DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 03/27/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 12/18/2025.
Claims 1-32 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/126,787, filed on 12/17/2020; is a continuation of App. 17/553,134, filed on 12/16/2021; and is a continuation of App. 18/127,224, filed on 03/28/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2025, 07/29/2025, 09/26/2025, 12/11/2025, and 12/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Fig. 3 of Cox does not disclose a twin-tube damper link. However, examiner disagrees with this assertion for the following reasons: 1) Fig. 3 of Cox discloses a first tube {110} and a second tube {120}, 2) The twin-tube damper link in Fig. 3 of Cox looks extremely similar to the twin-tube damper link of the present application, 3) The twin-tube damper link in the present application is also connected to an anti-roll bar, 4) Cox states, “the hydraulic anti-roll bar link can extend to, for example, increase suspension travel, provide suspension dampening (e.g., passive dampening, adaptive dampening, semi-active dampening), or the like” [0005]. For at least these reasons, Examiner maintains that the combination of Clements, Cox, and Krosschell discloses all the aspects of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant asserts that Clements and Krosschell essentially do not disclose any of the aspects of claim 17, and then gives no reasoning or explanation for why Applicant asserts that they are not disclosed. Examiner maintains that Clements discloses every single aspect of claim 17, except a switch user interface instead of a graphical user interface; and since Krosschell teaches a switch user interface can be a graphical user interface, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Clements and Krosschell such that the switch user interface of Clements is a graphical user interface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements (US 2002/0125675) in view of Cox (US 2021/0114431) and Krosschell (US 2021/0316716).
Regarding claim 1, Clements discloses a sway bar system {10} comprising: a sway bar {12} having a first end {20A} and a second end {20B}; an electronically controlled damper link {24 (electronically controlled by controller 28)}, said electronically controlled damper link {24} configured to provide a remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability {“Preferably, the end links 24A, 24B selectively disengage motion of the suspension members 22A, 22B from the stabilizer bar 12. For example only, when the vehicle 18 is to be driven in an off-road environment, the end links 24A,24B are decoupled” [0021]; “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled” [0022]} between a first location {22A} on a vehicle {18} and said first end {20A} of said sway bar {12 (Fig. 2): “First and second lateral segment 20A,20B of the stabilizer bar 12 are attached to the suspension members 22A, 22B, by end links 24A, 24B” [0020]}; said second end {20B} of said sway bar {12} coupled to a second location {22B} on said vehicle {18: “First and second lateral segment 20A,20B of the stabilizer bar 12 are attached to the suspension members 22A, 22B, by end links 24A, 24B” [0020]}; a user interface {29 (Fig. 1)} communicatively coupled with said vehicle {18} and to receive a user input {“The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver” [0022]}, said user input {to switch 29 [0022]} to change a vehicle suspension mode {“The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}; and a control system {28} to receive said user input from said user interface {29 (Fig. 1), said control system {28} configured to automatically connect or disconnect said electronically controlled damper link {24: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver” [0022]; “Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0034]} based upon said user input {to switch 29} received by said control system {28} from said user interface {29}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said electronically controlled damper link is a twin tube electronically controlled damper link, or that the user interface is a graphical user interface.
Cox teaches an electronically controlled damper link {100} is a twin tube {110, 120} electronically controlled damper link {Fig. 3}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, such that said electronically controlled damper link is a twin tube electronically controlled damper link, as taught by Cox, in order to provide “a hydraulic anti-roll bar link 100 connected between an anti-roll bar ARB and an axle or control arm A of a vehicle suspension” [0034].
Krosschell teaches that a switch user interface {312} can instead be a graphical user interface {310: “In another example, vehicle 10 does not include rocker switch 312 and the selection of various ride modes and operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes is received by controller 20 through graphical user interface 310 of display 24. As mentioned in connection with FIG. 10, in one embodiment, vehicle 10 includes a graphical user interface 310 presented on display 24. Referring to FIG. 11, an exemplary screen 320 of graphical user interface 310 is illustrated. Screen 320 includes a first portion 322 having operator selectable inputs 324 to select a ride mode for suspension system 11 and operator selectable inputs 326 to select the manner in which suspension system 11 is adjusted” [0117-0118]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Cox, such that said switch user interface is replaced by a graphical user interface, as taught by Krosschell, in order to allow the “operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes” [0117].
Regarding claim 2, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Clements does not explicitly disclose said twin tube electronically controlled damper link further comprises: hydraulic fluid; and a gas chamber.
Cox teaches said twin tube electronically controlled damper link {100} further comprises: hydraulic fluid {“damping fluid enters the remote chamber 134 from the distal end and causes the floating piston 124 to travel toward the proximal end of the remote chamber 134” [0040]}; and a gas chamber {106: “the inner chamber 106 positioned between the fixed piston 160 and the proximal cap 114 is tilled with low-pressure gas (e.g., air)” [0039]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said twin tube electronically controlled damper link further comprises: hydraulic fluid; and a gas chamber, as taught by Cox, in order “to not impede parking of the link 100” [0039].
Regarding claim 3, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Clements further discloses said first location {22A} on said vehicle {18}, at which said twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24 (24A)} is coupled to said vehicle {18}, is selected from the group consisting of: a location at or near a wheel of said vehicle {near the wheel shown in Fig. 1: “An expanded view of the suspension member 22A is illustrated in FIG. 2. The suspension system 10 is attached to the frame member 27 along the longitudinal axis of the vehicle 18. The suspension member 22A is pivotally connected to a knuckle 29 which supports a wheel mounting assembly 31. When the wheel (not illustrated) mounted on the wheel mounting assembly 31 travels in jounce and rebound, the suspension members 22A pivots with respect to the frame member 27 in a known manner” [0023]}, a location at or near a control arm {at control arm 22A (Fig. 2)} of said vehicle {18 [0023]}, and a location at or near a suspension feature of said vehicle {at suspension arm 22a (Fig. 2), near suspension knuckle 29 (Fig. 2), and near wheel mounting assembly 31 (Figs. 1-2): “suspension member 22A is pivotally connected to a knuckle 29 which supports a wheel mounting assembly 31. When the wheel (not illustrated) mounted on the wheel mounting assembly 31 travels in jounce and rebound, the suspension members 22A pivots with respect to the frame member 27 in a known manner” [0023]}.
Regarding claim 4, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Clements further discloses said control system {28} further comprises: sensors {30} configured to provide sensor input {“signals” [0022, 0027]} to said control system {28: “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A,22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data. It should be further understood that other sensors and other mounting locations will benefit from the present invention. The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 5, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said sensors {30 (Fig. 1): “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A, 22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]} are selected from the group consisting of: accelerometer {“acceleration” [0022]}, suspension change sensor {Fig. 2: “motion of the suspension members” [0022]}, a driver input monitor {29 (Fig. 1)}, vehicle speed sensor {“speed” [0022]}, an inertial measurement unit {“distance moved” [0022]}, and an attitude and heading reference system {“the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 6, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 1. However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {microprocessor: “suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, as taught by Krosschell, in order “to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138].
Regarding claim 7, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 6. However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor is a logic control unit (LCU).
Krosschell teaches said processor {“microprocessor” [0138]} is a logic control unit (LCU) {400: “suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11. Referring to FIG. 13, suspension controller 86 may execute a ride mode change logic 400 which provides control signals to suspension system 11, such as the electronically controlled valves of shock absorbers 18, to achieve various configurations of suspension system 11, such as race, trail, sport, and other suitable configurations. In the case of multi-operator selectable ride modes, ride mode change logic 400 may permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode. The term “logic” as used herein includes software and/or firmware executing on one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field-programmable gate arrays, digital signal processors, hardwired logic, or combinations thereof. Therefore, in accordance with the embodiments, various logic may be implemented in any appropriate fashion and would remain in accordance with the embodiments herein disclosed. A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising logic can additionally be considered to be embodied within any tangible form of a computer-readable carrier, such as solid-state memory, magnetic disk, and optical disk containing an appropriate set of computer instructions and data structures that would cause a processor to carry out the techniques described herein” [0138]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said processor is a logic control unit (LCU), as taught by Krosschell, in order “to achieve various configurations of suspension system 11, such as race, trail, sport, and other suitable configurations” [0138].
Regarding claim 8, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 6. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input from said user interface {29: “Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor receives said user input from said graphical user interface.
Krosschell teaches said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410} from said graphical user interface {310 [0116-0118]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said processor receives said user input from said GUI, as taught by Krosschell, in order “to select the manner in which suspension system 11 is adjusted” [0118].
Regarding claim 9, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said sensor input {“signals” [0027]} from said sensors {30: “Preferably, the controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensor 30 to control operation of the actuator 41 and engagement member 40” [0027]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said sensor input from said sensors.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {“microprocessor” [0138]} receives said sensor input {420 (Fig. 13)} from said sensors {40: “suspension controller 86 receives a plurality of inputs 420 based on the operational characteristics of vehicle 10. Suspension controller 86 receives inputs from a plurality of vehicle condition sensors 40. The vehicle condition sensors 40 may either actively provide an indication by sending a sensor signal or passively provide an indication by making available a monitored characteristic, such as a voltage, a temperature, a pressure or other suitable characteristics. Suspension controller 86 further, either receives or initiates based on received inputs from the plurality of vehicle condition sensors 40, one or more vehicle condition modifier states” [0140]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said sensor input from said sensors, as taught by Krosschell, so that “If there are not any active vehicle condition modifier states, ride mode change logic 400 reviews the inputs from vehicle condition sensors 40 to determine whether to permit the ride mode change” [0144].
Regarding claim 10, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30 (Figs. 1-2)}, said control system {28} utilizing said user input {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensors, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410 (Fig. 13)} and said sensor input {420 (Fig. 13)}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said user input {410} and said sensor input {420} to determine whether to automatically adjust the suspension {11: “Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 11, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said vehicle suspension mode {“on-road” or “off-road” suspension mode setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30}, said control system {28} utilizing said vehicle suspension mode {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensors, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86 (Figs. 13-14)} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives {“suspension controller 86 receives a plurality of inputs 420 based on the operational characteristics of vehicle 10” [0140]; “a first exemplary set of operational characteristics 420 includes a current ride mode characteristic 440, a vehicle speed 442, one or more acceleration values 444, and an indication of any active vehicle condition modifier states 446” [0142]} said vehicle suspension mode {440} and said sensor input {442, 444 (from sensors 26, 30): “vehicle speed 442 is based on an input from vehicle speed sensor 26. In one embodiment, the one or more acceleration values 444 include a z-plane acceleration from chassis supported accelerometer 30” [0142]}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said vehicle suspension mode {440} and said sensor input {442, 444} to determine whether to automatically permit {422} or deny {424} a change to the suspension {11 (Figs. 13-14)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 12, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30}, said control system {28} utilizing said user input {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86 (Figs. 13-14)} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410} and said sensor input {420}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said user input {410} and said sensor input {420} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 13, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 12. Clements further discloses said control system {28} further receives user preferences {“ready to couple” condition from the user via 29: “The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition.” [0034]} and said processor {28} utilizes said user preferences {“ready to couple” condition (via 29)}, said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting.” [0022]}, and said sensor input {from 30} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor further receives user preferences and said processor utilizes said user preferences, said user input, and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode.
Krosschell teaches said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} further receives user preferences {440+446 (Fig. 14)} and said processor {86} utilizes said user preferences {440+446}, said user input {410}, and said sensor input {442, 444, 445} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said processor further receives user preferences and said processor utilizes said user preferences, said user input, and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 14, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 12. Clements further discloses said control system {28} automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference {“Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}, a vehicle speed {“speed”: “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A,22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]}, a maneuver {“distance moved” [0022]; Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference, a vehicle speed, a maneuver, and a ride type.
Krosschell teaches {Figs. 13-14} said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]} based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference {446}, a vehicle speed {442}, a maneuver {445}, and a ride type {440: “a first exemplary set of operational characteristics 420 includes a current ride mode characteristic 440, a vehicle speed 442, one or more acceleration values 444, and an indication of any active vehicle condition modifier states 446” [0142]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said processor automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference, a vehicle speed, a maneuver, and a ride type, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 15, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Clements further discloses said vehicle suspension mode is selected from the group consisting of: highway mode {“on-road” setting [0022]}, off-road mode {“off-road” setting: “Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}.
Additionally, Krosschell further teaches a “comfort mode… a sport mode… and a third position corresponding to the suspension being in a firm mode” [0116], and further teaches that any number of additional ride modes can be added and customized by the user via the GUI {310: “Rocker switch 312 may be used in place of display 24 or in addition to the inputs provided through display 24. In one example, rocker switch 312 selects between multiple rides modes and the inputs of graphical user interface 310 provide operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes as indicated by the configuration/tuning label in FIG. 10. In another example, vehicle 10 does not include rocker switch 312 and the selection of various ride modes and operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes is received by controller 20 through graphical user interface 310” [0117]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said vehicle suspension mode is selected from the group consisting of: highway mode, off-road mode, mixed mode, rock climbing mode, racing mode, performance mode, sport mode, and wet mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to provide the “operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes” [0117].
Regarding claim 16, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Clements further discloses said electronically controlled damper link {24} comprises: an actuator {41: “The second segment 36 is coupled and decoupled from the first segment 34 by a locking assembly 38” [0025]; “One disclosed embodiment provides for the locking member 38 to be electro-mechanically operated as solenoid or the like. Solenoids are known and typically include a movable plunger within an electromagnetic actuator. In this disclosed embodiment, the movable plunger is the engagement member 40 which is driven by the actuator 41 into and out of the groove 42. Movement of the engagement member 40 is represented by the double headed arrows "L". Preferably, the controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensor 30 to control operation of the actuator 41 and engagement member 40” [0027]} to provide said remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability, said actuator {41} is a linear actuator {“movable plunger” [0027]}.
Additionally, Cox further teaches said twin tube electronically controlled damper link {100 (110, 120)} comprises: an actuator to provide said remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability {“automated toggling between the locked and unlocked states is also within the scope of the present technology, and may be actuated using any known method” [0038]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said twin tube electronically controlled damper link comprises: a linear actuator to provide said remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability, as taught by Clements and Cox, because “Disconnecting the anti-roll bars may be desirable in certain situations where high-articulation of the suspension is beneficial, such as off-road or when traversing rugged terrain. When the anti-roll bars are disconnected, the suspension at each corner of the vehicle can articulate to a larger extent since the forces acting on the wheel in any given corner of the vehicle are imparted into only the suspension components in that corner. During off-road use, such increased articulation may improve the ability of the vehicle to traverse rugged terrain; however, vehicles can become unstable with the anti-roll bars disconnected, and are typically only usable at very low vehicle speeds due to undamped side-to-side motion” [0004].
Claims 17, and 19-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements in view of Krosschell.
Regarding claim 17, Clements discloses a sway bar system {10} comprising: a sway bar {12} having a first end {20A} and a second end {20B}; a non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24 (electronically controlled by controller 28)}, said non-twin electronically controlled damper link {24} configured to provide a remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability {“Preferably, the end links 24A, 24B selectively disengage motion of the suspension members 22A, 22B from the stabilizer bar 12. For example only, when the vehicle 18 is to be driven in an off-road environment, the end links 24A,24B are decoupled” [0021]; “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled” [0022]} between a first location {22A} on a vehicle {18} and said first end {20A} of said sway bar {12 (Fig. 2): “First and second lateral segment 20A,20B of the stabilizer bar 12 are attached to the suspension members 22A, 22B, by end links 24A, 24B” [0020]}; said second end {20B} of said sway bar {12} coupled to a second location {22B} on said vehicle {18: “First and second lateral segment 20A,20B of the stabilizer bar 12 are attached to the suspension members 22A, 22B, by end links 24A, 24B” [0020]}; a user interface {29 (Fig. 1)} communicatively coupled with said vehicle {18} and to receive a user input {“The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver” [0022]}, said user input {to switch 29 [0022]} to change a vehicle suspension mode {“The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}; and a control system {28} to receive said user input from said user interface {29 (Fig. 1)}, said control system {28} configured to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin electronically controlled damper link {24: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver” [0022]; “Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition.” [0034]} based upon said user input {to switch 29} received by said control system {28} from said user interface {29}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose that the (switch) user interface is a graphical user interface.
Krosschell teaches that a (switch) user interface {312} can instead be a graphical user interface {310: “In another example, vehicle 10 does not include rocker switch 312 and the selection of various ride modes and operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes is received by controller 20 through graphical user interface 310 of display 24. As mentioned in connection with FIG. 10, in one embodiment, vehicle 10 includes a graphical user interface 310 presented on display 24. Referring to FIG. 11, an exemplary screen 320 of graphical user interface 310 is illustrated. Screen 320 includes a first portion 322 having operator selectable inputs 324 to select a ride mode for suspension system 11 and operator selectable inputs 326 to select the manner in which suspension system 11 is adjusted” [0117-0118]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, to replace said switch user interface with a graphical user interface, as taught by Krosschell, such that a graphical user interface (GUI) is communicatively coupled with said vehicle and to receive said user input, said user input to change a vehicle suspension mode; and said control system to receive said user input from said GUI to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link, allowing the “operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes” [0117].
Regarding claim 19, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Clements further discloses said first location {22A} on said vehicle {18}, at which said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24 (24A)} is coupled to said vehicle {18}, is selected from the group consisting of: a location at or near a wheel of said vehicle {near the wheel shown in Fig. 1: “An expanded view of the suspension member 22A is illustrated in FIG. 2. The suspension system 10 is attached to the frame member 27 along the longitudinal axis of the vehicle 18. The suspension member 22A is pivotally connected to a knuckle 29 which supports a wheel mounting assembly 31. When the wheel (not illustrated) mounted on the wheel mounting assembly 31 travels in jounce and rebound, the suspension members 22A pivots with respect to the frame member 27 in a known manner” [0023]}, a location at or near a control arm {at control arm 22A (Fig. 2)} of said vehicle {18 [0023]}, and a location at or near a suspension feature of said vehicle {at suspension arm 22a (Fig. 2), near suspension knuckle 29 (Fig. 2), and near wheel mounting assembly 31 (Figs. 1-2): “suspension member 22A is pivotally connected to a knuckle 29 which supports a wheel mounting assembly 31. When the wheel (not illustrated) mounted on the wheel mounting assembly 31 travels in jounce and rebound, the suspension members 22A pivots with respect to the frame member 27 in a known manner” [0023]}.
Regarding claim 20, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Clements further discloses said control system {28} further comprises: sensors {30} configured to provide sensor input {“signals” [0022, 0027]} to said control system {28: “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A,22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data. It should be further understood that other sensors and other mounting locations will benefit from the present invention. The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 21, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said sensors {30 (Fig. 1): “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A, 22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]} are selected from the group consisting of: accelerometer {“acceleration” [0022]}, suspension change sensor {Fig. 2: “motion of the suspension members” [0022]}, a driver input monitor {29 (Fig. 1)}, vehicle speed sensor {“speed” [0022]}, an inertial measurement unit {“distance moved” [0022]}, and an attitude and heading reference system {“the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 22, Clements, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {microprocessor: “suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, as taught by Krosschell, in order “to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138].
Regarding claim 23, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 22. However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor is a logic control unit (LCU).
Krosschell teaches said processor {“microprocessor” [0138]} is a logic control unit (LCU) {400: “suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11. Referring to FIG. 13, suspension controller 86 may execute a ride mode change logic 400 which provides control signals to suspension system 11, such as the electronically controlled valves of shock absorbers 18, to achieve various configurations of suspension system 11, such as race, trail, sport, and other suitable configurations. In the case of multi-operator selectable ride modes, ride mode change logic 400 may permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode. The term “logic” as used herein includes software and/or firmware executing on one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field-programmable gate arrays, digital signal processors, hardwired logic, or combinations thereof. Therefore, in accordance with the embodiments, various logic may be implemented in any appropriate fashion and would remain in accordance with the embodiments herein disclosed. A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising logic can additionally be considered to be embodied within any tangible form of a computer-readable carrier, such as solid-state memory, magnetic disk, and optical disk containing an appropriate set of computer instructions and data structures that would cause a processor to carry out the techniques described herein” [0138]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said processor is a logic control unit (LCU), as taught by Krosschell, in order “to achieve various configurations of suspension system 11, such as race, trail, sport, and other suitable configurations” [0138].
Regarding claim 24, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 22. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input from said user interface {29: “Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor receives said user input from said graphical user interface.
Krosschell teaches said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410} from said graphical user interface {310 [0116-0118]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said processor receives said user input from said GUI, as taught by Krosschell, in order “to select the manner in which suspension system 11 is adjusted” [0118].
Regarding claim 25, Clements, Cox, and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said sensor input {“signals” [0027]} from said sensors {30: “Preferably, the controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensor 30 to control operation of the actuator 41 and engagement member 40” [0027]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said sensor input from said sensors.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {“microprocessor” [0138]} receives said sensor input {420 (Fig. 13)} from said sensors {40: “suspension controller 86 receives a plurality of inputs 420 based on the operational characteristics of vehicle 10. Suspension controller 86 receives inputs from a plurality of vehicle condition sensors 40. The vehicle condition sensors 40 may either actively provide an indication by sending a sensor signal or passively provide an indication by making available a monitored characteristic, such as a voltage, a temperature, a pressure or other suitable characteristics. Suspension controller 86 further, either receives or initiates based on received inputs from the plurality of vehicle condition sensors 40, one or more vehicle condition modifier states” [0140]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said sensor input from said sensors, as taught by Krosschell, so that “If there are not any active vehicle condition modifier states, ride mode change logic 400 reviews the inputs from vehicle condition sensors 40 to determine whether to permit the ride mode change” [0144].
Regarding claim 26, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30 (Figs. 1-2)}, said control system {28} utilizing said user input {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensors, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410 (Fig. 13)} and said sensor input {420 (Fig. 13)}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said user input {410} and said sensor input {420} to determine whether to automatically adjust the suspension {11: “Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 27, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said vehicle suspension mode {“on-road” or “off-road” suspension mode setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30}, said control system {28} utilizing said vehicle suspension mode {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensors, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86 (Figs. 13-14)} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives {“suspension controller 86 receives a plurality of inputs 420 based on the operational characteristics of vehicle 10” [0140]; “a first exemplary set of operational characteristics 420 includes a current ride mode characteristic 440, a vehicle speed 442, one or more acceleration values 444, and an indication of any active vehicle condition modifier states 446” [0142]} said vehicle suspension mode {440} and said sensor input {442, 444 (from sensors 26, 30): “vehicle speed 442 is based on an input from vehicle speed sensor 26. In one embodiment, the one or more acceleration values 444 include a z-plane acceleration from chassis supported accelerometer 30” [0142]}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said vehicle suspension mode {440} and said sensor input {442, 444} to determine whether to automatically permit {422} or deny {424} a change to the suspension {11 (Figs. 13-14)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, Cox, and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said vehicle suspension mode and said sensor input to determine whether to automatically connect or disconnect said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 28, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said control system {28} receives said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30}, said control system {28} utilizing said user input {from 29 [0022]} and said sensor input {from 30} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {24: Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode.
Krosschell teaches said control system {86 (Figs. 13-14)} further comprises: a processor {“suspension controller 86 is microprocessor-based and includes processing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as memory 76, which are executable by the microprocessor of suspension controller 86 to control operation of suspension system 11” [0138]}, wherein said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} receives said user input {410} and said sensor input {420}, said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} utilizing said user input {410} and said sensor input {420} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said control system further comprises: a processor, wherein said processor receives said user input and said sensor input, said processor utilizing said user input and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 29, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 28. Clements further discloses said control system {28} further receives user preferences {“ready to couple” condition from the user via 29: “The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition.” [0034]} and said processor {28} utilizes said user preferences {“ready to couple” condition (via 29)}, said user input {“on-road” or “off-road” switch setting from the user via 29: “The controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensors 30 and determines whether the links 24A, 24B should be decoupled. Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting.” [0022]}, and said sensor input {from 30} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor further receives user preferences and said processor utilizes said user preferences, said user input, and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode.
Krosschell teaches said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} further receives user preferences {440+446 (Fig. 14)} and said processor {86} utilizes said user preferences {440+446}, said user input {410}, and said sensor input {442, 444, 445} to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said processor further receives user preferences and said processor utilizes said user preferences, said user input, and said sensor input to automatically select said vehicle suspension mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 30, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 20. Clements further discloses said control system {28} automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference {“Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}, a vehicle speed {“speed”: “The sensors 30 are preferably located adjacent the suspension members 22A, 22B, to sense motion of the suspension members 22A,22B. It should be understood that the motion of the suspension members can be interpreted from speed, distance moved, acceleration, or other data” [0022]}, a maneuver {“distance moved” [0022]; Par. [0033] describes that controller determines whether to automatically connect or disconnect said twin tube electronically controlled damper link from the sensor input, and then Par. [0034] describes that the controller “can also” use the user input to determine the ideal mode: “The sensors 30 identify that the suspension members 22A, 22B (FIG. 1) are in an unarticulated condition and that the engagement member 40 should now be in alignment with the groove 42. In response, the controller 28 activates the engagement member 40 to engage the groove 42. The stabilizer bar 12 is then again coupled to the suspension members 22A, 22B. The locking assembly 38 can also be placed in a "ready to couple" condition. In the "ready to couple" condition a driver desires the stabilizer bar 12 to be engaged with the suspension member 22 but the engagement member 40 is not located adjacent the groove 42 (FIG. 4A-B). During this condition, the engagement member 40 will fire as soon as it passes by the groove 42. Typically, the "ready to couple" condition is in effect when the manual switch 29 is switched to the "on-road" setting during operation of the vehicle 18 in an off-road environment. However, automatic activation by the controller 28 can also benefit from the "ready to couple" condition” [0033-0034]}.
However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said processor automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference, a vehicle speed, a maneuver, and a ride type.
Krosschell teaches {Figs. 13-14} said processor {86: “microprocessor” [0138]} automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode {“Ride mode change logic 400 determines whether request 410 passes a ride mode change criteria based on the plurality of operational characteristics 420. If the ride mode change criteria are passed, suspension controller 86 permits the requested ride mode change to occur, as represented by block 422. For instance, if the current ride mode was a comfort ride mode (selection input 328 in FIG. 11) and the operator selects a firm ride mode (selection input 332 in FIG. 11), suspension controller 86 would alter suspension 11 to have characteristics based on the firm ride mode. For example, suspension controller 86 would alter a damping profile of shock absorbers 18 to the default damping profile stored in memory 76 for the firm ride mode. If the ride mode criteria fails, suspension controller 86 denies the requested ride mode change, as represented by block 424, and suspension system 11 remains in the current selected ride mode until the operating conditions are resolved and/or there has been another switch state change” [0141]} based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference {446}, a vehicle speed {442}, a maneuver {445}, and a ride type {440: “a first exemplary set of operational characteristics 420 includes a current ride mode characteristic 440, a vehicle speed 442, one or more acceleration values 444, and an indication of any active vehicle condition modifier states 446” [0142]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said processor automatically selects said vehicle suspension mode based on one or more characteristics selected from a group consisting of: a user preference, a vehicle speed, a maneuver, and a ride type, as taught by Krosschell, in order to “permit or deny a change from a current, first ride mode to a requested, second ride mode” [0138].
Regarding claim 31, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Clements further discloses said vehicle suspension mode is selected from the group consisting of: highway mode {“on-road” setting [0022]}, off-road mode {“off-road” setting: “Activation can be provided automatically through the controller 28 or manually through a switch (shown schematically at 29) operated by the driver. The switch 29 preferably includes an "on-road" and an "off-road" setting” [0022]}.
Additionally, Krosschell further teaches a “comfort mode… a sport mode… and a third position corresponding to the suspension being in a firm mode” [0116], and further teaches that any number of additional ride modes can be added and customized by the user via the GUI {310: “Rocker switch 312 may be used in place of display 24 or in addition to the inputs provided through display 24. In one example, rocker switch 312 selects between multiple rides modes and the inputs of graphical user interface 310 provide operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes as indicated by the configuration/tuning label in FIG. 10. In another example, vehicle 10 does not include rocker switch 312 and the selection of various ride modes and operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes is received by controller 20 through graphical user interface 310” [0117]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements and Krosschell, such that said vehicle suspension mode is selected from the group consisting of: highway mode, off-road mode, mixed mode, rock climbing mode, racing mode, performance mode, sport mode, and wet mode, as taught by Krosschell, in order to provide the “operator customization of the vehicle characteristics associated with each of the selectable ride modes” [0117].
Regarding claim 32, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Clements further discloses said non-twin electronically controlled damper link {24} comprises: an actuator {41: “The second segment 36 is coupled and decoupled from the first segment 34 by a locking assembly 38” [0025]; “One disclosed embodiment provides for the locking member 38 to be electro-mechanically operated as solenoid or the like. Solenoids are known and typically include a movable plunger within an electromagnetic actuator. In this disclosed embodiment, the movable plunger is the engagement member 40 which is driven by the actuator 41 into and out of the groove 42. Movement of the engagement member 40 is represented by the double headed arrows "L". Preferably, the controller 28 interprets the signals from the sensor 30 to control operation of the actuator 41 and engagement member 40” [0027]} to provide said remotely controllable physical connection and disconnection capability, said actuator {41} is a linear actuator {“movable plunger” [0027]}.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements and Krosschell as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Cox.
Regarding claim 18, Clements and Krosschell disclose all the aspects of claim 17. However, Clements does not explicitly disclose said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link further comprises: hydraulic fluid; and a gas chamber.
Cox teaches a single tube {chamber 134} of an electronically controlled damper link {100} further comprises: hydraulic fluid {damping fluid}; and a gas chamber {gas: “a remote chamber 134 for separating damping fluid from gas within the remote reservoir 120” [0040]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sway bar system, as disclosed by Clements, and Krosschell, such that said non-twin tube electronically controlled damper link further comprises: hydraulic fluid; and a gas chamber, as taught by Cox, in order “to not impede parking of the link 100” [0039].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614