DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snowday, III et al. (U.S. 2022/0381875 A1) in view of Moorthy et al. (WO 2025/136857 A1).
Claim 1, Snowday teaches:
A system for assisting a user (Snowday, Figs. 1 and 2: 1) in locating an asset (Snowday, Fig. 2: 5) comprising a transmitter (Snowday, Fig. 4: 7: 28, The tag 7 has an RF module 28.) configured to emit a signal through a one-stage process (Snowday, Fig. 4: 33, Paragraph [0028], The tag 7 is configured to continuously generate RF tag signal 33 at a preset periodic interval.), the system comprising:
- a real time locating system (RTLS) (Snowday, Figs. 1 and 2: 1, Paragraph [0016]) adapted to provide an approximate location of the asset to the user in a first stage (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The sensors 9 determine a signal strength of a received RF tag signal 33, and the location engine 11 utilizes multilateration, trilateration, or other similar techniques to calculate the tag 7 location (see Snowday, Paragraph [0042]). The location of the tag 7 is then displayed on a user interface 15, represented by indicators 16 (see Snowday, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0045]).), the RTLS comprising:
- at least one RTLS receiver (Snowday, Figs. 2, 5, 6: 9) adapted to receive the signal and to measure a first characteristic of the signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The sensors 9 constantly receive the RF tag signals 33 and measure the signal strength of any given incoming RF tag signal 33.), and
- at least one processor (Snowday, Fig. 1: 11) configured to receive from the at least one RTLS receiver the measured first characteristic and to determine therefrom an approximate location of the asset (Snowday, Paragraphs [0038] and [0042], The location engine 11 receives the sensor signal 51 and calculates the location of tags 7 using multilateration, trilateration, or other similar techniques. The location engine 11 is therefore functionally equivalent to a processor. The locations are displayed on the user interface 15 with a confidence bubble 59 that indicates the “most confident” location of tag 7, but the tag 7 could still be offset somewhat from this area. Therefore, the indicated location of tag 7 is equivalent to an “approximate location”.); and
- a locator device (Snowday, Fig. 7: 55) adapted to provide an approximate indication for locating the asset to the user in the first stage (Snowday, Fig. 7: 16, 59, Paragraph [0047]).
Snowday does not specifically teach:
a two-stage process;
- a locator device adapted to provide a precise indication for locating the asset to the user in a second stage, the locator device comprising:
- at least one receiver adapted to receive the signal and to measure a second characteristic of the signal and to cause the process to enter the second stage in response to the transmitter of the asset entering detection range,
- at least one processor configured to receive from each of the at least one receiver the measured second characteristic and to compute therefrom the precise indication for locating the asset, and
- at least one output device adapted to convey the precise indication for locating the asset to the user,
wherein an accuracy radius of the precise indication is less than an accuracy radius of the approximate location.
Moorthy teaches:
- a locator device (Moorthy, Paragraph [0017], The finder is a device used to find a findee. The finder 410 and findee 450, for example, have similar architecture as wireless communication device 200 of Fig. 2 (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0050]).) adapted to provide a precise indication for locating the asset to the user in a second stage (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], The finder may dynamically output directions that enables a user to navigate towards the precise location of the findee.), the locator device comprising:
- at least one receiver (Moorthy, Fig. 4: 424-432) adapted to receive the signal (Moorthy, Fig. 4: 424-432, Paragraphs [0055-0058] Each of the components 424-432 of Finder 410 has a corresponding communication link to corresponding components 424-432 of Findee 450.) and to measure a second characteristic of the signal and to cause the process to enter the second stage in response to the transmitter of the asset entering detection range (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], The finder may use information including UWB ranging and/or information, i.e. a second characteristic, derived based on communication with the findee. The direct communication with the asset to be found, i.e. the findee, is interpreted as a second stage.),
- at least one processor (Moorthy, Fig. 4: 414, Paragraph [0053], The motion engine 414 may run on a processor.) configured to receive from each of the at least one receiver the measured second characteristic and to compute therefrom the precise indication for locating the asset (Moorthy, Paragraphs [0053-0054], The motion engine 414 receives inputs from at least UWB 424, Bluetooth 426, WIFI 428, cellular 430, and IDS 432, and performs position estimates of the finder 410 and/or findee 450. One example characteristic used in determining the precise location of the findee is via UWB ranging (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0044]).), and
- at least one output device (Moorthy, Fig. 2: 215, As noted above, the finder 410 and findee 450 are implemented as communication devices 200.) adapted to convey the precise indication for locating the asset to the user (Moorthy, Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0071-0072], One example precise indication is an arrow which points in the direction of the findee relative to the finder. Utilizing the arrow, for example, the finder is able to navigate the user towards the precise location of the findee (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0018]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Snowday by integrating the teaching of a finder and a findee as taught by Moorthy.
The motivation would be aid the user to find a second device, e.g. an asset, by navigating the user towards the precise location of the second device (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0002]).
As per wherein an accuracy radius of the precise indication is less than an accuracy radius of the approximate location, Snowday in view of Moorthy discloses that a confidence bubble indicates to the user the range of area to search and provides and understanding to the user that the tag could still be offset somewhat from this area in practice (see Snowday, Paragraph [0047]). Additionally, the confidence bubble can be expanded to around the location of a generalized location of the tag in the facility, causing the location to be considerably less precise. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would reasonably conclude that the precise location, as taught by Moorthy, would have an accuracy radius that is less than an accuracy radius of the graphical indicator with the confidence bubble, as taught by Snowday.
Claim 2, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the signal is a radio signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal.).
Claim 3, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 2, wherein the signal is at least one of: an ultra-wideband signal, a Bluetooth™ signal, a Wi-Fi signal, and an RFID signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal. The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s specification lists example signals, therefore the claim is interpreted as only requiring at least one the signal types and not requiring every signal type simultaneously (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0037]).).
Claim 4, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 2, wherein:
- the signal is broadcast over N channels, wherein N> 1 (Snowday, Paragraph [0050], The tags 7 may broadcast advertising packets via a plurality of BLE channels.);
- the at least one RTLS receiver is configured to survey a plurality of signals emitted by the asset over the N channels during a configurable time period and measure a surveying characteristic of the plurality of signals (Snowday, Paragraph [0051], The sensors 9 measure signal strength of the plurality of received broadcasted signals from tags 7 (see Snowday, Fig. 6: 53).); and
- the at least one processor of the RTLS is configured to categorize the plurality of signals in N categories based on the surveying characteristic (Snowday, Paragraphs [0050-0051], When the plurality of advertised signals are received by the sensor 9 and are not duplicates of each other, the signals are effectively categorized as not duplicates, i.e. are not discarded.) and to determine the approximate location based on at least one signal associated with one of the N categories (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The location(s) of the tag(s) 7 are determined based on the received signal strength 53 of each signal.).
Claim 5, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first characteristic and/or the second characteristic comprise at least one of: fine time measurement, angle of arrival, and signal strength (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The location(s) of the tag(s) 7 are determined based on the received signal strength 53 of each signal. Because the first and second characteristics, respectively, are singular characteristics, the claim is interpreted as the first or second characteristic being a fine time measurement, angle of arrival, or a signal strength, but not all simultaneously.).
Claim 6, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein:
- the RTLS comprises an RTLS transmitter adapted to transmit the approximate location of the asset to the locator device (Snowday, Paragraph [0019], The location engine 11 and the user interface 15 may be configured to send and receive communications directly or via network 2. Because the user interface 15 displays the approximate location of the object 5 (see Snowday, Fig. 7) and the location engine 11 calculates the approximate location of the object 5 (see Snowday, Paragraphs [0038] ad [0042]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the location engine 11 to be functionally equivalent to an RTLS transmitter for sending the approximate location to the user interface 15 for display to the user. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.);
- the locator device is adapted to receive the approximate location of the asset from the RTLS (Snowday, Paragraph [0019], The location engine 11 and the user interface 15 may be configured to send and receive communications directly or via network 2.); and
- the at least one output of the locator device is configured to convey an approximate indication for locating the asset from the approximate location of the asset (Snowday, Fig. 7: 16, 59, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 7, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The system of claim 6, wherein the at least one receiver of the locator device is configured to cause the process to revert to the first stage in response to the transmitter of the asset exiting the detection range (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], In the combination of Snowday in view of Moorthy, when the finder is no longer in direct communication with findee, the finder can only use information from other sources, e.g. cameras and sensors, GPS, etc. Thus, the switching from direct communication with the findee to these other sources is functionally equivalent to reverting to a first stage.).
Claim 8, Snowday teaches:
A one-stage method for assisting a user (Snowday, Figs. 1 and 2: 1) in locating an asset (Snowday, Fig. 2: 5) comprising a transmitter (Snowday, Fig. 4: 7: 28, The tag 7 has an RF module 28.) configured to emit a signal (Snowday, Fig. 4: 33, Paragraph [0028], The tag 7 is configured to continuously generate RF tag signal 33 at a preset periodic interval.), the method comprising:
- in a first stage:
- receiving, by a real time locating system (RTLS) (Snowday, Figs. 1 and 2: 1, Paragraph [0016]), the signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The sensors 9 constantly receive the RF tag signals 33 and measure the signal strength of any given incoming RF tag signal 33.),
- measuring, by the RTLS, a first characteristic of the signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The sensors 9 constantly receive the RF tag signals 33 and measure the signal strength of any given incoming RF tag signal 33.),
- determining, by the RTLS, an approximate location of the asset based on the first characteristic (Snowday, Paragraphs [0038] and [0042], The location engine 11 receives the sensor signal 51 and calculates the location of tags 7 using multilateration, trilateration, or other similar techniques. The location engine 11 is therefore functionally equivalent to a processor. The locations are displayed on the user interface 15 with a confidence bubble 59 that indicates the “most confident” location of tag 7, but the tag 7 could still be offset somewhat from this area. Therefore, the indicated location of tag 7 is equivalent to an “approximate location”.),
- transmitting, by the RTLS, the approximate location of the asset (Snowday, Paragraphs [0038] and [0042], The communication between the sensors 9, location engine 11, and user interface 15 may be direct or via network 2 (see Snowday, Paragraphs [0018-0019]).),
- receiving, by a user device, the approximate location (Snowday, Paragraphs [0038] and [0042], The communication between the sensors 9, location engine 11, and user interface 15 may be direct or via network 2 (see Snowday, Paragraphs [0018-0019]).), and
- outputting, by the user device, a first indication for locating the asset based on the approximate location (Snowday, Fig. 7: 16, 59, Paragraph [0047]).
Snowday does not specifically teach:
A two-stage method;
- in a second stage automatically initialized when a locator device is within detection range of the signal:
- receiving, by the locator device, the signal,
- measuring, by the locator device, a second characteristic of the signal, and
- outputting, by the locator device, a second indication for locating the asset based on the second characteristic,
wherein an accuracy radius of the second indication is less than an accuracy radius of the first indication.
Moorthy teaches:
- in a second stage automatically initialized when a locator device is within detection range of the signal (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], The precise location determination made from direct communication between the finder and the findee occurs when the findee can communicate directly with the finder, e.g. via UWB.):
- receiving, by the locator device, the signal (Moorthy, Fig. 4: 424-432, Paragraphs [0055-0058] Each of the components 424-432 of Finder 410 has a corresponding communication link to corresponding components 424-432 of Findee 450.),
- measuring, by the locator device, a second characteristic of the signal (Moorthy, Paragraphs [0053-0054], The motion engine 414 receives inputs from at least UWB 424, Bluetooth 426, WIFI 428, cellular 430, and IDS 432, and performs position estimates of the finder 410 and/or findee 450. One example characteristic used in determining the precise location of the findee is via UWB ranging (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0044]).), and
- outputting, by the locator device, a second indication for locating the asset based on the second characteristic (Moorthy, Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0071-0072], One example precise indication is an arrow which points in the direction of the findee relative to the finder. Utilizing the arrow, for example, the finder is able to navigate the user towards the precise location of the findee (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0018]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Snowday by integrating the teaching of a finder and a findee as taught by Moorthy.
The motivation would be aid the user to find a second device, e.g. an asset, by navigating the user towards the precise location of the second device (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0002]).
As per wherein an accuracy radius of the second indication is less than an accuracy radius of the first indication, Snowday in view of Moorthy discloses that a confidence bubble indicates to the user the range of area to search and provides and understanding to the user that the tag could still be offset somewhat from this area in practice (see Snowday, Paragraph [0047]). Additionally, the confidence bubble can be expanded to around the location of a generalized location of the tag in the facility, causing the location to be considerably less precise. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would reasonably conclude that the precise location, as taught by Moorthy, would have an accuracy radius that is less than an accuracy radius of the graphical indicator with the confidence bubble, as taught by Snowday.
Claim 9, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the signal is a radio signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal.).
Claim 10, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the signal is at least one of: an ultra-wideband signal, a Bluetooth™ signal, a Wi-Fi signal, and an RFID signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal. The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s specification lists example signals, therefore the claim is interpreted as only requiring at least one the signal types and not requiring every signal type simultaneously (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0037]).).
Claim 11, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the signal is broadcast over N channels, wherein N > 1 (Snowday, Paragraph [0050], The tags 7 may broadcast advertising packets via a plurality of BLE channels.), further comprising the RTLS:
- surveying a plurality of signals emitted by the asset over the N channels during a configurable time period and measuring a surveying characteristic of the plurality of signals (Snowday, Paragraph [0051], The sensors 9 measure signal strength of the plurality of received broadcasted signals from tags 7 (see Snowday, Fig. 6: 53).);
- categorizing the plurality of signals in N categories based on the surveying characteristic (Snowday, Paragraphs [0050-0051], When the plurality of advertised signals are received by the sensor 9 and are not duplicates of each other, the signals are effectively categorized as not duplicates, i.e. are not discarded.); and
- determine the approximate location based on at least one signal associated with one of the N categories (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The location(s) of the tag(s) 7 are determined based on the received signal strength 53 of each signal.).
Claim 12, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the first characteristic and/or the second characteristic comprise at least one of: fine time measurement, angle of arrival, and signal strength (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The location(s) of the tag(s) 7 are determined based on the received signal strength 53 of each signal. Because the first and second characteristics, respectively, are singular characteristics, the claim is interpreted as the first or second characteristic being a fine time measurement, angle of arrival, or a signal strength, but not all simultaneously.).
Claim 13, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the user device is the locator device (Snowday, Fig. 7: 55).
Claim 14, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 13, further comprising reverting to the first stage in response to the transmitter of the asset exiting the detection range (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], In the combination of Snowday in view of Moorthy, when the finder is no longer in direct communication with findee, the finder can only use information from other sources, e.g. cameras and sensors, GPS, etc. Thus, the switching from direct communication with the findee to these other sources is functionally equivalent to reverting to a first stage.).
Claim 15, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the user device is a workstation (Snowday, Fig. 7: 55, Paragraph [0045], A laptop computer is functionally equivalent to a workstation.) and the locator device is a handheld device (Moorthy, Fig. 2: 200).
Claim 16, Snowday teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors of a locator device (Snowday, Fig. 7: 55, Paragraph [0045], The computing system 55 includes a laptop computer, which includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon.), cause the one or more processors to:
- in a first stage:
- receive an approximate location of an asset from a real time locating system (RTLS) (Snowday, Figs. 1 and 2: 1, Paragraph [0016]) configured to estimate the approximate location based on a first characteristic measured by the RTLS in a signal emitted by a transmitter of the asset (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The sensors 9 determine a signal strength of a received RF tag signal 33, and the location engine 11 utilizes multilateration, trilateration, or other similar techniques to calculate the tag 7 location (see Snowday, Paragraph [0042]). The location of the tag 7 is then displayed on a user interface 15, represented by indicators 16 (see Snowday, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0045]).), and
- output a first indication for locating the asset based on the approximate location (Snowday, Fig. 7: 16, 59, Paragraph [0047]).
Snowday does not specifically teach:
- enter a second stage in response to the transmitter of the asset entering detection range of the locator device; and
- in the second stage:
- receive the signal,
- measure a second characteristic of the signal, and
- output a second indication for locating the asset based on the second characteristic,
wherein an accuracy radius of the second indication is less than an accuracy radius of the first indication.
Moorthy teaches:
- enter a second stage in response to the transmitter of the asset entering detection range of the locator device (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], The precise location determination made from direct communication between the finder and the findee occurs when the findee can communicate directly with the finder, e.g. via UWB.); and
- in the second stage:
- receive the signal (Moorthy, Fig. 4: 424-432, Paragraphs [0055-0058] Each of the components 424-432 of Finder 410 has a corresponding communication link to corresponding components 424-432 of Findee 450.),
- measure a second characteristic of the signal (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], The finder may use information including UWB ranging and/or information, i.e. a second characteristic, derived based on communication with the findee. The direct communication with the asset to be found, i.e. the findee, is interpreted as a second stage.), and
- output a second indication for locating the asset based on the second characteristic (Moorthy, Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0071-0072], One example precise indication is an arrow which points in the direction of the findee relative to the finder. Utilizing the arrow, for example, the finder is able to navigate the user towards the precise location of the findee (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0018]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Snowday by integrating the teaching of a finder and a findee as taught by Moorthy.
The motivation would be aid the user to find a second device, e.g. an asset, by navigating the user towards the precise location of the second device (see Moorthy, Paragraph [0002]).
As per wherein an accuracy radius of the second indication is less than an accuracy radius of the first indication, Snowday in view of Moorthy discloses that a confidence bubble indicates to the user the range of area to search and provides and understanding to the user that the tag could still be offset somewhat from this area in practice (see Snowday, Paragraph [0047]). Additionally, the confidence bubble can be expanded to around the location of a generalized location of the tag in the facility, causing the location to be considerably less precise. For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would reasonably conclude that the precise location, as taught by Moorthy, would have an accuracy radius that is less than an accuracy radius of the graphical indicator with the confidence bubble, as taught by Snowday.
Claim 17, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the signal is a radio signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal.).
Claim 18, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the signal is at least one of: an ultra-wideband signal, a Bluetooth™ signal, a Wi-Fi signal, and an RFID signal (Snowday, Paragraph [0016], Each tag 7 emits a radio frequency signal. The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s specification lists example signals, therefore the claim is interpreted as only requiring at least one the signal types and not requiring every signal type simultaneously (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0037]).).
Claim 19, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first characteristic and/or the second characteristic comprise at least one of: fine time measurement, angle of arrival, and signal strength (Snowday, Paragraph [0038], The location(s) of the tag(s) 7 are determined based on the received signal strength 53 of each signal. Because the first and second characteristics, respectively, are singular characteristics, the claim is interpreted as the first or second characteristic being a fine time measurement, angle of arrival, or a signal strength, but not all simultaneously.).
Claim 20, Snowday in view of Moorthy further teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to revert to the first stage in response to the transmitter of the asset exiting the detection range (Moorthy, Paragraph [0018], In the combination of Snowday in view of Moorthy, when the finder is no longer in direct communication with findee, the finder can only use information from other sources, e.g. cameras and sensors, GPS, etc. Thus, the switching from direct communication with the findee to these other sources is functionally equivalent to reverting to a first stage.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suresh (U.S. 2024/0064695 A1) discloses methods and systems for tracking of assets and user navigation utilizing a plurality of locator beacons for tracking a plurality of assets by using angles of arrival and departure.
Young (U.S. 2014/0266756 A1) discloses object tracking with platform notification by utilizing a tracking device affixed to a tagged object for detecting presence indications at a plurality of communication devices in order to provide navigation to a communication device to the location of the tagged object.
Thorn (U.S. 2009/0058651 A1) discloses a method for providing location reporting of RFID enabled moveable objects via communication between the objects and a first or second terminal.
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686