DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 14-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doerr (US Pre Grant Publication 2013/0023944 A1), in view of Meadows et al (US Patent 6,516,227).
Regarding claims 1, 3, & 16, Doerr teaches an implantable medical system and a method for configuring an implantable medical system, comprising:
a medical lead (521, Fig. 5) comprising:
a first return conductor (571, Fig. 5) extending from a proximal end of the medical lead to a first return electrode (555, Fig. 5) at a first neural interface (Fig. 5; position of electrode 555 at first neural interface) at a first distal end of the medical lead (521, Fig. 5) ([0037]; electrode 555 at a first distal end of lead 521),
a second return conductor (572, Fig. 5) extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to a second return electrode (553, Fig. 5) at a second neural interface (Fig. 5; position of electrode 553 at second neural interface) at a second distal end of the medical lead (521, Fig. 5) ([0037]; electrode 553 at a second distal end of lead 521), and
a working conductor (570, Fig. 5) extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to first and second working electrodes (560a & 560b, Fig. 5) respectively in the first and second neural interfaces (electrodes 560a & 555 at first neural interface; electrodes 560b & 553 at second neural interface);
Doerr does not disclose,
a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source, a current sink, a signal processor, a voltage source, and a ground,
wherein the signal processor has at least one input and at least one output,
comprising a matrix switch configured to:
selectively couple any one of the first and second return electrodes to any one of the plurality of subsystems; and
selectively couple all the first and second working electrodes to any other one of the plurality of subsystems.
However, Meadows teaches a system and a method for a rechargeable spinal cord stimulator. Meadows is analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of providing neurostimulation to multiple regions of the body using various control system.
Meadows further teaches,
a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source (4C06, Fig. 4C-1) [22:37-38], a current sink (4C06), a signal processor (194, Fig. 4B) ([47:36-41]; ADC circuit 734 converts analog signal to digital signal), a voltage source ([22:30-33]; electrode 4C11 selectively connected to voltage source), and a ground ([22:30-33]; electrode 4C11 selectively connected to ground),
wherein the signal processor has at least one input (47:36-41; ADC 734 converts signal data from sampling circuitry within AIC 190; necessitates at least one input) and at least one output ([46:41-44]; digital value sent to hand held programmer 202; necessitates at least one output),
comprising a matrix switch (188, Fig. 4A) configured to:
selectively couple any one of the first (E1, Fig. 4C-1) and second (E2) return electrodes ([22:22-25]; NDAC 4C07 enables current source 4C06 to sink current i.e. allows electrode E1 to function as a return electrode) to any one of the plurality of subsystems ([22:37-38]; current sink NDAC 4C07 selectively coupled to E1); and
selectively couple all the first (E3) and second (E4) working electrodes ([22:17-20]; PDAC 4C05 enables current source 4C06 to source current i.e. allows electrode E1 to function as an active electrode) to any other one of the plurality of subsystems ([22:37-38]; current source PDAC 4C05 selectively coupled to E3 & E4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Doerr with a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source, a current sink, a signal processor, a voltage source, and a ground, wherein the signal processor has at least one input and at least one output, and a matrix switch configured to selectively couple any one of the first and second return electrodes to any one of the plurality of subsystems and selectively couple all the first and second working electrodes to any other one of the plurality of subsystems. as taught by Meadows. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve neuromodulation treatment by using a switching matrix to create “virtual” electrodes and control stimulation current fields (Meadows, [27:9-13]).
Regarding claim 2, Doerr in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claim 1, and Doerr further teaches wherein:
the first neural interface is configured for either neural stimulation or neural sensing ([0037]; ring 555 provides stimulation and sensing); and
the second neural interface configured for either neural stimulation or neural sensing ([0037]; ring 555 provides stimulation and sensing).
Regarding claim 4, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein any one of the electrodes can float by not being coupled via the matrix switch to any one of the plurality of subsystems.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein any one of the electrodes can float by not being coupled via the matrix switch to any one of the plurality of subsystems ([18:54-57]; “off” polarity (no current)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with any one of the electrodes that can float by not being coupled via the matrix switch to any one of the plurality of subsystems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to control which electrodes are selected to create an electric field by turning off electrodes (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claim 5, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claim 3, but does not disclose comprising a controller configured to control the operation of the matrix switch.
However, Meadows further teaches comprising a controller (166, Fig. 4A) configured to control the operation of the matrix switch ([20:37-38]; microcontroller 160 controls switching matrix 188).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with a controller configured to control the operation of the matrix switch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve neuromodulation treatment by using a switching matrix to create “virtual” electrodes and control stimulation current fields (Meadows, [27:9-13]).
Regarding claim 6, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to select one of the first neural interface and the second neural interface for either neural stimulation or neural sensing.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the controller is configured to select one of the first neural interface and the second neural interface for either neural stimulation or neural sensing ([20:37-44]; microcontroller 160 groups electrodes with other electrodes to control current stimulus pulses; electrode pairs placed at first and second neural interfaces requires controller to select one of the first and second neural interfaces for neural stimulation when said electrode groups are selected).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Doerr and Meadows, with a controller that is configured to select one of the first neural interface and the second neural interface for either neural stimulation or neural sensing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to control which electrodes are selected to create an electric field by selecting electrodes for sourcing or sinking current (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claim 7, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to select the return electrode of the other one of the first neural interface and the second neural interface to be floating, as claimed.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein any one of the electrodes can float by not being coupled via the matrix switch to any one of the plurality of subsystems ([18:54-57]; “off” polarity (no current)) and various electrode pairing and sharing combinations ([12:48-65]; sum of current sourced from positive electrodes should be equal to sum of current returned through negative electrodes; a 2-electrode single conductor configuration paired with 2 return electrodes at each neural interface, necessitates the other one of the return electrodes to float when one of the 2-electrode single conductor electrodes is selected or current may split across both return electrodes and stimulate neural tissue along both return paths).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with a controller configured to select the return electrode of the other one of the first neural interface and the second neural interface to be floating. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to control which electrodes are selected to create an electric field by selecting electrodes for sourcing or sinking current (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claims 8, 11, & 17, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system and method of claims 5 & 16, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to:
select neural stimulation;
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural stimulation,
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural stimulation to the ground via the matrix switch;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to the current source via the matrix switch; and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural stimulation.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the controller (160’, Fig. 4B) is configured to:
select neural stimulation ([16:55-61]; microcontroller 160 controls IPG operation in accordance with selected operating program and stimulation parameters);
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural stimulation ([20:37-44]; microcontroller 160 groups electrodes with other electrodes to control current stimulus pulses; electrode pairs placed at first and second neural interfaces requires controller to select one of the first and second neural interfaces for neural stimulation when said electrode groups are selected),
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural stimulation to the ground via the matrix switch ([22:30-33]; recharge switch 4C10 allows indifferent electrode to be selectively connected to ground, or another voltage source);
switchably couple all the first (E3) and second (E4) working electrodes to the current source ([22:17-20]; PDAC 4C05 enables current source 4C06 to source current i.e. allows electrode E1 to function as an active electrode) via the matrix switch; and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural stimulation ([18:54-57]; electrode not selected necessitates “off” polarity (no current)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with a controller configured to, select neural stimulation, select either the first or the second neural interface for neural stimulation, switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural stimulation to the ground via the matrix switch, switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to the current source via the matrix switch, and float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural stimulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve therapy by controlling which electrodes are selected to create an electric field (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claims 14 & 19, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system and method of claims 5 & 16, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to:
select neural sensing of tissue,
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing;
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground via the matrix switch;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor via the matrix switch; and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
select neural sensing of tissue ([6:4-9]; after delivering cardioversion pulse, sensing circuit 66 monitors abnormal rhythm or pulse rate),
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing ([22:22-24], [22:37-40]; NDAC 4C07 enables current to be sunk into current source, suggesting sensing capability);
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground ([22:30-33]; recharge switch 4C10 allows indifferent electrode to be selectively connected to ground, or another voltage source) via the matrix switch;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor (194, Fig. 4B) ([47:36-41]; ADC circuit 734 converts analog signal to digital signal) via the matrix switch; and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing ([18:54-57]; “off” polarity (no current)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with a controller configured to, select neural sensing, select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing, switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground via the matrix switch, switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor via the matrix switch, and float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve therapy by controlling which electrodes are selected to create an electric field (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claims 15 & 20, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system and method of claims 1 & 16, but does not disclose wherein the first neural interface comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes, or an electrode array, and the second neural interface comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes, or an electrode array.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the first neural interface comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes (D, Fig. 2A) [Col. 9:48-51], or an electrode array, and the second neural interface comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes (D, Fig. 2A) [Col. 9:48-51], or an electrode array.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr and Meadows, with a first neural interface that comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes, or an electrode array and a second neural interface comprises at least one of a nerve cuff, a helical cuff, paddle electrodes, or an electrode array. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve neurostimulation by using an electrode array that covers a large tissue area (Meadows, [Col. 10:50-53]).
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doerr (US Pre Grant Publication 2013/0023944 A1), in view of Meadows et al (US Patent 6,516,227), and in further view of Libbus et al (US Pre Grant Publication 2006/0135998 A1).
Regarding claims 9 & 12, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the implantable medical system of claims 8 & 11, but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to:
select neural sensing after neural stimulation,
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing;
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground via the matrix switch;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to the ground via the matrix switch for a set period of time;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor via the matrix switch, after the set period of time; and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing ([22:22-24], [22:37-40]; NDAC 4C07 enables current to be sunk into current source, suggesting sensing capability);
switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground ([22:30-33]; recharge switch 4C10 allows indifferent electrode to be selectively connected to ground, or another voltage source) via the matrix switch;
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to the ground via the matrix switch for a set period of time ([15:15-17], Fig. 3B; fixed recharge (Hold-Off) period of 7 ms suggests connection to ground; recharge period known in the art to discharge capacitors);
switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor (194, Fig. 4B) ([47:36-41]; ADC circuit 734 converts analog signal to digital signal) via the matrix switch, after the set period of time ([15:47-49]; after recharge period (Hold-Off) next channel First Phase period begins; First Phase period is when electrodes function as anodes and cathodes [15:6-10]), and
float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing ([18:54-57]; electrode not selected necessitates “off” polarity (no current)),
but does not disclose,
select neural sensing after neural stimulation.
However, Libbus teaches a system and a method for closed-loop neurostimulation. Libbus is analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of providing neurostimulation and sensing neural signals.
Libbus further teaches,
select neural sensing after neural stimulation ([0100]; electrodes 1977 stimulates nerve path 1974, then senses nerve traffic after stimulation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Doerr, with a controller configured to, select neural sensing, select either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing, switchably couple the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground via the matrix switch, switchably couple all the first and second working electrodes to an input of the signal processor via the matrix switch, and float the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing, as taught by Meadows, and select neural sensing after neural stimulation, as taught by Libbus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve neural stimulation by adjusting stimulation parameters based on sensed signals (Libbus, [0008]).
Regarding claims 10 & 13, Doerr, in view of Meadows and Libbus, teaches the implantable medical system of claims 9 & 12, but does not disclose wherein the set period of time is greater than 10 microseconds.
However, Meadows further teaches wherein the set period of time is greater than 10 microseconds ([15:15-17], Fig. 3B; fixed recharge (Hold-Off) period of 7 ms).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Doerr, Meadows, and Libbus, with a set period of time is greater than 10 microseconds. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to control which electrodes are selected to create an electric field (Meadows, [18:46-48], [18:54-57]).
Regarding claim 18, Doerr, in view of Meadows, teaches the method of claim 17, but does not disclose further comprising:
selecting neural sensing after neural stimulation;
selecting either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing;
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the electrodes to the ground for a set period of time greater than 10 microseconds;
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground;
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the first and second working electrodes to the input of the signal processor; and
floating the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing.
However, Meadows further teaches comprising:
selecting either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing ([22:22-24], [22:37-40]; NDAC 4C07 enables current to be sunk into current source, suggesting sensing capability);
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the electrodes to the ground for a set period of time greater than 10 microseconds ([15:15-17], Fig. 3B; fixed recharge (Hold-Off) period of 7 ms suggests connection to ground; recharge period known in the art to discharge capacitors);
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground ([22:30-33]; recharge switch 4C10 allows indifferent electrode to be selectively connected to ground, or another voltage source) via the matrix switch);
switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the first and second working electrodes to the input of the signal processor (194, Fig. 4B) ([47:36-41]; ADC circuit 734 converts analog signal to digital signal); and
floating the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing ([18:54-57]; electrode not selected necessitates “off” polarity (no current)),
but does not disclose,
selecting neural sensing after neural stimulation.
However, Libbus teaches,
selecting neural sensing after neural stimulation ([0100]; electrodes 1977 stimulates nerve path 1974, then senses nerve traffic after stimulation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Doerr, with selecting either the first or the second neural interface for neural sensing, switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the electrodes to the ground for a set period of time greater than 10 microseconds, switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, the return electrode of the neural interface selected for neural sensing to the ground, switchably coupling, via the matrix switch, all the first and second working electrodes to the input of the signal processor, and floating the return electrode of the neural interface not selected for neural sensing, as taught by Meadows, and selecting neural sensing after neural stimulation, as taught by Libbus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve neural stimulation by adjusting stimulation parameters based on sensed signals (Libbus, [0008]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 4, 16 & 17, and 21 & 22 of copending Application No. 19/093,145 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 & 16 of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
19/093,157
Application
19/093,145
Claim 1
Claim 1
An implantable medical system comprising:
a medical lead comprising:
An implantable medical lead comprising:
a lead body extending between a proximal end and first and second distal ends;
and a plurality of conductors disposed within the lead body, wherein:
a first return conductor extending from a proximal end of the medical lead to a first return electrode at a first neural interface at a first distal end of the medical lead
a first conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from the proximal end of the lead body to a first electrode at the first distal end,
a second return conductor extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to a second return electrode at a second neural interface at a second distal end of the medical lead, and
a second conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from the proximal end of the lead body to a first electrode at the second distal end, and
a working conductor extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to first and second working electrodes respectively in the first and second neural interfaces; and
a third conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from the proximal end of the lead body:
to a second electrode at the first distal end; and to a second electrode at the second distal end.
Claim 4
a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source, a current sink, a signal processor, a voltage source, and a ground,
wherein the signal processor has at least one input and at least one output.
a stimulation system (necessarily requires a signal processor that receives (input) and/or transmits (output) a signal), comprising:
a plurality of subsystems, comprising:
a current source, a current sink, a voltage source, and a ground;
Instant Application
19/093,157
Application
19/093,145
Claim 1
Claim 16
An implantable medical system comprising:
a medical lead comprising:
An implantable medical system comprising:
an implantable medical lead comprising:
a lead body;
a plurality of conductors disposed within the lead body, wherein:
a first return conductor extending from a proximal end of the medical lead to a first return electrode at a first neural interface at a first distal end of the medical lead
a first conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from a proximal end of the lead body to a first return electrode at a first neural interface at a first distal end of the lead body,
a second return conductor extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to a second return electrode at a second neural interface at a second distal end of the medical lead, and
a second conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from the proximal end of the lead body to a second return electrode at a second neural interface at a second distal end of the lead body, and
a working conductor extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to first and second working electrodes respectively in the first and second neural interfaces; and
a third conductor of the plurality of conductors extends from the proximal end of the lead body:
to a first working electrode in the first neural interface at the first distal end; and to a second working electrode in the second neural interface at the second distal end.
Claim 17
a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source, a current sink, a signal processor, a voltage source, and a ground,
wherein the signal processor has at least one input and at least one output.
a stimulation system (necessarily requires a signal processor that receives (input) and/or transmits (output) a signal) comprising:
a plurality of subsystems comprising: a current source, a current sink, a voltage source, and a ground;
Instant Application
19/093,157
Application
19/093,145
Claim 16
Claim 21
A method for configuring an implantable medical system, comprising:
providing a medical lead extending between a proximal end and first and second neural interfaces at respective first and second distal ends, the medical lead comprising:
A method for configuring an implantable medical lead, comprising:
providing a lead body extending between a proximal end and first and second neural interfaces at respective first and second distal ends;
providing a plurality of conductors disposed within the lead body;
a first and a second return conductor respectively extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to first and second return electrodes at first and second neural interfaces, and
extending a first conductor of the plurality of conductors from the proximal end of the lead body to a first reference electrode at the first neural interface;
extending a second conductor of the plurality of conductors from the proximal end of the lead body to a second reference electrode at the second neural interface;
a working conductor respectively extending from the proximal end of the medical lead to first and second working electrodes in the first and second neural interfaces;
extending a third conductor of the plurality of conductors from the proximal end of the lead body:
to a first working electrode at the first neural interface; and
to a second working electrode at the second neural interface.
Claim 22
providing a plurality of subsystems comprising a current source, a current sink, a signal processor, a voltage source, and a ground, the signal processor having at least one input and at least one output; and
the stimulation system (necessarily requires a signal processor that receives (input) and/or transmits (output) a signal) comprising:
a plurality of subsystems comprising: a current source, a current sink, a voltage source, and a ground;
providing a matrix switch configured to:
selectively couple any one of the first and second return electrodes to any one of the plurality of subsystems, and selectively couple all the first and second working electrodes to any other one of the plurality of subsystems.
a matrix switch configured to:
selectively couple any one of the first and second reference electrodes to any one of the plurality of subsystems, and selectively couple all the first and second working electrodes to any other one of the plurality of subsystems; and a controller configured to control the operation of the matrix switch; and coupling the implantable medical lead to the implantable medical device.
Conclusion
/DWANE COLLARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796