DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5, 9, 11-18 also objected as being dependent on an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-3, 6-7, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vertegaal et al. (2017/0371407) “Vertegaal” in view of Singh et al. (2024/0404063) “Singh”.
As of claim 1, Vertegaal teaches
in response to detecting a first event that a user is detected to not pay attention to the first projection interface displayed on the second device, sending, by the second device to the first device, a first instruction for adjusting a projection effect ([0079-0080, 0083] teach adjust display relative to user’s attention);
adjusting, by the first device, the projection effect of the display interface of the first application according to the first instruction ([0057, 0076] teach among other relevant teachings, modulating audio and video data and/or modifying the size, resolution, or content of a window on a graphical user interface depending on user’s paying attention).
Vertegaal fails to teach wherein said
A method, applied to a projection system comprising a first device and a second device, and the method comprising:
projecting, by the first device, a display interface of a first application onto the second device;
displaying, by the second device, a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to the display interface of the first application on the first device;
receiving, by the first device, the first instruction.
However, Singh teaches
A method, applied to a projection system comprising a first device and a second device ([0014], Fig.1 teach a video exchange system 100 that includes a pair of terminal devices 110, 120 provided in mutual communication over a network 130. The terminals 110, 120 may exchange coded video either unidirectionally or bidirectionally over the network 130), and the method comprising:
projecting, by the first device, a display interface of a first application onto the second device ([0014] teaches a first terminal 110 may possess a camera 112 that generates a video stream representing locally-captured video content, an image preprocessor 114 that processes the video stream for transmission to a remote terminal 120);
displaying, by the second device, a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to the display interface of the first application on the first device ([0014] teaches “For example, the second terminal 120 may include a receiver 122 that recovered coded video data from the data received from the network 130, a video decoder 124 that inverts coding operations applied by the video encoder 116, a rendering unit 126 that prepares decoded video data for output at the second terminal 120, and a display system 128 that displays the recovered video content”);
receiving, by the first device, the first instruction ([0014] teaches “the second terminal 120 may include a receiver 122 that recovered coded video data from the data received from the network 130” which would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adapt the system to receive instructions from the first device to the second device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Vertegaal apparatus with the teachings of Singh as shown above, because the principles of Singh teachings may be integrated into personal computers, dedicated videoconferencing equipment, media players, personal digital assistants, media servers and gaming equipment (see [0016]).
As of claim 2, Vertegaal teaches
wherein the first event comprises at least one of the following events: the user is detected to not gaze at the first projection interface, a head of the user is detected to turn to an area other than the first projection interface, or the user does not touch the first projection interface ([0004] teaches systems involving detection of direct eye contact or an eye contact sensor for determining whether a user is looking at a target area, and using the determination of eye contact to control a device).
As of claim 3, Vertegaal teaches
wherein adjusting, by the first device, the projection effect of the display interface of the first application according to the first instruction comprises at least one of the following:
stopping encoding of a video picture corresponding to the display interface of the first application, stopping encoding of an audio corresponding to the display interface of the first application, or reducing at least one of a bitrate, a frame rate, or resolution of the video picture corresponding to the display interface of the first application ([0036] teaches a concept of enabling and/or disabling which would apply to stop actions being performed , [0051] teaches modifying the size, resolution, or content of a window on a graphical user interface according to user’s attention, [0076]).
As of claim 6, Vertegaal teaches
wherein adjusting, by the first device, the projection effect of the display interface of the first application according to the first instruction further comprises:
stopping, by the first device, displaying the display interface of the first application ([0079] teaches using object to deliver information when a user is paying attention to the device, deferring that information's delivery when the user's attention is directed elsewhere. Thus, it is obvious that the display of an application being displayed would stop when user’s attention is elsewhere).
As of claim 7, Vertegaal teaches
wherein after adjusting, by the first device, the projection effect of the display interface of the first application according to the first instruction, the method further comprises:
stopping, by the second device, displaying the first projection interface ([0079] teaches using object to deliver information when a user is paying attention to the device, deferring that information's delivery when the user's attention is directed elsewhere. Thus, it is obvious that the display of an application being displayed would stop when user’s attention is elsewhere).
As of claim 19, Vertegaal teaches
in response to detecting a first event that a user is detected to not pay attention to the first projection interface displayed on the second device, send a first instruction for adjusting a projection effect to the first device ([0079-0080, 0083] teach adjust display relative to user’s attention).
Vertegaal fails to teach wherein said
a second device, comprising:
one or more processors and at least one memory storing a plurality of applications and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the second device is caused to:
display a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to a display interface of a first application on a first device.
However, Singh teaches wherein said
a second device ([0014], Fig.1 teach a video exchange system 100 that includes a pair of terminal devices 110, 120 provided in mutual communication over a network 130), comprising:
one or more processors and at least one memory storing a plurality of applications and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors ([0038]), the second device is caused to:
display a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to a display interface of a first application on a first device ([0014] teaches a first terminal 110 may possess a camera 112 that generates a video stream representing locally-captured video content, an image preprocessor 114 that processes the video stream for transmission to a remote terminal 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Vertegaal apparatus with the teachings of Singh as shown above, because the principles of Singh teachings may be integrated into personal computers, dedicated videoconferencing equipment, media players, personal digital assistants, media servers and gaming equipment (see [0016]).
As of claim 20, Vertegaal teaches wherein said
receive a first instruction that is for adjusting a projection effect and that is sent by the second device ([0036] teaches a concept of enabling and/or disabling which would apply to stop actions being performed, [0079-0080, 0083] teach adjust display relative to user’s attention); and
adjust the projection effect of the display interface of the first application according to the first instruction ([0036] teaches a concept of enabling and/or disabling which would apply to stop actions being performed, [0079-0080, 0083] teach adjust display relative to user’s attention).
Vertegaal teaches wherein said
a first device, comprising:
one or more processors and at least one memory storing a plurality of applications and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the first device is caused to:
project a display interface of a first application onto a second device, so that the second device displays a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to the display interface of the first application on the first device;
However, Singh teaches wherein said
a first device ([0014], Fig.1 teach a video exchange system 100 that includes a pair of terminal devices 110, 120 provided in mutual communication over a network 130), comprising:
one or more processors and at least one memory storing a plurality of applications and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors ([0038]), the first device is caused to:
project a display interface of a first application onto a second device, so that the second device displays a first projection interface, wherein the first projection interface corresponds to the display interface of the first application on the first device ([0014] teaches a first terminal 110 may possess a camera 112 that generates a video stream representing locally-captured video content, an image preprocessor 114 that processes the video stream for transmission to a remote terminal 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Vertegaal apparatus with the teachings of Singh as shown above, because the principles of Singh teachings may be integrated into personal computers, dedicated videoconferencing equipment, media players, personal digital assistants, media servers and gaming equipment (see [0016]).
Conclusion
INSA . SADIO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/INSA SADIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628