DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 06/16/2026, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 06/16/2026.
Claims 1-25 and 33-37 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2026 and 06/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, lines 18-19, 20-21 and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the electronically controlled twin tube damper link” should read, “the electronically controlled damper link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electronically controlled twin tube damper link” should read, “the electronically controlled damper link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, lines 1-3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electronically controlled twin tube damper link” should read, “the electronically controlled damper link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, lines 1-2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the electronically controlled twin tube damper link” should read, “the electronically controlled damper link”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an iinner tube” should read, “an inner tube”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33, lines 6-7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “within said inner tube said damping piston” should read, “within said inner tube, said damping piston”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a damper cylinder” should read, “a first cylindrical portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34, line 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said damper cylinder” should read, “said first cylindrical portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34, lines 10-11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “between first cylindrical portion” should read, “between said first cylindrical portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37, lines 6-7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said fluid reservoir chamber said gas chamber” should read, “said fluid reservoir chamber and said gas chamber”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-25, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox (US 2021/0114431), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
an electronically controlled damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
an outer tube {230};
an inner tube {210} positioned within the outer tube {230};
a piston shaft {216} extending out of the inner tube {210} and the outer tube {230};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049]} coupled to the piston shaft {216} and positioned within the inner tube {210 (same as 110 [0049])};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to a location {A} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}; and
a damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} configured to provide a signal to the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to control a damping characteristic of the damping piston {260; by controlling the flow of damping fluid between 206 and 234: “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 2, Cox discloses the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} further comprises a first cylindrical portion {210+230} and a second cylindrical portion {220}, wherein the outer tube {230} and the inner tube {210} are within the first cylindrical portion {210+230}, and wherein a valve {233} is positioned within the second cylindrical portion {220}, the valve {233} being controllable based on the signal from the damper link controller {“the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]; “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 3, Cox discloses the second cylindrical portion {220} is in fluid communication with the first cylindrical portion {210+230 (Fig. 7B)}.
Regarding claim 4, Cox discloses the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} further comprises a valve {233} and a damping fluid {236}, and wherein the valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]} is configured to respond to the signal {“the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]} from the damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} to control a flow of the damping fluid {236} for the damping piston {260; by controlling the flow of damping fluid between 206 and 234: “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 6, Cox discloses the electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} further comprises a channel {282 (292)} for damping fluid {236} between the inner tube {210} and the outer tube {230 (220 portion of 230)}.
Regarding claim 7, Cox discloses the damper link controller {“controller” [0005]} is configured to generate the signal {“the valve may be configured to transition between the locked state and the unlocked state in response to an electronic signal received by the valve” [0010]} based on a detected driving condition {“one or more sensor inputs” [0005]} for the vehicle {“the hydraulic anti-roll bar links can be in communication a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs (e.g., an adaptive suspension system, a semi-active suspension system, etc.)” [0005]}.
Regarding claim 8, Cox discloses the damper link controller {“controller” [0005} is configured to generate the signal {“the valve may be configured to transition between the locked state and the unlocked state in response to an electronic signal received by the valve” [0010]} based on a manual user selection {“The anti-roll bar link may include a manual toggle switch used to transition the link between the locked state and the unlocked state, e.g., a lever, switch, etc. configured for manipulation by a user” [0033]}.
Regarding claim 9, Cox discloses an additional electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200: “The anti-roll bar system generally includes an anti-roll bar and anti-roll bar links each coupled to the anti-roll bar and a respective articulating arm of the vehicle suspension. Each anti-roll bar link can include one or more hydraulic piston assemblies” [0018]} configured to be coupled to the sway bar {ARB: “anti-roll bar” [0018]} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0018]} and to an additional location {“a respective articulating arm of the vehicle suspension” [0018]} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0018]}, and wherein the damper link controller is configured to control the additional electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200: “a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links” [0005]}.
Regarding claim 10, Cox discloses the damping characteristic of the damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} is a damping rate {fluid flow rate: “configured to selectively control the flow of fluid within the hydraulic piston assembly” [0018]}.
Regarding claim 11, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
a damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
a first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)};
a shaft {216} extending through an end of the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} coupled to the shaft {216} and positioned within the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230};
a second cylindrical portion {220};
a valve {233} positioned within the second cylindrical portion {220}, the valve {233} being configured to control a damping rate {via controlling a fluid flow rate between 206 and 234} for the damper link {200: “a solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of the damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of the damper link {200} to a location {A} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}; and
a damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} configured to provide a control signal for the valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]} of the damper link {200: “the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]}.
Regarding claim 12, Cox discloses the damper link {200} further comprises a damping fluid {236}, and wherein the valve {233} is configured to control the damping rate for the damper link {200} by controlling a flow of the damping fluid {“configured to selectively control the flow of fluid within the hydraulic piston assembly” [0018]}.
Regarding claim 13, Cox discloses the second cylindrical portion {220} is in fluid communication with the first cylindrical portion {210 (Fig. 7B)}.
Regarding claim 14, Cox discloses the damper link controller {“controller” [0005]} is configured to control the valve {233: “the valve may be configured to transition between the locked state and the unlocked state in response to an electronic signal received by the valve” [0010]} based on a detected driving condition {“one or more sensor inputs” [0005]} for the vehicle {“the hydraulic anti-roll bar links can be in communication a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs (e.g., an adaptive suspension system, a semi-active suspension system, etc.)” [0005]}.
Regarding claim 15, Cox discloses the damper link controller {“controller” [0005} is configured to control the valve {233: “the valve may be configured to transition between the locked state and the unlocked state in response to an electronic signal received by the valve” [0010]} based on a manual user selection {“The anti-roll bar link may include a manual toggle switch used to transition the link between the locked state and the unlocked state, e.g., a lever, switch, etc. configured for manipulation by a user” [0033]}.
Regarding claim 16, Cox discloses at least the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)} comprises a twin tube structure {210+230}.
Regarding claim 17, Cox discloses an additional damper link {200: “The anti-roll bar system generally includes an anti-roll bar and anti-roll bar links each coupled to the anti-roll bar and a respective articulating arm of the vehicle suspension. Each anti-roll bar link can include one or more hydraulic piston assemblies” [0018]} configured to be coupled to the sway bar {ARB: “anti-roll bar” [0018]} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0018]} and to an additional location {“a respective articulating arm of the vehicle suspension” [0018]} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0018]}, and wherein the damper link controller is further configured to control the additional damper link {200: “a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links” [0005]}.
Regarding claim 18, Cox discloses the control signal for the valve {233} is configured to cause the damper link {200} to be in a locked out state {Fig. 7A: “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 236 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]} or a compliant state {Fig. 7B: “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Regarding claim 19, Cox discloses the control signal for the valve {233} is configured to cause a stiffness of the damper link {200} to vary {“Damping of the relative motion between the anti-roll bar the vehicle suspension can provide roll stability to the vehicle during operation with the anti-roll bar links in an unlocked state. Unlocking the anti-roll bar links can provide the aforementioned advantages of a substantially disconnected anti-roll bar, by increased articulation of the suspension during off-road and other uses, while decreasing the tendency of the vehicle to become unstable in side-to-side motion during operation” [0032]}.
Regarding claim 20, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
a damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
a first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)};
a shaft {216} extending out of the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} coupled to the shaft {216} and positioned within the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)};
a second cylindrical portion {220};
an electronically controlled valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]; “the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]} positioned within the second cylindrical portion {220}, the electronically controlled valve {233} configured to control a damping characteristic of the damping piston {260; by controlling the flow of damping fluid between 206 and 234: “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of the damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of the damper link {200} to a location {A} of the vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}.
Regarding claim 21, Cox discloses the second cylindrical portion {220} is in fluid communication {282, 292 (Fig. 7B)} with the first cylindrical portion {210}.
Regarding claim 22, Cox discloses the first cylindrical portion {210 (210+230)} comprises a twin tube structure {210+230}.
Regarding claim 23, Cox discloses the twin tube structure {210+230} comprises an inner tube {210}, an outer tube {230}, and a channel {282, 292 (Fig. 7B)} for damping fluid {236} between the inner tube {210} and the outer tube {230 (220 portion of 230)}.
Regarding claim 24, Cox discloses the electronically controlled valve {233} is configured to control the damping characteristic of the damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} by at least controlling a flow of damping fluid {236} in the damper link {200: “configured to selectively control the flow of fluid within the hydraulic piston assembly” [0018]}.
Regarding claim 25, Cox discloses a damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} configured to provide a control signal for the electronically controlled valve {233} of the damper link {200} based on a driving condition {“one or more sensor inputs” [0005]} for the vehicle {“the hydraulic anti-roll bar links can be in communication a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs (e.g., an adaptive suspension system, a semi-active suspension system, etc.)” [0005]}.
Regarding claim 34, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
a damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
a damper cylinder {210};
a shaft {216} extending through an end of said damper cylinder {210};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} coupled to said shaft {216} and positioned within said first cylindrical portion {210};
a second cylindrical portion {220};
a valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]} positioned within said second cylindrical portion {220}, said valve {233} configured to either block fluid flow between said first cylindrical portion {210} and said second cylindrical portion {220 (Fig. 7A)} or to allow said fluid flow between first cylindrical portion {210} and said second cylindrical portion {220 (Fig. 7B)};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of said damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of said damper link {200} to a location {A} of said vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}; and
a damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} configured to provide a control signal for said valve {233} of said damper link {200: “the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox in view of Cox (US 2015/0290991), as cited by Applicant, hereinafter Cox 2.
Regarding claim 5, Cox discloses all the aspects of claim 1. However, Cox does not explicitly disclose the damping piston comprises a plurality of openings.
Cox 2 teaches a damping piston {120} comprises a plurality of openings {128, 130: “one or more piston openings 128, 130 extending through the piston 120 to selectively open fluid communication between the rebound and compression volumes 109 and 108” [0036]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Cox, such that the damping piston comprises a plurality of openings, as taught by Cox 2, in order “to selectively open fluid communication between the rebound and compression volumes” [0036].
Claims 33 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox in view of Coombs (US 2012/0001399).
Regarding claim 33, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
an electronically controlled damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
an outer tube {230};
an inner tube {210} positioned within the outer tube {230};
a piston shaft {216} extending out of said inner tube {210} and said outer tube {230};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049]} coupled to said piston shaft {216} and positioned within said inner tube {210 (same as 110 [0049])} said damping piston {260} moveably dividing said inner tube {210 (same as 110 [0049]} into a compression portion and a rebound portion {portions to the right and left of damping piston 160 in Fig. 4A};
a valve {233} fluidly coupled with said inner tube {210 (see 292 in Fig. 7B)};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of said electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of said electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to a location {A} of said vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}; and
a damper link controller {“a controller (e.g., an electronic control unit, a suspension controller, etc.) programmed to change the state of one or more of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links on the fly while seated in or otherwise operating the vehicle. The controller can also coordinate operation of the hydraulic anti-roll bar links and the suspension system based on one or more sensor inputs” [0005]; “the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]; “The anti-roll bar link 200 may include… an automated feature toggled by a controller… the automated feature may override the manual feature, e.g., automatically locking the anti-roll bar link when the vehicle reaches a certain speed threshold” [0055]} configured to provide a signal to said electronically controlled twin tube damper link {200} to control a damping characteristic of said damping piston {260; by controlling the flow of damping fluid between 206 and 234: “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Cox further teaches said valve {233} is configured to either prevent fluid flow between said inner tube {210} and a second cylinder {220 (Fig. 7A)} or to allow said fluid flow between said inner tube {210} and said second cylinder {220 (Fig. 7B)}.
However, Cox does not explicitly disclose said valve configured to either prevent fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion.
Coombs teaches a valve {124: “The aperture 124 preferably includes an aperture valve that is preferably a one-direction valve, fluid flow from the first volume 134 into the second volume 136 is permitted and flow from the second volume 136 into the first volume 134 is prevented… The aperture valve and the replenishment valve may alternatively be a butterfly valve, a ball valve, a diaphragm valve, a needle valve, or any other valve, and may be either passive or active” [0025]} fluidly coupled with said inner tube {130}, said valve {124: “aperture valve” [0025]} configured to either prevent fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion {134, 136 (Fig. 5B): “flow from the second volume 136 into the first volume 134 is prevented” [0025]} or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion {134, 136 (Fig. 5A): “fluid flow from the first volume 134 into the second volume 136 is permitted” [0025]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Cox, such that said valve is configured to either prevent fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion, as taught by Coombs, in order “To prevent aeration” [0025].
Regarding claim 35, Cox discloses a sway bar system {Figs. 2 and 7A-B} comprising:
a damper link {200: “FIGS. 7A and 7B show enlarged cross-sectional detail views of an anti-roll bar link 200 in accordance with another embodiment of the present technology. Certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are similar to components of the hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100. The similar components have like reference numerals, except are denoted in the 200-series instead of the 100-series, unless otherwise noted. In this regard, certain components of the anti-roll bar link 200 are not reintroduced for clarity in the ensuing description” [0049]} comprising:
a damper cylinder {210};
a shaft {216}, said shaft {216} movable into and out of said damper cylinder {210};
a damping piston {260 (same as 160 [0049])} coupled to said shaft {216} and positioned within said damper cylinder {210}, said damping piston {260} moveably dividing said damper cylinder {210 (same as 110 [0049]} into a compression portion and a rebound portion {portions to the right and left of damping piston 160 in Fig. 4A};
a valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]} fluidly coupled with said damper cylinder {210};
a first coupling {240 (same as 140 [0049])} configured to couple a first end {204 (same as 104 [0049])} of said damper link {200} to a sway bar {ARB (Fig. 2)} of a vehicle {“vehicle” [0034]}; and
a second coupling {250 (same as 150 [0049])} configured to couple a second end {202 (same as 102 [0049])} of said damper link {200} to a location {A} of said vehicle {“vehicle” [0037]}.
Cox further teaches said valve {233} is configured to either block fluid flow between said damper cylinder {210} and a second damper cylinder {220 (Fig. 7A)} or to allow said fluid flow between said damper cylinder {210} and said second damper cylinder {220 (Fig. 7B)}.
However, Cox does not explicitly disclose said valve configured to either block fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion.
Coombs teaches a valve {124: “The aperture 124 preferably includes an aperture valve that is preferably a one-direction valve, fluid flow from the first volume 134 into the second volume 136 is permitted and flow from the second volume 136 into the first volume 134 is prevented… The aperture valve and the replenishment valve may alternatively be a butterfly valve, a ball valve, a diaphragm valve, a needle valve, or any other valve, and may be either passive or active” [0025]} fluidly coupled with said inner tube {130}, said valve {124: “aperture valve” [0025]} configured to either block fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion {134, 136 (Fig. 5B): “flow from the second volume 136 into the first volume 134 is prevented” [0025]} or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion {134, 136 (Fig. 5A): “fluid flow from the first volume 134 into the second volume 136 is permitted” [0025]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Cox, such that said valve is configured to either block fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion or to allow said fluid flow between said compression portion and said rebound portion, as taught by Coombs, in order “To prevent aeration” [0025].
Regarding claim 36, Cox and Coombs disclose all the aspects of claim 35. Cox further discloses said valve {233: “solenoid valve 233” [0050]} is electronically controlled {“the anti-roll bar link 200 is configured to operate electronically (e.g., by energizing and deenergizing an electric solenoid)” [0050]}.
Regarding claim 37, Cox and Coombs disclose all the aspects of claim 35. Cox further discloses a fluid reserve cylinder {220} fluidly coupled with said damper cylinder {210}, said fluid reserve cylinder {220} comprising:
a fluid reservoir chamber {234 (portion to the left of 224 filled with damping fluid 236, see Figs. 7A-B)};
a gas chamber {234 (portion to the right of 224 filled with gas, see Figs. 7A-B)}; and
an internal floating piston {224 (same as 124 [0049])} fluidly separating said fluid reservoir chamber {234 (left side portion, Figs. 7A-B)} said gas chamber {234 (right side portion, Figs. 7A-B): “a floating piston 124 slidingly positioned within a remote chamber 134 for separating damping fluid from gas within the remote reservoir 120” [0040]}; and
wherein said fluid reserve cylinder {220} is configured to control fluid flow into and out of said damper cylinder {210 (via valve 233): “solenoid valve 233 having a plunger 235 configured to transition the anti-roll bar link 200 between a locked position (FIG. 7A) and an unlocked position (FIG. 7B)” [0050]; “As shown in FIG. 7A, in the locked state, the damping fluid 2.36 is restricted from flowing between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0051]; “FIG. 7B shows the unlocked state where the solenoid valve 233 is energized, retracting the plunger 235, and allow the damping fluid 236 to flow between the inner chamber 206 and the remote chamber 234” [0053]}.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614