated area of the light element inwardly towards a first side of the light element and away from a second side of each of the light elements (light guide 13.1… form an inner portion of the induction coil 2, [0042], Fig 2, SAPORETTI et al.) responsive to adjustments at the one or more control elements to decrease the power level supplied to one or more of the heating elements (each of which can control the power level delivered by one of the four burners 3-6, [0011], Hilbey)
Claim 19, wherein the one or more control elements comprises a plurality of control elements (four control means 7-10, [0011], Fig 1, Hilbey), wherein each of the one or more light elements is individually responsive to one of the plurality of control elements (four indicator lights 11 to 14 are located on the hob… the second end of which is located in the vicinity of the control panel close to the control means with which it is associated, [0013], Figs 1 and 3, Hilbey).
Claim 20, wherein the one or more heating elements are induction heating elements (an induction hob, [0018], Hilbey).
Claim 21, wherein the one or more light elements are configured to be visible to a user of cooktop system when one or more items of cookware are positioned above the one or more heating elements of the cooktop system (lights visible by transparency under a transparent hearth plate 23 made for example of glass or glass-ceramic… each indicator light 11 to 14 is produced by means of a light bar 20, [0014-0015], Figs 1-3, Hilbey).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbey (EP 1 020 686 A1) in view of SAPORETTI et al. (US 2020/0128630 A1) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Millett (US 2017/0027378 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Hilbey in view of SAPORETTI et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claim 9.
Millett further teaches a cooktop system and apparatus (a heating appliance 16, [0023], Fig 1) including light element (reference numeral 10 generally refers to an indicial light module to) and Claim 9, wherein each one of the one or more light elements (Note: “the one or more light elements” taught by Hilbey already) includes a timer (a control 160 for operating the indicial light module 10 can include a timing function, [0033], Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to add Hilbey in view of SAPORETTI et al. with Millett’s further teaching of Claim 9; because Millett teaches, in P 2 Col 1 line 40-50, of providing an excellent control panel to provide user with illuminated lights of the actual cool down condition of the cooktop for operational safety purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action as stated above. The same prior art used under the Final Rejection been able to cover all the limitations of the amended claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761