DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “locking tab” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 10. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756).
Regarding claim 1, Sundberg et al. disclose a potty training system, comprising: a base 16; a platform 25 supported by the base 16 and including a central opening 15; a basin 20 supported by the platform 25, the basin 20 aligning with the central opening of the platform 25 to collect waste, and a topper 30,40 removably positioned on the platform 25, the topper 30 including an opening communicating with an interior of the basin 20, the topper 30,40 having at least one downwardly extending engagement element 37 for mating with a corresponding receptacle 17 on the platform 25 to secure a positional relationship between the topper 30,40 and the platform 25, the base 16, the platform 25, the basin 20, and the topper 30,40 are selectively configurable in at least: a first arrangement where the base 16 supports the platform 25, the basin 23, and the topper 23 to function as a standalone potty, and a second arrangement where the topper 30,40 is adapted for positioning on a conventional toilet seat separate from the base (Fig. 2).
Sundberg et al. do not disclose the basin 20 including a pour spout extending outwardly from a sidewall. Attention is directed to Marsden which teaches another potty training system comprising a basin 38 including a pour spout 65 extending outwardly from a sidewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Sundberg et al. basin to include a pour spout in view of the teaching of Marsden for facilitating dispensing the liquid waste.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the topper 30/40 includes a urine shield 36/46.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the topper 30/40 includes an elevated back 31/41.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the pour spout as taught by Marsden would extend continuously through both an upper portion and a lower portion of the sidewall.
Regarding claim 11, Sundberg et al. teach a potty training system as described above and a method of using a potty training system comprising positioning a platform 25 on a top rim of a base 16, the platform having a central opening; inserting a basin 20 into the central opening; placing a topper 30/40 on the platform 25 such that an opening of the topper 30/40 aligns with an interior of the basin 20, the topper 30/40 having at least one downwardly extending engagement element 37 for mating with a corresponding receptacle 17 on the platform 25 to secure a positional relationship between the topper 30/40 and the platform; and using the potty training system in a first configuration as a standalone potty. Sundberg et al. do not disclose the basin 20 including a pour spout extending outwardly from a sidewall. Attention is directed to Marsden which teaches another potty training system comprising a basin 38 including a pour spout 65 extending outwardly from a sidewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Sundberg et al. basin to include a pour spout in view of the teaching of Marsden for facilitating dispensing the liquid waste.
Regarding claim 12, Sundberg et al. teach a second configuration comprising placing the topper 30/40 on a conventional toilet seat (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, placing the base 16 on a surface is shown in Figs. 1 and 2.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756) as described above and further in view of Bergman et al. (11,330,942).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Sundberg et al. do not disclose the topper 30/40 includes left and right handles extending outwardly from opposing sides of the topper 30/40. Attention is directed to Bergman et al. which teach a potty training system comprising a topper 103 includes left and right handles (Figs.1 and 2) extending outwardly from opposing sides of the topper 103. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Sundberg et al. topper to include left and right handles in view of the teaching of Bergman et al. for facilitating carrying the topper (seat).
Claims 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756) as described above and further in view of Yang (12,514,412).
Regarding claim 5, Sundberg et al. do not teach the basin 20 includes a raised handle at a front end. Attention is directed to Yang which teaches a potty training device comprising a basin 6 includes a raised handle 22 (arc surface 23) at the front end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Sundberg et al. basin to include a raised handle 22 at the front end in view of teaching of Yang for facilitating carrying the basin.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756) as described above and further in view of John (2023/0083587).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17-18, Sundberg et al. teach the topper is made of a pliant cushion material but do not specifically teach the topper is formed of a foam elastomer that is ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA). Attention is directed John which teach a toilet seat 120 have a padding 130 made of a foam elastomer , EVA (paragraph [0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to have the topper of Sundberg made of a foam elastomer (EVA) in view of the teaching of John., wherein doing so would be an obvious design choice.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756) as described above and further in view of Moriyama (2009/0119828).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Sunberg et al. do not teach a flexible and fluid-impermeable liner. Attention is directed to Moriyama which teaches a commode apparatus comprising basin 100 (receptacle) including a liner 20 for catching any waste during use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a liner with Sundberg et al. basin in view of the teaching of Moriyama for catching waste during use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundberg et al. (9,596,965) in view of Marsden (2008/0263756) as described above and further in view of Del Duke et al. (2019/0021560).
Regarding claim 10, Sundberg et al. do not disclose the topper includes at least one locking tab but teach positioning arms 37 for extending into holes 17 formed on the platform 25. Attention is directed to Del Duke et al. which teach a potty training device comprising a topper 107 having protruding arms 701 with hooks as locking tabs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Sundberg et al. topper to include a hook on each of the extending arm in view of the teaching of Del Duke et al as a locking tab.
Conclusion
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754