DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on March 27, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (USPub 2024/0025671).
Referring to Figure 7, Tan teaches a robot comprising: a base (40); a first arm (10a) that is coupled to the base and rotates around a first rotation axis with respect to the base; a second arm (10b) that is coupled to the first arm at a base end portion and rotates around a second rotation axis parallel to the first rotation axis with respect to the first arm; a first electronic component (11) and a second electronic component (13) that are disposed in the second arm; a relay circuit board (12) disposed in the second arm; a first wiring line that electrically couples the relay circuit board and the first electronic component; a second wiring line that electrically couples the relay circuit board and the second electronic component; and a third wiring line (30) routed to the base and the second arm and electrically coupled to the relay circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (USPub 2024/0025671), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki (USPub 2020/0101627).
Tan teaches the robot having a control device (2) connected to the relay circuit board, but does not teach the control device being provided on the base. It was well known in the robot art to provide a control device in a robot base. For example, Yamazaki teaches a robot having articulated arms, electric components disposed the arms, wherein a control device (51.52) is disposed in the robot base (20) and connected to the electric components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to position the control device of Tan et al. on the robot base, as taught by Yamazaki, motivation being to provide a more compact arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the claim combination of structural components as defined in claim 2, and depending claims 3-6, such as the linear moveable shaft disposed along the third axis, the first component configured as a brake, and the third component configures as a brake release button for releasing the brake.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the wiring arrangement of Hoshino et al. (USPub 2019/0389077).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618