DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 11-20 in the reply filed on4 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are therefore withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the candidate updated spatial-temporal volume" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner Note
The claims are very broad and could encompass many things. Due to the 112 above, it is unclear what the claims are doing at all. Further, the instructions to the autonomous system could simply be to display information, and is not necessarily claimed as performing the information. If some more details were given about the provided instructions and the provided instructions were positively recited as being performed by the autonomous system, then this might be sufficient in overcoming the rejection under 101 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.” Claims 11-20 are directed to obtaining data, determining spatial-temporal volume satisfies a condition, updating spatial-temporal volume and providing instructions, which is considered an abstract idea. Further, the claim(s) as a whole, when examined on a limitation-by-limitation basis and in ordered combination do not include an inventive concept.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claims, the examiner finds the claims are directed to a machine.
Step 2A – Prong One - Abstract Idea Analysis
Exemplary claim 11 recites the following abstract concepts, in italics below, which are found to include an “abstract idea”:
A system for management of a logistics environment, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one non-transitory, computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
obtaining autonomous system information for a logistics environment;
obtaining a spatial-temporal volume for the logistics environment generated using spatial information and resource information;
determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition using the autonomous system information; and
in response to the determination, updating the spatial-temporal volume based on the candidate updated spatial-temporal volume and providing instructions to one or more autonomous systems.
The claim features in italics above as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, are mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity performed by generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “at least one processor” and “one or more autonomous systems,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind or a method of organized human activity. For example, but for the “processor” and “autonomous system” language, “obtaining autonomous system information for a logistics environment; obtaining a spatial-temporal volume for the logistics environment generated using spatial information and resource information; determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition using the autonomous system information; and in response to the determination, updating the spatial-temporal volume based on the candidate updated spatial-temporal volume” in the context of this claim encompasses mental processes. If the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps which could be performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement of opinion but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, “providing instructions” in the context of this claim encompasses certain methods of organizing human activity. If the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic practice, commercial or legal interaction or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two - Abstract Idea Analysis
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite three additional elements – “at least one processor”, “one or more autonomous systems,” and “a client system” (claim 18). The “processor”, “autonomous system” and client system,” are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f), i.e. the determining, updating and providing steps) and data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g), i.e. the obtaining steps). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - Significantly More Analysis
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “at least one processor”, “one or more autonomous systems,” and “a client system” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the background does not provide any indication that the “processor”, “autonomous systems,” and “client system” are anything other than generic, off-the-shelf computer components. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0187841 A1 to Ebrahimi et al. (“Ebrahimi”) in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0269284 A1 to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
As per claim 11 the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi includes:
A system for management of a logistics environment, comprising (Ebrahimi: Abstract):
at least one processor (Ebrahimi: Abstract); and
at least one non-transitory, computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising (Ebrahimi: Abstract):
obtaining autonomous system information for a logistics environment (Ebrahimi: ¶ 1007);
obtaining a spatial-temporal volume for the logistics environment generated using spatial information and resource information (Ebrahimi: ¶¶ 0953, 1008-1011 and 1351);
determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition using the autonomous system information (Ebrahimi: ¶¶ 0933, 1252 and 1351); and
in response to the determination, updating the spatial-temporal volume based on the candidate updated spatial-temporal volume and providing instructions to one or more autonomous systems (Ebrahimi: ¶¶ 0739-0740, 0910, 0931-0933, 0953 and 1363).
Ebrahimi fails to specifically teach determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition. The Examiner provides Chen to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Chen includes:
determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition (Chen: ¶¶0098, 0223 and 0315-0316)
Ebrahimi teaches a system and method of using autonomous systems. Chen teaches a comparable system and method of using autonomous systems that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Chen offers the embodiment of determining that the spatial-temporal volume satisfies an autonomous systems condition. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the autonomous systems condition as disclosed by Chen to the system and method of using autonomous systems as taught by Ebrahimi for the predicted result of improved systems and methods of using autonomous systems. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 12, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the spatial-temporal volume indicates a spatial extent and temporal extent of resource allocation volumes determined based on resource request characteristics (Ebrahimi: ¶¶0882, 0936, 0940 and 1351).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 15, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the instructions correspond to a time slice and are provided upon the beginning of time slice (Ebrahimi: ¶ 1009).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 16, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the provided instructions include route information and task information for the autonomous system (Ebrahimi: ¶¶ 1249-1250).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 17, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the provided instructions include a path based on the task information and the route information (Ebrahimi: ¶ 1249).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 18, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
receiving change information from a client system or detecting changes in the logistics environment; and
providing, to the autonomous system, additional instructions to update a path of the autonomous system based on the change information (Ebrahimi: ¶ 1250).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the autonomous system information specifies one or more autonomous systems;
tasks are associated with the resource allocation volume;
task points are associated with the tasks; and
determining the spatial-temporal volume satisfies the autonomous systems condition includes:
determining that each of the task points associated with each of the tasks can be reached by at least one of the one or more autonomous systems (Chen: ¶¶ 0097-0102).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 20, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi and Chen includes:
the task points include primary and secondary task points; and
determining that each of the task points associated with each of the tasks can be reached by the at least one of the one or more autonomous systems includes determining that a secondary task point can be reached when a primary task point cannot be reached (Chen: ¶¶ 0097-0102).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 11, and are incorporated herein.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi in view of Chen as applied in claim 11, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0117744 A1 to Choi et al. (“Choi”).
As per claim 13, Ebrahimi and Chen fail to specifically teach the spatial-temporal volume satisfies absolute or relative conditions on the placement of the resource allocation volume in the spatial-temporal volume specified in a resource request. The Examiner provides Choi to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Choi includes:
the spatial-temporal volume satisfies absolute or relative conditions on the placement of the resource allocation volume in the spatial-temporal volume specified in a resource request (Choi: ¶ 0111)
Ebrahimi and Chen teaches systems and methods of using autonomous systems. Choi teaches a comparable system and method of using autonomous systems that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Choi offers the embodiment of the spatial-temporal volume satisfies absolute or relative conditions on the placement of the resource allocation volume in the spatial-temporal volume specified in a resource request. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the absolute or relative conditions on the placement of the resource allocation volume as disclosed by Choi to the systems and methods of using autonomous systems as taught by Ebrahimi and Chen for the predicted result of improved systems and methods of using autonomous systems. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 14, the claimed subject matter that is met by Ebrahimi, Chen and Choi includes:
the spatial-temporal volume comprises pooled resource allocation volumes allocated according to allocation priorities of the pooled resource allocation volumes,
the allocation priorities of the resource allocation volumes being dependent on resource request characteristics (Choi: ¶¶ 0018, 0083 and 0111).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Ebrahimi and Chen are discussed in the rejection of claim 13, and are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/A. Hunter Wilder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627