DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In that response, claims 24 and 47 were amended. Claims 21-33 and 41-47 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 21 recites “particles” and “a nanofiber matrix”.
The Specification defines “nanofiber”: “the term … ’nanofibers’ refer to very small diameter fibers having an average diameter not greater than 2000 nanometers…” (Specification, para.[0024]). The Specification does not define “particle(s)” and “matrix”.
The plain meaning of “particle” is a very small piece or unit of something.
A “matrix” in the context of polymer means it “is made by polymerizing organic compounds” and “can be divided into four categories: semicrystalline thermoplastic, amorphous thermoplastic, amorphous thermosets, and semicrystalline thermosets”. (Preparation of nanoparticle-based polymer composites, 3.2.2.3 Polymer (excerpt), in Rangappa, S.M., et al., Nanoparticle-Based Polymer Composites (2022), available at https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/materials-science/polymer-matrix, accessed on October 16, 2026). The terms “particles” and “matrix” are used throughout the Specification and the uses do not conflict the plain meanings. Therefore “particle(s)” and “matrix” are interpreted as their respective plain meaning.
In the phrase “particles include the nanofiber matrix”, the “include” indicates that the particles could comprise or be made of, including made entirely of, the “nanofiber matrix”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-33 and 41-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (WO 2015/153011A1) in view of MacEwan (US 2017/0326270).
Johnson teaches electrospun polymer fiber fragments having an average diameter of 500 nm (paras.00110-11; see title; abstract; paras.0076-91, 0110-22; Figs. 5A, 5B, 6B and accompanying text). The micronized nanofiber fragments were “mixed with adipose derived mesenchymal stem cells…” (para.00112) and loaded into syringes (paras.00114-22). The electrospun polymer fiber fragments can be added to a carrier medium and “applied topically onto a wound” (para.0083), injected into a joint or otherwise used to treat “tissue injuries such as muscle tears,…” (para.0084), or used to fill a tissue defect (para.0085). Johnson teaches a gel injection medium (paras.0077, 0080, 0083). The electrospun polylactic acid fiber fragments can be mixed with other powders (para.0089).
Regarding “wherein the plurality of particles include the nanofiber matrix of the electrospun graft material” in claim 21, Johnson shows in Figures 5A and 5B the “images of micronized electrospun textile fragments dispersed in water” (para.00111 (emphasis added)).
Furthermore “Figures 6A depicts a micrograph of the suspension of micronized nanofiber fragments immediately after the addition of the stem cells.” (Para.00112). “FIG. 6B depicts the same preparation as FIG. 6A after an incubation time of about 5 minutes, and shows a cluster of nanofiber fragments 610, and a cell embedded in the suspension of micronized nanofiber fragments 620” (id. (emphasis added); see below). All of these figures show distinct fibers which retain their electrospun structure or “matrix”, after micronization by “cryoshearing” (para.00111).
Regarding claims 23-25 and 47, Johnson teaches using a combination of the recited polymers at ratios within the range in claim 23 (para.0047).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Johnson teaches loading and evacuating vials using different sized syringe tips which comprises a “sorting”.
Johnson does not specifically teach an example electrospun graft material comprising a plurality of electrospun fibers formed by electrospinning a first and a second fiber compositions which are different as now recited in claim 21.
MacEwan teaches non-woven graft materials for wound repair comprising “at least two distinct fiber compositions composed of different polymeric materials” (abstract) such as poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) and polydioxanone, prepared by electrospinning (title; abstract; paras.0001, 0011-13, 0027-28, 0030, 0033, 0036-40, 0055-58, Example 1; claims 1-20). The fibers have a mean fiber diameter of less than 5 µm (para.0038).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Johnson and MacEwan and prepare Johnson’s electrospun polymer fiber fragments formed by electrospinning a first and a second fiber compositions which are different as in claim 21. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to electrospun polymeric fibrous implants comprising two or more polymers. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” MPEP §2144.06 (I) (citations omitted). Here both Johnson and MacEwan teaches the polymers in claims 24, 25, and 47 as suitable for electrospinning. Furthermore MacEwan teaches, “two or more distinct types of fiber compositions , each of which possesses independent mechanical, chemical and/or biological properties” provide benefits: “inclusion of one fiber composition can stabilize the resulting non-woven graft material, while the other fiber composition can improve stability, free - shrinkage properties, mechanical properties, and resorption rate of the non-woven graft material” for better wound healing” (para.0027). Also
Johnson does not expressly teach a sheet of electrospun graft material in claim 22. However the claims at hand are drawn to a plurality of particles formed from electrospun graft material. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP §2113 (citations omitted). Here the electrospun graft material is formed into particles; therefore whether the material prior to forming the particles is a sheet or otherwise is not seen as yielding different particles.
Johnson does not expressly teach applying the electrospun nanofiber fragments onto a suture line and using them in combination with an electrospun graft material as in claims 28, 45, and 46.
However it would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to do so. Regarding claim 28 the skilled person would have been motivated to apply the electrospun nanofiber fragments onto a suture line because Johnson teaches combining the electrospun nanofiber fragments with suitable carrier materials (paras.0089), “a method for making a biocompatible suture, comprising electrospinning a polymer solution onto a receiving surface, forming one or more non-overlapping nanofiber threads, removing the nanofiber threads from the receiving surface, and cutting the nanofiber threads into one or more biocompatible sutures” (abstract), and that mesenchymal “stem cells quickly attach, proliferate, and produce extracellular matrix on the nanofibers” which would improve wound healing. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” MPEP §2144.06 (I) (citations omitted).
Regarding claims 45 and 46, the skilled person would have been motivated to use the electrospun nanofiber fragments in combination with an electrospun graft material because Johnson teaches applying the nanofiber fragments topically to a wound (para.0083), and also teaches electrospun sutures and textiles for tissue repair (paras.0048, 0069, 0073, 0078-79).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (Remars, 8 last para.-9 second-last para., August 24, 2026) that Johnson fails to teach particles having an average diameter of 500 nm, because “fragment” is “a portion of a particular fiber, not a portion of a micronized textile”, which fiber fragment have a length to diameter ratio of 1000:1, and paragraphs [0005]-[0006] indicates that the skilled person would “understand the average length and average diameter to refer to the fragments of fibers…not…to the micronized biocompatible textile”. (Remarks, 9 second-last para.)
In response it is noted that Johnson states “micronized electrospun textile fragments depicted in FIGS. 5A and 5B had an average diameter of 500 nm and an average length of about 500 μm” (para.0111 (emphases added)). Both the median and the average diameters of the textile fragments therefore would be less than 5000 µm. Notably elsewhere Johnson states that fiber fragment clusters may have, independently, an average length of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm, an average width of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm, and an average height of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm. (Para.0034 (emphases added); paras. 0076, 0081.) Also claim 3 recites the “composition of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrospun fiber fragment clusters have, independently, an average length of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm, an average width of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm, and an average height of about 1 μm to about 1000 μm”. (Claim 3). Therefore the Office does not agree that Johnson “provides no information about the average diameter of a plurality of particles comprising the polymer fibers,…”. (Remarks, 10 last para.)
Also the average dimensions of the “fiber fragments” and fiber fragment “clusters”, in paragraphs [0005]-[0007] being identical does not support Applicant’s position in paragraph 0111 about the average diameter and length of 500 nm was for fiber fragments rather than textile fragments. Paragraphs [0005]-[0007] all state a range: “an average length of about 10 μm to about 1000 μm, and an average diameter of about 0.1 μm to about 10 μm”. About 10 μm to about 1000 μm is a 100-fold, and 0.1 to 10 is also 100-fold. Therefore 100 fiber fragment could form a fiber fragment cluster; it does not mean that every reference to a diameter or length within the range must relate to a fragment rather than a cluster as Applicant argues.
Johnson expressly teaches and distinguishes “fiber fragments” (para.0033; see paras.0005-06) and fiber fragment “clusters” (paras.0034, 0081; see paras.0007 “micronized biocompatible textile”). Therefore a person of ordinary skill would not confuse “fiber fragments” with fiber fragment “clusters” or “textile fragments”.
Applicant further contends Johnson “fails to teach clusters of nanofiber fragments wherein distinct fibers retain their electrospun structure after micronizatIon”. (Remarks, 11-14, August 24, 2026.) Applicant first asserts the Office “acknowledges that Johnson does not expressly teach …a sheet of electrospun graft material”. (Remarks, 11 third para.)
For clarity it is noted that only claims 22-25 and 47 require the “sheet” of electrospun graft material, which the particles are “formed from”. Johnson does teach electrospun fibers, clusters or textiles thereof, and fragments of the clusters or textiles. Notably, none of present claims, including claims 22-25 and 47 recite a specific structure inhering to the particles solely by virtue of having been “formed from” or made from “a sheet” of electrospun material.
Applicant next argues Johnson teaches micronization involves freezing textiles, compressing, and pelletization, that “fragments” refer to fragments of fibers, not particle comprising fibers, and further, “fiber suspension is a suspension comprising fibers, not… particles comprising fibers”. (Remarks, 11-12.) According to Applicant Figure 3A of an electrospun textile shows “a different structure” compared to Figures 6A-6D for “suspended micronized fiber fragments”. (Remarks, 13 second-last para.)
As best could be understood, Applicant states these to argue that freezing, compressing and pelletization results in loss of the “electrospun structure” which Applicant equates to “particles include the nanofiber matrix of the electrospun graft material” in claim 21. First, however, claim 21 does not require complete preservation of the exact structure of the electrospun graft material. As noted above, the disclosure here does not define or otherwise elaborate on what a “matrix” is. A “matrix” in the context of polymer means it “is made by polymerizing organic compounds” and “can be divided into four categories: …”. The “term … ’nanofibers’ refer to very small diameter fibers having an average diameter not greater than 2000 nanometers…” (Specification, para.[0024]). Consequently a ’nanofiber matrix’ refer to a solid of very small diameter fibers having an average diameter not greater than 2000 nanometers. In other words claim 21 does not require complete preservation of the exact structure of the electrospun graft material. In fact Applicant also discloses cryomilling or freezing and then grinding the graft material, as well as “laser cutting” and ultrasonication among others (Specification para.[0047].) Such processing would similarly alter the exact structure of the original material.
Secondly, “FIG. 6B depicts the same preparation as FIG. 6A after an incubation time of about 5 minutes, and shows a cluster of nanofiber fragments 610, and a cell embedded in the suspension of micronized nanofiber fragments 620” (id. (emphasis added); see below). All of these figures show distinct fibers which retain their electrospun structure or “matrix of the electrospun graft material” (para.00111).
Regarding the alleged difference between Figure 3A and Figures 6A through 6D, the sole noticeable difference is the less “shaggy” appearance in Figure 3A of the electrospun material. However that difference does not warrant a distinction for the claim language at issue here. As seen in Figure 6B (in the rejection above) as well as the other Figure 6’s, the cluster of nanofiber fragments 610 comprise the “nanofiber matrix of the electrospun graft material”.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-33 and 41-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-27, 29, 30, and 33-47 of copending Application No. 19353328 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles configured to improve wound healing, comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; a diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein the plurality of particles comprise a fiber matrix. The ’328 application’s claims further require the first and second fiber compositions configured to break down into one or more degradation products when applied to a tissue site. However both claim sets recite the same resorbable polymers and therefore they would hydrolyze into the recited degradation products when applied to a tissue site. The present claims require particles formed from electrospun fibers, however the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP §2113 (citations omitted).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21-33 and 41-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-44 of copending Application No. 19353396 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; a diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein: the plurality of particles comprise a nanofiber matrix, and the plurality of particles are configured to improve wound healing. The ’396 application’s claims are drawn to a method of tissue repair in an individual in need thereof by using the plurality of particles; however the present claims recite “configured to improve wound healing” and therefore a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the particles to repair a wounded tissue.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21-33 and 41-47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-44 of copending Application No. 19353408 (reference application) in view of Johnson (WO 2015/153011A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles configured to improve wound healing, comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; a diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein the plurality of particles comprise a fiber matrix, and the first fiber composition and the second fiber composition each have a mean fiber diameter of less than 5 um. The ‘408 application’s claims further recite “the plurality of particles comprise a plurality of pores comprising a mean pore size of from about 10 um2 to about 10,000 um2, and the plurality of particles have an architecture resembling a native extracellular matrix”. However Johnson teaches electrospun polymer fiber fragments having an average diameter of 500 nm (paras.00110-11; see title; abstract; paras.0076-91, 0110-22; Figs. 5A, 5B, 6B). The micronized nanofiber fragments have an average pore diameter (para.0068) within the range in the ‘408 application’s claims. Furthermore both claim sets are drawn to particles configured to improve wound healing and therefore the skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide an architecture consistent with the extracellular matrix.
Response to Arguments
Applicants requested reconsideration of the double patenting rejection(s) in light of the amendments. (Remarks, 6-7, August 24, 2026.)
The provisional double patenting rejection(s) is/are maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or arguments that effectively overcome the rejection(s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
H. SARAH PARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1614