I DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16, states the following limitation “….changing the first dimension of the representation of the respective media in the first direction and the second direction, opposite from the first direction…. Examiner is unsure what applicant means by “opposite from the first direction”. The specification (Para. 0222) mentions expanding the width from the center of the representation. The drawings (Fig. 7G) shows expanding the height. Examiner is unsure which direction the respective media is expanding from. Did applicant mean to specify “the second direction opposite from the first direction”? Therefore, examiner is interpreting “the second direction” to be opposite of the first direction. Thus, the claim will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12, 14, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Victor-Faichney et al. U.S. Patent 12387449 B1 (hereinafter Victor) in view of Stockhammer et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20230224532 A1 (hereinafter Stockhammer).
Regarding claim 1, Victor teaches a method, comprising: at a computer system (Computer System 100, Col. 4 Lines 20-45 and Col. 6 Lines 19-25) in communication with a display generation component (Display 130, Col. 6 38-55) and one or more input devices (Input Devices 120, Col. 6 Lines 26-37): (Fig. 1)
while displaying a representation of respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45. The contents are also considered UI Elements 510 or a part of an application Col. 13 Lines 7-20) in a three-dimensional environment (XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) with a first size (UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11), wherein the representation of the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) overlaps a first portion (The Media can be a small part of a user interface like a UI element being displayed with other information or can be only information being displayed by itself. The portion overlapping the XR environment is different based on how the media is displayed. ) of the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) from a current viewpoint of a user of the computer system(Viewing Artificial or Virtual reality Content while seeing the Real Environment, Col. 4 Lines 46-67, Figs. 5-7),
and (Changing Size of User Interface – UI Elements, Applications, Content, UI System, and etc..., )relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11 and Fig. 4) such that the representation of the respective media overlaps a second portion (More/Less Area the Media Covers) of the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) from the current viewpoint of the user(Figs. 5-7), different from the first portion of the three-dimensional environment(Changing the size of the media. Changes how much the media overlaps the real environment or other virtual objects in the XR environment). Traditionally to change the size of media or the user interface in an XR System. System settings (Col. 5 Lines 1-17 and Col. 7 Lines 11-34) are used either by the user to configure (Col. 18 Lines 36-60) or are fixed for specific applications. Users can directly manipulate the settings through menus or various input (Col. 24 Lines 21-49) like grabbing the corners of the application/media, voice commands, gestures, eye tracking, etc….
However, Victor fails to teach:
detecting a change in a current playback location of the respective media;
and in response to detecting the change in the current playback location of the respective media, displaying the representation of the respective media with a second size;
Victor and Stockhammer are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of displaying and modifying media content. Media content can be streamed in an XR environment.
Stockhammer teaches:
detecting a change in a current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media (Segments/Chunk of Video); (Para. 0069)
and in response to detecting the change in the current playback location(Playback Time) of the respective media(Segments/Chunk of Video), displaying the representation of the respective media with a second size (Higher/Lower Resolution); (0069, 0109, and 0112) For any chunk/segment during a video, the resolution can be modified. Changing a resolution modifies the number of pixels displayed and effects the size relatively as the media can look larger/smaller/blurrier/clearer depending on the resolution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Dynamic Changing of resolution. Since doing so would provide the benefit of saving bit rates and ensuring the best resolution can be maintained (Stockhammer Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 2, Victor teaches displaying respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45.) in a three-dimensional environment (XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) in which a user interacts (Col. 5 Lines 1-17) with the respective media through user input (Col. 6 Lines 26-37).
Victor fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the detected change in the current playback location of the respective media occurs during playback of the respective media.
However, Stockhammer teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the detected change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media (Video) occurs during playback (Streaming/Playback/Broadcast) of the respective media (Video). (Para. 0070 and 0106-0107) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Dynamic Changing of resolution. Since doing so would provide the benefit of saving bit rates and ensuring the best resolution can be maintained (Stockhammer Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes a representation of a physical environment (Real Environment, Col. 2 Lines 46-60) of the user.
Regarding claim 8, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes a representation of a virtual environment (3D Virtual Elements Col. 2 Lines 46-60 or Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 12, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Input Devices 120, Col. 6 Lines 26-55), a user input corresponding to a request to change a size (Stretching the User interface containing a Content Items or User Interface Elements, Col. 24 Lines 63-67 to Col. 24 Lines 1-49) of the representation of the respective media Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) from the second size to a third size, different from the second size, relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11); Stretching the size of the User Interface containing the video/images relatively changes the sizes of the video/images.
and in response to detecting the user input(Input Devices 120, Col. 6 Lines 26-55), displaying the representation of the respective media with the third size (Stretched User interface containing a Content Items or User Interface Elements, Col. 24 Lines 63-67 to Col. 24 Lines 1-49) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11). (Fig. 11D)
Regarding claim 14, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the first size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes displaying the representation of the respective media with a first dimension (Height or Width) of a first value, Changing the size of a UI element commonly affects the width and height as the user interface is commonly two-dimensional. Unless a user specifically changes only one dimension such as stretching the System UI in one direction (Col. 24 Lines 21-49 and Fig. 11D)
and displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes displaying the representation of the respective media with the first dimension(Height or Width) of the first value. The artificial reality content or user interface elements can be in different sizes that are the same in one dimension.
Regarding claim 16, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment includes(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11):
in accordance with a determination that the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes a virtual environment (3D Virtual Element, Col. 2 Lines 46-60) of a first type (Application, Col. 2 Lines 60-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11. Different application in specific environments have different requirements to interfaces and user inputs, Col. 22 Lines 63-67 to Col. 23 Lines 1-21), changing a first dimension (Height or Width) of the representation of the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) in a first direction along a first axis (Height or Width, Height is Y Axis and Width is X Axis) in the three-dimensional environment without changing the first dimension in a second direction opposite the first direction along the first axis (Height or Width); Stretching the system user interface in one direction, such as stretching only the width dimension the X-Axis which is different the changing the height the Y-Axis, Col. 24 Lines 21-49 and Fig. 11D.
and in accordance with a determination that the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes a virtual environment of a second type (Another Application different the First Application, Col. 2 Lines 60-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11), different from the first type, changing the first dimension(Height or Width) of the representation of the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) in the first direction and the second direction (Changing both the Height or Width), opposite from the first direction (The Height not being the same as the Width), along the first axis (Height or Width) in the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 17, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes one or more virtual surfaces (Virtual Objects with Surfaces, Col. 5 Lines 1-30) that are visible from the current viewpoint of the user in a third portion (Any portion of the Environment that contains a virtual object, such as other user interfaces containing other content.) of the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11), the method further comprising:
(Brightness, Size, Opacity, or any parameter that decreases visibility) of the one or more virtual surfaces(Virtual Objects with Surfaces such as other applications/windows, Col. 5 Lines 1-30) in the three-dimensional environment and expanding the representation (Changing the Size, Resolution of the Media, or Moving the Media Closer, Col. 5 Lines 31-56) of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) at least partially into the third portion of the three-dimensional environment. Stretching the current user interface or application in one direction, Col. 24 Lines 21-49 and Fig. 11D. This direction can stretch the interface/application into the third portion, as a third portion is any portion in the three-dimensional environment. Similarly moving the interface/application can move the interface/application into the third portion. If the third portion had other virtual objects or applications in it, moving/resizing the current application/interface would obscure the other virtual objects or applications reducing their visibility.
However, Victor fails to teach:
Stockhammer teaches:
in response to detecting the change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media(Segments/Chunk of Video), (Para. 0069)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Dynamic Changing of resolution. Since doing so would provide the benefit of saving bit rates and ensuring the best resolution can be maintained (Stockhammer Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 19, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45. )with the first size (UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes displaying the representation of the respective media with a first amount of curvature relative (Curved Shape, Col. 3 Lines 62-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19) to the three-dimensional environment, The system user interface or application that contains the media can have a curved shape, Fig. 11D as well as UI Elements are curved to fit the curved system user interface or application, Col. 18 Lines 61-67 to Col. 19 Lines 1-8).
and displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45. ) with the second size relative(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes displaying the representation of the respective media with a second amount(Curved Shape, Col. 3 Lines 62-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19), different from the first amount, of curvature relative to the three- dimensional environment. The curved shaped is based on the size and the distance of the user to the user interface, (Col. 18 Lines 61-67 to Col. 19 Lines 1-8). Thus, a change in size and distance to the user interface affect the amount of curvature.
Regarding claim 20, Victor teaches a computer system (Computer System 100, Col. 4 Lines 20-45 and Col. 6 Lines 19-25)that is in communication with a display generation component(Display 130, Col. 6 38-55) and one or more input devices(Input Devices 120, Col. 6 Lines 26-37), the computer system comprising (Fig. 1): one or more processors (Processors 110, Col. 6 Lines 19-55); memory (Memory 150, Col. 7 Lines 12-34); and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (Col. 7 Lines 12-34) for performing the method of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Victor teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium(Memory 150, Col. 7 Lines 12-34) storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors(Processors 110, Col. 6 Lines 19-55) of a computer system(Computer System 100, Col. 4 Lines 20-45 and Col. 6 Lines 19-25) that is in communication with a display generation component(Display 130, Col. 6 38-55) and one or more input devices(Input Devices 120, Col. 6 Lines 26-37), cause the computer system to perform the method of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Victor-Faichney et al. U.S. Patent 12387449 B1 (hereinafter Victor) in view of Stockhammer et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20230224532 A1 (hereinafter Stockhammer) in further view of Post et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200296316 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Victor teaches displaying respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45.) in a three-dimensional environment (XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) in which a user interacts (Col. 5 Lines 1-17) with the respective media through user input (Col. 6 Lines 26-37).
Victor fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the detected change in the current playback location of the respective media is in response to a user input corresponding to changing the current playback location of the respective media.
Stockhammer teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the detected change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media is in response to a (Playback Time) of the respective media (Video). The media/video is segmented into chunks/periods (Para. 0027) and the client device can determine the duration and start of these segments (Para. 0064).
However Stockhammer fails to explicitly teach:
user input corresponding to changing the current playback location of the respective media.
Victor, Stockhammer, and Post are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of displaying and modifying media content.
Post teaches:
user input (User Manipulation) corresponding to changing the current playback location (Changing Frame of Video, Playback Position by dragging a slider, or Location of Slider/Bar/Scrubber Para. 0056 and 0072) of the respective media (Video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution to incorporate Post’s Playback Bar/Scrubber/Slider. Since doing so would provide the benefit of allowing a user to control the playback of the media (Post et al. Para. 0056) and incorporating standard user interface elements.
Regarding claim 4, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the first size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) An aspect ratio is a defined relationship between a specific width and height.
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to explicitly teach:
includes displaying the representation of the respective media with a first aspect ratio,
includes displaying the representation of the respective media with a second aspect ratio, different from the first aspect ratio.
Post teaches:
includes displaying the representation of the respective media (Video Asset) with a first aspect ratio (Portrait Aspect Ratio), (Para. 0028 and Fig. 3A)
includes displaying the representation of the respective media (Video Asset) with a second aspect ratio (Landscape Aspect Ratio), different from the first aspect ratio. (Para. 0028 and Fig. 3B)
Post’s method of changing aspect ratios can be applied to mixed reality applications (Para. 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media Size Altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution Change to incorporate Post’s Aspect Ratios. Since doing so would provide the benefit of seamlessly transitioning between aspect ratios of video content (Post et al. Para. 0005).
Regarding claim 5, Victor teaches displaying respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45.) in a three-dimensional environment (XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) in which a user interacts (Col. 5 Lines 1-17) with the respective media through user input (Col. 6 Lines 26-37).
Victor and Stockhammer fail to teach the method of claim 4, wherein detecting the change in a current playback location of the respective media includes detecting a change in aspect ratio of the respective media from information associated with the respective media.
However, Post teaches the method of claim 4, wherein detecting the change in a current playback location (Changing Frame of Video, Playback Position by dragging a slider, or Location of Slider/Bar/Scrubber Para. 0056 and 0072) of the respective media (Video Asset) includes detecting a change in aspect ratio of the respective media (Video Asset) from information (Video Asset Information) associated with the respective media (Video Asset). The different video assets have different aspect ratios associated with them (Para. 0028 and 0039). Depending on the orientation of the display (Para. 0028), the current aspect ratio of the video asset (Para. 0039), location of other video assets (Para. 0046-0047 and 0049) and video asset information (Para. 0058) can determine a change in aspect ratio, scale (Para. 0046-0047 and 0049), and Playback slider/bar/scrubber location (Para. 0061-0062). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media Size Altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution Change to incorporate Post’s Aspect Ratios and Adaptive Scrubber/Slider/Bar. Since doing so would provide the benefit of seamlessly transitioning between aspect ratios of video content (Post et al. Para. 0005) and ensuring there is no reduction in viewable of the video assets when changing aspect ratios.
Regarding claim 6, Victor teaches displaying respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45.) in a three-dimensional environment (XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) in which a user interacts (Col. 5 Lines 1-17) with the respective media through user input (Col. 6 Lines 26-37).
Victor fails to teach the method of claim 4, wherein detecting the change in the current playback location of the respective media includes:
in accordance with a determination that the respective media includes first content at the changed current playback location, detecting a first change in aspect ratio of the respective media;
and in accordance with a determination that the respective media includes second content, different from the first content, at the changed current playback location, detecting a second change in aspect ratio, different from the first change in aspect ratio.
However, Stockhammer teaches the method of claim 4, wherein detecting the change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media (Video) includes:
in accordance with a determination that the respective media (Video) includes first content (Video Frame, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112) at the changed current playback location (Playback Time),Different video frames are associated with different time instances within a video. (Para. 0061-0062 and 0098) The media/video segmented into chunks/periods (Para. 0027) includes frames (Para. 0082).
and in accordance with a determination that the respective media (Video) includes second content (Different Video Frame, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112), different from the first content, at the changed current playback location (Playback Time), Different video data is associated with different frames and each frame can have different content associated with them. The video data can include the height and width of the frames (Para. 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Video Data . Since doing so would provide the benefit of tracking video characteristics associated with the media and grouping similar video information together, such as the resolution and frames (Stockhammer et al. Para. 0098-0099).
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to teach:
detecting a first change in aspect ratio of the respective media;
detecting a second change in aspect ratio, different from the first change in aspect ratio.
Post teaches:
detecting a first change in aspect ratio (Portrait Aspect Ratio, Para. 0028 and Fig. 3A) of the respective media (Video Asset);
detecting a second change in aspect ratio(Landscape Aspect Ratio, Para. 0028 and Fig. 3B), different from the first change in aspect ratio (Portrait Aspect Ratio).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Video Data to incorporate Post’s Changing Aspect Ratios. Since doing so would provide the benefit of seamlessly transitioning between aspect ratios of video content (Post et al. Para. 0005) and ensuring there is no reduction in viewable of the video assets when changing aspect ratios.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Victor-Faichney et al. U.S. Patent 12387449 B1 (hereinafter Victor) in view of Stockhammer et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20230224532 A1 (hereinafter Stockhammer) in further view of Dunnigan et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20090251460 A1 (hereinafter Dunnigan).
Regarding claim 9, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the representation of the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) in the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11):
in accordance with a determination that the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) includes first content (Video, Audio, or Images) at a current playback position (Position of Video, Audio, or Image)
and in accordance with a determination that the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) includes second content (Different Video, Audio, or Images), different from the first content, at the current playback position(Position of Video, Audio, or Image),
However, Victor and Stockhammer fails to teach:
displaying a simulated lighting effect in a third portion of the three-dimensional environment with a first visual appearance, wherein the third portion of the three-dimensional environment is outside of the representation of the respective media;
displaying the simulated lighting effect in the third portion of the three-dimensional environment with a second visual appearance, different from the first visual appearance.
Victor, Stockhammer, and Dunnigan are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of displaying media content such as videos.
Dunnigan teaches:
displaying a simulated lighting effect (Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) in a third portion (The reflective effects are incorporated into various elements of the user interface, Para. 0066. The user interface encompasses virtual windows, buttons, frames, and etc… Para. 0069.) of the three-dimensional environment (Virtual Environment, Para. 0083) with a first visual appearance (Reflection of the video of user onto the Virtual Environment, Para. 0080), wherein the third portion (The reflective effect is applied onto virtual objects, Para. 0062) of the three-dimensional environment is outside of the representation of the respective media (Video);
displaying the simulated lighting effect(Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) in the third portion(Reflection of the video of user onto the Virtual Environment, Para. 0080) of the three-dimensional environment (Virtual Environment, Para. 0083) with a second visual appearance (Different Reflection Effect), different from the first visual appearance. The reflection effect is based on the video, thus if the video changes the reflection updates to match, (Para. 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution to incorporate Dunnigan’s Reflection Generation. Since doing so would provide the benefit of blending the computer interface and real-life space by generating naturalistic reflections (Dunnigan et al. Para. 0066).
Regarding claim 10, Victor teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: while displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) in the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11):
in accordance with a determination that the representation of the respective media (Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) has the first size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20),
and in accordance with a determination that the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) has the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20),
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to teach:
Dunnigan teaches:
displaying the simulated lighting effect (Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) in the third portion of the three- dimensional environment(Virtual Environment, Para. 0083) with a third size (The reflective effect is customized for each element/object it is applied to and can vary in size, shape, and material depicted, Para. 0062);
displaying the simulated lighting effect(Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) in the third portion of the three- dimensional environment(Virtual Environment, Para. 0083) with a fourth size (Different Reflective Size), different from the third size. The reflective effect is based on video and object/element the reflection is incorporated into, (Para. 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution to incorporate Dunnigan’s Reflection Generation. Since doing so would provide the benefit of blending the computer interface and real-life space by generating naturalistic reflections (Dunnigan et al. Para. 0066).
Regarding claim 11, Victor teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: while displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) in the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11):
in accordance with a determination that the current playback location (Location of Artificial Reality Content) of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45)
and in accordance with a determination that the current playback location(Location of Artificial Reality Content) of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45)
However, Victor fails to teach:
in accordance with a determination that the current playback location of the respective media is a first playback location including the first content, displaying the simulated lighting effect with a first set of visual effects;
and in accordance with a determination that the current playback location of the respective media is a second playback location including the second content, displaying the simulated lighting effect with a second set of visual effects, different from the first set of visual effects.
Stockhammer teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the current playback location(Playback Time) of the respective media(Segments/Chunk of Video, Para. 0069)is a first playback location including the first content (Video Frame, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112),
and in accordance with a determination that the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media (Segments/Chunk of Video, Para. 0069)is a second playback location (Different Playback Time) including the second content (Different Video Frame, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Dynamic Changing of resolution. Since doing so would provide the benefit of saving bit rates and ensuring the best resolution can be maintained (Stockhammer Para. 0022).
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to teach:
displaying the simulated lighting effect with a first set of visual effects;
displaying the simulated lighting effect with a second set of visual effects, different from the first set of visual effects.
Dunnigan teaches:
displaying the simulated lighting effect (Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) with a first set of visual effects (Size, Shape, Material Type, Para. 0062);
displaying the simulated lighting effect (Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) with a second set of visual effects(Size, Shape, Material Type, Para. 0062), different from the first set of visual effects (The reflective effect is customized for each element/object it is applied to and can vary in size, shape, and material depicted, Para. 0062 Thus, the set of visual effect associated with the reflection can differ based on the combination of video change and object/element to apply the reflection to.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution to incorporate Dunnigan’s Reflection Generation. Since doing so would provide the benefit of blending the computer interface and real-life space by generating naturalistic reflections (Dunnigan et al. Para. 0066).
Regarding claim 18, Victor teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes (Brightness, Size, Opacity, or any parameter that decreases visibility) of the one or more virtual surfaces(Virtual Objects with Surfaces such as other applications/windows, Col. 5 Lines 1-30) in the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to teach:
a simulated lighting effect on the one or more virtual surfaces,
reducing a visual prominence of the simulated lighting effect on the one or more virtual surfaces in the three- dimensional environment.
Dunnigan teaches:
a simulated lighting effect(Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) on the one or more virtual surfaces(The reflective effect is applied onto virtual objects, Para. 0062),
reducing a visual prominence (Reducing Brightness, Size, or Opacity) of the simulated lighting effect(Reflective Effect, Para. 0062) on the one or more virtual surfaces in the three- dimensional environment(Virtual Environment, Para. 0083). The reflection effect can have any size, Para. 0062, the opacity of the reflective effect can be modified, Para. 0075, and the reflective effect can be scaled down based on the object the effect is applied on Para. 0076. Virtual objects that are below/under other virtual objects have their reflective effect scaled down.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Dynamic Resolution to incorporate Dunnigan’s Reflection Generation. Since doing so would provide the benefit of blending the computer interface and real-life space by generating naturalistic reflections (Dunnigan et al. Para. 0066).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Victor-Faichney et al. U.S. Patent 12387449 B1 (hereinafter Victor) in view of Stockhammer et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20230224532 A1 (hereinafter Stockhammer) and in further view Joseph et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240203309 A1 (hereinafter Joseph).
Regarding claim 13, Victor teaches the method of claim 12, wherein:
the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) has a (UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) when the representation of the respective media is displayed with the second size relative(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11),
and displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the third size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes
However, Victor and Stockhammer fail to explicitly teach:
aspect ratios;
maintaining the first aspect ratio of the representation of the respective media.
Victor, Stockhammer, and Joseph are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of displaying and modifying media.
Joseph teaches the method of claim 12, wherein:
the representation of the respective media (Content Element – Video/Image/Augmented Reality Content, Para. 0037) has a first aspect ratio when the representation of the respective media is displayed with the second size (Size of Display Screen or User Interface containing Content Element) relative to the three-dimensional environment (Display or User Interface in Virtual reality or Augmented reality, Para. 0022 and 0037),
and displaying the representation of the respective media(Content Element – Video/Image/Augmented Reality Content, Para. 0037) with the third size(Different Size of Display Screen or User Interface containing Content Element) relative to the three-dimensional environment(Display or User Interface in Virtual reality or Augmented reality, Para. 0022 and 0037) includes maintaining the first aspect ratio of the representation of the respective media. When the aspect ratio of the user interface or display screen is not the same as the content element and a user changes the size of the user interface or display screen containing the content element. Padding is added to ensure the aspect ratio of the content element is not changed (Para. 0037-0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Video Data and to incorporate Joseph’s Adapting User Interface Aspect Ratios. Since doing so would provide the benefit of ensuring the content elements properly fill the display screen as to not waste display screen space (Jospeh et al. Para. 0018).
Regarding claim 15, Victor teaches the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) with the second size(UI Elements can be Fixed, Relative, or Any Size Col. 3 Lines 35-67 to Col. 4 Lines 1-19 and Col. 13 Lines 7-20) relative to the three-dimensional environment(XR Environment, Col. 2 Lines 35-67 to Col. 3 Lines 1-11) includes:
(Height or Weight) of the representation of the respective media(Artificial Reality Contents – Video, Audio and Images, Col. 4 Lines 20-45) without changing a second dimension (Height or Width), different from the first dimension, of the representation of the respective media; Stretching the system user interface in one direction, stretches only the width dimension, (Col. 24 Lines 21-49 and Fig. 11D).
(Height or Width) of the representation of the respective media. Stretching the system user interface in the opposite direction is it stretched in Fig. 11D.
However, victor fails to teach:
in accordance with a determination that the change in the current playback location of the respective media corresponds to a change from a first aspect ratio to a second aspect ratio of the respective media,
and in accordance with a determination that the change in the current playback location of the respective media corresponds to a change from the first aspect ratio to a third aspect ratio, different from the second aspect ratio, of the respective media,
Stockhammer teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media (Segments/Chunk of Video which includes Video Frames, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112) corresponds to a change from a (Height/Width of Frame) to a (Segments/Chunk of Video which includes Video Frames, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112), Different video data is associated with different frames and each frame can have different content associated with them. The video data can include the height and width of the frames (Para. 0082).
and in accordance with a determination that the change in the current playback location (Playback Time) of the respective media(Segments/Chunk of Video which includes Video Frames, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112) corresponds to a change from the (Segments/Chunk of Video which includes Video Frames, Para. 0061-0062 or Video Data, Para. 0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media to incorporate Stockhammer’s Video Data . Since doing so would provide the benefit of tracking video characteristics associated with the media and grouping similar video information together, such as the resolution and frames (Stockhammer et al. Para. 0098-0099).
However, Stockhammer fails to explicitly teach:
changing aspect ratios;
Joseph teaches:
changing aspect ratios (Para. 0018 and 0034); The aspect ratio of the display screen or user interface can be change as well as the aspect ratio of the content elements inside the display screen or user interface. The aspect ratios can be changed in from and to several different aspect ratios, Para. 0018. The aspect ratios can even be changed in a signal direction/dimension, Para. 0159.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Victor’s Media altered by Stockhammer’s Video Data and to incorporate Joseph’s Adapting User Interface Aspect Ratios. Since doing so would provide the benefit of ensuring the content elements properly fill the display screen as to not waste display screen space (Jospeh et al. Para. 0018).
Conclusion
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615